Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hurst View (solent View) Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Hurst View (solent View) Camping
New Forest
Lower Pennington Lane
Lymington
New Forest
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO41 8AL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01590 671648

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   1m  1m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 170 Reviews
              8/10 from 170 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  170 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TimCESmith 23 reviews from this member

I rather liked this site, but I'm not altogether sure why. We stayed on the tents-only non-EHU field to see what 'lightweight' kit would work if we make it to Bryher next summer.

It's a big, sprawling site, and each bit has a distinct character. As you enter, you pass through a twilight zone of tatty statics on a potholed road of crunchy gravel. Once you're past the big industrial rubbish hoppers you're into the proper camping fields. The tents-only field is on the left just after the loos, and surprisingly easy to miss. I'm glad we didn't. Our tour of the campsite took us past many large, raucous groups playing rather good dad music from their van stereos - 90's pop, rock and techno.

There are some hardstandings, but otherwise there are no marked pitches or paths or tracks. It's just fields pockmarked with scars from campfires. The tents-only was very pleasant, although there were quite a few fag-ends and discarded pegs if you looked closely. The views are pleasing and there's a stout hedge down the western side to help with the wind. Formations of Canada geese sweep over at dusk as everyone's getting their campfire ready, the children begin to wind down a bit and their parents get started on the sherbet. Sunday morning saw everyone leave - we had at least an acre each come Monday.

The ablutions are basic but adequate and many of the drains are slow. There's quite a bit of flooding in the showers. Because the floors are pale blue they show the mud and look dirtier than people are used to. There are two 'family' shower rooms. The one on the right works well. The one on the left is next to the Elsan point and from the smell it's hard to tell where one ends and the other begins. Avoid. The six washing up sinks are open to the elements and have no plugs. An upside down mug over the drain hole works OK. Water is warm, not hot. Press Taps Of Doom. The sinks are nice and big though. The laundry is rudimentary and I was glad we didn't need it.

Lymington is beautiful - and it's a treat to camp walking distance from a Waitrose. It's a friendly site and the staff are really helpful. The atmosphere is relaxed and whilst you're not bombarded with rules there's a clear subtext that if you make a nuisance of yourself you'll be chucked off site whatever the time of day or night.

There is plenty of interest in the area and we had a great time - and it's cheap at £15 a night for 1 adult + 1 child off EHU. I don't think I'd do a fortnight's summer holiday or take Mrs TimCESmith here though. It's all geared for short stays or rigid units.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Apjozzy1968 2 reviews from this member

4 rather windswept days with teenagers happily spent. Site us amazing relaxed and friendly. Campfires allowed. Good pubs in walking distance. Facilities are clean and OK. Shelves would help in the showers but very hot and good. Site shop is really reasonable and doubles as a café too for breakfast. Love this site and will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IndigoMonstA 2 reviews from this member

A lovely site, owners seemed fairly relaxed and we could choose which space to pitch in. It is a popular site and all three fields were full of tents. Despite appearing to be a busy site, I never had to queue to use the toilet or washing up facilities. Noise at night time was not a problem either, there was a group near us playing music but it was turned off soon after 11pm. I did notice 2 security guards walking round the site at night time, they seemed to do a good job of discreetly keeping activity to within reasonable ranges.

There is a shop on the site that sells a small range of stuff that family's who camp might like, including ice creams, drinks and hot food.

In a beautiful spot, we spotted many different types of birds on our walk along the sea wall. There is a spot where you can get to the sea, the beach is pebbly, but it was a good 20 min walk from the campsite, which was a long way with toddlers on a sunny summers day.

The nearby pub, served good food and coped well with our large group of 12.

