Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Inverewe Gardens Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Inverewe Gardens Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Poolewe
Achnasheen
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV22 2LF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01445 781249

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
              8/10 from 30 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 271 reviews from this member

A second visit to this site for us, we loved the area last time and the site is brilliantly placed to be close to the village and yet has views straight down the loch.

The assistant wardens booked us in - really friendly and helpful, we were allowed to choose our own pitch (not usually allowed at C&CC) which was appreciated as we wanted a loch view.

Toilets / showers kept immaculate as always, pitches were all kept really tidy, as a previous review says almost garden like. We didn't feel pitches were overly small, in fact ours was really large with plenty of space to sit outside etc.

The village shop sells pretty much everything, its like a little goldmine. Opposite that is a lovely cafe serving light meals and also acts as the newsagent on a Sunday.

This is a brilliant C&CC site - well placed for those travelling up to the North and being so close to Inverewe gardens makes it a perfect stop off for a few days.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MQuinn 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site, with excellent facilities. Beautiful views, Peaceful.

Staff helpful

Electricity for tent pitches available.

Excellent walks and fishing nearby. Local shop and coffee shop excellent. 5 miles to Gairloch if more shopping/activities required. Excellent butchers 4 miles other way. Lovely beaches along coast and interesting WW2 history.

Inverwewe Gardens worth a visit. Excellent for couples.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kateandjames 30 reviews from this member

What a pretty little site, its almost like camping in a a very neat garden, plenty of trees and colourful flower beds. From our pitch we had glimpses through the pines to the loch. A main road separates the site from the lochshore but this was very quiet.

Staff are very helpful and friendly and they stock the basics in reception, lovely fresh bread rolls, milk and eggs. They also sell local walking guides.

The facilities were very much to camping and caravan club standard. A bit of advice on the showers; the ones in the toilet block are of a decent size but the showers are 'electric dribbles'. There are two additional showers in an additional area that are very small but have lovely lever operated shows straight off the water supply, no pushing of buttons to keep the water running. So take your pick.

For backpackers there is a small cooking and eating area that is covered and sheltered from the elements.

The village of Poolewe is a short walk away with village shop, cafe and hotel (but this looked a bit dire). There is also a museum that explains how the area was used by the military during WW2.

A short walk in the opposite direction takes you to Inverewe gardens and forest walks. Well worth a visit. The cafe here sells lovely cakes and you don't have to visit the gardens to use it.

This has to be the best camping and caravan site that I have used and would definitely recommend it as a place to spend a couple of nights or more.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elinorabdn 3 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site with amazing views of Loch Ewe. We had been there before and had plenty of room on our pitch but now the site has been made over into more pitches with hard standings to the detriment of the size of pitches. We felt squashed. The next pitch to us had a camper van and two tents which didn't help. When I put up a small whirly with washing the wardens kept shifting it, they seemed obsessed with it even mowing the grass when it wasn't needed just to shift it. The wardens were not friendly, the wife came round with a clipboard every morning but never spoke. The assistant wardens were very friendly. The village is nice and the surrounding area is beautiful. We would not go back as we were disappointed after our last stay.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lumatrix 5 reviews from this member

This is a C&C campsite and as we are members we got an incredible price - only 10 for a night. When we arrived we got a guided tour of the site and all facilities were SHOWN to us - unusual and very thoughtful. I explained to the staff that we needed EHU but had forgotten our hookup and they LENT us one (refundable deposit). The site is immaculate, absolutely immaculate. Toilet & shower block did have one problem, the toilets flush was very weak. Gents - go to the last stall, it's the only one that flushes first time. There are no facilities that I could see for children but we don't travel with children so I may be wrong about this. Also the camp site is on the main road. Only a small number of lucky campers are able to get a loch-side view and I suggest booking well in advance to get this.

The Inver-Ewe gardens are within comfortable walking distance of the site.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marcusfordus 1 review from this member

Lovely site and stunning location, booked direct at lunchtime and arrived teatime, usual arrangement for a weeks Motorbike touring around Scotland.

All CCC sites we used were done this way during the trip and we were made most welcome on all the sites we visited (two bikes, two lightweight tents).

The shop had all we needed for supper and morning breakfast. All the pitches were taken under the trees out of the wind and we were given the central green area to ourselves, which we made muddy (sorry about that !)

Everyone went out of their way to come over and chat to us about where we had been, where we were going and where we should visit, the site wardens couldn't do enough for us. A short walk to the village, and the most amazing sunset to follow.

The weather changed as it does on the West coast that night and the site took a pounding, morning arrived and some tents were damaged from the storm (but not ours on the open green).

Biggest tip for pitching a tent here is look at the angle of the trees on and around the site, then pitch following their lean, endways on for a tunnel tent.

I was more than happy with all the facilities on this site, older yes, but fully functional in every way for a pair of road weary bikers wanting a evening stop off.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7803 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469