Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Staffin Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Site Reviews

Staffin Campsite
Staffin
Staffin
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9JX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01470 562213

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
              9/10 from 43 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8)

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Corrour 2 reviews from this member

Meet by a very friendly couple on arrival who made up feel very welcome. Showed us to the pitch and took us round all the facilities. Showers are hot and free very clean as are the wash areas. Some of the pitches you will need to level your van. The grass areas are well cut and maintained.

The view of the Quirang as the sun goes down is special

At night it is so quiet and truly dark.

We will return

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nomadengland 4 reviews from this member

Nice site, well kept with friendly owner. Some pitches individually dug out of hill, but other hardstandings not marked out and became quite closely pitched together by end of evening.

Nice walk from back of site across hill to beach.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

The drive from Portree to Staffin is one of my favourites on Skye.

A neat and tidy campsite ideally suited for visiting the Trotternish Peninsula. It is in a sheltered spot with lots of trees surrounding the site, but unfortunately that means there are no views from the site.

The road into the campsite from the main road is littered with large potholes so a slow speed is essential, but once on the campsite it is OK.

Facilities were clean and tidy.

We were only there one night but needed to do some washing. There is one washing machine and one tumble dryer and there is a system for writing down on a wipe board who is next to use the machines. The machines are basic domestic machines and the washing machine only has a 1000rpm spin capacity which means the clothes are still very wet when they come out, so you end up spending a lot to dry your clothes in the dryer!

Management response: Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to review our site.

Regarding the trees - there is a perimeter fence that holds a tree line. I would never remove these as they provide main shelter to the campsite. To say that there are no views from the campsite is wrong, we have some of the most beautiful views in North Skye and often receive photographic groups who will use the site as a base. Look at other pics on other websites. The trees are very handy when the Skye weather turns and we deliberately place motor homes or tents against the trees to provide cover. The far end and opposite end of the site holds views across the nearby mountain range.

I also refer to a pot hole on the access road,this road is owned by the local council and time and time again we ask for repairs to be made, however we are at their mercy when it comes to repairs and cannot do more than ask. Local budgets, resources etc all add to the complexity of road repairs in the area. We recently spent over £2000 with a local contractor ensuring that the roads that are onsite were treated after a harsh winter.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 66 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2014.

The site is easy to find and we were allocated a hardstanding pitch at the top end of the site. There seemed to be specific areas for tents, campervans/caravans & motorhomes, which was fine. There is also a specific area for motorhome servicing with a fresh water supply and a road gully for waste water disposal.

The toilet block, whilst a bit dated, was always clean & tidy with plenty of hot water. There is also a washing up area which has an information room attached to it. Laundry facilities were within the toilet block.

We walked up to The Quiraing but would probably have been better to have taken the van there! We thought that the parking was by the side of the road but there were actually a good number of off road parking – even a huge car park by the cemetery that would have taken 50 motorhomes! What could have been a 4+ mile walk ended up as 11. 5 – the difference being the road section to the start of the Quiraing walk!

There was also a dog walk directly from the site, over a hill and then downhill to access the beach at the Staffin slipway.

If there was a pub in Staffin we didn’t find it but there are two local stores as well as an internet café type facility nearby. The site does have a Wi-Fi system [not free] but we didn’t try it out.

We are not huge fans of commercial sites, but this was fine and ideally located at the north-east side of Skye.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hamelnrat 1 review from this member

It was definitely the best campsite we visited on Skye and great hosts and informative of local attractions and walks. Very clean and organised and only 20mins. From Portree for evening entertainment by car. Ideal for dinosaur museum, Columba café/ restaurant and a walk or drive to the coast, 10mins by car or 20mins on foot. Ideal access to Uig via the Quirang.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Freerk 6 reviews from this member

Arriving early afternoon on Staffin Campsite I was nicely met by the wardens. They were very helpful and showed me around the site and facilities. Also there is a wide range of information available.

The site has a few level pitching spaces but mostly they are a bit sloping. I found a nice spot and stayed there 3 nights.

The toilet block is a bit dated but its kept very clean! Also there is a indoor kitchen for bad weather cooking.

Hot water for showers and washing up is free.

I had to recharge some batteries which was done which was done free! Great!

There are a lot of interesting things to do and see around Staffin.

Shops are near by as are pubs.

With a price of £ 7. 00 per night it is not expensive.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Isle Of Skye   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets for the UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 18 - 21 August 2017
East Yorkshire - the world’s biggest tribute band music festival, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3067 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938