Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dingwall Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Dingwall Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Jubilee Park Road
Dingwall
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV15 9QZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01349 862236

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
              8/10 from 30 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (2)

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnycaravanner 3 reviews from this member

NEW MANAGERS this year so its all hands to the pumps!

The club seems to have spent all my subs on flowers. Grass well cut and site is popular with elderly locals. Tesco adj as is a railway line and football stadium!

Rosiemarkie might make a better choice

The beach is good for walking dogs and the village has a pub and chip shop

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Crapple 29 reviews from this member

We chose this site as a one night stopover on our way up to catch a ferry to the orkneys - I'd read reviews so was a little concerned but thought as it was only for one night we could put up with general shabbiness etc. So it was a really delightful surprise to arrive and see an immaculately neat and tidy site, with possibly the friendliest managers I've met at any site - they are a couple who took over this year and have worked hard since January to get it to what they feel is a good enough standard (and their standards are high!). F or that reason only one of the two showers in the ladies is open, as the second one still had to be refurbished. There are nice personal touches everywhere, like fresh flowers in the shower block and planters full of flowers round the site.

There are further improvements that will be made, like making access to the motorhome water tap easier (inherited problems) but even as the site is now it's a lovely little site. It's ideal for dog owners as there is a lovely walk that goes from just outside the site all along the river.

This site has the biggest discrepancy, in a good way, between what I was expecting and what I actually got, the managers have already worked a minor miracle in transforming this site, so I'd happily return there any time.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Val0712 30 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 1 night while up in dingwall for the football. Site is right next to the global energy stadium which makes this 1 of the best locations in the country as a travelling fan ( could see our motorhome from inside the stadium!)

Now for the site itself, on arrival at 11. 30am we were told we were to early for our 12pm check in. I pointed out that as I had drove 3. 5hrs and as we had booked a grass pitch with no facilities and paid for the pitch online there was no real need for us to check in just park up (site was about 1/3 full) after about 10mins warden decided that would be ok?

Site very run down and could do with a complete make over!

Had a few drinks in the Viking and Mallard both seem like nice pubs. Apart from that never seen much of Dinwall. Our sole purpose of this trip was for the football and location for this is 100%

We will return again for the football and not for the site or its poor facilities

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Malc1 7 reviews from this member

It could be a gem, have written to the CCC about this site. Situated as it is, indeed it is the gateway to the highlands. However, despite the hard working efforts of the manager and his wife, the whole site needs a make over. The fences are rotten, the roads are breaking up and the electrics are in need of an upgrade. The toilet and showers are clean but so old and worn even the best efforts of the staff cannot persuade me to use them. On a positive note, the town is an easy walk away, Tesco's sell diesel at a decent price and there are shops and bakeries on the high street for a pleasant browse. Train station is a 10 minute walk away and can be used to access other parts of the highlands.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 41 reviews from this member

A bit dated this Site as other reviewers have noted. There are 2 toilet & shower blocks, one, centrally located, with washing facilities and pass code locked, the other is very small in one corner but is not locked. Both are clean enough but need updating. I am also constantly surprised that, the further North I seem to go, the more Site owners feel a need to have uncovered washing facilities.

The neighbouring Global Energy Stadium, home of Ross County FC was having a full scale pitch replacement so there was a lot of earthmoving & construction work going on from fairly early on in the morning.

TV reception was poor and trains trundle along one side (opposite to the football ground).

On the positive side, the site is well managed by helpful staff and is located just outside town. Dingwall itself looks like a traditional, if quiet little town but is well placed to get across to Ullapool for the afternoon Ferry to Stornoway.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kellysbow 9 reviews from this member

We had tried to book this site online but the computer said there was no suitable pitch available for our motor home. So we telephoned and were immediately booked in on a hard standing pitch with EHU.

This site is approached over a narrow railway bridge and then through the car park of Ross County FC.

Very friendly helpful site managers, husband & wife team. We were given a choice of pitches & picked one in the best area for tv reception which turned out not to be that good but we did get plenty of sunshine as we were not shaded by trees.

The site is next to the railway, but the trains are travelling very slowly as they enter the station & did not cause us any problems. The first one is about 6 am but none over night.

What did cause problems during the night was the noise from the boiler room of the football clubs under ground heating. This is on a thermostat and kept coming on and going off during the night which was a cold one. The nose was disruptive.

The shower block was very warm, very clean but dated and well ready for a refurb.

In fact dated and well ready for a refurb applies to the site in general. Which we understand now has its lease sorted so C&CC over to you as this is a lovely site.

A short walk from the site is Dingwall town centre which is very pleasant consisting of mainly independent shops. But does have a Tesco which had the cheapest diesel we have seen for a long time.

A walk in the other direction takes you along the canal to the old Harbor picnic site with good views down the Cormarty Firth and then back into the town centre.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Dining Package, worth 124.98 from Yeomans Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6281 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0391