Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
              9/10 from 54 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (12)

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Foxyg 5 reviews from this member

Very busy site, with lots of tents. Yet in the ladies block there were only 3 showers. Okay, there were 7 each of loos and sink cubicles, and they were all very clean, but I think more showers would be good as people had to queue.

The wardens could be friendlier - they were very helpful, but just lacking that certain friendliness.

The site is in a good location, the village just a couple minutes walk, and the bus stop about 5 minutes away.

And the fish and chip van came on the Sunday evening I think it was. Glad I was early in the queue cos they ran out of fish!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 41 reviews from this member

The site is situated within a couple of minutes walk of the village which has a small shop and 2 pubs. Slapton Ley nature reserve is on the door step and the beach and costal path are about 10 minutes walk away.

The staff are excellent and really friendly. The facilities are dated but very clean. The site wifi is a waste of time, we were 3 pitches away from reception and didn't get a signal.

Overall a really good site, but we wouldn't go in the height of season because there are limited showers and toilet and I don't believe they could cope when the site is full.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MOWWD 6 reviews from this member

Beautifully situated five minute walk from Slapton Ley and Slapton Sands Beach. Sea views from most of the site so watching the sun rise in the mornings over the water is a must. Dogs can go on this beach all year round but not so on Blackpool Sands Beach just up the road which looked very beautiful. The site I imagine is busy in the summer months and three showers in the ladies facilities would probably mean a queue in the mornings and they could do with a little updating. Enough toilets and washrooms. All kept very clean by friendly wardens. Very basic supplies in site shop. Spar shop a couple of villages away and a reasonably large Tesco in Kingsbridge (about 8 miles). Bus stop in Slapton.

Quite narrow roads in the area so care with towing caravans and larger Motorhomes would be needed, definitely follow the C+CC suggestions to approach the site even if they do seem a long way round. You simply will not get a Motorhome or caravan through the streets of Slapton village itself so be warned.

Dartmouth is within a short car journey, from there you can get the ferry across the estuary with or without your car and can then have a ride on the steam train to Paignton. Dogs allowed on ferry and steam train. There is a paddle steamer ride around the estuary and various other boating trips.

Buckfastleigh has a very pretty abbey, well worth a visit (no dogs) but free entry, parking. There is also a steam train that takes you to Totnes and a butterfly/otter visitor centre.

Dartmoor is about an hour away but again worth a visit when in the area.

Dartington has a shopping village(including the glass shop).

I would recommend this area for a visit and will be returning myself.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: George125 1 review from this member

My wife and I (from Northern Ireland) were so impressed with the site that this is our second stay at Slapton Sands - we first stayed there in September 2012. The site, which is in a stunning part of Devon, has a few hard-stands but plenty of grass pitches. It is nicely laid out with excellent, well-kept toilet block facilities. Some sites have a view over the sea. Wardens are always friendly and helpful if you need anything. The site shop is small but provides the basics. A bus service operates just a five minute walk from the site entrance and the breath-taking journey eastwards to Dartmouth just has to be experienced along those narrow, twisting country roads! In the other direction, you have the historic village of Torcross (D-Day landings connection) then a few miles further on, the beautiful town of Kingsbridge which has some excellent shops and two well-known supermarkets. If you like pub grub, a short walk northwards from the site will take you to the sleepy village of Slapton where the Queen's Arms produces excellent fare! Once a week, the fish and chip van visits the site - their food is highly recommended but do expect a wait as there is usually a long queue! I will definitely be back again within the next couple of years.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Floppy-poppy 8 reviews from this member

Great site!

The wardens were always eager to please and very hardworking.

The pitch that we had was more than ample, slightly sloping but fine.

The shower block was presteen. Even at 11:00 p. M. , the wardens were in cleaning them. Only 3 showers (ladies plus mens) but it seemed to work well - there was only once when I couldn't get into a shower - so I cleaned my teeth instead.

There was a little shop that stocked basics. On certain days there was a fish and chip van and a bakery van that came round.

The little village of Slapton (with 2 pubs - one more select) is a short walk away and so is Slapton Sands.

In Knightsbridge there is a Morrisons and a Tesco for your grocery shop.

Blackpool Sands (a noted Blue Flag beach) is only about 10 minutes away - but you will be charged a car park fee. The charges were being changed as we were there - from 5 to 7 for a car of 4 people - which we felt was rather pricey.

The area is an area of Natural outstanding Beauty, and it is beautiful. Lots of places to visit and not too far (if you stay in the South Hams).

We had visited the Isle of Wight the previous week and paid not one penny parking. I must admit everywhere in the South Hams charged - even at the beaches some were 5 (possibly going up to 7 in higher peak time) - so we felt a bit of a rip off there. Sat Nav also takes you on the shortest trip so you end up on car ferries, again more unexpected expense - so check on a proper map!

We did find one car park that was 3 for the day and had a secret beach. Should I tell. It wouldn't be secret then would it?

But all in all, a lovely area that we would visit again and stay at the same site as the location was great and it was nice to fall asleep to the sound of sea!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SierraKilo 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at the Slapton Sands CCC site over the Bank Holiday weekend. Lovely site overlooking the coastline with sheltering trees and well maintained grass areas. Well stocked reception / Shop and the site managers / wardens were extremely helpful and efficient. Showers / loos were cleaned regularly and remained tidy despite the site being busy.

Short walk into the Village where two Pubs are situated.

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5851 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015