Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Site Reviews

Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park
Strawberry Hill Farm
Old Cassop
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH6 4QA   See Map
Tel: 0191 3723457
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03 To 31/12

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 128 Reviews
                8/10 from 128 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  128 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: P5are 1 review from this member

We’ve just returned from a 2 night stay. What can I say; this place is beautiful. The site is spotlessly clean, the showers and toilets are immaculate. The owners Adam and Louise are very friendly and welcoming; both work very hard but nothing seems a problem to them. Louise makes the most amazing home baked cakes along with a whole variety of home cooked goodies in the lovely tea room on site. Adam is always around to offer a hand if needed and we had to call on him on more than 1 occasion, tent trouble, car with a flat battery etc etc. Thanks again!

Looking forward to coming back soon

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: S-Hedges 1 review from this member

Absolutely brilliant site, was met by Adam on arrival who was very accommodating and eager to make our stay a pleasant one.

It was our first time out with a caravan and they were very understanding with our lack of skill and knowledge, even though it had been snowing before our arrival and raining since they had no problems with us driving over the grass to get the caravan sited or with parking the car next to it, there are plenty of bricks and blocks on the site to assist with levelling and water and waste points are well spaced with fire prevention at each point, given that it rained almost the entire time the ground drained well and the van didn’t sink.

The site is well positioned just outside of Durham, around 10 minutes away from the local Tesco and there is a local pub just under 5 minutes away.

My only negative is that we found the water temperature in the showers to be rather cold.

Will most definitely stay here next time we are up.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woman camper 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two weeks and made a base to visit the surrounding area.

What a gem of a caravan park.

Louise and Adam have just taken ownership and are wonderful.

A very exciting time.

The site has terraces, some flat, some slightly sloping.

There are plenty of bricks and wood to assist with levelling the units.

Electricity is metered which means you only pay for what you use.

The facilities are immaculate but do need moderately updating.

Adam and Louise have plans to develop the site and we wish them good luck in their endeavours, we will be back to see what they have done.

The site is off a fast road look out for the sign, there is. Some road noise but it didn't worry us.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HudsonandHudson 1 review from this member

Friendly, clean and great value for money.

The site is a perfect base to visit Durham and surrounding area’s. There were 3 families in our party and we had opted for grass pitches with electric hook up. This worked out perfectly as the children were able to play in another grasses area nearby which was away from the caravans but still in sight.

The site was spotlessly clean, with rubbish & recycling being collected on a regular basis. Howard the owner had a friendly relaxed attitude and was really helpful providing us with maps to the local dog friendly pub and guides for the surrounding areas. The facilities were clean and all in working order with showers remaining nice and hot.

The site is situated off a dual carriage way but access is very simple, you just have to nip to the roundabout 5 mins down the road and come back on yourself. In terms of road noise, yes there was a little but the birds singing in the morning were louder and it was lovely seeing the rabbits in the hedge rows

The fact that you only pay for the electric you use was also a real bonus and makes this site real value for money.

We all had a great 2017 Easter weekend

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ged1 2 reviews from this member

Bit of a problem with could you attach a tent to a camper van. Awning was OK, but not tent and van together. It was either van or tent. The owners explained the reasons which was fine and accommodated us. Sorry my kids did not like the site. Saying that nice and clean with large pitches. Need to sort out the directions to the campsite on the website as they are not clear. It would of been easier to make the local pub as a sat nav point. Sign on the other side of the road would also be helpful. Woke by traffic noise from the road outside the campsite. Would not be my first choice if in the area.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Allan williams 5 reviews from this member

Met by a very friendly guy, who was more than happy to help. Now the site its set on a slope which is terraced, into 4 flat areas on a very busy section of road with loads of traffic noise, the area near the road would be very bad. The facilities are kept clean but are old fashioned, and only have two toilets and two showers in both the ladies and gents, and they are very cold although fitted with an electric radiator its disconnected. When we were there there were only 4 units on the site so at busy times I expect the showers would be under considerable pressure. Even with only the few of us on site the showers ran cold before we could complete showering, not good in a freezing room. My wife tells me that in effect the ladies only had one shower as the lock on the door on one was broken. The price per night was not too bad, £20, but electricity was metered but was not overly expensive. Access is quite difficult as its on a stretch of duel carriageway, on leaving you go a few hundred yards then have to make a you turn which would be a bit dodgy if towing a caravan. There is no play area for kids. The site is let down by the poor facilities, which seriously need updating,

Management response: We are saddened and disappointed with Mr Williams comments which regrettably are in most cases his assumptions and are unfounded. However we take his comments on board.

Firstly the facilities are refurbished yearly and conform in quantity and quality with our 4 star grading from Visit England. The radiators are on a timer which activate when the temperature drops below 10 degrees celcius. The door locks on all showers are functioning perfectly.

Apologies to Mr Williams if during his stay the free showers ran cold however campers staying at the same time and after Mr Williams commented on the quality and hot temperature of our showers.

With regard to the 'u' turn that Mr Williams suggests within the dual carriageway with a tourer this would be contravening the Highway Code. Use the roundabout a little further on.

We are sorry that Mr Williams found us not to his liking and thank him for his comments and his kind comments about my friendliness.

Previous     128 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Co Durham   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth £249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0918