Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
              8/10 from 90 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 5 reviews from this member

Spent 3days here. Very wet 3days. Got a hard standing which was good. Site just opening up. Wardens working hard to get the site fully ready, lots to do. Toilets clean. Very slippy with wintery green slime on paving slabs around toilet blocks, high slip risk. Sure wardens will get round to make it safe, they are going to get a slip mat for laundry. Good Wi-Fi on site. Repeater post being installed. Cost of site increased. 57 for 3nights with age concession. 10min walk into Luss to shops for paper, s.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wigtowner 12 reviews from this member

Although this site is located beside Loch Lomond there are a few disappointing things which need attention and could really improve the site.

The entry and exit barriers have a thick piece of rope that loops over a pole which keeps them closed. It's so annoying to have to get in and out of your vehicle to open and close them, especially when its raining. It's hardly going to keep the site secure as anybody can get in.

The roadway round is good but no passing places exist. Small wooden stobs have been hammered into the roadside to prevent you from going over the grass verges. To be fair the ground was soaking wet but couldn't there be some gravel passing places and perhaps a one way system introduced?

The toilet block was nice and warm but there didn't appear to be set cleaning times, or did we miss seeing them? There is only one place to empty your toilet cassette and no water to rinse them out.

There had been heavy rain and one of the hard standing pitches was part flooded where there was a porch awning. The whole site would benefit from some better drainage.

A few more hard standings wouldn't go amiss.

Could some of the smaller bushes at the loch side get cut down to allow most pitches a better view of the loch?

The main road does get noisy at times even through the night but it wouldn't put me off going back.

On the positive side the wardens were pleasant, the ducks and tiny rabbits were entertaining. The village of Luss is very picturesque and some really good eating places are there especially The Lodge on the Loch which is just a short walk away.

I hope that my comments are taken as constructive criticism.

Things can only get better.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 12 reviews from this member

We arrived here to stay for one night, it was cold, wet and miserable but the Wardens were so friendly that this was soon forgotten and we were shown to our pitch, the Wardens were also relieved that we had booked as because of the weather they couldn't accommodate anyone on the grass and the site was full. Eventually the rain stopped, the sun came out and we walked down to the shore of Loch Lomond and it was lovely, a little bit of heaven. The toilets/showers were spotlessly clean and warm and dishwashing/laundry facilities good. I cannot comment on Children's facilities. The village of Luss is within walking distance but as we arrived at teatime and left at 9. 30 the next morning we didn't visit. The only downside was the noise from the A82 but it's not horrendous.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brenstwin 1 review from this member

Have visited this site many times and some things don't change. The location is perfect, right on the lochside. The village is a short stroll away where are various places to eat and drink. There is a local bus to take you to Balloch where there is a supermarket and a good variety of shops. There is some road noise and then there is the midges. The site facilities are showing their age, the CDP was temporarily out of order during our visit, the trees and shrubs are overgrown obscuring the loch and some of the grass pitches are in a right state caused by wheel ruts.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Profjackpot 7 reviews from this member

Nice site in a fantastic location with great views and direct access on to Loch Lomond. It was popular with canoeists while we were there but is also good for less active visitors (such as us!).

The facilities are modern with two decent sized toilet blocks and indoor washing up facilities. The showers were advertised as power showers and they were when they worked but this was intermittent with most of our showers being under what resembled a slow running tap. Unfortunately the wardens closed the blocks outside of the advertised closing times on most days which did cause some issues.

The grass is quite uneven so did get boggy in the day's rain that we had. This is something that the Camping and Caravanning Club should address as it probably causes quite a mess in longer rainy spells.

The site is within walking distance of the small village of Luss which has a pub/hotel, a couple of coffee shops and a village shop. For decent shopping facilities you would need to go out in the car, the best locally being in Dunbarton which is about a 30 minutes drive. Loch Lomond Shores is a 15 minute drive where there is an indoor sea life centre - perfect for a rainy day with great loch views but get your tickets from Tourist Information in Balloch as it is a big saving.

The site is close to the busy A82 which is great as it makes it perfect for a stopover and easy to find but obviously has the drawback of road noise although this didn't really cause us an issue as it was fairly quiet at night.

This site offers what you would expect from a Camping and Caravanning Club site (except for ad-hoc facility closing) but really benefits from a great location. Ideal as a stopover or for longer stays.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frog 4 reviews from this member

Had a quick overnight stop here on the way further north and so glad we did. Yes it was nice to break up the journey but to do it in such a lovely place was such a bonus.

We were welcomed and as we only had a small tent, camped on the grass area at the front of the site about 4m from the Loch! Beautiful views, facilities where as to be expected from a CCC site (very nice) and the village of Luss is well worth the short walk as there are a couple of places to eat and drink.

Previous     90 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4109 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0352