Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Site Reviews

Culzean Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Culzean Castle
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 8JX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01655 760627

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
              8/10 from 68 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DaveG60 14 reviews from this member

Large site cleverly set in the landscape next to Culzean Gardens and House. Both are well worth visiting ; don't forget to go to the bookshop in the stables and the estate gasworks on the shore line.

Our pitch potentially gave us views across the sea although as the weather was bad we couldn't see much and got the full benefit of the winds.

Facilities quite recent and well looked after. For some reason the washing up area is just a porch affair rather than a proper room; not so pleasant if a gale is blowing.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ayrshireman 13 reviews from this member

A visit back to my roots in Ayrshire, and a chance to try this site, which is right next to Culzean Country Park. It is in a fine location, with good views of Arran ( of course the old joke is that if you can't see Arran it's raining; if you can, it's about to. ). The wardens are welcoming and friendly and toilets, etc just fine; there is a small shop on site.

Although there is not much by way of facilities on site, it is a fine location for visiting South Ayrshire. The castle and grounds are well worth a visit, and great for walking the dog though admission is getting pricey. South are Maidens and Girvan with a reasonable range of shops and eating places. Ayr has a wide range of facilities - the Burns Museum in Alloway is highly recommended. For keen cyclists there are several good circuits to be done. Don't miss the Electric Brae on the road to Dunure, heading towards Ayr - it seems like you're cycling at 30mph uphill!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 32 reviews from this member

We like this site because of the spectacular views of the sunstets over the sea, so if you are lucky enough to get a sea view pitch you are in for a treat. Some of the pitches are very sloping so come prepared. Probably not that good for children as not much on site for them.

Spotlessly clean toilet/shower block, although a bit tired and dated.

Great to walk straight into the grounds of Culzean Castle (via the ticket office!), and on down the coast to Maidens, but nowhere else is within walking distance. I recommend the Shanter Riding Stables at Maidens if you fancy a hack on the beach.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 night so we could visit the castle and country park 1st thing the next morning. Site was only about 1/3 full with all the best view pitches taking up by seasonal caravans with no one in them.

The pitch we were giving was against the trees at the bottom of the site with a view of toilet block. When I asked if we could have a pitch that would get the sun all day we were told no as the only ones available were grass pitches and the manager said 'in one of them things (a motorhome) you will wake up in the morning 5 foot under'? we were in Ayrshire all that week with no rain and the grass was bone dry!

This is the 3rd camping and caravan club site we have stayed at in Scotland and feel a bit let down by the facilities (no water pressure in showers) all very dated, makes you wonder what you pay your membership for? Also 25 a night was the most expensive we paid that week for a pitch in the middle of nowhere.

For these reasons we wont be back

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 41 reviews from this member

Another like for this campsite. We stayed here for two days and the weather was kind to us. Initially I thought my pitch was poor because we were at a junction on the campsite with potential passing cars. But it was great, full sun from morning until late and great views too.

The site is well laid out and the staff are very helpful and helped us pitch our caravan. They are hardworking with all the toilets kept clean and the bins emptied. The showers are good, although the water pressure could be a little higher. But there is 3 clothes hooks (a first) well done! (My pet hate less than 3 hooks!)

We walked down to the castle, worthy of a look. But not a lot else closeby to walk to at night. Ayr and Girvan a short drive away.

A first rate C&CC site

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 134 reviews from this member

We liked - friendly laid back welcome, the Managers aren't the 'jobs worth' you get on some CCC sites. Local eggs and a book swap in the office. Reasonable toilet cleaning closure time (late morning). Showers on or off, not pulsed. Owls in the woods. Follow the dog walk and you bypass the NTS ticket office, getting into the Culzean estate for free (but not into the Castle); you can also just walk in for free from the beach at Maidens, as that's part of the official Ayrshire Coastal Path.

Niggles - if you are in a campervan or older motorhome, i. E. A shorter vehicle, you are put on the older shorter narrower hardstands. Closer to the one toilet block, yes, but these pitches are at the back of the site, don't have such good views of Arran sunsets, and we got NO sun until after lunchtime due to the adjacent woodland. And 25 seemed pricey for what you get (even as Members) - for this we got our own standpipe and waste water drain at a private site in Fife recently which also had a restaurant.

Culzean is one of our favourite places to visit, it's a nationally important castle, a huge country park with 22 miles of paths and several beaches, and it's glorious with carpets of snowdrops from February onwards. So why does CCC not open it until 1 April?! This site also suits the ferries to Ireland. Other CCC sites are open all year, and we think Culzean should be too. So when the Culzean site is closed, we stay at the nearby Certificated Site nearby instead.

Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Ayrshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3254 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder