Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Braemar Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Braemar Caravan Park
Glenshee Road
Braemar
Ballater
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB35 5YQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01339 741373

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 13/12/2013 To 20/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
              8/10 from 36 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T5OnTour 11 reviews from this member

We turned up on spec to this campsite expecting it to be very busy but they had plenty of space and we chose a spot on the grass next to a small stream, with views of the mountains. This is a Caravan Club site (members and non-members welcome) but unlike some of the others we have visited there was a refreshing lack of notices telling you what you can’t do! The warden and assistant warden couples were both lovely – the right amount of chatting, yet still efficient. Pitches are large and well spread out, and as you would expect from the CC the facilities are spotless. We ended up staying longer than we had planned.

Only 5 minutes walk from Braemar, and although it’s not large it still has everything you’d need for a few days stay – small Co-Op supermarket, hotel bar, tourist office, pharmacy and several good cafes (would recommend ‘Taste’ coffee shop at the end of the village). There is also a very good outdoor shop. A takeaway selling ‘fusion food’ – fish and chips and Indian! – is on the campsite side of the village, although we didn’t get round to trying it.

Walking and cycling routes direct from the campsite. The tourist office has a leaflet on walks from Braemar, ranging from a short stroll around the village to a 7 mile circular route up the Morrone – we did this on a sunny July morning and the views were stunning.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nyala69 22 reviews from this member

Very nice laid out site with plenty of space between pitches. The toilets are spotless and very well kept as most club sites. We found it very nice being just a short walk into the village of Braemar so you could have a nice morning stroll for bread papers etc. There is a large number of walks in the area long and short so something to suit everybody. The only small problem we found is that there is a large number of ducks on site which I know is nice but eating outside in your deckchair was not a good idea and also the amount of dropping was a problem if you like to keep your shoes clean. All in all a very nice site to have a nice quite relaxing time. And also when we stayed the site had stand in wardens who was a great laugh and very helpful.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoki 18 reviews from this member

This is our third trip to this site. We love it.

Everything is clean [spotless], tidy and well laid out. As the season is quieter, there were 10 less active pitches, but this led to there actually being more choice late on a Friday night. The wardens were lovely, polite and full of necessary info.

The local shops, galleries etc are great for a wander round. We also went further afield and walked to the pinch bowl [behind Mar lodge]. We went to Spittal of Glenshee for a worth while lunch. On the way back up to Glenshee we saw paragliders taking off and soaring round the top.

A visit to Braemar castle is well worth it and Lara [our German guide] was a wealth of info and even coped with our 9 year old son. Who loved all the ghost stories and the pit.

We will return again that's for sure.

We loved the ducks that were wandering round. They even seemed to laugh at some of our jokes! [Why don't ducks fly upside down?. 'cos they'd quack up!. From Calvin aged 9]

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 256 reviews from this member

Site just on the edge of the village. Friendly welcome from the wardens and plenty of pitches to choose from. All hardstanding and a good size. Site seems fairly well sheltered.

Toilets / showers are old - but kept clean with plenty of hot water. Drying room is a great idea.

The village itself consists of a couple of shops and cafes, nothing to keep you entertained for more than an hour or so. The area though is full of things to do. Not far from Balmoral, miles of walking and cycling tracks and the River Dee is stunning. We found Ballater to be a slightly bigger village with a great cycle track down to Aboyne - part of route 195. In the other direction you have Glen Shee and the ski area. Two of the chairlifts run all year and the cafe does great food at very good prices.

Overall this site is a great stopover and would imagine extremely well used when the ski season starts.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lucysmum 10 reviews from this member

Assistant wardens very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Fantastic scenery, excellent walks straight from the site.

Saw lots of red deer and a red squirrel (a big deal for us as we don't have deer where we live and only grey squirrels!)

Braemar only 5/6 mins walk away, Indian takeaway really good. Lin of Dee stunning. Shower block etc up to the usual CC standards and it was HEATED! Oh bliss in the rain.

The best bit - sad but true - the drying room! A real boon when it rains every day. It was the first time in 2 weeks I'd had dry walking boots and waterproofs. Would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GPDJP 12 reviews from this member

Braemar is a long way from anywhere but whichever direction you arrive from the scenery is gorgeous.

The campsite has wonderful views and is conveniently close to the town which is about 10 minutes walk away.

The site facilities were to a high standard and the pitches well maintained. However, we also noticed an unfriendly attitude but put it down to a bad hair day!

We ate out at The Invercauld Hotel. Our advice is do not do so. It is a coach tour stopover hotel the food was mass produced, poor quality and expensive. The other large hotel was fully booked (coach parties). The Bistro is alledgedly better qualty but we felt the prices were a bit high on the menu board - particularly as we both have small appetites.

Whilst staying at Braemar pay a visit to Balmoral (closed August and September as royals are in residence). You are not allowed into the main house but the grounds and gardens are delightful.

Beautiful area of Scotland. Lovely site location. Worth the visit.

Previous     36 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aberdeenshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4777 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469