Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Staffin Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Site Reviews

Staffin Campsite
Staffin
Staffin
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9JX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01470 562213

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
              9/10 from 40 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 42 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2014.

The site is easy to find and we were allocated a hardstanding pitch at the top end of the site. There seemed to be specific areas for tents, campervans/caravans & motorhomes, which was fine. There is also a specific area for motorhome servicing with a fresh water supply and a road gully for waste water disposal.

The toilet block, whilst a bit dated, was always clean & tidy with plenty of hot water. There is also a washing up area which has an information room attached to it. Laundry facilities were within the toilet block.

We walked up to The Quiraing but would probably have been better to have taken the van there! We thought that the parking was by the side of the road but there were actually a good number of off road parking – even a huge car park by the cemetery that would have taken 50 motorhomes! What could have been a 4+ mile walk ended up as 11. 5 – the difference being the road section to the start of the Quiraing walk!

There was also a dog walk directly from the site, over a hill and then downhill to access the beach at the Staffin slipway.

If there was a pub in Staffin we didn’t find it but there are two local stores as well as an internet café type facility nearby. The site does have a Wi-Fi system [not free] but we didn’t try it out.

We are not huge fans of commercial sites, but this was fine and ideally located at the north-east side of Skye.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hamelnrat 1 review from this member

It was definitely the best campsite we visited on Skye and great hosts and informative of local attractions and walks. Very clean and organised and only 20mins. From Portree for evening entertainment by car. Ideal for dinosaur museum, Columba café/ restaurant and a walk or drive to the coast, 10mins by car or 20mins on foot. Ideal access to Uig via the Quirang.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Freerk 4 reviews from this member

Arriving early afternoon on Staffin Campsite I was nicely met by the wardens. They were very helpful and showed me around the site and facilities. Also there is a wide range of information available.

The site has a few level pitching spaces but mostly they are a bit sloping. I found a nice spot and stayed there 3 nights.

The toilet block is a bit dated but its kept very clean! Also there is a indoor kitchen for bad weather cooking.

Hot water for showers and washing up is free.

I had to recharge some batteries which was done which was done free! Great!

There are a lot of interesting things to do and see around Staffin.

Shops are near by as are pubs.

With a price of £ 7. 00 per night it is not expensive.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LesD 10 reviews from this member

We stayed a week at the Staffin Campsite and had a very nice time.

The wardens were very helpful and friendly creating a good atmosphere on the site. They have a good range of leaflets and information in the reception on places to visit and where to go.

The site has WiFi through Highland net. You can purchase cards from reception to log on. The connection speed was good.

The Facilities block has two of everything. Gents 2 free showers with plenty of hot water, 2 WCs, 2 sinks, 2 urinals. A nice touch was the provision of hand wash gel and hot air drier. The Ladies 2 showers, 3 sinks, 3 WCs, hair drier. They were always kept clean and well stocked with toilet paper. There is a washing machine and tumble drier in another room. A separate washing up sink and small sitting area called the campers bothy, more leaflets, chairs & table.

The site is gently sloping and there are several picnic tables that you can move to your pitch and use. The grass is kept mown short.

We didn't need EHU but there are several outlets. Hard standings for Caravans/ motorhomes.

Chemical disposal point in a small outbuilding, in which Swallows were nesting.

Food is available in the village which is walking distance of about 15 minutes. 2 cafes. The Staffin community centre and Columbus 1400. Both are open all day and early evening. We had a meal in each. Colunbus 1400 was our favourite. 2 small village shops & petrol station in the village.

Lovely walks next to the site with a waymarked route to the beach and slipway.

A beautiful location and a very nice site. We would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TTagogo 3 reviews from this member

This is a basic campsite but ideal to sample the delights of the Isle of Skye.

We were due to arrive the day before but owing to the distance made an overnight stopover in the Highlands (the time to travel to Staffin in the north of the island is worth considering as it took another hour and a half from the bridge crossing).

The wardens were very friendly and had a quiet and very relaxed attitude to the campsite.

We were the only trailer tent (often the case) with most units being motor homes and the odd caravan and small tent. We had very good weather - which made the holiday - but heard a tale the day before we arrived of a tent being blown away(there is a camper's bothy for such occasions and for bad weather with very basic amenities).

In addition to the bothy there is a loo block (basic but clean)with hot water and showers, a separate washing up building (which houses the bothy) and a small reception area (we didn't use except to pay).

There is no play equipment for children - this is not the point of the campsite, nor of Staffin! The children went to Staffin on their bikes and played in and out of the tent - the older one's also had Wifi!There were no other children on the campsite which wasn't a problem as ours play together.

We took the path from the campsite to the beach once which was fun - but all uphill on the way back! This was the only time we had a few midges follow us back into the tent!

As a base to explore the north of the Isle this campsite is very well situated. The Trotternish Ridge is constantly in view and there is a fantastic drive over to Uig. We did a walk (3 hours long which included paddling in one of the lochs you meet as you ascend)on to the lower reaches of the Trotternish which was nonetheless spectacular. It is also a great place to observe birds - we saw a sea eagle and heard cuckoo's just about everywhere.

Three things the campsite needs:

1. A drying room

2. More than one washing up sink

3. More EHU's on the left hand side field

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tobi As 1 review from this member

I camped in Staffin on my own in my small tent during my hiking trip. The owners were very friendly and helped me a lot. First I could borrow tent pegs because I lost some. Then they made some Tea and Coffee and in the morning I got bread for the trip. Their campsite was very tidy and clean and their facilities were clean as well. Furthermore it was quite cheap.

The landscape around the campsite is very beautiful. It´s not far to Kilt Rock, to the Old Man of Storr and to the Quiraing. If the weather is fine, you can have a beautiful view to the cliffs at the coast and to the mountains of Trotternish.

I enjoyed the time there very much.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Isle Of Skye   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469