Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
              9/10 from 51 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MOWWD 4 reviews from this member

Beautifully situated five minute walk from Slapton Ley and Slapton Sands Beach. Sea views from most of the site so watching the sun rise in the mornings over the water is a must. Dogs can go on this beach all year round but not so on Blackpool Sands Beach just up the road which looked very beautiful. The site I imagine is busy in the summer months and three showers in the ladies facilities would probably mean a queue in the mornings and they could do with a little updating. Enough toilets and washrooms. All kept very clean by friendly wardens. Very basic supplies in site shop. Spar shop a couple of villages away and a reasonably large Tesco in Kingsbridge (about 8 miles). Bus stop in Slapton.

Quite narrow roads in the area so care with towing caravans and larger Motorhomes would be needed, definitely follow the C+CC suggestions to approach the site even if they do seem a long way round. You simply will not get a Motorhome or caravan through the streets of Slapton village itself so be warned.

Dartmouth is within a short car journey, from there you can get the ferry across the estuary with or without your car and can then have a ride on the steam train to Paignton. Dogs allowed on ferry and steam train. There is a paddle steamer ride around the estuary and various other boating trips.

Buckfastleigh has a very pretty abbey, well worth a visit (no dogs) but free entry, parking. There is also a steam train that takes you to Totnes and a butterfly/otter visitor centre.

Dartmoor is about an hour away but again worth a visit when in the area.

Dartington has a shopping village(including the glass shop).

I would recommend this area for a visit and will be returning myself.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Floppy-poppy 6 reviews from this member

Great site!

The wardens were always eager to please and very hardworking.

The pitch that we had was more than ample, slightly sloping but fine.

The shower block was presteen. Even at 11:00 p. M. , the wardens were in cleaning them. Only 3 showers (ladies plus mens) but it seemed to work well - there was only once when I couldn't get into a shower - so I cleaned my teeth instead.

There was a little shop that stocked basics. On certain days there was a fish and chip van and a bakery van that came round.

The little village of Slapton (with 2 pubs - one more select) is a short walk away and so is Slapton Sands.

In Knightsbridge there is a Morrisons and a Tesco for your grocery shop.

Blackpool Sands (a noted Blue Flag beach) is only about 10 minutes away - but you will be charged a car park fee. The charges were being changed as we were there - from £5 to £7 for a car of 4 people - which we felt was rather pricey.

The area is an area of Natural outstanding Beauty, and it is beautiful. Lots of places to visit and not too far (if you stay in the South Hams).

We had visited the Isle of Wight the previous week and paid not one penny parking. I must admit everywhere in the South Hams charged - even at the beaches some were £5 (possibly going up to £7 in higher peak time) - so we felt a bit of a rip off there. Sat Nav also takes you on the shortest trip so you end up on car ferries, again more unexpected expense - so check on a proper map!

We did find one car park that was £3 for the day and had a secret beach. Should I tell. It wouldn't be secret then would it?

But all in all, a lovely area that we would visit again and stay at the same site as the location was great and it was nice to fall asleep to the sound of sea!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SierraKilo 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at the Slapton Sands CCC site over the Bank Holiday weekend. Lovely site overlooking the coastline with sheltering trees and well maintained grass areas. Well stocked reception / Shop and the site managers / wardens were extremely helpful and efficient. Showers / loos were cleaned regularly and remained tidy despite the site being busy.

Short walk into the Village where two Pubs are situated.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 15 reviews from this member

We returned to this site for the third time and once again weren't disappointed. We had a lovely pitch overlooking the fields with ths sea in the background. The showers however, had a rather slow flow of water. The Queens Arms in the village is well worth a visit where you receive a warm welcome and good home cooked food. The walk from the campsite along to Torcross can be invigorating. We walked on over the headland to Beesands for Sunday lunch in The Cricket, superb food and stunning location then on to Hallsands. This coast path walk offers stunning scenery.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The2ds 3 reviews from this member

Returning again to this wonderful site. So relaxing and quiet and so near the beach. Coming back from a walk to the beach seems further as it is a steep hill but we stopped to catch our breath and admire the scenery - what a view. The site is well marked out and we had a lovely view of the coast even from inside the motorhome.

Took a stroll to the village shop and then on to the pub for a delicious lunch. All wheelchair accessible but challenging in places as it is a very old village.

On site the disabled bathroom was very adequate and clean and they made sure we were sited as near as possible to facilities. On site shop is well stocked with essentials and fresh bread daily.

Looking forward to going back again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate w 38 reviews from this member

This is a lovely family site close to Slapton Sands, which is a shingle beach with steeply shelving sea so not so good for small children. A few miles from Dartmouth, we were there during regatta week and it was very busy but great for crabbing. A few miles further, using the ferry from Dartmouth is Brixham, which has a harbour and nice streets to wander round.

In the opposite direction through Kingsbridge are lots of sandy beaches that have gentle shelving and clear water, great for swimming.

The site doesn't have enough showers for the amount of campers, especially considering that most are in tents so don't have their own facilities. Pitches are mostly flat and we had a warm welcome from all the wardens.

The bread van that arrives most mornings was great, as were the fish and chips from the van on Monday night. We had a good meal in the pub in the village, which accepted dogs. Good dog walking from site along the paths round the village, at the beach and in the ley.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.0996