Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dingwall Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Dingwall Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Jubilee Park Road
Dingwall
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV15 9QZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01349 862236

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
              8/10 from 28 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (2)

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Val0712 27 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 1 night while up in dingwall for the football. Site is right next to the global energy stadium which makes this 1 of the best locations in the country as a travelling fan ( could see our motorhome from inside the stadium!)

Now for the site itself, on arrival at 11. 30am we were told we were to early for our 12pm check in. I pointed out that as I had drove 3. 5hrs and as we had booked a grass pitch with no facilities and paid for the pitch online there was no real need for us to check in just park up (site was about 1/3 full) after about 10mins warden decided that would be ok?

Site very run down and could do with a complete make over!

Had a few drinks in the Viking and Mallard both seem like nice pubs. Apart from that never seen much of Dinwall. Our sole purpose of this trip was for the football and location for this is 100%

We will return again for the football and not for the site or its poor facilities

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Malc1 7 reviews from this member

It could be a gem, have written to the CCC about this site. Situated as it is, indeed it is the gateway to the highlands. However, despite the hard working efforts of the manager and his wife, the whole site needs a make over. The fences are rotten, the roads are breaking up and the electrics are in need of an upgrade. The toilet and showers are clean but so old and worn even the best efforts of the staff cannot persuade me to use them. On a positive note, the town is an easy walk away, Tesco's sell diesel at a decent price and there are shops and bakeries on the high street for a pleasant browse. Train station is a 10 minute walk away and can be used to access other parts of the highlands.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 35 reviews from this member

A bit dated this Site as other reviewers have noted. There are 2 toilet & shower blocks, one, centrally located, with washing facilities and pass code locked, the other is very small in one corner but is not locked. Both are clean enough but need updating. I am also constantly surprised that, the further North I seem to go, the more Site owners feel a need to have uncovered washing facilities.

The neighbouring Global Energy Stadium, home of Ross County FC was having a full scale pitch replacement so there was a lot of earthmoving & construction work going on from fairly early on in the morning.

TV reception was poor and trains trundle along one side (opposite to the football ground).

On the positive side, the site is well managed by helpful staff and is located just outside town. Dingwall itself looks like a traditional, if quiet little town but is well placed to get across to Ullapool for the afternoon Ferry to Stornoway.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kellysbow 8 reviews from this member

We had tried to book this site online but the computer said there was no suitable pitch available for our motor home. So we telephoned and were immediately booked in on a hard standing pitch with EHU.

This site is approached over a narrow railway bridge and then through the car park of Ross County FC.

Very friendly helpful site managers, husband & wife team. We were given a choice of pitches & picked one in the best area for tv reception which turned out not to be that good but we did get plenty of sunshine as we were not shaded by trees.

The site is next to the railway, but the trains are travelling very slowly as they enter the station & did not cause us any problems. The first one is about 6 am but none over night.

What did cause problems during the night was the noise from the boiler room of the football clubs under ground heating. This is on a thermostat and kept coming on and going off during the night which was a cold one. The nose was disruptive.

The shower block was very warm, very clean but dated and well ready for a refurb.

In fact dated and well ready for a refurb applies to the site in general. Which we understand now has its lease sorted so C&CC over to you as this is a lovely site.

A short walk from the site is Dingwall town centre which is very pleasant consisting of mainly independent shops. But does have a Tesco which had the cheapest diesel we have seen for a long time.

A walk in the other direction takes you along the canal to the old Harbor picnic site with good views down the Cormarty Firth and then back into the town centre.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kateandjames 24 reviews from this member

We chose this site as a one night stop over before heading north and were pleasantly suprised.

Its a lovely site on the edge of Dingwall, within walking distance of the town centre with good shops, award winning butchers, bakers, fishmonger, cafes, banks and take-aways. There are also 3 distilleries within about 20 miles.

Site staff are very friendly and helpful, the facilities are clean and the pitches, a mix of hard standing and grass, are broken up with beech hedges and trees. Even though its right next to the railway line the trains caused no problems.

Ross County football club is right next to the site but didn't cause a problem either, on the night that we stayed the second team were playing and entrance was free.

There is a short walk along the canal to a lovely picnic area overlooking Cromarty Firth.

If you want a pub then The Mallard is the only one in town worth a visit if only to say you had a beer on a railway station!

Would definitely recommend this site for both a short and longer stay, it would be a great pity if the Club lost this site at the end of the season as mentioned in Rfling's review.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lone-Wolf 2 reviews from this member

Found Dingwall to be a pleasant little town. The campsite is in a good location within walking distance of the town along a quiet footpath. However, I received a rather unfriendly welcome and found the toilet block difficult to access in the dark. Could not find anything else to recommend this site. Also, if you happen to visit during the football season be aware that the entrance road passes the Ross County’s ground. Overall I was very disappointed and would not use it site again, especially as there is an excellent B&B further down Ferry Road.

Previous     28 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7994 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0859