Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Whetstone Gorse Touring Caravan Park And Fishing

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Site Reviews

Whetstone Gorse Touring Caravan Park And Fishing
Whetstone Gorse East
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE8 6LX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01162 773796

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m 5m   5m 

Pitches: 26
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
              8/10 from 11 Reviews

Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blueclouduk 10 reviews from this member

I quite like this site mainly because it is out of the way. It is on a working farm which means that it is never silent during the day but that does of course mean there is always someone around should any problems occur. The site lies about 1000m from the M1 which is close enough to hear at most times day and night but not overly intrusive.

My family stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend in August 2016. We have a 7 metre tourer and a large awning, both of which where easily accommodated on pitch 2. In my opinion, not all pitches have enough room for a unit, awning and car. There is also a slight slope on pitch 2 which means that a leveller is a must.

All pitches have EHU and there is a tap for drinking water near the entry point.

The CDP is about 100m from the pitches. Just a hole in the yard between two farm buildings, covered by a green, metal box.

During our stay there was an incredible thunderstorm which lasted at least an hour. The site coped admirably and very little water pooled anywhere.

The current operator of the site is a tenant farmer and he is leaving at the end of September 2016. There is, according to him, some uncertainty over the future of the camping site. In my opinion, his imminent departure looks to have stalled any further investment in the on site facilities. The shower and toilet facilities need refurbishing as a matter of priority. There is no excuse for mold on the ceiling of the shower. The instant hot water tap in the gent's loo didn't seem to work either.

I've assigned a relatively low score for child friendliness primarily because of the site being on a working farm. Children and tractors do not mix well. The operator of the site actively discourages ball games within the pitch area but doesn't mind if one of the nearby fields is used.

As mentioned above, the site is secluded. This does make access difficult too. There is a single lane track to several farms. The track to the main gate is approximately 1 mile long, with nowhere to pull in should one come across another tourer coming in the other direction. There is a second entry/exit point and it would probably make sense for the operator to establish some kind of 1 way system. Although there was a fifth-wheel unit on site, I wouldn't recommend taking a large motorhome. The final gates in to the pitch area, coupled with a tight turn make access precarious.

Overall, the site is a little past its prime but nothing that a little bit of investment can solve. If the new tenants decide to do this then I would definitely pay another visit.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Charolie 1 review from this member

We needed to be near to Leicester because my son was on a course in the city centre, and we chose this site as it was only seven miles away. Our other motive was that it has a fishery as we are keen on the sport.

Deep in the country side, it is surrounded by pastures with 1 or 2 horses in each. We were shown to our pitch by Martin, the owner, and were facing the countryside, which we were really pleased about. There were 3 tourer pitches and 4 or five seasonal vans, and the people were very friendly without being intrusive. As you drive up the track and reach the gravelled area, there are also caravans, most of which appeared to be stored. There is a little dirty old van near the gateway to the pitches, and its not a nice first impression, but the large tubs of colourful flowers makes up for it.

The shower is a wet room type, the shower on a timer of 10 minutes for 1 which is plenty of time and there is a blow heater so no shivering after stepping out. There are also 3 ladies and 3 mens toilets which are kept immaculate with toilet rolls, soap and paper towels.

There is a barn which has been converted to hold functions. There was a 50th birthday on the Saturday. We heard the musicians tuning up, but didn't hear any noise after this.

If you fish or are thinking of fishing in the future, this is the site for you. There are 3 lakes on site, and another 2 half a mile down the road. We caught loads of carp, and because one of us is disabled, we were allowed to drive to the peg, which was a godsend. Day ticket is 7 and less for concessions and after 5pm 3. Martin, the owner and his wife are lovely people and work very hard to keep the site and fisheries functioning perfectly.

We are definitely going back again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HarryJ34 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a quick stopover on my way up to the Yorkshire.

Nice site with friendly owners, clean but basic facilities but more than adequate for a lone visitor.

Pitches were tidy and well maintained, and it was easy enough to get into Leicester to visit some Uni friends, which itself is a nice town, some good bars and worth a visit!

Will hopefully return next year with some mates for a longer stay

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Niknrich 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend in July 2013 while cycling/walking in the area. Nice friendly site, obviously some long-term residents who were very welcoming and even lent us some lavender oil when my hubby had an accident with a hot cup of tea!

Only negative was the single shower room and lack of washing-up facilities, as the site is geared up for caravanners with their own facilities. However, the peaceful location and friendly owners more than made up for this. We recommend the Dine India curry house in Countesthorpe for a meal out.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickeyb 17 reviews from this member

What a delightful gem of a site this is set in the beautiful Leicester countryside. Our second visit but I still couldn't remember the way and had to rely on TomTom. Way out in the back of beyond accessed via a half mile long single lane farm track, a bit bumpy but not a problem.

This was once a dairy farm but the third generation farmer, Martin, has diversified and phased out the cattle and the premises now boasts a number of fishing lakes, the barn is now a function hall, stables and grazing and even a doggie parlour.

The caravan site: A number of permanently sited and seasonal vans take up a most of the hardstanding pitches with also some on the grass touring field. Beautifully maintained flat and level pitches, ehu very close to each pitch and water only a few yards by the entrance to the field.

Toilet block immaculate, my only criticism being the light was on a timer. This brings me to my only other beef, I had to carry the toilet cassette about 150 yards which probably isn't far until you suffer with arthritis. There was a tip at the corner of the touring field but I found this was fenced of and was directed by a resident caravanner to another. Had I realised how far it was, would have used the car. Told by other vanner that the tip at the field was full and was awaiting the gulley sucker to come and empty it. (No main sewage system this far out in the country)

There is no shop on site but only a few minutes drive into Blaby where pretty much everything can be found.

All in all we spent a very pleasant 2 nights here and enjoyed the company of the horses in the adjoining field, will certainly be back as we visit son in Leicester and this is an ideal location.

Also a non ehu rally field available so there's a spot for you East Midlanders.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Greenp 13 reviews from this member

We have been routinely visiting this site over the last 11 years as it is near family. We love the greenery and peace. Children have lots of space to explore and can be enchanted by the horses.

There is a short walk along the farm track to a beautiful pick your own fruit farm and tea room where they sell homemade jam and scones with a playbarn for the children. Unfortunately they charge for children to use the barn, which spoils things a little.

Carry on past the fruit farm across the road and wiggle across the junction along a short road to an excellent farm shop Attfields which has everything you need, wonderful country food.

Short drive to nearby Blaby, Large Co-op store at Whetstone. Excellent location 20 minutes drive from central Leicester.

Ideally located for exploring this part of Leicestershire.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Leicestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a pair of OLPRO Hush Sleeping Bags worth 48.00 Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016