Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rosemarkie Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Rosemarkie Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Ness Road East
Rosemarkie
Fortrose
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV10 8SE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01381 621117

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
              9/10 from 60 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (10)

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BillandSue 3 reviews from this member

This is a must-visit for the wild-life enthusiast, offering the opportunity - though not guaranteed - to see a pod of dolphins feeding close-up from the nearby Chanonry point, also seals further out in the Moray Firth. Also, the pitches are arranged along the shore to provide panoramic views of the Firth. The staff were welcoming and helpful, otherwise the site has few attractions, the pitches being small, the on-site facilities tired and limited (though clean) and there being little in the way of decent pubs or restaurants in easy walking distance. But we will definitely go again for a chance to see those dolphins.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave Thorpe 9 reviews from this member

A superb site with superb friendly staff, the toilet blocks are dated but the showers wash cubicles & loos are fine - the showers being electric so no cool shower as the hot water runs out, they are always clean - entry by code to keep non campers out as a footpath runs between the beach and site and the road to the village bisects the site, this was never a problem ie no speeding & no noisy walkers - be aware that access laws in Scotland allow the public to walk thro the site. The grass piches were a mix of level and those needing ramps/ blocks but nothing too far to be used. The Dolphins- they were the principle reason for going & BOY WERE WE IN FOR A TREAT, morning and night for a week we watched/ filmed/ photographed them along with seals and an otter. Mornings are better as there are fewer people there jostling to get a view, they were as close as 15 metres to the shore, take warm clothing as it does get chilly, there are some picnic benches in front of the lighthouse and you can get mobility scooters to them from the car park by the lighthouse, otherwise walk down the beach or golf course. Swimming is a no no from the spit& in front of the site but ok by the village Wildlife Boat rides varied between £15 & £30 per person - talking to a lady on the beach who went out on the R I B everyday it appears that standing on the spit in front of the Lighthouse on Chanonry Point was just as good. Units without an awning or tents were pitched on the front row overlooking the beach/bay whilst units with an awning were pitched behind them but staggered so as to be able to see between the front row. We can't comment on the Rosemarkie shops etc as we didn't go there but the Coop in Fortrose was fine, we did go into Inverness to Lidl and Tesco, couldn't find Asda with the in car satnav though. ENJOY!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 62 reviews from this member

Apart from the attraction of the Dolphins this site really is a rip-off. It has sixty pitches on two sites, with a road in between. All pitches are grass and there is no site security. To access the beach from the far end of the site means crossing that road, which can see some undisciplined driving. More than one dog had a narrow escape during our eight night stay.

When we rang the site, some three weeks before we arrived we were told that there were no pitches available, but going onto the C&C Club web site a day or two later I did manage to get a booking for a 'large' grass pitch. (But not overlarge and a thoroughfare for others walking to the village or the beach). At £29. 30 a night it was an utter rip-off, but was our only option.

The rear facilities block had a tired air - only one shower each side and only two loos - but three vanity sinks!. This was inadequate amongst 30 pitches. There was no alternative available when the blocks were being cleaned, other than going 200 mfrs down the road to the other part of the site. As expected for a Club site, the facilities were always clean. Only the front part of the site has recycling facilities - but does NOT take glass.

Rosemarkie itself has a tired pub, an expensive Bistro, a greasy spoon beach snack bar and a golf club. Oh yes, walk along to Chanonry point about 2-3 hours after high tide and you have a fair chance of catching the dolphins as they chase fish. Females and young do come within about 20 mfrs of the beach - but it can be blowy - go prepared!

Fortrose has a Co-op mini-market that seems quite all stocked, a decent pub, a Coffee shop and the Eilean Dubh restaurant. We have been there before, but it must have changed hands and is aiming at a more up-market clientele - hence fancy food with fancy prices and only three tables taken (one on spec) when we visited.

It is eight years since we last visited Rosemarkie; I don't see it being less before we go again!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bendog 11 reviews from this member

Stunning views across the bay this has to be one of the best sites the c&c club have for the scenery, only a small site it is very well kept by the most friendly staff who can't do enough to help you. The toilet and shower blocks are only small but are kept really clean. The little town of Fortrose has a couple of pubs and a co-op, and the village of Rosemarkie one pub and one shop both not far away. A walk up to the light house is a must if you want to see the Dolphins ( the staff will tell you the best time to go) will definitely be visiting as often as possible. Also the golf club is superb and will give you temporary membership for £1

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulludford 5 reviews from this member

This site is beautiful located right on the beach with views across the Moray Firth - great for walks and dog walking

All pitches are level with a little tweaking and although we didn't have an electric hook up, water, waste and chemical waste were within easy reach

The free toilets and showers are always immaculate, the wardens being helpful and friendly

The nearby village has a great cafe, bakers and coop store so you can get everything you want within 10 mins cycling/20 mins waking

Regular buses from nearby stops take you to Inverness about 15 miles away

Watching Dolphins on the nearby spit was so cool

Our first visit and we'll definitely be back

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magieann 7 reviews from this member

Very friendly helpful site managers. We were given a choice of pitches, all the pitches are grass, which is uneven, but the motor home was fine as the ground was very dry.

The site is in two parts. The part we were on had its own facilities block and is on the other side of the road. The road does give some noise at night but not excessive, however, it did make pedestrian access to our motorhome easy, so much so that someone had detached our hook up during the night and it was lying on the ground next morning. I did bring it to the attention of the wardens but they said it was a regular happening.

The shower block could do with some TLC but the toilets and showers were clean.

A short walk along the beach or road takes you to Chanonry Point where we saw the Moray Firth dalphins.

A walk in the other direction takes you into Rosemarkie which has a pub which made it quite clear that they did not want brits there, we had a very uncomfortable drink and left. We then went to the Spar shop where the lady was quite happy to take our money.

On the beach is the Rosemarkie Beach Café where we paid a number of visits, it is well worth a visit.

Fortrose is within walking distance and has a Co-op store, bakery and pub(this pub was brit friendly)

The selling point of this camp site are the fanatic views out over the Moray Firth and towards Fort George.

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8578 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0938