Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Site Reviews

Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park
Strawberry Hill Farm
Old Cassop
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH6 4QA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0191 372 3457

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st March To 31st Dec.

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
              8/10 from 125 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (3)

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HudsonandHudson 1 review from this member

Friendly, clean and great value for money.

The site is a perfect base to visit Durham and surrounding area’s. There were 3 families in our party and we had opted for grass pitches with electric hook up. This worked out perfectly as the children were able to play in another grasses area nearby which was away from the caravans but still in sight.

The site was spotlessly clean, with rubbish & recycling being collected on a regular basis. Howard the owner had a friendly relaxed attitude and was really helpful providing us with maps to the local dog friendly pub and guides for the surrounding areas. The facilities were clean and all in working order with showers remaining nice and hot.

The site is situated off a dual carriage way but access is very simple, you just have to nip to the roundabout 5 mins down the road and come back on yourself. In terms of road noise, yes there was a little but the birds singing in the morning were louder and it was lovely seeing the rabbits in the hedge rows

The fact that you only pay for the electric you use was also a real bonus and makes this site real value for money.

We all had a great 2017 Easter weekend

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ged1 2 reviews from this member

Bit of a problem with could you attach a tent to a camper van. Awning was OK, but not tent and van together. It was either van or tent. The owners explained the reasons which was fine and accommodated us. Sorry my kids did not like the site. Saying that nice and clean with large pitches. Need to sort out the directions to the campsite on the website as they are not clear. It would of been easier to make the local pub as a sat nav point. Sign on the other side of the road would also be helpful. Woke by traffic noise from the road outside the campsite. Would not be my first choice if in the area.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Allan williams 5 reviews from this member

Met by a very friendly guy, who was more than happy to help. Now the site its set on a slope which is terraced, into 4 flat areas on a very busy section of road with loads of traffic noise, the area near the road would be very bad. The facilities are kept clean but are old fashioned, and only have two toilets and two showers in both the ladies and gents, and they are very cold although fitted with an electric radiator its disconnected. When we were there there were only 4 units on the site so at busy times I expect the showers would be under considerable pressure. Even with only the few of us on site the showers ran cold before we could complete showering, not good in a freezing room. My wife tells me that in effect the ladies only had one shower as the lock on the door on one was broken. The price per night was not too bad, £20, but electricity was metered but was not overly expensive. Access is quite difficult as its on a stretch of duel carriageway, on leaving you go a few hundred yards then have to make a you turn which would be a bit dodgy if towing a caravan. There is no play area for kids. The site is let down by the poor facilities, which seriously need updating,

Management response: We are saddened and disappointed with Mr Williams comments which regrettably are in most cases his assumptions and are unfounded. However we take his comments on board.

Firstly the facilities are refurbished yearly and conform in quantity and quality with our 4 star grading from Visit England. The radiators are on a timer which activate when the temperature drops below 10 degrees celcius. The door locks on all showers are functioning perfectly.

Apologies to Mr Williams if during his stay the free showers ran cold however campers staying at the same time and after Mr Williams commented on the quality and hot temperature of our showers.

With regard to the 'u' turn that Mr Williams suggests within the dual carriageway with a tourer this would be contravening the Highway Code. Use the roundabout a little further on.

We are sorry that Mr Williams found us not to his liking and thank him for his comments and his kind comments about my friendliness.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Redwax 1 review from this member

Had a lovely weekend at this site. Malcolm showed us to our pitch and was friendly and polite. Toilets were very clean and cheerful. Large pitches which is always good. Good meal at the Three Horseshoe's nearby. Only let down was the constant road noise from the duel carriageway just outside the park which the owners obviously have no control over. Would say there again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Northernrocknufc 1 review from this member

Lovely small and friendly campsite. Howard and his wife couldn't have done enough to please us and keep the place clean and tidy.

We travelled as 2 families. 2 adults, 2 children and a baby in one and 2 adults and 3 children in another. Howard gave us double pitches each so we had room to pitch and room for the children to play. When we arrived the heavens had opened but he still showed us to our pitch.

The facilities were gleaming. Toilet and shower block were immaculate. Next door was the washing up area that was always clean and tidy. The bins around the campsite were always emptied as well as the recycle bin.

Only a tiny few little things I would like to see change.

More lighting on the way to the toilet block. Its very dark. The entrance sign could do with an update and more eye catching. I drove passed it. But overall wouldn't stop me coming back.

We've had a fantastic few nights and will be booking again.

Thank you

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pevenseypeter 4 reviews from this member

Good size pitches, lovely friendly couple, but everywhere urgently needs a good bit of TLC, even the sign into the site! There is considerable traffic noise from the very busy road next to it - nothing the owners can do about that, but you should be aware. There is a pub within a mile BUT you can't walk there without considerable risk, there is not any pavement, we gave it a miss. The bus stop is a 5 min walk but if the council haven't cut the verge, could be dangerous. Nothing for children here.

Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Co Durham   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6664 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977