Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cartref Camping And Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Cartref Camping And Caravan Site
Ford Heath
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY5 9GD   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01743 821688

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m 5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 46 Pitches choice of Fully Serviced or Standard Pi
Open: 4th March To 29th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 167 Reviews
              10/10 from 167 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Struth 19 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site this is. We stayed in the adult only field which is fully serviced with spacious pitches, in the middle of the field is a raised pond & fountain & two pergola with climbing roses, a lovely feature. The owners & wardens are very friendly & welcoming. The toilet block is immaculate, with very nice showers & plenty hot water. There is an on-site bar open in the evenings, which sources its ale locally, unfortunately we could not attend due to having bad colds, but did look very inviting. It doubles as a hot drinks cafe mid mornings, which we did try & very nice it was too. Shrewsbury is very easily accessed, only a few minutes drive to a central car park. Also there is a Toby carvery only 3 miles down the road towards town. This site is perfectly located for exploring Shropshire. We felt very much at home on this peaceful site & will definitely be returning in the future.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LR2007 9 reviews from this member

Arrived on site and shown personally to our pitch which was very private with surrounding hedges. It would have been helpful at this point if we were asked if we needed wifi or anything else extra too as they left us to it and asked for payment the next day. The whole of the site is immaculate and a credit to the owners. The shower block is very clean, however, the cubicles are quite small and the shower curtains do tend to attach themselves if you move! A little old fashioned in that respect. The floors do tend to get quite wet too so it would be helpful to have a small stool to put bags on etc?? The lights are on a timer which is understandable, but when I used the shower in the afternoon they went off part way through which would have made me apprehensive to use them at night. Now for the slight negative. Like many responsible dog owners we have black poo bags attached to our dogs lead at all times for the inevitable, however, we were given clear plastic poo bags on arrival with written instructions that these MUST be used. A great concept and all very well if you can remember to take them with you! Didn't use the cafe/bar or shop as only a short stay so can't comment on those.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackie18 7 reviews from this member

We stayed 4 nights here.

After reading the great reviews for this site, I agreed with all but a couple of things so I feel I have to put my take on this site.

When we arrived we were shown to our pitch by the friendly owner who guided us into our pitch.

When we were in position we found our unit to be right up close to the edges. This made getting our water and waste butts in/out quite tricky.

The pitches are small. Once we had caravan/awning/car in position the only place for us to sit out was in front on the gravel.

The toilet/shower block for me is not great. The lights are on aromatic. I decided to get a shower early evening, on not a particularly bright day and the lights went out while I was still showering. The shower cubicles are small with not much room for your clothes etc. Showers are push button and go off every 20/30 seconds (I didn’t count but that won’t be a bad guess). I get the reason for these cost/water saving showers but I would rather pay than have a shower that is constantly going on and off.

The site has a great little shop. We had the homemade bread and some scones with jam and cream very kindly delivered to our pitch.

The little bar is quaint we had a drink in there one night but it was quite so we didn’t stay for more than one drink.

You’ll need to drive to get to nearest pub/shop. Shrewsbury is close by.

We would stay here again but we’d like to try the adult only area not because we had any problems with the children but the pitches looked a little bigger.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seagoe1 1 review from this member

What a wonderful site and the people who run the site, very friendly nothing too much trouble. Every where spotless. Only a short run into shrewsbury, no need for the park and ride, franklin car park so easy to get to, park and bus ride £1. 50 each car park the same. Hope to be there next year. Thank you cartref. Terry/mary

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs Macd 3 reviews from this member

What a delightful site. The staff could not have been more helpful with assistance to pitch and hook up. They were also very helpful in getting us in touch with a mobile caravan repairer.

Each site has it's own little bay between hedges, making for a nice quiet site. The disabled shower room was great. Loved the salted caramel ice-cream & I thought the home-baked bread was a great idea- even if we never got around to getting some.

This is a great site for exploring the area. Watch out for the entrance to the site as it is a bit tight if you have a big unit.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Merlin1955 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from an excellent 7 night stay in the adults only section of Cartref. After an easy tow from the M6 we were met at the barrier by friendly staff who showed us to our pitch (41) and assisted us reversing on and telling us to sort the bill when we were settled. We went to reception at tea time to pay and were met by a very friendly and knowledgeable young lady who chatted for a while telling us about all the attractions around the area and the best places to park and see when visiting Shrewsbury, (don't miss the Dingle). Cartref is a very well run and maintained site with ample sized, super clean pitches with facilities to match and with plenty of hot water from the showers. Although only three in men's side, I only had to queue 5 mins once on Sunday morning after the site had filled up for a gloriously sunny weekend. Very quiet at night with just enough lighting bollards around the site so minimal light pollution. Pitches circle around a beautiful oasis containing a pond with fish, fountain and a couple of benches to sit and relax to the tinkling sound of the water (wonderful) which we could also hear from our pitch. Each pitch is separated from its neighbour by window height hedges which give an intimate feel and caravan services are within easy reach. There is a small shop and bar on site but cannot comment on them as we didn't use them. Plenty places to see around the area but the car was needed for the places we visited. So, to summarise, Cartref is one of the best camping and caravaning sites we have visited in 30yrs of caravaning and I am more than happy to give a 10 rating and we will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 37 reviews from this member

