Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
              9/10 from 49 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SierraKilo 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at the Slapton Sands CCC site over the Bank Holiday weekend. Lovely site overlooking the coastline with sheltering trees and well maintained grass areas. Well stocked reception / Shop and the site managers / wardens were extremely helpful and efficient. Showers / loos were cleaned regularly and remained tidy despite the site being busy.

Short walk into the Village where two Pubs are situated.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 11 reviews from this member

We returned to this site for the third time and once again weren't disappointed. We had a lovely pitch overlooking the fields with ths sea in the background. The showers however, had a rather slow flow of water. The Queens Arms in the village is well worth a visit where you receive a warm welcome and good home cooked food. The walk from the campsite along to Torcross can be invigorating. We walked on over the headland to Beesands for Sunday lunch in The Cricket, superb food and stunning location then on to Hallsands. This coast path walk offers stunning scenery.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The2ds 3 reviews from this member

Returning again to this wonderful site. So relaxing and quiet and so near the beach. Coming back from a walk to the beach seems further as it is a steep hill but we stopped to catch our breath and admire the scenery - what a view. The site is well marked out and we had a lovely view of the coast even from inside the motorhome.

Took a stroll to the village shop and then on to the pub for a delicious lunch. All wheelchair accessible but challenging in places as it is a very old village.

On site the disabled bathroom was very adequate and clean and they made sure we were sited as near as possible to facilities. On site shop is well stocked with essentials and fresh bread daily.

Looking forward to going back again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate w 34 reviews from this member

This is a lovely family site close to Slapton Sands, which is a shingle beach with steeply shelving sea so not so good for small children. A few miles from Dartmouth, we were there during regatta week and it was very busy but great for crabbing. A few miles further, using the ferry from Dartmouth is Brixham, which has a harbour and nice streets to wander round.

In the opposite direction through Kingsbridge are lots of sandy beaches that have gentle shelving and clear water, great for swimming.

The site doesn't have enough showers for the amount of campers, especially considering that most are in tents so don't have their own facilities. Pitches are mostly flat and we had a warm welcome from all the wardens.

The bread van that arrives most mornings was great, as were the fish and chips from the van on Monday night. We had a good meal in the pub in the village, which accepted dogs. Good dog walking from site along the paths round the village, at the beach and in the ley.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kateandjames 30 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, 5 minutes from Slapton Sands (which are shingle) and 5 minutes from Slapton village centre with shop, church and two pubs; our best UK site this year.

Most of the site is flat but there are some sloping pitches around the edges, especially the ones with a sea view.

Toilets, laundry etc always clean and seemed to cope well despite a fairly busy site.

There is a small on site shop and a bakery calls every week day morning. Monday night is fish and chip night with a mobile van arriving about 6pm.

There are some lovely walks from the site and if you want to go further afield there is a regular bus service between Dartmouth and Kingsbridge.

If you are planning visiting with a caravan then you need to be a member of the Camping and Caravan Club, and only 8 caravans are allowed on site at any one time.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 33 reviews from this member

Booked 2 nights and then extended to 4 nights on a standard grass pitch. Heavy rain the 1st night, and constant light rain on the last day meant the ground never totally dried out despite the great weather in between, but never became a problem. My pitch was gently sloping and required the use of small ramps.

Not surprisingly this time of year, the site was pretty much full mainly with families in tents. The only downside was that the small toilet/shower block could not cope in the morning (it was cleaned in the afternoons) and there were queues for all facilities, including dishwashing.

The wardens were always helpful during my stay. Mobile phone (O2) and 3G ('3') reception was good, radio and digital TV OK. Recycling facilities were near the entrance.

Slapton Ley is a 5 minute walk away and it was great to wander down to the shingle beach on the sunny evenings. Torcross can be reached on foot in about 15 minutes - the pubs/restaurants there and in the village of Slapton next to the site were always busy.

All of the routes to the site are narrow in places. There is a pretty good farmshop just outside Torcross, on the road to Kingsbridge which was a very busy town at this time of year with a good selection of small shops. I never made it to Dartmouth due to the limited bus timetable on the Sunday and then the poor weather on the last day, so that's for another time.

The closest I got to visiting Salcombe again was the NT's Overbeck's gardens - a lovely place with a good coffee shop, but the recommended driving route was. Er. Memorable! Very tight and twisty in places with plenty of parked cars to add to the entertainment. Somehow squeezing between a high wall and an oncoming Mini was a particular highlight.

Not the easiest site to get to/from but a great location and I will definitely visit again.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9570 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508