Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
Yew Tree Cottage
31 Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01948 663284

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 29 caravans including 12 seasonal + 8 Tents
Open: 28th Feb 2nd November 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
              9/10 from 90 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pyper 4 reviews from this member

Met at the very secure gate by the nice lady, checked in and escorted to our pitch in less than 15 minutes. Nice flat pitch with hook up. The pitch was next to a fence that separate the tents from the caravans. When the caravans parked on the other side of the fence I thought us all a bit to close.

As other reviews have mentioned there are a few rules.

The showers near the entrance are very good, clean and spacious and are the better of the two shower blocks.

The washing up areas at the second block could have done with a good brush down - lots of cobwebs and spiders.

There are numerous bins for recycling, which is good, but on our last morning I did see that someone had left a collapsible plastic box on top of the bins full of rubbish - teabags, takeaway containers, half eaten food etc.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Canal Side, it is in a nice area next to the canal and a pub across the road. There is some road noise.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ralphybaby 2 reviews from this member

Been 3 years since our return to Canalside and the standards have not dropped.

Had a great welcome on arrival and chaperoned to our pitch and shown where all the facilities are etc.

The site is kept lovely and the shower facilities are great (the shower block near the entrance is best). The shower room is just like a bathroom, with toilet, sink, mirror, shelves and hangers and even a chair, oh and the walk in shower. The showers are 50p and the water was nice and hot and lasted a long time (not sure why people moan about paying really). The other half used power in the ladies for hairdryer and straighteners so she was happy too! There are separate toilets also and again always seemed clean and tidy.

The site has a lodge type building with a microwave, fridge, freezer and a washing machine installed for those that may need it. We found this handy as we do not use hook up.

The site staff are always on hand and also tending the site to keep thing lovely. It has a family run feeling and when we left early due to circumstances at home they genuinely had concern that we were leaving due to a problem with the site which was nice.

The site is great for those that like to walk, with the canal right next door and lovely walks, on way to the WilleyMoor Pub (about 30 mins) and the other way an hour walk via canal to Whitchurch. A garage is next door and handy for bits and bobs. The Horse and Jockey pub is across the road, we did not eat there but had a drink. Food seemed bit pricey and other campers said it wasn't great but cant comment ourselves.

The Canal side cafe which is only a few minutes walk away does a great breakfast if you fancy a change from cooking and is a great place to watch the barges in the stair case locks.

In all a great stay, and we will not leave it so long to return this time.

Top marks for CanalSide!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Noseyparker 1 review from this member

Read the reviews before we went so were aware there may be a lot of rules however, once we got there, we did not think there were any more rules than the usual campsite do and don'ts. Liked the private gate out to the canal- very handy for walking the two dogs. Didn't use the showers as the money slots were outside the cubicles and there was a limited time to turn the water on. The only problem we had was the pitch we were on (number 1). The pitch was only just wide enough for the motorhome and sat right next to the main road through the site. Everybody that walked to the toilets or walked to the canal gate had to pass the van and were only a foot or so away from the side and the front of the van which gave us very little privacy. The road noise was a bit louder than expected. All in all would go back to the site but only if guaranteed another pitch!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pangie46 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site with very friendly and helpful owners, especially when we had a flat battery!

(Garage next door very helpful too. )

Made our first ever camping experience an exceptional one. Toilets and showers immaculately clean and great pub across the road. Beautiful scenic setting recommend this site to anyone. No problems with having two dogs there as there are lovely canal walks and fields everywhere. Thank you Canal side see you again!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fred1664 2 reviews from this member

Got to canal side site 07 july 2013 very hot and sunny. Nice field for tents trees on two sides, showers & toilets nof far from where you camp. And were clean and with toilet paper. Showers 50p but hot. And I paid £10 a night to camp there, just me, car and my cycle. If the showers were free then site fees cost would cost more. Flat field for tents, duck pond with a few ducks. Pub over the road was ok food alright. Willy more pub on the canal was good nice. Pint of Perroni lager, and the food look good as well. Camp site easy to find on A41. Going back with my wife soon. 10 out of 10 very good

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barry Fisher 11 reviews from this member

Easy to get to – just off the A41 Whitchurch by-pass, this is a small, quiet site, owned and run by a friendly family. Kept neat and tidy, with coded locks on entrance and towpath gates keeping it secure.

As befits the notice at the entrance “Strictly no children beyond this point”, it was occupied by a few pre-children couples, but mostly by post-children couples. If you have visitors (up to two), they are charged £2 each, and £2 to bring their car inside the gate (but not up to the caravan).

The site has a smaller, lower field of about ten pitches, and a larger sloping field with about forty further pitches. About half a dozen are seasonal pitches, the rest for usual use by visitors. Alternatively, caravan storage is available in an adjacent locked compound (from a conversation with someone who used this facility, this seemed to be relatively inexpensive, but you would need to check this out), and the owners will move the stored caravans onto a pitch (at normal rates) when required.

Pitches are crushed stone to the width of a caravan and awning, so no dead grass/mud-under-groundsheets problems. Water, electricity, tv and waste water drain are to all pitches.

The main toilet/shower (50p for 5 or 6 minutes, and 30p to use a hairdryer) and bin area is between the two fields, and, whilst not new, is perfectly satisfactory. There is a collection of eight different recycling bins (including dog bin), to suit the requirements of the local authority. A newer toilet block is at the entrance to the site but, because of its position, seems little used.

Grindley Brook is two things – above canal level the busy A41 is fortunately not intrusive thanks to a speed restriction and double bend, plus buildings between the site and the road. Adjacent the site entrance is a petrol station with a useful shop, and opposite is a pub (food available). Otherwise not much else.

However, going through the gate from the lower field direct onto the Llangollen Canal towpath, the immediate view is a different, picture postcard world of gardens and cottages. Three fairly close canal locks lead to a staircase of three linked locks – a gongoozler’s paradise. Alongside the staircase is a good café/tea shop selling ice cream and some groceries, where you can sit and watch the boats struggle up and down the staircase.

For the energetic, a further 30-40 minutes walk along the towpath takes you to the Whitchurch canal arm and a pleasant walk into Whitchurch itself.

Further afield, a short drive takes you to the delightful town of Nantwich, with Whitchurch and Ellesmere (with another canal arm) also close; the old town of Chester (straight up the A41) is a bit further, but well worth a visit. Motor home users should note, however, that buses from Grindley Brook site are two-hourly.

Mobile phone connection is a bit iffy; internet connection almost impossible, and there is no Wi-Fi available.

We liked this site very much, and we will return.

Previous     90 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1894 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0508