Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Site Reviews

Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Culzean Castle
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 8JX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01655 760627

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
              8/10 from 65 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Val0712 32 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 night so we could visit the castle and country park 1st thing the next morning. Site was only about 1/3 full with all the best view pitches taking up by seasonal caravans with no one in them.

The pitch we were giving was against the trees at the bottom of the site with a view of toilet block. When I asked if we could have a pitch that would get the sun all day we were told no as the only ones available were grass pitches and the manager said 'in one of them things (a motorhome) you will wake up in the morning 5 foot under'? we were in Ayrshire all that week with no rain and the grass was bone dry!

This is the 3rd camping and caravan club site we have stayed at in Scotland and feel a bit let down by the facilities (no water pressure in showers) all very dated, makes you wonder what you pay your membership for? Also £25 a night was the most expensive we paid that week for a pitch in the middle of nowhere.

For these reasons we wont be back

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 32 reviews from this member

Another like for this campsite. We stayed here for two days and the weather was kind to us. Initially I thought my pitch was poor because we were at a junction on the campsite with potential passing cars. But it was great, full sun from morning until late and great views too.

The site is well laid out and the staff are very helpful and helped us pitch our caravan. They are hardworking with all the toilets kept clean and the bins emptied. The showers are good, although the water pressure could be a little higher. But there is 3 clothes hooks (a first) well done! (My pet hate less than 3 hooks!)

We walked down to the castle, worthy of a look. But not a lot else closeby to walk to at night. Ayr and Girvan a short drive away.

A first rate C&CC site

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 117 reviews from this member

We liked - friendly laid back welcome, the Managers aren't the 'jobs worth' you get on some CCC sites. Local eggs and a book swap in the office. Reasonable toilet cleaning closure time (late morning). Showers on or off, not pulsed. Owls in the woods. Follow the dog walk and you bypass the NTS ticket office, getting into the Culzean estate for free (but not into the Castle); you can also just walk in for free from the beach at Maidens, as that's part of the official Ayrshire Coastal Path.

Niggles - if you are in a campervan or older motorhome, i. E. A shorter vehicle, you are put on the older shorter narrower hardstands. Closer to the one toilet block, yes, but these pitches are at the back of the site, don't have such good views of Arran sunsets, and we got NO sun until after lunchtime due to the adjacent woodland. And £25 seemed pricey for what you get (even as Members) - for this we got our own standpipe and waste water drain at a private site in Fife recently which also had a restaurant.

Culzean is one of our favourite places to visit, it's a nationally important castle, a huge country park with 22 miles of paths and several beaches, and it's glorious with carpets of snowdrops from February onwards. So why does CCC not open it until 1 April?! This site also suits the ferries to Ireland. Other CCC sites are open all year, and we think Culzean should be too. So when the Culzean site is closed, we stay at the nearby Certificated Site nearby instead.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aiddeb 7 reviews from this member

Stayed in the last week of the season. The wardens were genuinely friendly, unfortunately they are moving on. Pitched up overlooking the sea to Arran, magnificent views. Site is clean, as were toilets. The site was quiet as it was out of children season. It is in a lovely area to explore and the castle and grounds are a treat. There walks aplenty, through woods or on the shore. Will be back, to explore further.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisMcG 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights at this site. Beautiful views from pitch of Arran with gorgeous sunsets. Wardens were very friendly and helpful. Very clean well kept site. Facilities were immaculate. Only downside was no tv reception. (We had left satellite dish at home)Enjoyable stay however, but if we had managed to get tv (if only to keep up on weather forecasts) we would have definitely stayed longer. Will visit again but will take satellite next time.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LeneR 2 reviews from this member

Arrived with friends and another tent. Couldn't get our pitches together and the pitch that we were given was on a slope. I found this quite bad considering £40 for a nights stay.

On arriving we were told straight away no ball games and no frisbees for children and how they are a family friendly park and lights out for 11pm.

We have older children from age 7 to 11 and the small swing park. Ie one swing and chute are far too small for them. Children got a row for playing with a sponge ball and later on for playing with scooters on the concrete because it was outside the toilet area but this however is the only proper paving for them to go them.

I found the toilets to be pleasant and the shop priced well for treats.

Although we went walks with the children round the castle etc we won't return to this park due to restrictions for the children who were bored as they had nothing to do on the site which is a shame for a supposedly family friendly site.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Ayrshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4986 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469