Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Nairn Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Delnies Wood
Nairn
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV12 5NX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01667 455281

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Mar 2013 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
              8/10 from 30 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Watersonholiday 2 reviews from this member

We received a very friendly welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we had a lovely pitch and wonderful weather, which always helps, but the site was excellent and we will definitely visit again and would recommend it to others.

The summer flowers were lovely too and the friendly atmosphere was great

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ravelin 12 reviews from this member

This site is set in amongst tall trees and adjacent to the busy A96. The road noise isn't bad if you are on a pitch on the far side of the site but it can still be heard in the background.

When we arrived it had been raining very heavily and there was a lot of standing water on the site road and quite a lot of the pitches. The warden was very helpful though and walked around with us to allow us to choose a dryish pitch large enough for our caravan and awning. With the rain stopped the site was almost dry the next morning so it does drain quickly.

The toilet facilities are basic, but adequate, and spotless. There is also a small play park for the kids and plenty of paths in the adjacent woods which we'd have like to have explored further. While we were there another camper saw a Pine Martin on the site early one morning but we weren't so lucky.

The site is convenient for visits to Inverness and beyond to the Balck Isle or Loch Ness. There's shops in Inverness or Nairn, which is closer, to top up on supplies.

The site is basic and could do with some attention in places but was relatively cheap. Despite my lowish score we'd be happy to visit it again, as long as the price stays low.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Metco 2 reviews from this member

Lovely people.

The site is scrupulously clean as is the somewhat dated facilities. Litter patrols and maintenance can be seen being carried out frequently.

There are rabbits, squirrels, more birds than I could name.

Unfortunately it is immediately adjacent to the A96 so road noise is evident.

Inverness airport is just along the road so there is also aircraft noise.

Not a bad stop over though. Storage too.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dk168 20 reviews from this member

I spent 7 nights at this site, and had a great time.

I would not describe it as peaceful, as it is close to a main road, and it can be quite noisy, especially at night with trucks and motorbikes zooming down the road.

However, it is set in a nice forest setting, with forest walks that can be accessed directly from the site.

Pitches are relatively level. However, the grass pitch with EHU I had was not very long compared with other pitches at other C&CC sites, and my tent is only 5. 1m in length.

C&CC had not taken over the running of this site for long, as old signage abound.

The showers and toilet block may be aging, however, the showers are not operated by push buttons, and definitely some of the best ones I have come across, C&CC or otherwise.

The cleanliness of the facilities were of the usual high standards as expected for a C&CC club site.

The site is well-situated to explore Moray Firth coast, with Inverness just a short drive away.

Culbin Forest is also a short drive away, with plenty of cycle and walking opportunities.

Findhorn Foundation and Tomatin Distillery were worth a visit, as was Fort Augustus which was a bit further afield.

The walk along the beach at Nairn was delightful.

Shops are within easy reach in Nairn for provisions and petrol only a few miles down the road.

There is a games room with a TV and table tennis, plus a play area with swings etc.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

All in all, a nice site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angela999 11 reviews from this member

Having just returned from this site I would not be returning until it has been upgraded.

Met by a pleasant warden and shown our pitch, it was worn and very muddy as well as water logged, it was difficult to walk on the paths as they too where worn and muddy.

Over all the site was tired looking and in need of upgrading, facilities where clean however they too can be doing a revamp.

It was a good base for travelling Nairn a short drive away with a selection of take aways and restaurants.

A large retail park near by as well as Tesco extra, with cheap fuel

Fort George, Culloden also a short drive away, and well worth a visit to the Black Isle for Dolphin spotting and was not disappointed.

I hope the CCC take on board some of the other comments and make some changes to this site, as it is a perfect location and easy to tow there

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Northerncrew 1 review from this member

Very friendly welcome after a long drive.

The site is well sheltered despite not being too far distant from the Moray firth and is well kept.

The children's play area was minimal and would only be suitable for very young ones. There is a games area in the main reception block where you can play table tennis & pool.

The site is really lovely with Delnies wood adjacent. There was a resident red squirrel that came to a feeder beside a static caravan each day and my son got some wonderful photographs.

There are some great walks from the site and the beach at Nairn is only approx 20 mins walk away, which given the time of year we went, found the experience quite bracing!

Be warned though, the site charges 50p each for every ice block that you deposit for freezing, which could work out expensive if you go non EHU and have a large coolbox!

The only other factor to consider if tent camping, is the A96 runs close by the site and the traffic noise can be a disturbance, although we found that we became accustomed to this as time went by and were more likely to be woken in the morning by the noise of the crows!

We had quite a lot of rain during our stay but the pitches seemed to cope well. The grass was sodden but not unbearable.

The toilet and shower block was very clean, but they shut from 11am-12:30pm for cleaning and there was no alternative facilities available.

All in all a nice site and only about 16 miles from Inverness. Nairn is about 2 miles away.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Inverness-Shire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8272 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0664