Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Braemar Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Braemar Caravan Park
Glenshee Road
Braemar
Ballater
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB35 5YQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01339 741373

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 13/12/2013 To 20/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
              8/10 from 41 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Varaderoxlv1000 18 reviews from this member

A good site with stunning views and good walks for varying physical abilities. The staff were very helpful which always a good start to a stay. The site is well located close to Braemar and the to the road from Braemar to Glenshee and beyond. Traffic noise (v. Quiet) was not an issue and the general ambience of the site was very good.

The facilities were very good though the water waste disposal facilities in one of the two blocks was difficult (didn't examine the other) and could do with an upgrade to facilitate water barrel filling and grey water disposal but at least all of this was under cover making life much pleasanter in inclement weather.

WiFi was excellent and very cheap (something a lot of the greedy sites should facilitate).

There is one small supermarket in Braemar (an easy walk from the site) but other small shops and a butchers are all in the same vicinity.

We would definitely stay again and would recommend the site

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RoyVaux 32 reviews from this member

Very positive & friendly welcome by new wardens. The site is well situated at the edge of Braemar, surrounded by mountain scenery. The pitches are large and level, but the main toilet block is small and closes for cleaning at 09. 30 - early for some, but there is another block. The site has internal TV, WiFi and a dog walk, none of which are mentioned in the Caravan Club book.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Conneechiwa 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here 3rd and 4th of May and even with heavy rain during the night the ground dried amazingly quickly, easy ground to peg out the tent too. The facilities are great, loads of hot water, clean and tidy. The wardens are both very nice and helpful. Would recommend this site to anyone visiting the area.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kld22162 10 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 4 night visit to this site. There isn't one thing we could fault it on! What a beautiful, well run, clean and friendly site this is! A delight to stay here!

To mention a few of the pluses:- Gas central heating in toilet/shower block! This was a first for us having heated toilets! Toilets were at all times immaculate. Plenty of them too! The showers were really good too. There is even private cubicles for washing/teeth brushing. A great idea I thought - much better than standing in a long line of campers with heads hung over the sink brushing their teeth! A hairdryer is also available free of charge! There is also a drying room for any wet clothes you may have that need drying. We also discovered an information room which was packed with informative brochures/advice on the local area.

The pitches are large and extremely well drained. We had some very heavy downpours whilst here but the ground just seemed to suck the rain up like a sponge! The couple who run the site are extremely down to earth, polite and very approachable! The site operates a security barrier. Once checked in we were given a security card which we used to enter the site. This gives you a feeling of security.

Although the site was very busy (Mayday holiday weekend) we still found the site very peaceful and relaxing – this we feel is due to the pitches being so large. We took our dog with us and found some fantastic dog walks for him. At the opposite side of the road from the site there is a long forest walk which ourselves and our dog enjoyed most mornings! The dog walk through the forest allowed us to let him off the lead and have a good run around. There are ducks/ducklings around the campsite which are very friendly. They will actually take food from your hand if you wish to feed them! We saw squirrels, all kinds of birds, and deer!

It’s only a short walk (about 10 minutes) into Braemar itself. Lovely, friendly village with a selection of shops. The view from our tent was simply breathtaking – the view accompanied with a top class site made our weekend one of the best in a long time. Can’t recommend this site highly enough!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kuddles 2 reviews from this member

Braemar was our maiden voyage camping experience. Arrived at the park to a lovely welcome from the 2 lady wardens on the reception desk. The park and the Toilet and wash areas on the site were spotless. However there was a boiler issue and this closed one of the shower blocks as there was no hot water. It was only after I endured a cold shower did I realise that there was another shower block behind the reception area! Lesson to self, read the site map given to you on arrival!

Surrounding area is stunning and is also excellent for walkers, dog walking and for those campers who what a quite and relaxing stay. Village was a 10 min walk for shops, bars and restaurants, although I didn't eat in any of the restaurants. Thankfully the weather was beautiful and we were able to sit outside and enjoy ' a small sherry or 2' at the 2 bars in the village along with our 2 dogs. However on those occasions when the weather is not so good, I'm afraid we would not have been so fortunate as the bars etc are not dog friendly.

Overall enjoyed our stay and we would visit again. However, as aforementioned this was our first experience and fully intend to explore many others so may be a while before we are back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T5OnTour 17 reviews from this member

We turned up on spec to this campsite expecting it to be very busy but they had plenty of space and we chose a spot on the grass next to a small stream, with views of the mountains. This is a Caravan Club site (members and non-members welcome) but unlike some of the others we have visited there was a refreshing lack of notices telling you what you can’t do! The warden and assistant warden couples were both lovely – the right amount of chatting, yet still efficient. Pitches are large and well spread out, and as you would expect from the CC the facilities are spotless. We ended up staying longer than we had planned.

Only 5 minutes walk from Braemar, and although it’s not large it still has everything you’d need for a few days stay – small Co-Op supermarket, hotel bar, tourist office, pharmacy and several good cafes (would recommend ‘Taste’ coffee shop at the end of the village). There is also a very good outdoor shop. A takeaway selling ‘fusion food’ – fish and chips and Indian! – is on the campsite side of the village, although we didn’t get round to trying it.

Walking and cycling routes direct from the campsite. The tourist office has a leaflet on walks from Braemar, ranging from a short stroll around the village to a 7 mile circular route up the Morrone – we did this on a sunny July morning and the views were stunning.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aberdeenshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8687 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0391