Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandylands Holiday Park ( Park Resorts )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Site Reviews

Sandylands Holiday Park ( Park Resorts )
James Miller Crescent
Auchenharvie Park
Saltcoats
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA21 5JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0843 309 2591

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  5m  1m  1m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: 21 March To 31 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 10 Reviews
              6/10 from 10 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  10 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LBaker 2 reviews from this member

We booked a pitch for one night in a motor home.

The site is next to a beach but situated in the middle of an industrial park.

The site is very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.

However the site is very similar to a Butlins holiday camp but with static caravans, so if this is not what you want then its better to avoid it.

Also the pitch they gave us was a few meters from a busy railway track so we had the sound of trains thundering by all night. There had been a fight the night before we arrived between two of the holidaymakers staying in the static caravans which resulted in a man sadly losing his life so a lot of the facilities had been closed. The police were still on site carrying out forensic investigations so the beach road was closed as well. This did not affect us as we were intending to depart early the next morning but it would have been nice to have been able to sleep.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Prettynice 1 review from this member

We hired the caravan from a friend, we went for a long weekend. The park itself was very quiet except on the Friday but just the usual people going home after being in the club. We didn't go to the club as night as they wanted £7 per night or £35 for the week, it would have been to costly for the 3 of us so we went in through the day. There's still two pool tables but they don't have smaller cues for the kids which would benefit them better. The swimming pool was open but we couldn't get in due to not buying the passes but there is swimming pool and ice skating not far, I'd say 5 minute walk, but its not free. The railway is a put off but you get used to it.

The staff were very friendly. The play park could be bigger, there's no longer the kids football play area that's now got caravans on it, so a great loss for the kids. The chip shop food is nice. The laundrette is great if you want to get your washing done and not want to have all the washing when you get home. With a few small tweaks it could be better

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Afcbian 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here just really to use as a base for visiting family in Kilmacolm (40mins away).

Stayed with Park Resorts in a bronze 6 caravan.

Caravan was brilliant but we did have a cooker with an oven that wouldn't work. The staff & security guards were great. We eventually got upgraded to a bronze 8 caravan, after several attempts were made to fix the oven. They also offered us some free fun passes for our family visitors to use the swimming pool.

The drive up to Sandylands is on the back of a housing estate, golf course, industrial units & the (old?) football grounds. There is wired fencing surrounding the entire park and it doesn't look very appealing. Some reviews say there is a security gated entrance to Sandylands-i never saw this.

The childs park is right by the entrance to Sandylands but I expect this is because the play park is right next to the entertainment centre. I wasn't so keen on it being right next to the road entrance to the park.

A lot of the park appeared to be privately owned caravans. It is a very sparse looking caravan park & could do with some trees/bushes around the park perimeter & planting to cheer it up. There are no sea views at all from the caravan park, because first you have to go over the railway bridge, then the dunes, to get to the sea.

The railway track runs right in front of the caravan park but there is a huge wired fence protecting you. The trains do run throughout the day up to 1130pm. However I was quite surprised that they were quite quiet when they passed, apart from the odd freight train. My kids loved seeing the trains go past though!

We didn't use any of the evening entertainment, so can't comment on that. We did however use the indoor swimming pool. Ok, the pool was cold (not what I'd call heated) but you got used to it, although we couldn't stay in it for long.

They did provide inflatables for the kids to play with. There are lockers by the poolside for you to put your clothes in etc. I can only comment on the female changing rooms(2 showers, toilets & washbasins) The toilets were filthy & the showers looked. They really need a re-vamp! The indoor heated pool was like an outdoor pool with a metal shed over it.

We went towards the end of the Scottish summer season(kids back at school) & were told it was busy but the caravan park felt very quiet.

Not sure I would ever want to camp at this site as you are right next to a train track. The shop looked well stocked & the launderette must have been good as it was very busy.

Overall it was a quiet holiday base for us to visit family & the kids loved staying in the caravan. It just all looked a bit grey. It just needs a bit more TLC, landscaping & trees/bushes planted (instead of looking at grey wired fencing).

Shame the pool was cold when we visited & the swimming facs were poor but it's a great base to visit Ayshire. We loved Ayr itself. It has super beaches & a great kids beach front park (even the adults enjoyed the park).Oh & you can get free parking right along the sea front for 3 hours!

The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Podge68 5 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a weeks holiday at Sandylands. We collected tokens out of a popular newspaper and was given this camp site as one of our choices. We chose to extend our stay but not upgrade due to the price shooting up already to over £300! Not a cheap holiday anymore!

And where shall I start? On a plus side our caravan was really nice, all basic home comforts, nice and clean, and plenty big enough for a family of 6. I think I may have had the same caravan as a previous reviewer, as our keys did not open both doors and they looked like they had been forced open on occasion (very flimsy locks). The downside being no mention of the railway that runs alongside the park, both passenger trains and huge long coal trains, 21 carriages long! Day and Night and no I did not get used to it.

