Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 107 Reviews
              8/10 from 107 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5448 15 reviews from this member

Was a bit apprehensive about visiting after reading the reviews. However, the site was lovely. We were blessed with fab weather. The pitch we had was dry but we were told that if it hadn't been we would have had a call cancelling us. Fair enough in my book.

We had a lovely view of the Loch. The pitches are spaced in such a way that nobody is really parked immediately in front of you. This site really is on the banks. Great for canoeing.

The facilities were spotless. The service point was central.

The staff were friendly - may be a bit defensive but am sure that is a result of being constantly blamed for the weather!

Expensive? Not for the view and location.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jcarter 4 reviews from this member

Stopped for one night as couldn't find anywhere else. £26. 25 for two man tent! Road noise constant throughout the night, hum from hotel nextdoor, people putting glass bottles into recycling at 7. 40am, showers so hot I wouldn't want a toddler to use them, needed third hand to hold shower curtain back that kept blowing in. Ok for camping club members with caravan but definitely will not go back again. Over priced and overrated

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ernt25 6 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night en-route back home from a tour of Scotland. Having been members of the C&CC for a couple of years this is the first CC&C site we had stayed on.

The site is located on the shore of Loch Lomond with some pitches within a woodland setting. Given its location and time of year we were expecting midges to be an issue, came prepared and they didnít disappoint.

The pitch we were given was hard standing and level, although small and would not have been big enough to accommodate an awning. Given we were only staying the night this was not an issue.

Although the woodland setting was nice and offered some privacy it made the pitch very dark. We also did not realise how close we were to the loch shore due to the density of the trees directly in front of us.

The toilet/shower facilities, as others have noted, looked a bit tired but were clean and acceptable. Others have noted traffic noise to be an issue. To be honest we did not really notice this.

Only staying the one night and having to be up early for the next part of our journey we didnít venture off to the village of Luss or explore the surrounding area so cannot comment on this.

For us the site served its purpose as an overnight stay.

Would we go back again? Yes, but I canít imagine staying more than a night or two.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bendog 11 reviews from this member

Stayed at Luss at the beginning of June 2015 when it was almost monsoon conditions with winds to match, the site was

Completely waterlogged so a lot of pitches we're quite unusable but managed to get hard standing on the banks of the loch witch was very tight to get onto. The toilet and shower block was very dated and needs a lot of work to bring it up to ccc standard. Although It is in a lovely location it is quite expensive for what it is. The village of Luss is also a nice place to walk into but is also very expensive the hotel next to the site charges £4. 50 for a pint, don't think I will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Electric kev 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights in late May 2015 on the start of our tour of Scotland. We arrived in late afternoon in the middle of a rain storm and was met by a very welcoming staff, who continued to be helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

As has been stated by a number of reviewers the site is on the shores of Loch Lomond, and while we were there it was very wet and some of the pitches were flooded out. The good thing was that due to the weather there was a lack of midges; which the site staff say can be a problem at certain times of the year.

The site is well laid out with a good 3 meters between pitches, which are level and did not feel overcrowded at all. However, when it is wet it is difficult not to cut up the grass around your pitch when parking your car over the end of the pitch. There are two amenities blocks but only one Laundry. Although they are looking a bit tired they are clean and well maintained.

I would recommend that you have a pair of wellingtons if it is wet and especially if you want to use the dog walk.

The site is a good base for exploring Loch Lomond, Glasgow and the Trossachs. The village of Luss is worth a visit, but for groceries you need to go to Balloch, which has a good supermarket and some good fish & chip shops. We used a local dog, who looked after our 2 dogs for a day while we went into Glasgow Ė she was excellent and the dogs had a great day.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony Burton 29 reviews from this member

The bonnie bonnie banks of Loch Lomond! We booked in for 5 nights on our Scottish tour. There was so much we wanted to do. Canoe over to the islands, climb Ben Lomond, cruise on the Loch, explore the area. However after just two nights we retreated to England. We were at the far end of the site where the road noise was very intrusive and each day we were plagued by swarms of midges that seem to be breeding in the puddles on the site. I felt sorry for the site managers and those in tents. Many were wearing mosquito nets over their heads. My wife was covered in bites from the mossies. I would have liked to have transferred to another C&CC site but they were not prepared to do this. I lost 3 nights fees, around £60. I was thankful I hadnít booked for a whole week or more. I donít think any holiday insurance would pay out. Iíd recommend anyone planning a visit to Luss to only book about 2 nights max, and then extend it if the conditions are OK. Luss is a beautiful place and the site is a convenient stop over for anyone travelling north or south.

Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 Ė 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7843 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0469