Would return here again one day.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stan on tour 31 reviews from this member

This is a huge basic campsite exposed to the elements, we were there mid week and it was very quiet, there is is a small Breakfast cafe but that wasn't open. The camp staff were really helpful and provided a map of the area which we used to walk to a lovely pub that was nearby, also nice walks along the solent.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Valellis 8 reviews from this member

Only one of the two toilet blocks open which resulted in large queues at the weekends. Only seemed to be cleaned in the mornings so by early evening they were rather messy. Disappointed that several pitches are taken by people living on site and going out to work between 5 - 6 am and they are not the quietest so we were disturbed 6 early mornings.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Turistautojai 1 review from this member

Utterly disappointed. Big, messy place. Washing up sinks are outside - comes sun or rain. Outdated, filthy toilets and draft, cold showers with dirty old curtains. And tip of the iceberg is rubbish containers area. In fact you barely can see containers as it's covered with rubbish. Shame can't upload photos here. Got few. And all that pleasure of leisure for £30 a night per tent of two adults and two toddlers with no electric hook up.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kershaw m 3 reviews from this member

Over priced for facilities available.

We were charged £20 per night for a pitch in a field with no electricity, a long walk to the toilets and showers and washing up facilities. No shop open on site, the toilet block was not the cleanest, the showers were muddy with no mop or anything to clean the shower after use. My husband said that one of the mens shower was in danger of the floor collapsing!

May think twice of going again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mejenkin 1 review from this member

The campsite is quite big with a large flat field for tents, we had a non electric hook up near to the site entrance which was fine, although for dog owners you would need to keep an eye on them as the gate doesn't close, its permanently fixed open.

There are two shower and loo blocks which did get busy in the mornings as expected and whilst chatting at the washing up area, some ladies mentioned that the washing up area was in fact cleaner than the sinks! Floors by the showers were wet and got muddy ( odd as it was really sunny weather from 10 Aug weekend). The washing up area is attached to the outside of the shower/loo block with no coverage should the weather be unkind, washing up water was luke warm at best. You can buy snacks, drinks, a few essentials and some kids toys, there are hot sandwiches, chips and burgers and croissants cooked on site (our croissants were a trifle over cooked which was a shame)

We had 3 nights here and the location is good as its easy to get to New Forest, Bournemouth and Poole which are lovely, a very nice (dog friendly all year round) beach is Branksone Dene. Walk round Keyhaven, here are boat trips over to Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, Millford on Sea is worth a look with a great fish and chip shop ( big queues in the evening) and a pebble beach near to sit and look at the sea. ( Beware the fish and chip shop had a very stoney faced, unfriendly serving lady)

At the campsite - nearby is a nice pub (Chequers) to walk to, again dog friendly. Serves usual pub food but take a torch as its about 10 mins through some dark lanes and footpaths.

Overall we really enjoyed it, the tent field got very busy over the weekend, lots of families playing, chatting, dogs playing but not noisy and was all quite mellow. We would go back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cravensall 2 reviews from this member

What a shame. This lovely spacious site is in a beautiful location with great walking, running and cycling. It is very close to lymington where there are great shops, cafes, restaurants etc.

The shame was that over the bank holiday weekend it was completely overbooked, the atmosphere changed, large noisy groups arrived and set up all over.

The toilet and shower blocks could not cope, they were filthy every time I went to them, half of the men's loos were blocked, the queues were long. The cleaning over this busy period was simply inadequate.

There were lots of hook ups, a good play area for the kids, shop and cafe that were well used.

Sinks and showers were all hot but not well looked after, all just felt like they needed a bit more attention.

I would only visit here in an off peak time to really appreciate the site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debbyc 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for Half term as part of a group of families. It's rare to find a campsite that allows you to have wood fires of an evening. Toasted marshmallows abounded!

The site itself is very flat and plenty of room for tents and gazebos. The toilets are clean and tidy, with decent showers. However over the very busy bank holiday weekend they struggled to cope (but the site was heaving - the rest of the week was lovely!).

The site is close to the sea and as such can be a little windy. However the location is close to lots of cycle/walking paths and excellent for crabbing, picnicking and beach activities.

Previous     170 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6244 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1094
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window