Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Delnies Wood
Nairn
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV12 5NX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01667 455281

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Mar 2013 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
              8/10 from 31 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 284 reviews from this member

Used for a one night stopover and couldn't have been more satisfied.

We arrived on a wet afternoon to be greeted by a very cheerful warden who quickly checked us in. Despite the weather pitches were dry and drained well. Not the biggest pitch ever but more than adequate for us and the many other motorhomes on site.

Would agree with previous as to some road noise, didn't find it that intrusive though - possibly as we were parked in the section to the right of reception.

Toilets and showers are in an old block. That said they are immaculate inside, agree they are old but to be fair upgrading would be more about the appearance from the outside. The showers do not have push buttons, good water pressure and piping hot. You would go a long way to get a better shower and a cleaner block.

Overall this is a really good site, £15 for 2 adults with ehu is much cheaper than several other club sites in the area.

If staying here then cannot recommend a visit to Fort George highly enough. For less than £9 its an incredible place, still in use as a military base but plenty you can see and do, its an amazing day out.

Would recommend this site without hesitation and we will use for longer next time in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Watersonholiday 2 reviews from this member

We received a very friendly welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we had a lovely pitch and wonderful weather, which always helps, but the site was excellent and we will definitely visit again and would recommend it to others.

The summer flowers were lovely too and the friendly atmosphere was great

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ravelin 12 reviews from this member

This site is set in amongst tall trees and adjacent to the busy A96. The road noise isn't bad if you are on a pitch on the far side of the site but it can still be heard in the background.

When we arrived it had been raining very heavily and there was a lot of standing water on the site road and quite a lot of the pitches. The warden was very helpful though and walked around with us to allow us to choose a dryish pitch large enough for our caravan and awning. With the rain stopped the site was almost dry the next morning so it does drain quickly.

The toilet facilities are basic, but adequate, and spotless. There is also a small play park for the kids and plenty of paths in the adjacent woods which we'd have like to have explored further. While we were there another camper saw a Pine Martin on the site early one morning but we weren't so lucky.

The site is convenient for visits to Inverness and beyond to the Balck Isle or Loch Ness. There's shops in Inverness or Nairn, which is closer, to top up on supplies.

The site is basic and could do with some attention in places but was relatively cheap. Despite my lowish score we'd be happy to visit it again, as long as the price stays low.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Metco 2 reviews from this member

Lovely people.

The site is scrupulously clean as is the somewhat dated facilities. Litter patrols and maintenance can be seen being carried out frequently.

There are rabbits, squirrels, more birds than I could name.

Unfortunately it is immediately adjacent to the A96 so road noise is evident.

Inverness airport is just along the road so there is also aircraft noise.

Not a bad stop over though. Storage too.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dk168 21 reviews from this member

I spent 7 nights at this site, and had a great time.

I would not describe it as peaceful, as it is close to a main road, and it can be quite noisy, especially at night with trucks and motorbikes zooming down the road.

However, it is set in a nice forest setting, with forest walks that can be accessed directly from the site.

Pitches are relatively level. However, the grass pitch with EHU I had was not very long compared with other pitches at other C&CC sites, and my tent is only 5. 1m in length.

C&CC had not taken over the running of this site for long, as old signage abound.

The showers and toilet block may be aging, however, the showers are not operated by push buttons, and definitely some of the best ones I have come across, C&CC or otherwise.

The cleanliness of the facilities were of the usual high standards as expected for a C&CC club site.

The site is well-situated to explore Moray Firth coast, with Inverness just a short drive away.

Culbin Forest is also a short drive away, with plenty of cycle and walking opportunities.

Findhorn Foundation and Tomatin Distillery were worth a visit, as was Fort Augustus which was a bit further afield.

The walk along the beach at Nairn was delightful.

Shops are within easy reach in Nairn for provisions and petrol only a few miles down the road.

There is a games room with a TV and table tennis, plus a play area with swings etc.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

All in all, a nice site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angela999 11 reviews from this member

Having just returned from this site I would not be returning until it has been upgraded.

Met by a pleasant warden and shown our pitch, it was worn and very muddy as well as water logged, it was difficult to walk on the paths as they too where worn and muddy.

Over all the site was tired looking and in need of upgrading, facilities where clean however they too can be doing a revamp.

It was a good base for travelling Nairn a short drive away with a selection of take aways and restaurants.

A large retail park near by as well as Tesco extra, with cheap fuel

Fort George, Culloden also a short drive away, and well worth a visit to the Black Isle for Dolphin spotting and was not disappointed.

I hope the CCC take on board some of the other comments and make some changes to this site, as it is a perfect location and easy to tow there

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Inverness-Shire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4848 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1172