Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Troutbeck Head Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Troutbeck Head Caravan Club Site
Trout Beck Caravan Club Site
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0SS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01768 483521

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
5m  5m 5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 21/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
              8/10 from 57 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 281 reviews from this member

This site is situated just about a mile of the A66 and is a good base for touring the Lake District. All pitches are large and well maintained and the toiled and shower facilities are spotless. Staff on site are really helpful and friendly. The nearest pub is a mile away and serves good food.

Locally, Ullswater is a few miles and worth visiting for excellent hill walking and water sports. A bit further is Keswick, a great town on the shores if Derwentwater and great for access to Borrowdale.

It cost about 20 for a motorhome with electricity.

Great site. Recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Skiers 17 reviews from this member

We stayed at this lovely camp site for four nights at the beginning of September.

We had a lovely welcome and was told of all the empty pitches which we could choose from. The site has more service pitches than usual.

It is a very relaxing and peaceful site with lovely views. Just off the A66 a good site for a one night stopover if travelling North or South to break your journey.

The site has two toilet blocks which were up to the usual good standards.

The team of wardens work continually hard to maintain the high standards of the Club and keep it immaculate. Well done to them all. It's always nice to watch with glass of wine in hand!

A good site to visit and do all the tourist things of the North Lakes, plenty of good walks or even taking the views from the car.

A fish and chip can calls.

A aerial wire is needed as TV signal poor.

No Wi Fi and no mobile phone signal on site.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stef and mandy 18 reviews from this member

We have just got back from a 5 night stay at this wonderful Caravan Park. Well up to Club standards, and easy to find, after a short drive from Junction 40 on the M6. We noticed quite quickly that this is a very busy site, with only occasional empty pitches, so book early to avoid disappointment. All the pitches appear to be hard standing, and they are generously wide enough to allow you to park your car next to your van and awning, and a strip of grass separating one pitch from the next. However on the site map (which was a terrible photocopy), it lists a number of pitches that are prone to flooding in heavy rain, so check at the time of booking, as it would be too late if you arrive when it's raining, find out you are allocated one of them and there are no other pitches free. We stayed on a full service pitch at the bottom of the site, very close to the lovely 'dog walk' which takes you past the lovely Troutbeck, and uphill to woodlands. The views from this piece of the park, are not as stunning as the non-service pitches, but as we spend most of our time off site walking on these views, it didn't bother us. There was a children's play area close by (one of two on the park), but we didn't see or hear a child on it, in-fact pretty much all of the full service users, were older caravanners like us, enjoying not having to move heavy water containers about.

There are two large shower/toilet blocks, in very good condition, that are open all the time without a need for a key. The site appeared full throughout our stay but neither of us had to wait for a shower. There are also 'private' cubicles with basins and shaving mirrors too. There is also a games room, which is also the information room. The staff on site are all helpful and pleasant, and they are always on the go, making the site a nice place to be. Entry is by proximity card/barrier, you are issued with the card on arrival. The only issue we were unhappy with, is that the site allows a fish and chip van on site to sell there food, from 5pm to 6. 30pm Thurs/Frid/Sat evenings. I have no issue with the concept, but although the chips are some of the most tasty we have had, we were both served with fish that were 'tough', which was a first for us. We had eaten lightly at lunch, looking forward to a chippy tea, but since they had already run out of peas at 5. 50pm, we were hugely disappointed. With chips you can have fish, chicken or sausage for 5. 50. Gravy, peas or curry sauce is 0. 50 extra when there are some left. A bit steep for an incomplete meal, and dodgy fish. No other food is sold, ie pies or puddings. Reception sells basic supplies only, but there are superstores in Penrith and Keswick. We will go back but will avoid the chippy wagon. The site is half way between Keswick and Penrith, and close to Ullswater, very well located to explore the North Lakes.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frankies family 12 reviews from this member

A lovely site we discovered by chance after visiting the Rookin Hill activity centre nearby. We were due to end our 2 week touring holiday but decided to see if we could book in for a final night to end our holiday.

Staff friendly and helpful, spotless loos, pretty large site for its location, great spot for the kids with two small parks a games room and ideal to bike around. It was just perfect and only wish we could have stayed longer.

I agree with prev reviews in that the lower ( not fully serviced) pitches are by far the best ; which is where we were.

You do need a car but let's face it unless you're going walking you would anywhere in this type of location. Approx 4 miles from ullswater and 10 miles from Keswick. Site only sells essential items so make sure you have enough groceries in as no local shop either.

Would likely not have booked this from location but would defo recommend as it is well run, well laid out and beautifully chilled out.

Rookin hill centre also well run and a great choice of activities if you're feeling more active!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed at this caravan site and again it lived up to expectations.

We stayed here this time for one night on our way travelling south. Good friendly welcome and then given the number and location of our pitch, (normally would have been able to choose pitch however, the site was full) perfect pitch for us near the showers. The toilet block was kept to the high standard we had seen before and the whole site was looking well cared for.

This is a great site for overnight stops as it is near the motorway when either travelling north or south.

We will return again to this site and hopefully for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparrowlegs77 14 reviews from this member

The site is very very easy to find, very well signposted - definitely no sat nav needed. We received a warm welcome, paid for our stay and received clear instructions about the pitches available to us. We found our pitch and set-up.

The site is very well kept and the staff work very hard to keep the site looking good. All areas of site are very clean and very well maintained.

Although the site was busy during our stay, it was very quiet. A take-away chip van visits the site on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, we did not use it so cannot comment on the quality of the chips.

The site has a games room which was open till 8pm and has pool and table tennis available. The games room also has lots of leaflets for things to do and see locally.

There is a stream running through the site. After a long period of rain, the stream rose about 2 foot. We were not pitched near the stream (we chose pitch 26), but it was close to some of the other pitches.

We had a serviced pitch but unfortunately, the waste pipe had to follow an uphill route to reach the drain. This did not work, so we ended up going back to the waste roller.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and will definitely be going back to Trouthead Beck, there is so much that we did not get to see or do.

Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2968 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0508