Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Inverewe Gardens Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Inverewe Gardens Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Poolewe
Achnasheen
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV22 2LF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01445 781249

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
              9/10 from 34 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (14) and Video

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Idetika 17 reviews from this member

Beautiful location, next to a loch and a couple of minutes walk from Poolewe where there is a well-stocked shop and a great hotel that does excellent food and drink.

The site is immaculate with the usual high-standard of facilities that can be expected at a club site. The site has a small shop for the essentials, my only criticism is that you cannot re-freeze your own ice packs but have to rent theirs, which is a bit of a pain when you move on from the site with no frozen ice packs as you obviously have to give them back.

A great area for exploring, there are amazing walks direct from the site. If you want to have a drive out, head to Aultbea to the smokehouse for some fabulous smoked salmon!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S n buxton 9 reviews from this member

The site is situated across the road from the loch and the setting and backdrop are beautiful.

Just a few hundred meters down the road the village of Poolewe has a general store incorporating newsagent and Post Office. Opposite is a really nice coffee shop and just a 100 mts further along is the Poolewe Hotel offering good quality Real Ale and food.

The actual site itself is maintained to a very very high standard. All the facilities are spotless - there is even a vase of fresh flowers in the gents! The showers are cleaned constantly and are a pleasure to use because the hot water IS hot and flows hot instantly. There is a superbly well stocked and informative Tourist Information annex. The site shop keeps a decent selection of fresh produce.

So why have I not given the site maximum stars? As a single camper it cost me 13. 05 a night to camp. Double the normal cost for the North Western Highlands. Vastly cheaper if you are a member, but this is not made clear on the website. I also feel the 2 per day WiFi charge penny pinching as most establishments offer this service for free. Too many signs and notices adorn the site reminding me of skool.

Final tip for tent users - the birds roost in the trees above and adorn your tent with 'deposits'. The far corner of the site nearest the road is a poor spot with a very rocky subsurface making it very difficult to knock down the pegs.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vangran 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site with friendly managers. Well spaced with trees just beginning to come into leaf. We had beautiful weather and the walking was excellent. Local shop and eating places. Good for filling up and emptying for motor homes.

We will return. As we use our own facilities I forgot to look at those available on site, but if other C & C club site are anything to go by there will not be a problem.

The tent areas look good and there is a place for tenters to sit and to get away from any bad weather.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Headgardener 13 reviews from this member

This site sits overlooking Lochewe and Poolewe Gardens owned by the Nation Trust for Scotland.

The views from the site are fantastic and it is well worth the journey. The best route is via Achnasheen and the road is mainly very good except for a few miles of single track - but this is not a big deal as there are numerous passing places.

Poolewe itself has an hotel - we had a very pleasant well presented meal there even although the service was a bit slow - a really well stocked shop (closed on Sundays) and a cafe.

The wardens are friendly and the site is well cared for. Although we do not use the toilets/showers I did look in and they were modern and very clean.

TV Reception depends on the pitch you are on so if it is important to you ask the wardens for a pitch with good Reception - although we were more interested in the Loch view!

About 8 miles from the site is the memorial stone to the sailors who lost their lives on the Russian Convoys which gathered and then left from Cove on Poolewe. Although the road is only single track the scenery is fantastic.

Ullapool is a 50 mile drive away - again via magnificent scenery.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 357 reviews from this member

A second visit to this site for us, we loved the area last time and the site is brilliantly placed to be close to the village and yet has views straight down the loch.

The assistant wardens booked us in - really friendly and helpful, we were allowed to choose our own pitch (not usually allowed at C&CC) which was appreciated as we wanted a loch view.

Toilets / showers kept immaculate as always, pitches were all kept really tidy, as a previous review says almost garden like. We didn't feel pitches were overly small, in fact ours was really large with plenty of space to sit outside etc.

The village shop sells pretty much everything, its like a little goldmine. Opposite that is a lovely cafe serving light meals and also acts as the newsagent on a Sunday.

This is a brilliant C&CC site - well placed for those travelling up to the North and being so close to Inverewe gardens makes it a perfect stop off for a few days.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MQuinn 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site, with excellent facilities. Beautiful views, Peaceful.

Staff helpful

Electricity for tent pitches available.

Excellent walks and fishing nearby. Local shop and coffee shop excellent. 5 miles to Gairloch if more shopping/activities required. Excellent butchers 4 miles other way. Lovely beaches along coast and interesting WW2 history.

Inverwewe Gardens worth a visit. Excellent for couples.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1223 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0469