Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Tarland Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Tarland
Tarland By Aboyne
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB34 4UP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01339 881388

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01 Mar - 02 Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 22 Reviews
              7/10 from 22 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FindlayMac 6 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site at Tarland & NEVER AGAIN as a previous reviewer has stated about the Couple who run this site I could not agree more.

Very unfriendly, rude and regimental and certainly NOT Pet- friendly, dogs were requested to be on leads at all times even when having their food outside our own van.

No criticism about the wc facilities at all, very clean, but we certainly won't be returning or recommended this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 33 reviews from this member

Having seen the waterlogged state of some Scottish campsites this spring we booked a hardstanding with electric pitch at Tarland for the Spring Bank Holiday week. Needless to say not a drop of rain for 7 nights!

This is a relatively small touring site with neighbouring static caravans. Flat & well sheltered. We can't comment on the drainage as it didn't rain during our stay. Wardens were friendly. No mobile signal on site (EE network) but worked wonderfully if you walked up to nearby stone circle. Old technology meet new? Site wif-fi was good. Toilet block spotlessly clean. My only moan is NO BINS in either the ladies or the washing up area. 20p for the hairdrier.

The village is an easy 10 min walk - well stocked Spar for basics. There are supermarket sized Co-ops in Aboyne (with parking) or Ballater (street parking). These are also your nearest banks and petrol stations.

What to do??? Excellent walking from the site (reception had a guide book) or plenty of choice in the surrounding area. The Muir of Dinnet nature reserve, especially the Burn of Vat is worth a visit. Glen Muick is a 8 mile circular track - very pretty. Parking 4 all day. The Balmoral estate includes 7 Munros. Lochnagar itself was especially fine in the sunshine - still pockets of snow on top in late May.

We paid to see Balmoral Castle. 12 each so not cheap but pick a dry day and allow at least half a day. There is relatively little indoors but you can see all the gardens and walk most of the wider grounds. Needless to say the tea shop is excellent quality!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin5a 3 reviews from this member

This site is situated near a very picturesque village with two very good pubs.

The facilities are up to the usual camping and caravanning club standards and are conveniently situated. Our pitch was a little tight but we were helped by the warden who used the site tractor to manoeuvrer our van so we could hook up.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Headgardener 35 reviews from this member

We had booked this campsite some time ago for Wed & Thur 30th & 31st December 2015 and Fri & Sat 1st & 2nd January 2016. The weather forecast on the morning of departure was for more heavy rain -again - for the North East so we phoned the site warden at 9 am to find out how bad it was. We were told there were some pools of water but everyone was getting about. So we set off intending to go via the A90 to Stonehaven then cut across to the A93 to Aboyne then up to Tarland. It was raining very hard and there was a LOT of surface water on the A93 and it was just passable in places.

We got to the site OK. Perhaps the warden had an off day and we though he was a bit short with us but anyway he showed us to a small hardstanding backing onto the road. We could not have one of the bigger pitches in the centre close to the facilities as they were for the 'Rally'. We were surprised to hear about this as there was no mention of it when booking. There was a reasonable sized social/function/games room which was taken over by the Rally members and others were not invited.

On the 1st January 2016 the forecast was for more heavy rain and flooding - there had been extensive flooding in the area. We decided we would leave the next morning cutting our stay by one night as we did not want to get stranded or our van stuck in the floods.

We were very surprised the next morning when we were told we could not get a refund.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wulster 17 reviews from this member

Spent two nights here in the fantastic October sunshine. Really nice site. Easy to find and in great location with good walks nearby for dogs. Wardens were very pleasant and helpful. Toilet block is a wee bit old, but it was spotlessly clean. Very quiet at night this time of year, and even though weather was glorious, it got very cold at night. No problems though. Close by is the nice little village of Tarland. Couple of pubs and a few shops, so really all you need. Food at the Commercial Hotel was really good and was dog friendly as well.

Really enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yappieannie 11 reviews from this member

This is the 3rd Camping and Caravan club site we have used this year (getting our money's worth from the membership!) and it was one of the poorer sites.

We were shown to our pitch (small grumble about why, when the tent field is empty do they put all the tents together in the one corner, our neighbor was able to see directly into our tent) by the warden. The pitch was small and very close to the next tent.

The toilets were clean and spacious but once more the push button shower ruins the experience. The water was warm, a stool was provided but there was very little space in the cubical, some of the space around the washbasins could have been put to better use.

The dish washing area was clean, however there are no waste bins around the area, meaning you have to go out to the recycling area at the entrance to put your rubbish in the bin, I'm all for recycling but a food waste bin at the dishwasher area would not go amiss.

The whole set up of the site and the way customers are treated made us feel very much like second class citizens, not sure who would be top dog but I think that tourers in general are a bit of an inconvenience for the site owners.

The area was lovely and I did like being able to walk to the village.

Wouldn't rush back.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aberdeenshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5712 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0898