Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01631 720348

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
              8/10 from 27 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jopor 11 reviews from this member

Arrived at this site early October in surprisingly good weather so saw it at its best, soon to be followed by torrential downpours but this wasn't a problem as the level, hard standing pitches and Tarmac road and paths ensured good access to all amenities. The site, in a partially walled garden, is well laid-out with spacious, level pitches and excellent toilet block and washing up facilities.

The wardens were friendly and helpful and filled us in about the local area and services.

Nearby Sutherland Grove is a stunning woodland area with designated cycling and walking trails, excellently signed and maintained. It is literally through a gate in the wall and was absolutely perfect for walking our two retrievers.

So good we stayed quite a bit longer than planned. Hope we'll be back!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Highlander09 11 reviews from this member

Our first time here but definitely not the last. Extremely helpful staff allowed us to choose our pitch and guided us into position. The facilities are up to the usual standard for CCC sites, even fresh flowers in the gents! Although the assistant wardens had not arrived for the season everything was spotless and neat.

There are walks from the site into Sutherland Grove and we wandered about for hours giving the dogs a good walk each day. The shop is well stocked if you need something in an emergency and there are supermarkets in Oban.

We had a day on Lismore, taking the ferry from Port Appin, and had a meal at the Pier House hotel, try the mussels.

Personally we were not impressed by the Sea Life Centre even though we got half price admission with an Oban car parking ticket.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

Finished off our 'round Scotland tour' in this lovely wee site. This site is in a walled garden and is so secluded and sheltered. Lovely welcome given by warden who showed us which pitches we could choose and gave us all the information we needed. The toilet block is squeaky clean with good hot showers. The site is very pretty with very well kept grass and flowers, good information room.

The surrounding area is great to explore and we did some exploring on hired electric bikes and as this area has a brilliant cycle path we felt safe cycling along.

There are some good walks just outside this site and we managed the easier 'yellow' walk which takes you past some amazing hidden water falls.

This site is quite a distance from Oban and that suited us just fine as we prefer quieter places to visit.

This site is now on our top ten sites to visit again as it is such a peaceful and relaxing place to be.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ST CLAIR 5 reviews from this member

What a credit to the C&CC. Thanks to the hard work of all the wardens. They have a beautiful site and the cleanliness of the toilet block is the best I've ever seen, well done folks. Friendly wardens, the site is in great location, very quiet, everyone seemed to be enjoying the site.

There is a small shop with essential, great security with a barrier and access point, a good mix of grass or hard stances, equal number of pitches for tents and caravans, motorhomes

We thoroughly enjoyed the stay

You'll enjoy staying here.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Florence Romahome 7 reviews from this member

We stopped here for 1 night on our way north and were so impressed that we made it a goal to go back on our way home. The staff are very friendly and helpful and always around when needed. The site is in a walled garden, sheltered from wind and at the edge of Sutherland's Grove, a forest with beautiful walks and cycle tracks. The area around is spectacular with some lovely drives off the beaten track.

The site is very well maintained and laid out with a large and very clean toilet/shower block in the middle. There are level hard standings around the edges and level grassed area in the middle. At reception there is a small shop selling all the essentials (including midge repellent).

The only downside was the midges but a plentiful supply of repellent and anti-itch cream stops this being a problem.

I would highly recommend this site to anyone visiting this area.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fotojet 5 reviews from this member

We arrived here after being upsetted by another camping in Oban. But the warden and his wife were very, very kind! They took plenty of time to talk with us. We intended to go to Oban, and due to loss of time we expected to be back very late. This was not a problem: after closing hours, the main gate was closed, but a small door was opened. It was very dark though: next time we must take a flashlight with us!

The next day we receive plenty of information about the touristic in the neighborhood.

The camping-site was nice, though there were very many midgets. The toilet blocks are closed during cleaning time, this was a little inconvenient.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3268 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1172