Stayed Fri 30th June to Sun 2nd July = 2 nights.

2 adults + Tent + car inc EHU for £21 per night.

Our (very) favourite site is a ring of just 11 undivided pitches encircling a large fishing pond. The whole site is open and in full view, and we love it!

This site however, consists of fully bordered (to 3 sides) pitches, with the only thing in view being the pitch opposite. That'll take some getting used to for us, but get used to it we must, as we'll most definitely be returning!

A truly magnificent site. Beautifully laid out, and beautifully manicured to perfection. Perfect tent pitching conditions (flat and lush grass all at a perfect length), although only about 6 grass pitches. The rest being very neat and tidy hard standings. Not too big, not too small. No loose stones/gravel anywhere on the grass areas, superbly levelled hedges all at precisely 2. 9m! Flowers/plants galore, and the cutest little reception/shop and even a little bar area.

Everywhere is well manicured and spotless, and yet it still feels welcoming and friendly. A very nice atmosphere all round.

We were in the main family area, but there's also an adult only area, which appeared to be hard standing only.

Had a nosy at the kiddies play area & dog walk too, which also seemed fine at least, but neither is needed by us, so not my place to review it.

Showers are ultra spotless, and a decent layout.

The site was nigh on full, with a fair few kids about, as well as a 5 unit family gathering, but never a hint of a queue, or mess for that matter.

The kids (and some adults) were noisy at times, but it was always happy noisy. Playing, laughing, and sheer relaxed enjoyment. And as per the site rules, all went quiet before 11pm (one unsettled child notwithstanding).

Great reception/welcome from the management (Booked by 'phone 3 days prior to arrival). There's resident wardens too, so always someone on hand if needed.

Easy drive into Shrewsbury, which as first time visitors also went straight to the top of our 'Likes' list!

As always, no site is perfect, so I would point out that we had a disturbed first night/early morning due to an unsettled youngster in the next tent (Not the site's fault of course), and if I had to be ultra picky, I'd say the shower curtains could be moved 12 inches towards the cubicle door (away from the actual shower), so it didn't blow against you whilst showering, but still leave enough room the other side for hanging your stuff up (4 x double hooks by the way, which is good!) That really was the only 'fault' I could find in the whole site!

Such a shame this is not an all year round site, as it would be perfect for us come winter time, but we'll definitely return to Shrewsbury, and definitely return to this wonderful site.

Thanks to the previous UKCS reviewer's for pointing us in the right direction, and thanks to the site management for allowing us to stay at your wonderful site.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Finnyb 2 reviews from this member

We arrived as total newbies not having a clue what to do with our new caravan (lifelong campers) but the lovely warden Dave was an absolute superstar and helped us with everything. Lovely wee site, good facilities with a handy wee shop and little on site bar. Highly recommended

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joannelouise 5 reviews from this member

Just came back from a week long stay and as usual the place was fantastic. Everywhere was clean and spotless from the toilets and showers to the play area. As well as owners Chris and Katrina there are the wardens Dave and Hilda so there is plenty of help or advice if you should need it. The little shop is well stocked and there are dvds and books to borrow. Katrina was very helpful when we were asking about local activities she even printed out information for me. There is plenty to do locally with Park Hall Farm or Acton Scott Farm if the kids like animals or Welshpool and Llangollen are both worth a visit if you like steam trains but if you prefer castles and gardens, Powis Castle is well worth a visit, the gardens are simply magnificent. We will certainly be visiting again next year.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tiggerdav 8 reviews from this member

Firstly what a super warm and friendly welcome we received on arriving, when I mentioned paying for the pitch, we were told to go and get ourselves pitched and have a cupper and come back once we were settled. We were taken to our pitch and Chris even helped us get the caravan pitched. The site was in such a super quite location and very easy to find and access, and as for the site itself it was absolutely spotless, from the grounds to the shower and toilet facilities, you could not fault anything. It was only a few minutes to Shrewsbury and about 20 mins in to Telford. We will certainly be going back again and recommend to anyone.

Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


344 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1008
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window