Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - River Breamish Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

River Breamish Caravan Club Site
Powburn
Alnwick
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE66 4HY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01665 578320

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
10m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 79
Open: 28/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
              9/10 from 49 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 26 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site in a fab part of the country. The loos and showers were spotless and warm. The site staff were friendly and welcoming. The site is made up of several small areas so it felt intimate rather than regimented. There is no play park for children but there is a separate field for ball games. The site shop stock was very limited.

The village of Powburn (which is walking distance from the site) has a pub, an antique shop and a very well stocked Londis attached to the fuel station.

The site is very close to NCN route 68, however beware that this entire route is not on roads. We followed it travelling north and came across a section of off road which was not possible on a road bike.

We cycled south on the route down to Alwinton one day, which was a very scenic ride. The Rose & Thistle pub in Alwinton served a tasty lunch. We also followed it travelling north (avoiding the off road bits by using the A697 instead, which is a bit busy so not ideal) up to the pretty villages of Ford & Etal. Here we lunched at the Old Dairy which is an antique/ salvage yard/ coffee shop/ champagne bar! Good for cakes/tea/ fizz, but there was not much choice of savoury food.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisnBob 6 reviews from this member

Still lovely:

Our second visit. Having spent just a couple of nights here last year we were determined to revisit and have just done so (Aug/Sep 2013). We really cannot fault the site or location and the Wardens are welcoming and helpful.

Our 2 Norfolk terriers loved the dog walk and nature trail. There is so much to do for the active, and many places to visit especially if you are interested in history. I am not sure, however, that the site holds many attractions for small children (but it depends on the child!). I have heard one or two moans about the noise of the Geese. You need to be aware that there is a large flock living on the surrounding lakes and they fly out each day and return at night and there is quite a commotion as they do so. I found this quite magical but not everyone seemed to appreciate them!

There are numerous places to eat but they are all a drive away with the exception of the Inn in Powburn village: They do quite hefty pub grub cooked to order and, at the time of writing, they were offering 2 meals for 12 between 5pm and 7pm. But if you like fish and chips then there is a van that comes in on Friday evenings and they offered just the best fish and chips I have had for years! And at 5. 00 each, very reasonable. For general supplies there is a very useful Londis shop just down the lane which stocks most of what you will want but you will also find supermarkets in Alnwick, including our favourite Lidl.

We really cannot recommend this site of its location highly enough. We look forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barkerbunch 4 reviews from this member

We only stayed here for one night on our way up to Scotland but we were very impressed

We had a hard standing pitch, very conveniently near the toilet block, it was lovely and peaceful, very well laid out.

The pitch was really big. It was easily big enough for our 6 berth caravan and our estate car with space enough for an awning. We didn't put ours up

The walks around the site along the cut paths were really lovely although we did get dive bombed by some annoyingly persistent flies.

The dog walk was a bit overgrown as it was that time of year. Lovely if you have a dog that will amble along with you, but not so good if you've got hooligan dogs who rush ahead and return covered with billions of burrs and grass seeds.

The shower block was amazing. Proper showers with really well designed cubicles, lots of room to hang clothes and towel, and trays for your shampoo and soap in the shower. Would definitely stay here again, although maybe find an open field to exercise my dogs!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Seetheworld 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend in the recent July hot weather, we had a tent in the separate 4 tent area tucked away in a corner of the site at the side of the main entrance. It's a really spacious camping area, shaded by trees, allowing your car to be alongside up to a maximum size of 5m x 4m outfit.

The grass area was dry and well drained but very rocky so a few tent pegs got bent - will remember the best pegs for stony ground.

A woodland nature trail and the river run along side the site which was just wonderful for shaded cool areas for dog walking as well as a paddle. But if nature puts heat, water, lots of grass, shade and trees together, the only thing to remember is extra, extra protection against midgy bites if they tend to aim for you. Some of us got heavily targeted, as well as the dogs, so in high season be prepared.

The toilet and shower facilities were kept immaculate and overall the site felt tidy, well landscaped and really well maintained.

There's a little shop in reception and a fish and chip van on Fridays and Mondays. Lovely wardens who gave us a great welcome and couldn't have been more helpful.

Mobile phone reception seemed fine for everyone except O2 network phones - which could be a groan if it was an issue, which it wasn't for us.

Northumberland is a hidden treasure with so much to see and do on the coast, in the country or inside some magnificent country houses - and this site is really well located for so many directions - we can't wait to come back.

Pitch booked and counting down! Excellent

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisnBob 6 reviews from this member

We stayed just one night at this site on our way back down from Scotland - and I can hardly wait to go back! This is a lovely and obviously well run site in a wonderful area. I almost always read the members' comments book when I go to a site and everyone seemed as delighted as we were. Interestingly, there were several comments from children who also loved being there. The facilities block is immaculate and the whole site seems well run and cared for.

We will definitely be returning next year but for much longer!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 10 wet days in the June storms, we had a hard standing (no 41) and had no problem with flooding, however, some of the awnings in the grass area nearest the river had some water come into their awnings and they managed to move to a better pitch.

This site is really busy however very peaceful. Caravans are asked to leave by 12. 00 midday and usually there were quite a few caravans ready to come in at that time so the best pitches are taken really early.

There is a mixture of hard standing and grass only and all of the pitches are really large and big enough to take a large awning and a car.

The toilet and shower facilities and kept very clean and even though it was really wet weather there was no evidence in the toilet block of wet or muddy feet marks.

Small reception with lovely wardens who gave us a great welcome and as usual with caravan club sites we were asked to choose our pitch and then tell reception our pitch number.

Wi-Fi reception at our pitch (no 41) was pretty good, we managed to get 'connect 3' and 'T Mobile' also managed no problem with 'orange' for our mobiles.

Loads to see and do in the surrounding area, we went to Alnwick which is a lovely wee town with castle and fabulous gardens, Bamburgh Castle is another great day out, Seahouses, where you can take a boat to the Farne Islands, Holy Isle where you can drive across the causway but must first check the tide timetable,

We also visited Berwick Upon Tweed and Paxton house and had numerous little drives out to some beautiful villages, Etal and Ford are also worth a visit and you can travel on the little railway linking the villages.

I could go on and on about this area and in the 10 days we were there we did not manage half of the stuff we had planned so looks like we will have to go back. I would thoroughly recommend this site and we will of course return.

The only down side (or up side depending on your point of view) is that in the time we were there there were no children to be seen in the site, there are no facilities for children or teenagers and I don't know if this keeps them away from this site or perhaps the school holidays have yet to start!

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10602 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1094