Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 103 Reviews
              8/10 from 103 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ernt25 6 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night en-route back home from a tour of Scotland. Having been members of the C&CC for a couple of years this is the first CC&C site we had stayed on.

The site is located on the shore of Loch Lomond with some pitches within a woodland setting. Given its location and time of year we were expecting midges to be an issue, came prepared and they didnít disappoint.

The pitch we were given was hard standing and level, although small and would not have been big enough to accommodate an awning. Given we were only staying the night this was not an issue.

Although the woodland setting was nice and offered some privacy it made the pitch very dark. We also did not realise how close we were to the loch shore due to the density of the trees directly in front of us.

The toilet/shower facilities, as others have noted, looked a bit tired but were clean and acceptable. Others have noted traffic noise to be an issue. To be honest we did not really notice this.

Only staying the one night and having to be up early for the next part of our journey we didnít venture off to the village of Luss or explore the surrounding area so cannot comment on this.

For us the site served its purpose as an overnight stay.

Would we go back again? Yes, but I canít imagine staying more than a night or two.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bendog 10 reviews from this member

Stayed at Luss at the beginning of June 2015 when it was almost monsoon conditions with winds to match, the site was

Completely waterlogged so a lot of pitches we're quite unusable but managed to get hard standing on the banks of the loch witch was very tight to get onto. The toilet and shower block was very dated and needs a lot of work to bring it up to ccc standard. Although It is in a lovely location it is quite expensive for what it is. The village of Luss is also a nice place to walk into but is also very expensive the hotel next to the site charges £4. 50 for a pint, don't think I will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alaire 2 reviews from this member

Pass this site frequently and have long wanted to stay. Paid for 3 nights in advance over phone, though on arrival it turned out there was plenty of space (though no electric hook-up for tents remaining). Spectacular setting from a scenic point of view, but absolutely continual road noise made sleep in tent IMPOSSIBLE. Left after 1 exhausting night and went to Milarrochy instead Ė only 30 mins away and perfectly quiet on the opposite side of the Loch.

If you are in a tent and need to sleep I would seriously recommend thinking twice about whether this is the place to stay.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mike13 1 review from this member

I could have replicated the review below, site was sodden due to weather, as members of the club we paid about £55 for 2 nights in a self contained motorhome, its too expensive for what it provides, you're paying for it's location to Luss, admittedly a lovely village. Staff appeared friendly, toilet blocks had dirty plasters in shower cubicles, sweetie papers on the cistern, can't blame staff for that, down to dirty patrons.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 49 reviews from this member

This is a nice enough site, well located on the shores of Loch Lomond and only a 10 minute stroll from the pretty, tourist village of Luss. However it a a very dark site being situated in a heavily wooded area (most pitches did have a glimpse of the Loch through the trees) the pitches are quite small and extremely tight to get into due to the trees and the entire area has a severe drainage problem (we had an overnight storm which left 50% of the pitches under and inch or two of water - felt sorry for those in tents or with awnings up !) There is also a lot of road noise 24/7 ! The facility blocks are quite dated but are kept very clean and the wardens seemed friendly enough. Don't think we would use this site again as there are a lot better & cheaper sites in this part of Scotland.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrdandmrc 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 6 nights and had a wonderful time. The pitch was lovey, right next to the loch and the facilities immaculately clean. Great power showers and loads of free hot water. I found the wardens very polite and helpful, although I didn't really need them to sort anything out except booking onto the site, there was always a wave and a smile if you saw them. The sound of traffic from the A82 is constant even through the night, but the site and locatiom more than makes up for this. It's a great place to explore the Trossachs from and not too far from Striling and Callender. Also managed a day trip to Bute, which is worth the steep ferry prices just to see the west coast of the island with it's beautiful deserted beaches.

Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6149 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0898