Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tarland By Deeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Tarland By Deeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Tarland By Deeside
Tarland By Aboyne
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB34 4UP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 013398 81388

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 01 Mar 2015 - 03 Jan 2016

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
              8/10 from 17 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yappieannie 11 reviews from this member

This is the 3rd Camping and Caravan club site we have used this year (getting our money's worth from the membership!) and it was one of the poorer sites.

We were shown to our pitch (small grumble about why, when the tent field is empty do they put all the tents together in the one corner, our neighbor was able to see directly into our tent) by the warden. The pitch was small and very close to the next tent.

The toilets were clean and spacious but once more the push button shower ruins the experience. The water was warm, a stool was provided but there was very little space in the cubical, some of the space around the washbasins could have been put to better use.

The dish washing area was clean, however there are no waste bins around the area, meaning you have to go out to the recycling area at the entrance to put your rubbish in the bin, I'm all for recycling but a food waste bin at the dishwasher area would not go amiss.

The whole set up of the site and the way customers are treated made us feel very much like second class citizens, not sure who would be top dog but I think that tourers in general are a bit of an inconvenience for the site owners.

The area was lovely and I did like being able to walk to the village.

Wouldn't rush back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pennine1976 1 review from this member

Our first visit to a C&CC Club site, but about 10tgh club site for my dad who was also with us. Nice welcome from a female warden in the office then show to site by a 'strict' male warden (turns out he is the site Manager), who told us everything again the female did as though he didn't trust her! Site was rather damp due to recent flooding along the Deeside area, so tent field was closed and ment the tents where all mixed up with Caravans etc. Toilet facilities all though very clean are very dated and closed for 1. 5 hours over dinnertime every day. Also showers are push button and very small. Far to many sinks and toilets for the size of the site, this building needs a major rethink. Also on site are Holiday Homes and we did feel second class too them. Wasnt impressed with wardens cutting the grass with literally inches to spare to our units. On one very quiet day played frizbee with the dog, the Warden saw us but didn't 'pull us up on it' till the next day when supposedly someone else who he pulled up for playing with their dog complained, he was looking at the floor as he said it, couldn't even look us in the eyes. When all they offer on site is a dog walk that's all on 30 yards long how can it be dog friendly. After that day 'grumpy' warden never once acknowledged us again, not even when we left. Some of the staff there need a course in Customer Service! Also you cant hang anything on a tree or put up a washing line! It was like we were second class citizens and dogs pretty much can't go anywhere due to their no dog signs! On plus side all usual facilities on site, decent information room and Spar in walking distance and other supermarkets about 20 mins drive. Won't be going there again unless the site Manager Changes !

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 23 reviews from this member

We arrived as a family of 5 in our motorhome. The site entrance has a good security gate. The reception was very welcoming and the gentleman warden even walked our van to the allocated pitch, which backed on to a quiet country road. The traffic was very light so there was minimal noise. The pitch was hardstanding and level but not the biggest, if I had put my awning up it would have been half on gravel and half on grass. The site is nicely laid out with good spaced pitches and wonderful views of the surrounding countryside and well maintained. There is a nice small play area for kids a recreation/information room with a pool table and table tennis and a lounge area with television. The room is in need of a new carpet and seemed very dusty. The toilet block is nice and clean and heated. But dated and with 3 push button showers with duration of push varying from 4 seconds in one shower to 30 in another. The village is a short walk away and there are 2 hotels. We were given a 10% voucher from the warden, for the Commercial Hotel restaurant which we had previously booked, it was very good. There is also a Spar shop and some other small shops. We cycled on the Tarland Way to Aboyne a 6 mile route half on minor roads and half on cycle/walking paths, highly recommended. We also did 2 of the many local walks from Tarland which are all waymarked with signs taking in interesting local sights. This is a lovely area and I would certainly go back to this site.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: IainG 1 review from this member

Simply a fantastic site, one of the best I've experienced on the C&CC network.

The facilities are first class, and the site is spotlessly maintained by some really nice staff.

If you have dogs, the selection of walks off the site are excellent. The on-site dog walk is only good for a late night canine 'discharge'.

5 mins walk to a local shop, and a village worth visiting.

One of my favourites.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ravelin 13 reviews from this member

We've stayed at Tarland on a number of occasions as it's close enough to home for a quick, easy weekend break. It's always seemed a very quiet site when we've been there, but probably because we tend to visit out of the main summer season.

The site is well maintained with a selection of grass or hard standing pitches. We've always been on the grass as it's easier to put up the awning and it's never been too soggy even when it's been raining. The toilet block is quite dated but is always spotless. The additional small toilets near the tent field are useful if you're on that end of the site. There's not a lot of other facilities but there is a short dog walk and some play equipment for kids.

The village of Tarland is quiet but has a shop & pub. The main advantage of the site is it's proximity to Deeside and the surrounding towns and countryside. Banchory, Aboyne, Ballater & Braemar are all within easy reach, as is of course the castle at Balmoral.

If you've never visited the area it's well worth the effort, and the site at Tarland is as good a place to stay as any.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vangran 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site with friendly managers and assistants. Good walking for short to long walks straight from site. Village 10 minutes walk with 2 hotels, Spar, craft, toy and hairdressing shop. There is also a kilt maker and tailor. There is a folk night at one hotel and theatre at the Mcroberts Hall. The people who live in Tarland and the area are very friendly and used to visitors.

The site itself is nicely laid out with hardstanding and grass pitches. There appears to be plenty hook ups and areas for fresh and grey water. The tent area looks really nice and had been looked after well considering the recent heavy rain.

The toilet and washing block is old but clean and the washer and dryer on par with other sites. Actually the dryer is better and cheaper than most places visited. There is also a dog walk on site.

There are also static caravans both white and green and some nice wooden lodges. These are all in little cul de sacs which is very unusual. There are about five or six to a cul de sac with lots of room in between.

We have been here before and will return again. Oh yes there is also a very nice children's playing area. This is a quiet site where birds can be heard easily ie woodpeckers, pheasant, various garden birds and there are many squirrels and rabbits. Roe deer can be seen on some of the walks.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aberdeenshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015