Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Site Reviews

Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Culzean Castle
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 8JX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01655 760627

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
              8/10 from 63 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 113 reviews from this member

We liked - friendly laid back welcome, the Managers aren't the 'jobs worth' you get on some CCC sites. Local eggs and a book swap in the office. Reasonable toilet cleaning closure time (late morning). Showers on or off, not pulsed. Owls in the woods. Follow the dog walk and you bypass the NTS ticket office, getting into the Culzean estate for free (but not into the Castle); you can also just walk in for free from the beach at Maidens, as that's part of the official Ayrshire Coastal Path.

Niggles - if you are in a campervan or older motorhome, i. E. A shorter vehicle, you are put on the older shorter narrower hardstands. Closer to the one toilet block, yes, but these pitches are at the back of the site, don't have such good views of Arran sunsets, and we got NO sun until after lunchtime due to the adjacent woodland. And 25 seemed pricey for what you get (even as Members) - for this we got our own standpipe and waste water drain at a private site in Fife recently which also had a restaurant.

Culzean is one of our favourite places to visit, it's a nationally important castle, a huge country park with 22 miles of paths and several beaches, and it's glorious with carpets of snowdrops from February onwards. So why does CCC not open it until 1 April?! This site also suits the ferries to Ireland. Other CCC sites are open all year, and we think Culzean should be too. So when the Culzean site is closed, we stay at the nearby Certificated Site nearby instead.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aiddeb 5 reviews from this member

Stayed in the last week of the season. The wardens were genuinely friendly, unfortunately they are moving on. Pitched up overlooking the sea to Arran, magnificent views. Site is clean, as were toilets. The site was quiet as it was out of children season. It is in a lovely area to explore and the castle and grounds are a treat. There walks aplenty, through woods or on the shore. Will be back, to explore further.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisMcG 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights at this site. Beautiful views from pitch of Arran with gorgeous sunsets. Wardens were very friendly and helpful. Very clean well kept site. Facilities were immaculate. Only downside was no tv reception. (We had left satellite dish at home)Enjoyable stay however, but if we had managed to get tv (if only to keep up on weather forecasts) we would have definitely stayed longer. Will visit again but will take satellite next time.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LeneR 2 reviews from this member

Arrived with friends and another tent. Couldn't get our pitches together and the pitch that we were given was on a slope. I found this quite bad considering 40 for a nights stay.

On arriving we were told straight away no ball games and no frisbees for children and how they are a family friendly park and lights out for 11pm.

We have older children from age 7 to 11 and the small swing park. Ie one swing and chute are far too small for them. Children got a row for playing with a sponge ball and later on for playing with scooters on the concrete because it was outside the toilet area but this however is the only proper paving for them to go them.

I found the toilets to be pleasant and the shop priced well for treats.

Although we went walks with the children round the castle etc we won't return to this park due to restrictions for the children who were bored as they had nothing to do on the site which is a shame for a supposedly family friendly site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missteree 22 reviews from this member

Lovely welcome from friendly and helpful wardens who are are credit to C&C club. Site was fully booked but toilets and showers remained spotless albeit a bit dated (this appears to be typical of all the C&CC sites we've visited!) Spectacular views as others reviewers have said but chocks needed for many pitches. These were kindly provided for us by wardens as were bricks for BBQ. Culzean Castle well worth a visit and within walking distance of site for the reasonably fit (downhill/uphill walk!) Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philip Howarth 4 reviews from this member

A quiet site, lovely location, easy to find, spotlessly clean, the toilet disposal point was fairly central for all of the pitches, TV reception variable but satellite TV / radio reception OK and excellent shower block. As always at C&CC sites the staff were welcoming and friendly. Good basic shop on site with bigger shops, excellent farm shops and some excellent restaurants within 10 minutes drive. Lots to do in the area, including the castle itself. Slightly expensive if you are not a member. Would recommend

Previous     63 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Ayrshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2218 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0391