Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lauder Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Lauder Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Carfraemill
Oxton
Lauder
Borders   (Browse area)
TD2 6RA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01578 750697

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
              9/10 from 30 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pooh sticks champ 3 reviews from this member

This site is conveniently located at the junction of the A69 and A697. There isn't much else there, just a hotel, but it is only four miles from Lauder.

It is a reasonably large site, catering for caravans and tents. The site was very organised, will kept-up and clean. The toilet block was clean and acceptable (at least the ladies were, my party were not privy to the gents), with soap and toilet paper, although the hand dryer did not seem to work. There was a hair dryer which took coins.

You couldn't choose where to pitch, but had a site allocated to you. I found the site a little stony, which meant re-locating the tent pegs a few times.

The site was staffed all day with nice and helpful people. The reception sold a very few items (it couldn't be classed as a shop) and had a freezer you could put ice packs in - but they charged 50p a time, which while not expensive was a bit annoying.

The worst thing about the site (and this is personal preference) was that it had gates on, which was irritating during the day, when they were shut but unlocked. The gates were locked between 11pm and 7am, which while I appreciate this was probably for security, it did smack rather of boarding school bedtimes, and I was uncomfortable being locked in. This is the main reason I probably would not return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Venusontour 2 reviews from this member

An excellent location to tour the area from. With the buzzards soaring high over the forest on the hills to the back of the site and the running burn 'bubbling' as well on the site is beautiful setting. The facilities are always clean and the very helpful wardens on hand to offer advice. We would not hesitate to return there the next time we tour Scotland. Very handy for Edinburgh and the East coast. Very quiet site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RSV Martin 1 review from this member

Stayed here most of the later part of the summer as I am currently working in the area. Lovely well kept site and wardens always very helpful to give advice and pass on local knowledge.

Shame it's not open all year round as I wouldn't of moved on.

I have seen both couples and families enjoying this site throughout my stays here and all seemed to be having a great time and never experienced any negative comments from anyone. It is a very well run site and always kept clean and tidy within the toilet shower block and the washing area's. A real credit to R & S

Martin

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DaveP65 9 reviews from this member

Visited Lauder as a base for visiting Edinburgh. Fantastic little site and the site managers were really helpful. Toilets and showers maintained to a very high standard. We had an electric pitch backing onto the stream which was really pleasant but the noise was not intrusive. Town of Lauder has a small CO-OP, few pubs etc and a chip shop. Didn't eat in Lauder as we travelled out to Galashiels for this. Used park and ride at New Craighall for Edinburgh, at the recommendation of the site manager and this worked great. Fifty pence for 24 hours parking and 3. 70 return train to Edinburgh. Site very clean and tidy, cannot recommend highly enough, would love to return.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hughjazz 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights at Lauder CCC site and were very pleased. Managed to get a pitch (non electric) backing on to the small beck/stream that runs the length of the site. This was great as the weather aloud us to have a lovely BBQ each night whilst watching the wildlife nearby.

The facilities were really well looked after as well and were always cleaned to a high standard. Make sure you try the push button showers before getting changed as some seemed to only stay on for seconds before switching off again!

The area served us well for exploring as Edinburgh wasn't too far away or some great mountain bike routes at Glentress and Innerleithen which we will try next tine we stay.

As mentioned the hotel close by is a good excuse if the weather isn't so good but is rather over priced if you only want a drink!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fife-bloke 6 reviews from this member

Just back from a short break at Lauder C&CC site, and was impressed by the location, the pitches and the shower block/toilets.

The wardens are excellent, lovely people, very helpful and friendly and are a credit to the club and the site.

Ideal base for exploring the borders, with kelso, Galashiels, etc all reasonably close by and doesn't take long to get there.

If I have one criticism, then it is lack of facilities for children. The information given on this website is it has a kids play area, sadly this isn't the case and according to the wardens there never has been a kids play area. So being there with 4 kids expecting a play area, they were a bit disappointed.

But all in all a great site and one I would visit again without a doubt.

Previous     30 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Borders   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8245 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0391