Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Site Reviews

Milarrochy Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Balmaha
Nr Drymen
Glasgow
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G63 0AL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01360 870236

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
              8/10 from 57 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnycaravanner 3 reviews from this member

a argumentative welcome but the site was well kept, very busy with all sorts. Views of the loch and small shop on site. Loch lomond walks and boat trips nearby. Avoid the weekend in summer.

With lots of mozzies and flys it can be a problem. Balmaha has a pub and shop whilst drymen has a spar supermarket. The pub is expensive whilst the village shop sells beer and fags

we will return

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 50 reviews from this member

Stayed for two nights to have a relaxing time by the Loch and take in some of the local walks.

We were disappointed with our pitch, there is an area of flat pitches on the Loch but we were on sloping pitches at the back of the site. We were given one pitch that would have been impossible to get the van level given the sloping angles of the pitch. We moved to a flatter one, but it was still too sloping to get level with large chocks. The pitches at the front of the site looked good and did have nice views.

The toilet block wasn't the cleanest and deteriorated throughout the day. We were also close to the backpackers facilities, which understandably got a hard time.

The walking from the site was good. We walked to both the local pubs one about 1. 5 miles away and one 5. 5 miles away, The Oak (the closer one) was the better of the two. There is also a well stocked shop at Balmaha.

Overall for a C&CC site, it was a disappointment. There is a nice Camping in the Forest site just down the round and I'd use this when returning to the area rather than Millarrochy Bay.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChewiesDad 1 review from this member

A fantastic location for walking - our dogs loved it.

Disappointed with WiFi Access - about two thirds of pitches had none. We asked to be located 'in the zone' and it did work but slow and the log on process was confusing and clunky. First generation iPad got no signal at all but the Android Galaxy S3 and Kindle Fire were OK. No TV reception for us.

To be 'in the zone' we were at the back of the site with the road a few yards away from us with trees and bushes between - very noisy traffic early in morning was an irritant.

Also disappointed with shop - very limited stock and sign on door that it was only open 1hr in morning and 1hr late afternoon BUT it did apear to be open more often - so why put people off?

Peaceful during mid week but

Busy on Friday afternoon until Sunday but not too rowdy. They do seem to cram people in when busy - we had to complain about a tent pitched about 3 meters from ours despite 6 meter club rule. Should have realised the intent when we were told to park car in front of our tent ( blocking any view) - when we said what if it does not fit into the small space between tent and site road were told to take down our front extension on night and put it up during day. So what to do with car during day ? Situation was resolved when I complained and pointed out 6 meter rule and handbook reference to parking between tents but only by warden asking/telling? neighbours to move tent from where he originally had told them to pitch to 6 meters away.

Good toilets and showers very clean except for weekend between cleaning sessions.

Bit of a walk to rubbish bins and chemical disposal but they were out of sight.

A small quality kids play area in the centre of the park

Loch access limited at site to a small beach and slipway but a short walk from site entrance along road led to a fairly large attractive pebbly beach which we and our dogs loved.

Dog walk was small but dog waste bins there and near office were regularly emptied. There was dog poo at the back of our pich which I managed to stand in while putting tent up but saw none anywhere else on site despite a lot of well behaved dogs.

Our favourite place for dinner was The Oak Tree at Balmahar a short drive from the site or a good walk for the more energetic.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Travelling man1 3 reviews from this member

Great site, clean facilities and helpful staff except for one person in the office. We tried to check in and found a staff member in reception. I think we surprised him as he stood up and said he couldn't help us as he didn't check people in, said he would get the check-in woman. 10 min later nothing. 15 min later nothing, went for a walk around the site. All a bit funny really. No idea what was going on

Anyway its a nice site once you get checked in, a little beach, 2 slipways for boats, bbqs allowed, 45 min walk to the pub along the shore,

Bit busy at weekends so best avoid during summer hols.

I would definitely recommend the site and we plan to go back later in the year

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Captgeoff 22 reviews from this member

Lovely Lochside site, it's on the quiet side of Loch Lomond. Our pitch was alongside the Loch and absolutely beautiful. Facilities good and clean, although got a bit muddy as the day wore on. 1 1/2 mile walk to Balmaha where you can get a ferry to Luss. Staff very helpful, under pressure as there was a problem at their other site in Luss so many transferred from there.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 85 reviews from this member

What a fantastic location and views. I am totally bewildered reading some of the negative reviews of this site! Think – Loch Lomond, Scotland, mountains, deep cold water Loch, middle of nowhere/ever where (dependent upon mind set) – The ‘Glenlivet’ moment.

Truly beautiful location when dry and sunny; but monstrous when wet and windy, ‘There’s no such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothing’ - Billy Connolly (from an old Norwegian proverb).

Friendly, helpful wardens, plenty of space, clean and warm toilets/wash room. Bring plenty of provisions, warm clothes, good boots, a kayak and enjoy.

Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dunbartonshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3678 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1094