Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rosemarkie Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Rosemarkie Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Ness Road East
Rosemarkie
Fortrose
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV10 8SE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01381 621117

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
              9/10 from 49 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AUTOQUEST 130 1 review from this member

Spent Sunday evening on site, having arrived in the dark. Woke up to a brilliant sunrise over the firth at Fort George. Campsite was ideal offering unobstructed views over the water and clean toilets and shower area. We had hoped to see the dolphins but were instructed it was too late in the year, however we had a nice walk along beach over the golf course with great views all around. A nice Bistro was only about 4OO yards from site. Will certainly be returning. Nearby Avoch is worth a visit with it's small harbour and various eateries.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 256 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site. We arrived and the wardens were super friendly - always a great first impression. Our pitch was on the end of the first grass area but no campers on front pitches so glorious views from any pitch.

Toilets / showers clean and good piping hot water. The only complaint would be why other campers leave toilet roll on the floor and water all over the place, wardens did a great job cleaning but facilities didn't always reflect this.

Both villages are well worth a walk. Fortrose has a Coop, butchers, 2 bakers, pub, post office and restaurant. Rosemarkie has a Spar and a lovely community run cafe right on the beach.

The beach is wonderful with miles of sand / pebbles - easy to walk on from end to end. From the pitches the views out into the Moray Firth and Fort George are stunning and worth the trip alone.

A really wonderful site and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cassi 5 reviews from this member

A very well run site and friendly helpful staff. Each person is sited to enable all to have a sea view where possible. Very considerate and helpful. A fairly small site right on the sea front and yes I actually did see the dolphins and on one occasion they were right in front of the site.

Lovely area although quite remote. Fortrose is a 20 mins walk(were oldies and walk quite slowly) where you will be able to get all you provisions and a very nice restaurant serving most of the day.

Rosemarkie is a short walk and a lovely little town.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wigtowner 12 reviews from this member

We have just spent a few days at this campsite. Our main reason being there was to see the dolphins off Chanonry Point. Our first visit to the point resulted in some great pics with some jumping together clean out of the water. The other visits were not so good as the dolphins were not so active.

This campsite is split into two sections by a minor road to the village that runs beside a beautiful sandy beach. We had a wonderful view overlooking the bay.

The toilets are kept very clean. The camp shop is only open for a short time morning and evening.

There is a good dog walk which runs the length of the site.

We will definitely go back there again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 23 reviews from this member

Our first visit to Rosemarkie, all pitches are grass and some were very well worn and muddy.

We had selected an electric hook up pitch which was located up at the end of the first site, although on the second row, it had excellent views across the bay.

Two small W/C and shower blocks, both spotless, wardens very friendy and helpful.

Well supplied site shop, local shop in the village with papers, large superstores in Inverness if you coming in from the A9.

This is a site you can really relax on, the sound of the waves, excellent bird watching and the last but not least, the dolphins.

I had my telescope with me and had some really good views of the dolphins.

Really nice site, will return for longer next time.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Reworht 3 reviews from this member

Superb - helped by the weather - 12 nights of wall to wall sunshine in Scotland can't be bad!

Although the facilities are not too numerous, and a little dated (site is owned by local council, so upgrading is difficult) they are kept in immaculate condition by the staff. They ensure you're sited sensibly, offsetting units at the water's edge and further inland to ensure everyone gets the best possible view of the Moray Firth. The dolphins were there twice a day every day, and although there is a public road at the site's edge, this doesn't create a noise problem, and overall, the site is a haven of peace - topped off with regular visits from the local dolphins which put on a twice daily show at the lighthouse! This was our third visit - and we'll be back again, despite it being 350 miles from home.

Previous     49 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1468 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469