Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dingwall Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Dingwall Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Jubilee Park Road
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV15 9QZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01349 862236

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
              8/10 from 37 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: THE GLOBETROTTERS 11 reviews from this member

This is our 3rd visit to Dingwall and we will not be going back. On arrival my husband was given a rather stern welcome by the warden. He explained our Vango Airway Serpa drivaway tent was about 5m in length to which she replied that they probably would not be able to accommodate us as this was far too big (we had previously booked this site/awning facility a few months ago) and that other sites such as Keswick (we weren't in Keswick) definitely wouldn't take us (we wont be going to Keswick!) He then had a lecture about fire regs etc but our motorhome and awning took up a lot less room than a car/caravan/awning put together.

We also had our well behaved, kept on a lead and walked off site dog with us. Unlike the chap with the two unleashed, barking dogs we encountered several times. And guess who he was - yes the warden.

On our second to last day we decided to take our awning down whilst it was dry and then went off visiting relatives only to come back to find that the warden had sold our site on to campers. Charming! Good job they had spare pitches although the warden did say it would not have been a problem if they had not as she would have found us a pitch anyway - fire regulations????

Showers/toilets dated and although not the wardens problem, Dingwall has gone downhill.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikey951r 14 reviews from this member

I stayed here for one night with a bicycle and small touring tent whilst cycling from Lands End to John O Groats. This site is located on the outskirts of the town near the football field and I found it very quiet. The wardens were extremely friendly and accommodating and I was given a flat grassed pitch with a picnic bench to share with another small tent. The showers and toilets were very modern and extremely well kept. The town is a short walk away and has a whole host of shops including some takeaways. I had a very nice Chinese. The only occasional noise is the odd train arriving or departing from the station nearby. At 8 for the night this was very good value for the quality of facilities and very bicycle friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 65 reviews from this member

We spent four nights here attending a family event before moving on to Rosemarkie. Frankly wish we had continued at Dingwall!

The site is compact and sited opposite Ross County Football Ground. AS the playing season had long finished this was not a problem. It is also within walking distance of Dingwall town centre with its shops and large Tesco store. It is also close to Dingwall railway station - indeed the railway line runs along one side of the site, but this is not a problem - 2 car diesel units are pretty quiet and there are only around a dozen a day each way. Indeed this could be a useful way to go to Inverness if you didn't want to use the car. It is very easy to access roads to Inverness, Ullapool, Beauly, Invergordon and the Black Isle, so this site makes an excellent touring base.

The site manager was a cheery guy who was very helpful, whilst his assistant managers were also helpful.

Pitches are a mix of hard stand and grass - we had the latter, but again this was not a problem as the ground appeared to be well drained. The 6 metre rule ensures that you have privacy. The facility block is a little aged, whilst the wash-up sinks are under a separate canopy. However I understand that this site is due for some major upgrade works over the 'close' season from November this year.

Dingwall does not really have any good restaurants, but we went to the Conon Bridge Hotel - just two miles away - one night and had an excellent meal. The bright lights of Inverness are little more than half an hour away.

Having by-passed this site many times, we shall now make it our main base for visiting the Far North. At a little over 16 a night it is well priced.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tazsmum 15 reviews from this member

Stayed one night on the way south. Grass pitches and some soggy areas after heavy rain. Very helpful warden, facilities fine, although dishwashing outside! Easy walk into town, but still had difficulty finding food on a Monday night! Pizza sufficed! Railway is right next door, but wasn't noisy, but you might not want to arrive just before or after a home match fo Ross County!

Most expensive site in 3 weeks, partly because we are not members of the right club!

Good dog walking just off site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grahamfin 4 reviews from this member

I camped here twice whilst cycle touring. The staff were friendly and helpful, and on both occasions allocated me a pitch near the middle of the site, sheltered from the wind by a hedge, and just about 30 meters from the toilet block. I found the facilities to be good, though I understand they are due for refurbishment. The site is between the local football ground and the railway, neither of which bothered me, but it may be different if there is a home game! It is just a short walk into Dingwall town, where there are several pubs / restaurants and supermarkets, as well as other shops.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracybat 1 review from this member

This site is great, nice and quiet, clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful, they helped me put up my tent because I was a lone female.

It's a fantastic base for exploring the highlands, there's a tesco and lidl in the town along with takeaways and other high street shops.

It's a 5 minute walk to the train station (which runs past the site but didn't bother me at all) it. Took me 15 minutes to walk to tesco or it's a 5 minute drive, there's a train to Kyle of Lochalsh that leaves Dingwall station it cost me 24. 70 return well worth the trip regarding the scenery but was disappointed once at Kyle of Lochalsh. Maybe next time take a bus trip over to Skye.

I'll be going again in a couple of weeks for the weekend with my husband in our new tent

Not sure if the staff here see this review but thanks guys for your help and kindness xx

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3965 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder