Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Range Touring Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

High Range Touring Caravan & Camping Park
High Range Complex
Grampian Rd
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1PT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01479 810636

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  1m  1m  5m   1m  1m  1m  1m 

Pitches: 71
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
              7/10 from 52 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Custard15 13 reviews from this member

High Range attempts to provide for all visitors to Aviemore – hotel, self-catering chalets, campsite and restaurant. It must have been a great place twenty or thirty year ago, but i’s hey-day is seems to be well gone. I felt like I had been sucked back to my childhood caravan holidays (not the best memories) and when I’d paid for a one night stopover, I felt like I had handed over all my pocket money – very steep at almost £30 (plus £5 cash deposit for the swipecard for the facility block). Like other reviewers, I wasn’t given much info (except for a proud explanation of the swipe card to keep non-residents out of the facilities). I suppose we were just pleased to find a last minute pitch on a Friday evening … but in hindsight I would have kept on driving out of town if necessary.

Our pitch was just behind reception and nicely nestled in the trees, but incredibly sloping and not good for campervans/motorhomes … first use of two ramps under a single wheel! Thankfully the road noise wasn’t too bad as we were furthest from the A9.

The facility block had load of loos, but only 3 showers which would mean a queue at key times. Was a bit taken aback to see the number of vending machines (though some were out of order) – female hygiene products and ‘massagers’, overpriced choc bars, cigarette lighters and so on. Don’t miss a sales opportunity guys! In the morning we discovered just how outdated the campsite was. You really get the impression that the site is aimed at caravans (ideally old long-stay/seasonal) and despite the number of motorhomes/campervans visiting, no effort has been made to assist these in getting water into tanks, or worse still, grey waste out. Yes, fine we can empty toilet cassettes, but there’s no way to drain grey water away but to park on a public road over a drain. Unbelievable that for the pitch rate, they can’t be bothered to install a drive-over drain … or even provide some guttering to allow motorhomes to hook up to the drain which is inside a cupboard – a tenner a bit a basic DIY would fix that. I feel really sorry for motorhome renters who have little experience and who are told they’ll be charged extra for returning a van with waste in tanks.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mike13 5 reviews from this member

Firstly the welcome at reception was warm but not much advice was given, there was dog muck at the end of our pitch, very little room between the pitches and one fresh water tap for a site this size is poor.

A previous review from about 6 years ago mentions the lower part being like a caravan graveyard, this has not changed, can't comment on restaurant on site as we didn't use it, but the showers were constantly busy so get used to waiting, all in all I wouldn't return to this site and couldn't recommend it either!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 100 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of March and have very mixed feelings about the place ! First impressions were good, a nice reception area, very large clean toilet shower facilities with laundry & washing up area contained within and having turned up early we were allowed on our pitch as it was vacant although the guy in reception made us feel as if we were wasting his time being there ! Once you leave the office area and drop down and the bank onto the site it looked like a caravan grave yard ! Lots of old caravans covered in mould, some with broken awnings some stacked 2 to a pitch and most it seemed were occupied by workers in the area as there were a lot of cars starting up around 6am. Our pitch was directly alongside the fence with the main A9 road on the other side so there was quite a lot of road noise day & night. On the positive side the site location is very handy being a 5 minute walk into Aviemore and there's an excellent Italian restaurant at the site entrance (£12. 95 for an eat as much as you want buffet and the pizzas were excellent) there is also a bus stop not far from the site with an hourly service to the cairngorm sky centre. On the down side the site was very expensive at £28 per night for 2 adults in a Motorhome. One final point, it snowed heavily the night before we left and as the road around the site hadn't been treated I asked at reception if someone could at least grit the bank out as I didn't think our 3. 8 ton Motorhome would make it up, the guy reluctantly agreed to 'get it done sometime as your not in a rush are you ?' As the road was not treated 2 hours later we found the grit bin and did it ourselves ! At £28 per night I would have expected better service than that ! We will not be rushing back here soon !

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 155 reviews from this member

Used the site for a one night touring stopover. The site is laid out like a figure '6', and that may account for the varying reports about noise and the distance to the facilities. The loop of the '6' is closest to Reception - it's wooded and shaded, closest to the toilet block and farthest from the A9 road. The downstroke of the '6' is open, more sunny, but the far end is below the A9 - more noisy - and farthest from the facilities. The main niggle for us is access to fresh water - there are no stand-pipes around the site, just one tap in a cupboard at the end of the facilities block - our short hose would not reach it, so if you have a motorhome, fill up first or bring a long hose! We'd stay here again, but only as a stopover - the shade and the fresh water access are an issue for us. Good dog walk (in Craigellachie National Nature Reserve). We didn't try the on site Italian food place, but it's run by the owners and would be handy if you don't want to cook. And the site is close to town. £26 for 2 people, hardstand and EHU; not sure if the dog was free.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robertson Family 1 review from this member

Ideal site for being close to the centre of Aviemore and used as a base. Quite a bit of road noise as you are just of the A9 (didn't bother us). The park was quite a bit away for the kids to go to. Bins, Toilet block, drinking water, waste emptying were all about a 5 min walk up a hill. Not good for someone that struggles to walk. There is a tv point along with the electric hookup but you need a really good lead for it to work which you can hire from reception for £5. 00 plus £5. 00 for the card to get into fresh water, toilets etc etc.

Will try a different site next time.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bangkokboy 1 review from this member

We found this site to get a very nice clean place to stay

The wash block is the best we've come across

Helpful and friendly staff in a super location

Walking distance to the pubs and shops

I marked this resort down only because their various bar prices were excessively high

Otherwise a near to perfect resort to stay

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Inverness-Shire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4787 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window