Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Speyside By Craigellachie Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Site Reviews

Speyside By Craigellachie Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Archiestown
Aberlour
Moray
Moray   (Browse area)
AB38 9SL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01340 810414

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 9 Reviews
              7/10 from 9 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  9 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deveron Chef 3 reviews from this member

Visited here again for a short stay of just three nights. New wardens who seem to really care about the site, which unfortuately has been let down in the past. This could be a star in the clubs network if only they were prepared to spend a little on improving things. As good as the wardens are, they can only work within the budget provided to them. The showers in particular are badly in need of an upgrade. One of the best dog walks around, which leads to Aberlour if you have the time and energy.

The site itself is well situated for a number of local attractions, including of course many distillieries as well as the Spey itself. Aberlour, which is a five minute drive away is an interesting little town, well worth a visit with some fantastic local shops.

All in all a very good site, great wardens, just spoilt by lack of care by the club.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deveron Chef 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the second time during a wonderfully hot spell. Only had three nights, but thoroughly enjoyed this very quiet and peaceful site. The current wardens are very friendly and helpful and as they own a Border Terrier what more can I say!

Excellent dog walk here, although I know it can get a bit wet when the weather is not so good.

I think the site facilities are superb, especially the showers where you have lots of room to store your clothing etc. As an ex POW camp, I feel the club have made a superb job of running this as a camp site. The local area is amazing with plenty to do, particularly if you like walking, cycling or fishing.

We will almost certainly be back.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lmnjr33 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is great if you want:

-peace and quiet

-cycling and walking on Speyside way, which is close to the site

-places to visit by car, distilleries, National Trust properties, wildlife places

Site managers are very friendly and helpful, reception has a small selection of food items for sale and some maps of the local area.

Fish and chip van comes at 6. 30pm on Thursdays and is thoroughly recommended. The nearest place to purchase any substantial food shopping is in Elgin (about 20 mins drive) where there is Asda, Tesco, Lidl etc.

As other reviewers have pointed out the toilet block could do with refurbishing BUT it is very clean, everything in working order and ample hot water!

Other facilities - washing up area, tourist information, playground area and laundry room.

Using the Camping and Caravanning clubs 5 for 7 night offer we paid a mere £80 for a week here - including electric. A bargain that will be repeated by us!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ficklejade 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights 5/6 August after one of the wettest weeks I can remember camping in Scotland and the site, which slopes slightly but has plenty of hard standing and well-drained pitches (it's only the bottom half with the non-service pitches that seemed very wet. Consequently got a pitch at top end of site (actually outside the gates which was great because I had a family emergency and needed to leave very early on the Sunday am. Site warden was very pleasant which was especially welcome as I'd got caught up in the aftermath of an accident en route and had to do an 80 mile detour.

The site slopes a bit - hence I guess the rather wet nature of the bottom of the site. The loo/washing up block is pretty central and I don't know how the wardens kept it so clean with all that rain - good on them. There was a plentiful supply of looroll, mop and buckets for the showers and the one shower that I used had space for clothes etc in the outerpart of the cubicle. There's a good undercover washing up facility outside the loo block and a covered area with plentiful leaflets about what to do, local contacts and the essential weather forecast which sadly proved only too accurate.

There is a dog walk which I understand was rather wet (understandable given the amount of rain that had fallen prior to my short stay) but normally quite long and poop disposal points are present by ways in/out.

There is a small playground at the top end of the site that seems to keep two/three youngsters happy but would not suit those whose children need constant entertainment.

I cannot comment on TV/Wifi etc. Reception as I don't use such facilities but got a very good signal on Vodafone and nearly as good on O2 on the site. There seemed to be a considerable number of hard-standing and EHU pitches.

Rubbish bins, water etc. Points seemed plentiful and although recycling limited, that's not the site's fault - just the way the Council area works - have met this problem before elsewhere!

I don't think this site would suit any live wires and families wit children who can't cope without modern tech stuff. It is better suited to those who want a peaceful base for touring - and don't mean the sedentary crowd - there's some serious walking/cycling routes not far away, plus it's not much more than half an hour's drive from some really beautiful beaches.

There's a good chippe and chinese in Rothes 4 mile up the road towards Elgin.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Supersher 1 review from this member

Having just returned from our first ever camping trip we were slightly disappointed with this Camping and Caravan official site. The site was extremely wet and much of the grass was waterlogged. The distance to the nearest town was only drivable and not walkable.

Facilities were adequate but only if you like a really quiet site. Would not recommend for children as I believe they would be bored. The surrounding area is fine for sightseeing and day trips but you definitely need a car. I would not rush back to this site although the manager's were helpful and polite.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arkwright01 7 reviews from this member

Visited this site after a period of heavy rain and some of the pitches were waterlogged and some of them were ok. The campsite manager tries to put you where its driest but obviously if the site is busy and you are late then it's worth having a look to make sure it's acceptable. It's not really a drainage problem (a lot of the surrounding area was the same) just that there'd been a lot of rain!

This is a very quiet site and although there were a few children the majority of campers were just couples. There is a children's play area though but as we don't have any children then I can't really comment on it.

The camp is run by a couple who are very friendly and (quite rightly in my view) they don't stand any nonsense, making a noise after 11pm is not on.

The camp shop just stocks the basics and the nearest 'real' shops are in Rothes (about 8 mins away by car).

The toilets and washing facilities are clean and there is a laundy and washing-up facilities as well.

All-in-all quite a pleasant site and worth a visit and we'll be going back, although I'll keep my eye on the weather!

Previous     9 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Moray   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4433 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469