Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oakdene Forest Park (shorefield Holidays)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Oakdene Forest Park (shorefield Holidays)
St Leonards
(new Forest)
Ringwood
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH24 2RZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01590 648331

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
10m  10m  10m  1m  1m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 5 Feb To 2 January

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 26 Reviews
              5/10 from 26 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mt Thain 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights starting the 14th June 2013 and booked 3 activities for my 12 year old daughter before arriving. Upon arrival we were given a warm welcome and told where to pitch our tent.

The tent field only had about 13 pitches with clean toilets, an outside washing up area with a shelter and a drinking water tape next to it. The field was close to the main building and so not far to walk for the activities, bar, and pool. The ground was very stony and bent quite a few pegs and the rest only got half way in. I wasnít the only one to find this. The pool was a nice size 1. 2meters deep at both ends with a water flume inside which was good fun both for me and my daughter.

The staff where mostly very friendly and helpful throughout our visit. However we did have to complain about other pitches by the first morning due to the noise at 12:30 am with people shouting. There were also children playing football and cricket around other peopleís tents. Most of the day. While complaining I did ask what where the site rules on noise and ball game and was told by the receptionist that she didnít know. This did surprise me. I was told though that a manager will be sent over to have a word. This didnít stop the ball games though as when I returned 2 hours later the children were still playing them. Also one of the other pitches had brought their dog which was allowed to wonder around the field and into the toilets as and when it felt like it as it was never kept on a lead. ( good job no n of the children on site were scared of dogs).

The second morning we were woken up by another family at 5am shouting and swearing at the children. Thought it was pointless complaining as we were leaving that day.

Overall site was lovely with friendly staff, but I wouldnít visit in a tent as no rules seem to apply or are enforced which in my case ruined what should have been a relaxing weekend.

I have given this a 4 out of 10 Purely because of bad neighbours and the lack of rules and consideration to other pitches, and how purely the staff responded to the problems which all in all made the weekend disappointing.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joperandin 2 reviews from this member

The pitches are very uneven and we found it difficult to pitch the tent level. There are around 22 pitches in the field and 1-12 are sited backing onto a stagnant stream which is quite unpleasant.

There is also quite a lot of road noise at night from the main A31 nearby.

On the plus side the facilities in the clubhouse are good. The kids enjoyed the pools and kids club. The shop was well-stocked and the prices in the shop and cafe were fairly reasonable (£3.75 for a kids meal, £1.35 for chips).

The loos and showers are a fair trek from the touring field and it is a good 10 minute walk to the clubhouse.

The loos are fairly clean but the showers were flooded and I had to get dried and dressed in the shower cubicle. Nightmare with only one clothes hook.

All in all - not a bad site, wouldn't stay in the touring field here again but would consider a caravan.

Location is pretty good, less than an hour and a half from Staines and a short drive to Christchurch and Bournemouth.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cephas 1 review from this member

The only facilities was a porta cabin 300 yards from the camping field. There were no washing up facilities, or freezer pack service. The pitches and access were muddy. The price per night was expensive because it included use of the pools. We never saw any staff in the camping field, ( we were there 7 days). We felt the the camping was an after-thought to the static homes site.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deeanna 2 reviews from this member

We camped here for 5 nights in aug 2007 and 2006 when we arrived we were very pleased at how clean the camp looked lovely level grass land,well sign posted and brill it looked.

The staff were very friendly and professional.

Toilet were very clean and we found the pool was just great. The shop had every thing you needed and also the entertainment was good but would benefit a little more room as it did get very busy. We loved it here and stayed here 2 years running.

Highly recommended, will return next year.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahh56 40 reviews from this member

A very impersonal site, and you are told when booking in that you all MUST carry your membership cards at all times! You are then asked for a £10 deposit to work the barrier to the touring field and told you must be off your pitch by 10am at the latest.

We were told by reception on arrival that the children's entertainment was cancelled the first night we were staying ( when we complained about this after getting home we were told it was not cancelled just being held elsewhere!)

The pool is great, and the site showers etc good, but sorry this is not enough to make me return.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 67 reviews from this member

Second visit here and would recommend it to anyone.† We had some heavy rain during the visit and the site coped very well.

Take rock pegs with you!

Good club (smoke free), nice indoor pool with slide for kids, nice sized arcade, well stocked shop and direct access into the forest to walk the dogs.

The site is a bit out of the way if you want to go out and about to Bournemouth or The New Forest.

Entertainment in the club, and we were pitched quite close with no noise nuisance to think about.† The only down side is that gangs of youths tend to gather outside the complex at night, which could be a bit intimidating for some.

This was probably our last visit to Oakdene as they are stopping touring from 2007.

Shame that, but the lure of 12 month income from statics has become too much.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3499 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430