Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Jedburgh Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Jedburgh Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Elliot Park
Jedburgh
Borders   (Browse area)
TD8 6EF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01835 863393

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 10m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
              8/10 from 36 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (3) and Video

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wally69 4 reviews from this member

We used this site as our last jaunt away this year because we love the Jedburgh area, and found this site a fabulous base to explore the town and area.

The weather on arrival was, to say the least, rather inclement but the owner was there to make sure everything was ok and to our satisfaction. They had bent over backwards to accommodate ourselves and our guests.

On waking the next morning, although cold, the weather had improved and the site looked extremely neat and tidy. The showers were red hot and the whole toilet block was nip and clean. The washing facilities were also clean and very pleasant.

The lovely river walk into Jedburgh is very pleasant and doesn't take to long at all. Once in the town centre there is plenty to keep you busy. The abbey, jail and museum, and Mary Queen of Scots house, are all well worth a visit, with the last 2 being free entry. There are also plenty of watering holes, shops and eating places to suit everyone.

All in all, this is a lovely quiet site which I can not recommend highly enough. It is not a site for a rowdy time away but if peace and quiet is your thing, you must stay here.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DJ_KP 2 reviews from this member

Well maintained site, next to river. Some noise from main road and light industrial units alongside the tent area. Toilet/shower block is elderly but perfectly serviceable and very clean. Lots of hot water for showers and washing up. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Moderate walk to town centre along riverside. Local attractions include museums (free), town trail booklet (1) and abbey. Parks and children's playground near Tourist Info Centre. Town also has free wifi, although I didn't think this worked too well (android phone). Many cafes, bars and restaurants to choose from as well as local food shops and 2 Coop stores.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juniep 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site, had an excellent weekend.

On arrival we were shown to our pitch by a very friendly warden. She gave us a choice of two pitches, and then explained where everything was.

The site is very quiet, apart from a little noise from the nearby A68, which didn't really bother us.

The amenities block is a little dated, but spotlessly clean and never busy.

We needed a little extra time today after the noon deadline as it rained heavily last night and the tent needed to dry, but this wasn't a problem.

The only quibble we have with this site is the poor quality WiFi signal when you are a long way from reception.

We don't have children so can't comment on family friendliness.

Location is excellent as only a short drive or pleasant walk to town.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John4703 7 reviews from this member

This was the most unfriendly Camping club site I have ever visited. I've been using Camping & Caravanning Club sites for over 60 years and this was the first time that I have been made to feel unwelcome. We arrived about 6:30 and the person who came to book us in simply shouted 'name' at us. He was not at all welcoming or friendly.

Most of the showers and toilets were locked and out of use. The laundry was out of use. I felt that the staff could not be bothered to repair any faults.

It is a pity that the site is so run down as the location is great, it is close to the town, the site is level and with good staff would be a great place to stay. We'll return despite the lack of welcome because the location is so good.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Millhouse1882 1 review from this member

Expected more from a Caravan & Camping Club site. The A68 was close and very noisy at all hours; the campsite road through the camp served as the football pitch as well;

the toilet block, although clean needs a total refurbishment as the exterior and interior look like the old changing rooms for the football teams. My wife refused to use them at night without me loitering outside waiting for her due to their accessibility!

The staff were good and did the best they could in keeping the place clean and tidy, but it needs either some investment or be shutdown. Couldn't wait to leave the next morning!

Jedburgh was OK.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 35 reviews from this member

Had an excellent stay at this smallish site just off the A68 Trunk Road in the Scottish Borders. The site is well located, quiet but only a short walk from town.

Like many towns in this region, Jedburgh has retained its character and not been taken over by the chain stores that line most high streets. There is a free museum at Mary Queen of Scots' House, the Abbey and plenty of pubs, shops and cafes.

Walking is really worthwhile with spectacular routes to Kelso (~12 miles)along the river banks as well as the established St Cuthberts Way.

Downsides are few - washrooms are limited and 2 showers had been closed off when we stayed. In addition, all the toilets were shut between 10h30 and 12h00 each day.

Surely something could be left open? Finally the road through the Site is also an access to the sports field and not many cars stick to the 10mph limit so be careful with children.

A good site overall, we'll be back.

Previous     36 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Borders   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


170 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0488