The staff were very friendly, always trying to help and offer advice.The entertainment team were not the best but tried their hardest. All the staff members seem to do more than one job on site, one of the security men fixed our boiler then checked our passes then collected our empties! They work really hard.

The bridge over to the beach was handy but not buggy friendly so be aware if you have very young children. The beach was extremely dirty, fly tipping obvious, lots of litter and not one you could spend the day on.

The swimming pool was very warm but very busy, and on one occasion we could not swim only walk about due to the amount of bodies in there. They do operate a band system, but allow too many people in at a time. No individual changing rooms in the womans or mens, only a communal space, so if you're shy it may not be for you.

The shop was stocked with the essentials but a little pricey, however their is a Morrisons just down the road if you want more value. The chip shop was great, very friendly staff and good prices too.

The children's play area is very small for the amount of children on site and mine never stayed for long due to it being busy and older children using it also.

Saltcoats is a small town with plenty of shops and a little market. Lots of pubs about but they did not appear family friendly. It does seem a little run down with borded up shops and a few drunks hanging around (during the day).

We did get out and about and therefore it made a good base. Heads of Ayr farm park was great for the whole family at a reasonable cost and Dean Castle in Kilmarnock was FREE! We spent more time on Troon beach which was a 15 minute drive and was really clean and has a larger town.

Down side to the campsite, DOGS! Both myself and 2 children all stood in doggy poop, one area smelt really bad and I was worried when they were playing football and rolling around in the grass what they may come home covered in. The Family room was really busy and not enough seats, there is a sports bar but not what the children want, and there was an over 18's bar which we never saw open. The arcade was very busy and hot.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hunt4juls 4 reviews from this member

Easy site to access, friendly and helpful staff.

Great kids daytime entertainment with a morning and afternoon club, along with kids dances at night. So the site is well catered for for families. Evening acts for adults quite good, one of the bars is for 18 and over if you want escape other peoples kids if you don't have any.

Security very tight in the evening for in and out of the main complex.

The complex consists of 3 bars, pool and games area. Chip shop and mini shop for essentials around the corner. However there is a couple of big Super markets near by.

Space for tourers restricted to two rows, so if it is raining it's very hard to manoeuvre your caravan- due to the slight slope.

Shower block and washing station all together with the water. These were clean enough but shower cold quickly so you will need to be fast when washing yourself.

Although, there is a railway bridge to cross, it is safe enough and if you follow the sandy paths- beach easy to find bypassing the dunes and fences. Great for dog walking.

We all had great fun and will be returning Easter next year.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Barjohnivell 4 reviews from this member

Varied reviews have been left about this park, some are understandable if you are in a touring caravan (which this website is mainly aimed at). We booked through Tesco as they accept clubcard vouchers £10 clubcard voucher = £40 towards holiday, so this made it a cheap option.

Booking was easy and after we booked read all the reviews, oh dear!

Most people complained that it was at the back of a council estate and that the place was full of drunks, but I can assure you this is definitely not the case. To me Saltcoats is a typical Scottish seaside town that has suffered from a lack of investment due to the loss of industry and therefore jobs. I would certainly not call Saltcoats any worse than the Mablethorpes or Cleethorpes of this world.

As we have two children one at 3 years and another at 7 Months this park is perfect for the simple things in life, playing on the superb beach, soaking up the evening entertainment with excellent staff, or enjoying the small but very clean swimming pool.

Locally there is the excellent 'Heads of Ayr' Farm park which is a full day out if needed. Glasgow is just 30 minutes away and there is a superb drive up the coast to Greenock taking in some fantastic sights, and an Italian ice cream parlour at Largs en route.

The campsite was clean but did seem to have a few caravans that looked a little worse for wear however the caravans for rent was clean, well equipped and comfortable, and for £229 in June for 5 nights extremely good value.

The evening entertainment wasn't structured, however it did cater for the age and amount of people who were in the clubhouse, so all the kids had a great time, and all the adults enjoyed it as well. Staff in general were very friendly and accommodating and unlike some English parks we found our '£' went quite a long way both on the site, and at the local shops and attractions, you also weren't bombarded with merchandise for the kids, although you did have to walk through the arcade to get anywhere.

All in all for a well priced, enjoyable short break this park is very good and we were pleasantly suprised following all the negative comments we read. This park will not suit all, and I can understand the comments about the touring park as it was next to the railway, it was a little waterlogged, and the trains do run every 15 minutes! we got used to this though as our static was near the railway.

Our verdict 8/10, could be improved with a few more on site activities and better access to the beach, a railway bridge isn't ideal with a pushchair, however an underpass would probably cost a few hundred thousand so fair play.

Previous     10 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Ayrshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4725 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0391