Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lauder Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Lauder Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Carfraemill
Oxton
Lauder
Borders   (Browse area)
TD2 6RA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01578 750697

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
              9/10 from 34 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WOBBLE 12 reviews from this member

We have just had a 2 night stop at this site, we have used this site before, but this was several years ago. The toilet block was the usual c. C. C standard. The wardens were very welcoming and friendly, this site has only got a pub within walking distance (we did not use ). They do meals, it also holds wedding receptions in a marquee next to the pub. You don't hear the noise on the site. The site is very quiet and peaceful for a break from the rat race. The only criticism is the road on the site could do with resurfacing. A good site to use for a stop on a long haul from or to Scotland.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chestnuts 13 reviews from this member

Very good site Toilets and showers very clean. We stayed for 2 nights on our way to Scotland. Unfortunately it rained a fair bit whilst we were there. The Carfraemill hotel which is just up the road from the site do very good meals. We will certainly stay there again when we are on our way to Scotland.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CB68 2 reviews from this member

This Campsite is a must visit. Spacious pitches are very well maintained, as is the gaps between units. The Toilet block was spotless, checked and a quick clean every evening at about 23:00hrs, and then a proper clean every day at 11:00. The gentle brook behind our pitch was fantastic for the kids to cool down in during hot weather. The Wardens were fantastic, going out of their way to ensure your holiday was just right. The site always went quiet before 22:00, which is perfect for kids. The only issue we found was a very weak TV signal. We bought a club wifi service and watched TV on the ipad, problem solved! The small site office did keep very basic supplies, but bring food with you, alternatively a Coop can be found 4 miles away in Lauder. There is no kids play area, but plenty of space for them to run around. This site and wardens were fantastic, I would happily go back and would advise anyone looking for a quiet break to give the site a try.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Varaderoxlv1000 23 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to a Camping and Caravan Club Site (always used CL or CS sites) in the past and the first thing that we encountered was someone from the Site showing us to our pitch (never expected that) and I found that rather gratifying. The site was well kept but as with any site there is always a mower on the go at some stage! The toilet and waste disposal facilities were excellent.

The site itself was next to a stream and very picturesque. Plenty of birds to watch including noisy Oyster Catchers but we coped!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pooh sticks champ 4 reviews from this member

This site is conveniently located at the junction of the A69 and A697. There isn't much else there, just a hotel, but it is only four miles from Lauder.

It is a reasonably large site, catering for caravans and tents. The site was very organised, will kept-up and clean. The toilet block was clean and acceptable (at least the ladies were, my party were not privy to the gents), with soap and toilet paper, although the hand dryer did not seem to work. There was a hair dryer which took coins.

You couldn't choose where to pitch, but had a site allocated to you. I found the site a little stony, which meant re-locating the tent pegs a few times.

The site was staffed all day with nice and helpful people. The reception sold a very few items (it couldn't be classed as a shop) and had a freezer you could put ice packs in - but they charged 50p a time, which while not expensive was a bit annoying.

The worst thing about the site (and this is personal preference) was that it had gates on, which was irritating during the day, when they were shut but unlocked. The gates were locked between 11pm and 7am, which while I appreciate this was probably for security, it did smack rather of boarding school bedtimes, and I was uncomfortable being locked in. This is the main reason I probably would not return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Venusontour 2 reviews from this member

An excellent location to tour the area from. With the buzzards soaring high over the forest on the hills to the back of the site and the running burn 'bubbling' as well on the site is beautiful setting. The facilities are always clean and the very helpful wardens on hand to offer advice. We would not hesitate to return there the next time we tour Scotland. Very handy for Edinburgh and the East coast. Very quiet site.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Borders   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4976 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0508