Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
              8/10 from 99 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 43 reviews from this member

This is a nice enough site, well located on the shores of Loch Lomond and only a 10 minute stroll from the pretty, tourist village of Luss. However it a a very dark site being situated in a heavily wooded area (most pitches did have a glimpse of the Loch through the trees) the pitches are quite small and extremely tight to get into due to the trees and the entire area has a severe drainage problem (we had an overnight storm which left 50% of the pitches under and inch or two of water - felt sorry for those in tents or with awnings up !) There is also a lot of road noise 24/7 ! The facility blocks are quite dated but are kept very clean and the wardens seemed friendly enough. Don't think we would use this site again as there are a lot better & cheaper sites in this part of Scotland.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrdandmrc 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 6 nights and had a wonderful time. The pitch was lovey, right next to the loch and the facilities immaculately clean. Great power showers and loads of free hot water. I found the wardens very polite and helpful, although I didn't really need them to sort anything out except booking onto the site, there was always a wave and a smile if you saw them. The sound of traffic from the A82 is constant even through the night, but the site and locatiom more than makes up for this. It's a great place to explore the Trossachs from and not too far from Striling and Callender. Also managed a day trip to Bute, which is worth the steep ferry prices just to see the west coast of the island with it's beautiful deserted beaches.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magiceye 8 reviews from this member

First time at this site arriving on a Sunday afternoon, looked lovely, then went to reception to book in. The manageress of the site was at first very friendly until she asked for my wives C&C card, which we did not have on us. I was told that although I had booked some week in advance we were not allowed to enter the site unless we had two cards, the reson given was 'that shenanigans had taken place before ??' I showed my card which gave joint membership, but that was not good enough, my wife should carry her card at all times I was told. This is the first time I had been confronted with this and was after travelling 400 miles a little taken aback. It did smack a little of Basil Faulty, after asking if they could check us out on the computer, I was told no as the connection was slow. Suddenly there was a change of heart and we could go into our allotted pitch, the lady's husband came up on his bike and took us to our pitch, which was lovely right on the waters edge. The site is clean, well maintained, has wonderful scenery, toilets and showers were spotless the best I had ever seen, a credit to the staff up there. We only stayed one night but talking to others who arrived they had all lbeen given the same wife card treatment, one guy was really angry about it. Overall though the site was a credit, big and absolutely a joy to be on. I would say a little customer care would go a long way here. As we were about to leave saying goodby in reception, a non member arrived with a tent and was told that it would cost him £27 per night to camp there, he left as he had seen a price way below this advertised, shame as he missed a great venue to camp at.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rihizo 2 reviews from this member

We spent two nights at this site in a very wet May! We were greeted by a very friendly warden who could not have been more helpful. Poor chap was soaked to the skin but still managed a smile. The pitches are a good size and the site seemed well maintained. Location wise this site is good for getting out and about. The showers were not great. The building looks like it could do with a make over. The individual showers were clean but outdated. We were also surprised by the noise of the main road running behind the site. Our pitch was next to the lock but those camping under the hedge by the road would have been disturbed by the traffic noise I am sure. This is worth mentioning when you book your pitch. All in all not a bad site but let down by inadequate showers and road noise.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gabriels gran 7 reviews from this member

First time ever camping in Scotland couldn't have picked a better place. Reading what others have put I tend to disagree with some comments, the facilities are dated but they are very clean and plenty of them for the site, yes as campers we do always want more but that's not always possible. When we stayed in May we were welcomed by the Warden and her husband, he showed us to our pitch on his bicycle. They were new to this site too. Due to the appalling weather they had been having the site was terribly waterlogged, he apologised but gave us a choice of two areas where he thought we would fair best. The pitch we selected was ok at this point. We had a lovely view of the loch though. We were there for eight nights over that time the rain was relentless, some of those in campervans had to park on the service road near to their pitches, as we were in a tent we couldn't move, the main body of the tent was very dry but in the awning we were getting water seepage and had to buy a tarpaulin to put on the floor so we could do our cooking and eating whilst keeping our feet dry.

The site does need it's drainage sorting, the water flows down the hills to the loch and the site is in between the hills and the loch.

The site though is situated in a beautiful area on the banks of Loch Lomond at Luss which is a stroll away down the road.

We would visit again definitely and hopefully the weather would be much better.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pjproby123 6 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Luss site, the last was 2008 as we are in Essex we tend to travel overnight. We arrived at the site at 09:30 as there is a very large parking area at the entrance to the site, the barriers to the site are in place by a rope meaning you have to get out of your vehicle on entry or exit from the site. We parked outside site and walked round to reception, the lady warden was very friendly but was having a bad day, due to the bad weather she Was having to phone people booked on grass pitches to cancel them, we paid our fees an she said that as soon as one of the hardstandings were available her husband would come and get us. Unfortunately for us the husband was busy and forgot, eventually getting us at 11:45. But as 12 oclock is arrival time couldn't moan. Once we were on site and settled we took a look round, the toilet's were clean and the water hot showers again clean but dated. Reception sold a few basics, the area is beautiful, I spent sometime talking to the warden about the site, the land is owned by a trust whom won't let the site put more hard standings or draining etc, very informative as I thought the club were holding back from doing the site up. Overall had a great 8 nights at this site.

Outside of the site there is so much to do and see the walks are great an the dog was in heaven either in the Loch or on one of the many walks

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4512 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0420