Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Edinburgh Caravan and Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Edinburgh Caravan and Motorhome Club Site
35 37 Marine Drive
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH4 5EN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0131 312 6874

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 146
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
              9/10 from 90 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 29 reviews from this member

I left a review for this site a year ago and still find little to fault it.

An addition to their facilities since then, they now have lockers for secure storage of bicycles whilst on site.

Pitches are large, in fact we were on the same pitch as last year.

Showers and toilets all kept to a high standard.

TV reception was excellent and although I never used it I believe there are aerial attachments on the EHU posts.

Phone reception was also good (Virgin)

Buses into Edinburgh are a fair step away from the site but we used the minibus service from outside reception, at £6 return it's worth every penny.

Some might find the aircraft noise off-putting but it didn't bother us.

Very nice site with some road and aircraft noise, if you can put up with that it's worth a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 492 reviews from this member

We loved this site, its perfect for a city break. Not only are you only a bus ride from the centre of the city there is plenty to do in the immediate area.

Go left on Marine Drive (walk or cycle) and you arrive at Crammond, a beautiful village with a causeway out to an island. Continue on Cycle 1 and in a couple of miles you arrive at the chocolate box conservation village of Dalmeny, from where its a short ride down to the Forth Road Bridge. Now closed to traffic you can still cycle over, or bring your car and park in the car park and walk over.

In the opposite direction on Marine Drive you can cycle the 5 miles to Leith, see the Royal Yacht Britannia and sample the delights of Leith seafront.

The site is immaculate, its a busy site, nearly impossible to get a weekend pitch we found, despite this the wardens keep the whole site bright as a button.

Showers are perfect - we love great showers and this site has some of the best. No dreaded push button, plenty of hot water and decent water pressure in a clean and heated block - fabulous.

The wardens do have a locked cycle shed where you can put you bikes away safely overnight, just take them over early evening and then you can get them back out in the morning.

Good C&MC wifi signal across the site.

Yes you can hear the aircraft arriving at Edinburgh airport as you are under the flight path- we found after an hour we didn't notice them at all - but then everyone reacts differently. Its no worse than many sites with road noise etc - don't let it put you off this is a brilliant site to see everything the coast and the city has to offer.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fatbird 6 reviews from this member

Beautiful site with stunning views over the Forth of Forth where you can walk along the promenade to a lovely village calked Cramond. It is well worth walking past the pub along the river to see the small waterfall. Campsite is roughly 10 minute walk to bus stop for service into Edinburgh. Very friendly site staff and really helpful, facilities are spotless. We will definitely be visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Photolady 4 reviews from this member

An ideal base for exploring Edinburgh and Leith. The entrance to the site is beautifully landscaped and gives an excellent first impression. Staff all very friendly and eager to help. The pitches give a feel of privacy on an otherwise big site as there are hedges between every two vans. The facilities are excellent and spotlessly clean as you tend to expect on a Caravan Club site. The Firth of Forth is just down the road and there is a lovely promenade walk to the village of Cramond in one direction and then towards Leith in the other. There is a minibus on the site which runs very regular trips into the city centre and you can book your return trip. We cycled to Leith along mostly traffic free cycle paths to visit the Royal Yacht Britannia - a must visit. We spent a day in the city centre using the hop on hop off bus. We visited the Scottish Parliament and sat in on a debate for 15 min or so. The city is very much geared to tourists. We also visited the Royal Botanic Gardens which were really lovely and free to enter.

A first rate site for a city location. There is aeroplane noise.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John4703 12 reviews from this member

We had a few days here in February and really enjoyed it. The site was immaculate, the shower block spotless and the whole site well looked after. The lady in reception was probably the friendliest and most helpful person we have every met in such a job.

There is an excellent bus service to the city from near the site, it is about ten minutesí walk along a straight footpath to the bus stop. It was very wet while we were there but the footpath was in good condition with a good surface. The buses are every few minutes during the day and run late at night too.

There were a few planes overhead but the noise did not disturb us. The weather was cold and windy so we did not walk to the beach but as we drove home we saw it and will stay on the site again so we can enjoy the beach as well as visits to Edinburgh.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 100 reviews from this member

This is a typically well maintained Caravan Club site with all the usual well kept facilities, there are a number of site wardens the majority were very knowledgeable and friendly but the head wardens seemed to be somewhat 'regimental' (which was a shame) The site is set along side the Firth of Forth and has access to some lovely walks along the promenade and beach, it is also a must for those that like planes as its set directly under the final approach to Edinburgh Airport (aircraft at about 1000 feet so not annoying) There is a local minibus service which provides an excellent half hourly service from the site into the city centre for £6 return (the driver gave us a guided tour with tons of information - bookable on 0131 552 3515) All in all its a great place to stay whilst visiting the fantastic city of Edinburgh.

Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0918
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec