Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Canal Side Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Canal Side Caravan Site
31 Grindley Brook
Grindley Brook
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4QJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01948 663284

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 29 caravans including 14 seasonal.
Open: 28th Feb 2nd November 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 98 Reviews
              9/10 from 98 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ettenaej 6 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site. Quiet peaceful clean tidy organised absolutely brill. We came across this site by accident but realy glad we did. Denise went out of her way to accommodate us being as we didn't pre book. Once getting through the gates its a little oasis with tranquil walks along the canal excellent cafe 5 mins down canal path lovely jubley cakes fully recommend you to try them. Showers and toilet facilities were fine maybe room for improvement but fine. We would most definitely use this site again and have told many people about it. Bus route right outside the gates good value if you get day rambler tickets. Even bus staff friendly. Garage shop, cafe pub and bus stop what else do you need! This is also an adult only site. Look forward to next visit. Jan n Alan.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Terrypirie 5 reviews from this member

We had been recommended this site so decided to visit for a few days. The location looked good but the gate was opened by a man who didn't bother to say hallo or welcome. Denise herself was welcoming but this has been the only site where they insisted we parked head on as our door is on the other side(being a german van)-no problem though as we had a large pitch near to the canal gate.

Once through the gate it was a different world with lots of lovely walks.

Would we come again-no. It is not our sort of site-we felt very watched, lots of rules and very expensive showers, 30p for a plug for a hairdryer and £1 for four eggs. And it was an adult only site!Lovely setting but not for us-and the view from our van was either nettles or a storage yard.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyrone 15 reviews from this member

We fully recommend this lovely site, having just spent a Sat. & Sun night there. The site is clean & tidy, very well looked after as our the guests. Our van was pitched for us! Right next to the canal there were lots to see and plenty of good walks to be had. We had a 'chilled' weekend and the car never moved. The minimal road noise was not a problem but it possibly depends on which part of the site you are on. Only negative would be an oily smell at dusk from the tanker depot which is out of site down the road. We aim to return next year, if not sooner.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janine1947 29 reviews from this member

Canal side site in a good location with access to, the canal path. Good sized grass and hard standing pitches well laid out with electricity, TV, water and grey waste to most pitches. We had a warm welcome form Denise, who gave us an information leaflet and encouraged us to read the site regulatIons posted at two places on site. TV hook up cables, toilet fluid, miLk, eggs, and bread all available from reception.

Two small clean amenity blocks with toilet, washing up, and showers (shower 50p hair dryer 30p) good road ways and access to pitches. The area we were pitched in was flat some seasonal pitches were up a slope.

The path from the site follows the canal and has locks and several long boats a pleasant hour + walk to Whitchurch small market town with many shops, tea rooms pubs and a tesco?

The site pricing is itemised and detailed. Motorhomes are more expensive than caravans ? Why. Twin axle caravans, dogs, awnings, porch awnings, roll out canopies, gazebos, extra persons, extra cars, and bank holidays all incur extra coat. At £17 per night We thought showers should be included. Road noise from the nearby Busy A41 is not particularly noticeable in the daytime but is very intrusive at night.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emma_griffiths2009@ 3 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic camp site if your looking for an adults only, quiet and relaxing time away. Brilliant facilities! The camping field had 4 picnic benches with one under a shelter. A brilliant toilet block with separate showers (50p), and washing facilities for both pots and clothes. There was a fridge and freezer for campers to also use.

We were the only campers for the weekend because it was mixed weather (a lot of rain included) but they said they didn't get too many as they want a relaxing quiet site! which was absolutely perfect for us and will also be great for those in caravans and motorhomes etc as they wont have their peace disrupted either. In all I will most definitely be going back.

Its right next to a canal. If you turn right by the canal it take you to a lovely café (5 min walk) and just outside the campsite there is a great pub that serves great ale and food and a petrol station with little shop.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EllieR 5 reviews from this member

Wow, what a lovely site. It is beautifully maintained to a very high standard and is in a superb location.

Leave through the gate in the bottom left of the site and you are right on the Llangollen Canal. If you turn right you are within minutes of the Grindley Brook Staircase lock where you can watch the world go by whilst others open and close the locks.

If you turn left, after half-an-hours walk along the towpath, you arrive at the Willey Moor public house. However, should that be too far, across the road there is the welcoming Jockey and Horses pub. Both pubs do lovely and reasonably priced food.

Back to the site; the toilets and all the facilities were very clean (I cannot talk about the showers as we used our own).

What was really lovely was the peace and tranquillity of the site; waking to the sound of bird song every morning and being alongside the canal.

Highly recommended.

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2754 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0664