Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01631 720348

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
              8/10 from 31 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (17) and Video

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasper15 10 reviews from this member

What a great site, this was a last minute booking, and one of our better decisions. The site situated just off the A828, in a former Walled Garden.

The pitches are mostly hard standing, with loads of space between, the toilet block in center of the site is emmaculate, as is the site itself.

The site having full facilities of Club sites, the small on site shop has essentials, and if like me you forgot something the warden did opened up out of hours. The dog walk is in Sutherlannds Grove is great for both easy and more strenuous which are all sign posted. For cyclists the Oban to Fort William cycle path is just outside the site entrance, which runs mostly along the coast.

There is a larger shop in Benderloch, which sells caravan spares. Oban only about 20 mins away has everything, incl Supermarkets and petrol stations. This is a great place and we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Thegrinch 11 reviews from this member

Wonderful site. Ignore those who moan it is 12 miles from Oban because the 20 minute drive is well worth it. Right near the Sealife Centre and easy to find. So clean and well kept with great staff, a spotless laundrette and great pitches. Would not hesitate to use again. Even after a lot of rain the ground was in good condition and the pitch for the van dry.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walters-world 12 reviews from this member

As CCC members we tend to use the smaller certified sites whenever possible so found this one a bit crowded as it was nearly full.

The still air within the the lovely walled garden site unfortunately meant the midges were present and we couldn't sit out and enjoy the surroundings the one evening we were there.

The site and the toilet block and other facilities are immaculate and the Warden was chatty and informative. We were only passing through so cannot comment about the surrounding area and attractions.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grahamfin 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night whilst cycle touring. It had been raining for several hours before I arrived and the ground was sodden with puddles forming in some areas, however the receptionist put on his coat and came out into the site with me to help find a suitable place to pitch tent in the conditions. The soil seemed to be quite stony, which made getting tent pegs in more challenging than usual, but as the site is enclosed by the high walls of an old walled garden, there was little wind so I didn't worry about getting the pegs fully in. The shower block was excellent with heating and plenty of facilities, I have marked facilities down a little due to the stony ground.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jopor 11 reviews from this member

Arrived at this site early October in surprisingly good weather so saw it at its best, soon to be followed by torrential downpours but this wasn't a problem as the level, hard standing pitches and Tarmac road and paths ensured good access to all amenities. The site, in a partially walled garden, is well laid-out with spacious, level pitches and excellent toilet block and washing up facilities.

The wardens were friendly and helpful and filled us in about the local area and services.

Nearby Sutherland Grove is a stunning woodland area with designated cycling and walking trails, excellently signed and maintained. It is literally through a gate in the wall and was absolutely perfect for walking our two retrievers.

So good we stayed quite a bit longer than planned. Hope we'll be back!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Highlander09 16 reviews from this member

Our first time here but definitely not the last. Extremely helpful staff allowed us to choose our pitch and guided us into position. The facilities are up to the usual standard for CCC sites, even fresh flowers in the gents! Although the assistant wardens had not arrived for the season everything was spotless and neat.

There are walks from the site into Sutherland Grove and we wandered about for hours giving the dogs a good walk each day. The shop is well stocked if you need something in an emergency and there are supermarkets in Oban.

We had a day on Lismore, taking the ferry from Port Appin, and had a meal at the Pier House hotel, try the mussels.

Personally we were not impressed by the Sea Life Centre even though we got half price admission with an Oban car parking ticket.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3697 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder