Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01631 720348

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
              8/10 from 24 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

Finished off our 'round Scotland tour' in this lovely wee site. This site is in a walled garden and is so secluded and sheltered. Lovely welcome given by warden who showed us which pitches we could choose and gave us all the information we needed. The toilet block is squeaky clean with good hot showers. The site is very pretty with very well kept grass and flowers, good information room.

The surrounding area is great to explore and we did some exploring on hired electric bikes and as this area has a brilliant cycle path we felt safe cycling along.

There are some good walks just outside this site and we managed the easier 'yellow' walk which takes you past some amazing hidden water falls.

This site is quite a distance from Oban and that suited us just fine as we prefer quieter places to visit.

This site is now on our top ten sites to visit again as it is such a peaceful and relaxing place to be.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ST CLAIR 5 reviews from this member

What a credit to the C&CC. Thanks to the hard work of all the wardens. They have a beautiful site and the cleanliness of the toilet block is the best I've ever seen, well done folks. Friendly wardens, the site is in great location, very quiet, everyone seemed to be enjoying the site.

There is a small shop with essential, great security with a barrier and access point, a good mix of grass or hard stances, equal number of pitches for tents and caravans, motorhomes

We thoroughly enjoyed the stay

You'll enjoy staying here.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Florence Romahome 7 reviews from this member

We stopped here for 1 night on our way north and were so impressed that we made it a goal to go back on our way home. The staff are very friendly and helpful and always around when needed. The site is in a walled garden, sheltered from wind and at the edge of Sutherland's Grove, a forest with beautiful walks and cycle tracks. The area around is spectacular with some lovely drives off the beaten track.

The site is very well maintained and laid out with a large and very clean toilet/shower block in the middle. There are level hard standings around the edges and level grassed area in the middle. At reception there is a small shop selling all the essentials (including midge repellent).

The only downside was the midges but a plentiful supply of repellent and anti-itch cream stops this being a problem.

I would highly recommend this site to anyone visiting this area.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MAGBOY 6 reviews from this member

We have passed this site for years while staying at a larger site in the area. It is now in our two top sites.

Wardens are so helpful and cheerful they seem to work all hours. The toilets block is one of the best we have used.

It is sheltered and quiet at least at this time of the year when the weather was good for us the birds sang and the wild flowers were spectacular. The proximity for dog walks and the cycle track is great.

The on site shop is useful for basic items nearby Benderloch has a great general store and a garage/ caravan shop which over the years we have made good use of.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AJTx2 2 reviews from this member

The site is absolutely lovely, nestled in a walled garden close to a river (you can fall asleep to the sound of the water flowing!) and the facilities are really good too (it's nice to be able to wash dishes indoors rather than under a lean-to!).

The only downside was trying to pitch the tent. We were told to pitch in the middle of the site next to the shower block however we had an awful job trying to get the tent pegs in because the ground was SO rocky just under the surface.

The Sea Life centre down the road is worth a visit although quite expensive for what it actually is (we managed to get a 4 off voucher from the tourist information at Fort William).

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BabsF 35 reviews from this member

Lovely. Quiet, pleasant and relaxing. The grassed areas are extremely boggy in wet weather so stick to the paths and hardstanding areas. Facilities have now been updated and are fantastic.

The walks around the forest area are great, especially for the dogs.

The information room is very helpful as are the staff. I did notice the kiddies playground and wouldn't think that any parent or child would be too impressed.

The main drawback of this site is the lack of amenities in the immediate area, ie. Shops, pubs, etc.

Previous     24 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2308 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0547