Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Site Reviews

Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Scone Palace Caravan Park
Scone
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH2 6BB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01738 552323

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01 Mar 2014 - 04 Jan 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 53 Reviews
              7/10 from 53 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Photos (5) and Video

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liamlucy 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, was very busy but the facilities were clean, although showers, laundry and dish washing Facs were restricted because of a mechanical problem according to notices of apology that were placed round the inside of the block explaining the prob. And in fact as we left today gas engineer had just arrived to start the repair work! So was genuine problem.

Good, fairly well stocked shop on site and you could also pre-order newspapers. Butcher comes to site selling meat, pies and vegs.

You can walk to the Palace, walk round the racecourse or walk along the River Tay, where you can fish for trout at 2. 50 a day.

Approx two miles from the City where there were a couple of museums, one of which is The Black Watch.

Well placed for rides out to other places like Dundee, St Andrews, Pitlochry, Dunkeld and Braemar.

Wardens all friendly and always busy.

Nice site and will definitely be back as we didn't get to see everything the area has to offer.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missteree 22 reviews from this member

Rather disappointing for a Camping & Caravan Club site. Pitch although hard standing was small and would have been very difficult to park car if we had put awning up. Obviously in summer you could park on grass in but not just now given wet weather.

Toilets and showers clean enough but only 2 showers available (out of 4) in both ladies and gents. Needless to say both were queued every morning - not had to do that in a long time, never mind at the beginning of April!

Due to recycling policy no bins at all in toilets or on site other than in car park. I understand the local council has a strict recycling policy but surely it is not beyond the wardens to empty recycling/general waste bins from toilets? Goes without saying, some campers had left empty shower gel/shampoo bottles in showers.

Laundry closed for full weekend.

Wardens helpful enough on arrival but forgot to give us entry code so couldn't get back on to site the following day.

As others have stated although immediately next to Perth racecourse & Scone Palace, you will need car to go anywhere else.

Stanley Mills (Historic Scotland site) is about 9 miles away and an interesting day out if you like social history.

One last thing and obviously outwith control of C&CC and wardens - the noise from the Oyster Catchers drove us mad both day and night! Some regulars on site apparently use ear plugs - so be aware!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caro48 4 reviews from this member

We only spent 2 nights here at the end of our tour of Scotland. The management were very helpful on arrival and the site was very clean and tidy. The facilities were excellent and spotless. We didn't use the race course club so are unable to comment on it, but we did walk down to the river and it was lovely. There were no views from the site, but it gave an impression of being in a woodland. We didn't have any children with us so are unable to comment on the child friendliness.

We visited Scone Palace and, whilst the palace itself was beautiful, we thought it was over priced for the amount of rooms that could be accessed, but if you are into fine art you will enjoy their vast collection of objet d' art.

We felt there was much more to see around and about, but we didn't have the opportunity to visit more of Perth and the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebonnie 8 reviews from this member

This site is in a great location for seeing Perth and surrounding areas. It was a little too quiet for our liking and therefore lacked a bit of the camping atmosphere that you get on other sites. The grass and pitches did look a little tired and untidy in areas.

The wardens were great and very amiable. The warden who showed us the available pitches was very helpful and patient whilst we selected a pitch from the options given. The site has a shop which was very well stocked.

The shower block was very clean and well looked after, whilst being cleaned the family room was available for use.

There was a small area for children to play, we don't have children, but I would say they would soon bore of it as it was limited. There is plenty of space around the site for dog walking. It is also situated right beside Perth racecourse, if you fancy a day at the races it is a perfect location.

It is necessary to use the car to get to all local amenities from this site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pamzee 15 reviews from this member

The usual Camping and Caravanning Club high standards. Immaculate facilities block with decent sized showers, lots of loos, washing up sinks etc. Spotlessly clean. During my stay the water boiler broke down and the wardens lost no time in ordering a repair, and they closed off some of the showers to conserve hot water which was sensible. Friendly helpful staff, clean site. Surrounded by trees, so good shelter from the wind. Site itself was quiet but quite a bit of noise from an out of sight but nearby busy main road. Noisy pack of oyster catchers live at site for some weird reason. Luckily for them they are cute and grow on you after a while. There is a racecourse right next to the site. But as there were no meets during my stay I can't say how much noise/disruption, if any, was caused by this. Scone Castle is well worth a visit. I didn't find Perth very interesting although its location a couple of miles away is handy. The Toby carvery just outside Perth was not up to the usual standard - unless you like half cooked roasties and soggy carrots.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: GlosLass 4 reviews from this member

Nice clean site. Good toilet facilities etc. There were a great deal of notices telling you what not to do, which doesn't give a good impression.

It was very busy due to the Game Show on in the Palace Grounds and I was given a rather small pitch opposite the toilets with internal roads on 2 sides. I had my 2 dogs with me and there wasn't enough room for me to peg them out next to my camper van. I bought 2 wifi vouchers, but the system wasn't working and I was refused a refund, which was apparently due to the fact that the service is provided by a separate company, although it was the site that I had to pay for the service. On the first night I was there a group of people in a nearby caravan were extremely noisy and shouting until past 2:00 am. All in all I was not a happy camper. I was on a touring holiday for 12 days and this was the only site I was not happy with.

The game show was fantastic and I had a lovely day there.

Previous     53 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Perthshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4222 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0664