Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Site Reviews

Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Balmaha
Nr Drymen
Glasgow
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G63 0AL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01360 870236

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
              8/10 from 54 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChewiesDad 1 review from this member

A fantastic location for walking - our dogs loved it.

Disappointed with WiFi Access - about two thirds of pitches had none. We asked to be located 'in the zone' and it did work but slow and the log on process was confusing and clunky. First generation iPad got no signal at all but the Android Galaxy S3 and Kindle Fire were OK. No TV reception for us.

To be 'in the zone' we were at the back of the site with the road a few yards away from us with trees and bushes between - very noisy traffic early in morning was an irritant.

Also disappointed with shop - very limited stock and sign on door that it was only open 1hr in morning and 1hr late afternoon BUT it did apear to be open more often - so why put people off?

Peaceful during mid week but

Busy on Friday afternoon until Sunday but not too rowdy. They do seem to cram people in when busy - we had to complain about a tent pitched about 3 meters from ours despite 6 meter club rule. Should have realised the intent when we were told to park car in front of our tent ( blocking any view) - when we said what if it does not fit into the small space between tent and site road were told to take down our front extension on night and put it up during day. So what to do with car during day ? Situation was resolved when I complained and pointed out 6 meter rule and handbook reference to parking between tents but only by warden asking/telling? neighbours to move tent from where he originally had told them to pitch to 6 meters away.

Good toilets and showers very clean except for weekend between cleaning sessions.

Bit of a walk to rubbish bins and chemical disposal but they were out of sight.

A small quality kids play area in the centre of the park

Loch access limited at site to a small beach and slipway but a short walk from site entrance along road led to a fairly large attractive pebbly beach which we and our dogs loved.

Dog walk was small but dog waste bins there and near office were regularly emptied. There was dog poo at the back of our pich which I managed to stand in while putting tent up but saw none anywhere else on site despite a lot of well behaved dogs.

Our favourite place for dinner was The Oak Tree at Balmahar a short drive from the site or a good walk for the more energetic.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Travelling man1 3 reviews from this member

Great site, clean facilities and helpful staff except for one person in the office. We tried to check in and found a staff member in reception. I think we surprised him as he stood up and said he couldn't help us as he didn't check people in, said he would get the check-in woman. 10 min later nothing. 15 min later nothing, went for a walk around the site. All a bit funny really. No idea what was going on

Anyway its a nice site once you get checked in, a little beach, 2 slipways for boats, bbqs allowed, 45 min walk to the pub along the shore,

Bit busy at weekends so best avoid during summer hols.

I would definitely recommend the site and we plan to go back later in the year

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 68 reviews from this member

What a fantastic location and views. I am totally bewildered reading some of the negative reviews of this site! Think – Loch Lomond, Scotland, mountains, deep cold water Loch, middle of nowhere/ever where (dependent upon mind set) – The ‘Glenlivet’ moment.

Truly beautiful location when dry and sunny; but monstrous when wet and windy, ‘There’s no such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothing’ - Billy Connolly (from an old Norwegian proverb).

Friendly, helpful wardens, plenty of space, clean and warm toilets/wash room. Bring plenty of provisions, warm clothes, good boots, a kayak and enjoy.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fatsdom 4 reviews from this member

Easy access and welcoming staff who gave the best available pitch (15 yards from the loch-shore).

Big pitch for the VW but lots of others had awnings / parked boats and jet-skis in their areas.

Quiet in the Easter holidays and shower block and wash rooms clean, warm and well-maintained. Small shop open daily. No other facilities but this only added to the charm.

Local villages have shops and tea-rooms.

Views over the loch from the shore are breath taking - watching the sun set here was worth the site fee alone.

Would return and recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kateandjames 24 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site on the shores of Loch Lomond near Balmaha and quite a 'rustic' site for the camping club.

Staff were very welcoming and offered to change our pitch to loch side the following day if we wanted to move.

Facilities as expected for the camping club.

We had a couple of nice days walking along the loch, stopping off at bays for picnics and a paddle.

Balhama has a shop and pub, pub food looked good but we didn't stay and try it as it wasn't a dog friendly establishment.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gumpandwoo 15 reviews from this member

Lovely site with exceptionally helpful wardens. We visited on the off chance they may be able to accomodate us after arriving at the site we had booked and it not meeting our expectations. They gladly fitted us in and made all the phone calls etc to transfer our booking from elsewhere.

Nice pitches with a good view of the loch, and a good size for a caravan, awning and car. Facilities were very clean and the showers were nice and powerful.

Balmaha is a cute little village with a lovely pub called the Oak which does lovely food and has a lovely charm/atmosphere about it.

There is also a small local shop where you can get most essentials along with gifts etc.

You have to visit the House of Darrach in Gartocharn, its a tea room to rival Bettys!.

Luss is a well worth a visit and you can take a loch boat trip whilst there.

The boathouse at Cameron House is a lovely loch side restaurant for a nice relaxed meal.

Would definitely return.

Previous     54 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dunbartonshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7322 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469