Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - River Breamish Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

River Breamish Caravan Club Site
Powburn
Alnwick
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE66 4HY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01665 578320

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
10m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 79
Open: 28/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
              9/10 from 52 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 40 reviews from this member

Stayed for 9 nights which were most enjoyable, mainly due to the good 'Indian summer' weather. As previously stated, the facilities are excellent and the regular wardens are helpful and friendly. We gave the fish and chips a 'try' after many disappointing take aways back home giving us indigestion but these were so good that we had them again on their second visit of the week. Lovely area to visit - beautiful scenery for walking and cycling. Did coastal walk from Craster along to Embleton (clean sandy beach) ending up at The Jolly Fisherman for crab sandwiches and a shandy. Spent a few hours on Holy Island ambling about but even at this time of year there were quite a few tourists about. Coffee and scones at the Post Office cafe were good. Went in the castle this time as we had our kids with us last time in the very early years of caravanning. Interesting tour and fantastic views. Lovely lunch at The Treehouse restaurant in Alnwick but didn't do the castle and gardens - put off by some of the Trip Advisor reviews. Took advantage of free admission as part of Heritage Open Weekend to Cragside, the NT property which was the first to be lit by electric light which was also very good. Even my OH liked this one given his technical background. Nice grounds too, but many people on the day of our visit due to the promotion so didn't stay more than a couple of hours. Hope to revisit the area sometime when hopefully we shall have good weather again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 39 reviews from this member


This was a very nice site set in a very rural location.

The site is to the usual Caravan club standard, very well run and very clean facilities.

As I said, it is set in a very rural location, though the lovely town of Alnwick is only a 20min drive away, this is where you'll find your supermarkets, Sainsbury's and Morrisons.

The site is missing a play park for the kids, though follow the nature trail on site and this will take you to a shallow part of the River Breamish, my kids and the dog had a great time playing in the river.

The site does have Wi-fi, and the signal was good from our pitch and the speed was ok.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elizahigham 16 reviews from this member

Really lovely site. Easy to find, easy to access. Most pitches level, mixture of hard standings and grass. Water, waste and chemical points close by. Well appointed toilet block. Lovely spacious showers with lashing of hot water. Very helpful staff. Usual Caravan Club standard. Would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 28 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site in a fab part of the country. The loos and showers were spotless and warm. The site staff were friendly and welcoming. The site is made up of several small areas so it felt intimate rather than regimented. There is no play park for children but there is a separate field for ball games. The site shop stock was very limited.

The village of Powburn (which is walking distance from the site) has a pub, an antique shop and a very well stocked Londis attached to the fuel station.

The site is very close to NCN route 68, however beware that this entire route is not on roads. We followed it travelling north and came across a section of off road which was not possible on a road bike.

We cycled south on the route down to Alwinton one day, which was a very scenic ride. The Rose & Thistle pub in Alwinton served a tasty lunch. We also followed it travelling north (avoiding the off road bits by using the A697 instead, which is a bit busy so not ideal) up to the pretty villages of Ford & Etal. Here we lunched at the Old Dairy which is an antique/ salvage yard/ coffee shop/ champagne bar! Good for cakes/tea/ fizz, but there was not much choice of savoury food.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisnBob 8 reviews from this member

Still lovely:

Our second visit. Having spent just a couple of nights here last year we were determined to revisit and have just done so (Aug/Sep 2013). We really cannot fault the site or location and the Wardens are welcoming and helpful.

Our 2 Norfolk terriers loved the dog walk and nature trail. There is so much to do for the active, and many places to visit especially if you are interested in history. I am not sure, however, that the site holds many attractions for small children (but it depends on the child!). I have heard one or two moans about the noise of the Geese. You need to be aware that there is a large flock living on the surrounding lakes and they fly out each day and return at night and there is quite a commotion as they do so. I found this quite magical but not everyone seemed to appreciate them!

There are numerous places to eat but they are all a drive away with the exception of the Inn in Powburn village: They do quite hefty pub grub cooked to order and, at the time of writing, they were offering 2 meals for £12 between 5pm and 7pm. But if you like fish and chips then there is a van that comes in on Friday evenings and they offered just the best fish and chips I have had for years! And at £5. 00 each, very reasonable. For general supplies there is a very useful Londis shop just down the lane which stocks most of what you will want but you will also find supermarkets in Alnwick, including our favourite Lidl.

We really cannot recommend this site of its location highly enough. We look forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barkerbunch 4 reviews from this member

We only stayed here for one night on our way up to Scotland but we were very impressed

We had a hard standing pitch, very conveniently near the toilet block, it was lovely and peaceful, very well laid out.

The pitch was really big. It was easily big enough for our 6 berth caravan and our estate car with space enough for an awning. We didn't put ours up

The walks around the site along the cut paths were really lovely although we did get dive bombed by some annoyingly persistent flies.

The dog walk was a bit overgrown as it was that time of year. Lovely if you have a dog that will amble along with you, but not so good if you've got hooligan dogs who rush ahead and return covered with billions of burrs and grass seeds.

The shower block was amazing. Proper showers with really well designed cubicles, lots of room to hang clothes and towel, and trays for your shampoo and soap in the shower. Would definitely stay here again, although maybe find an open field to exercise my dogs!

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3563 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469