Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Fleur De Bretagne

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Site Reviews

Camping Fleur De Bretagne
Kerandouaron
Rostrenen
Brittany   (Browse area)
22110   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0870 017 1661

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m   5m 

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 15 Reviews
              7/10 from 15 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beckflo 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite in August and we had a wonderful holiday. This was a return visit as we previously stayed in 2011. Although the shower blocks are getting a little old they were always clean. The food in the bar was excellent it was a snack bar and not a restaurant which was reflected in the prices. Excellent food for us tenters. It is a quiet site which is why we went back where we could chill by the lovely clean pool or fishing lake. We met with lots of the locals in the bar. While we were there they installed a tennis table which was good fun and exercise. If you want a peaceful holiday it's a good place to go if you want thrills then find a bigger commercial site

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ScimitarMatt 4 reviews from this member

Sadly Camping Fleur de Bretagne did not live up to its name or the reviews we read on here before setting sail for France. The camp site is run down with the only flowers being the wild dog roses which grow by one of the toilet blocks and the ones on the private balcony belonging to the owners. I can only assume things have changed since the last review in 2010.

Many reviewers are right when they say that the site is peaceful, for the most part that is right, probably as there were so few campers during our stay for the last two weeks of July 2013. The site is very tired looking and has an air of neglect about it. There are two toilet/amenity blocks which have everything you need (toilets, showers, hand laundry room and washing up room as well as one washing machine) but they are very basic and very very dirty. The gents were rarely cleaned and only then were the floors mopped judging by the dirt, bird droppings and spiders webs on the sink units. I am told that the ladies were similarly unpleasant.

There is one chemical toilet emptying point which is a buried toilet pan to the side of one of the toilet blocks, we needed a local to point it out to us.

The site is run by a French man and English lady and they were helpful and pleasant. The grass is kept trimmed by locals who do odd jobs in lieu of paying site fees, any cut or strimmed grass is just left on the ground so it gets walked into the caravan with every step.

During our stay the owners moved another tatty static caravan onto the terrace next to ours which blocked the view, we were told by a summertime ex-pat resident that more will be installed which will then become holiday lets, this will, in my opinion, change this site for the worse. There are numerous touring caravans parked up in bushes, some at alarming angles, which are clearly just being stored on site.

The communal wheelie bins at the site entrance were frequently overflowing and just looked very unsightly. The drinking water points were grotty with blocked drains, adding to the unkempt feel of the site.

The sites saving grace is the swimming pool which is great, it was relined just prior to our arrival which was great for us but not for my father and nephew who had already spent two weeks on the site before we met them without a pool, my father was not warned of this massive inconvenience when he booked.

The bar on site is tired looking and frequented by locals but it is not noisy so did not disturb us during our stay, there is some food available on site but it's just burgers, omelettes, chips etc. We didn't bother trying any of it. Smoking, despite being banned (or even illegal) indoors, still went on in the public bar by the owners (and possibly guests too) and the smell of smoke was strong and lingering.

I suppose I could conclude by saying this site was a great disappointment and it is a crying shame as it could be so much better without a great deal of effort. Plant some flowers so that the camp site name makes sense, keep the toilet and showers clean and generally tidy the place up. The potential is massive.

Pitch fees €8 per night for a caravan

€4 per person per night

Electric €3 per day (you may need to borrow extension cables off the owners as the electricity points are few and far between, many people strung cables through the trees over gravel and mud roadways)

Swimming pool €free

Wifi €free but patchy signal strength on the site, fine in the bar area though

Washing machine €5 for an hours time which will do one wash load

General review of the area - Rostronen is a pretty little town with an excellent bakers, there are 3 supermarkets within a 5 minute drive but research the area before you leave home as there is not a lot to see and do close by and it's tricky to find things out when you're already here. It's a great area for sitting in the sun reading your kindle all day but thrill seekers should probably choose somewhere else.

I wish I could be more positive about the campsite but in think honesty is the best policy with reviews, people rely on them when choosing a destination (as we did) so here you have it. All in all though we still enjoyed our holiday as the company was great and the cakes were plentiful.

Management response: Just a reply to matt scimitar. As owner of the Fleur de Bretagne I will point out a few issues which appear to have been falsely reported.

The people in question were well informed before their visit of the work to the pool, they were also adequately discounted for the inconvenience. The tatty mobile home is NOT a holiday let, and it is a fully winterised home that will be offered for sale when cleaned and installed. The campsite does not promise lake views.

We have recently re decorated the bar and as these people never so much as bought a drink in the bar I feel they are not well qualified to judge. We have had a busy august as is normal in Brittany. July is not official holiday season.

I feel it would be much more beneficial to both campers and the site to air your feelings whilst on site than to slander the site on your return.

I would ask any future campers to please read our other reviews before acting on the one below. If you have any concerns please do not hesitate to ring or email us

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SIMON BURCH 4 reviews from this member

Fabulous site and would highly recommend if you want the quiet life.

Friday Fish and Chips and Sunday Lunch were great as was bar service.

Very Dog Friendly and our Greyhound was a pretty good boy despite the abundance of rabbits. He was a star in the bar and loved the attention from everyone.

Rostrenen is a lovely town and recommend a visit to the Church which is gorgeous inside.

Will be back later in year from our home in Brittany near Fougeres.

The Nantes-Brest canal is nearby and the walks are great and Greyhound loved it all.

This site is great and we will be back!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jahst 1 review from this member

Stayed at this wonderful peaceful family (English) run campsite for our holiday this year. Lovely fishing lake, swimming pool and bar serving the best fish and chips every Friday. Close enough to the town centre to walk and the Nantes - Brest Canal is only a 5 minute drive for excellent cycling/walking We were also able to visit all the coasts as they are only about 45 mins away. Plenty of hot water for showers and washing up sinks. Will certainly go back again. It it a bit hard to find so best to ring if you get lost - the owners came out to find us.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wombling2006 1 review from this member

It all depends what you want from your holiday. If you want a busy haven type one with a lot of razmatazz. Don't go to fleur de bretagne. If you want a lovely peaceful rest with a cosy friendly site pub ran by lovely friendly people (english) with good beer good food (fish and chip nights every friday make sure you book as can get busy. Sunday lunches also and karaoke nights) and a nice mix of locals and campers alike set in very peaceful countryside then this will be perfect for you.

The site is a quiet rural site, which we love. With lots of local wildlife in abundance. Bunnies hopping about there's a fishing lake and a small pond which the kids loved.Quite a few bird spotters camped there .

They have an outdoor pool which isnt heated but was as warm as the heated ones weve been in. It was a real joy to be either the only ones or one of a few to sunbathe on the sunloungers around the pool. The pool was very clean for such a rural site.

There is a family bathroom near the pool which was the most modern on the site and we tended to use being a very short walk from our caravan. There were other toilet and washing blocks a little further down the site, which are in the process of being updated, but were equally as adequate and clean, merely a little dated (these had netting in the rafters to help prevent birds from roosting in them and causing a mess)

There were all ages and variations of people staying on the site from very young families in tents with babies a few months old and festival goers (just a short car ride to carhaix where the french glastonbury is held every year! and is fantastic) to older couples in caravans.

There are a few mobile homes on the site also.

A big bonus for the site is free wifi and it worked brilliantly as well, no having to trek to the bar to get a signal. But we did trek to sample the local beers friendly company and have a few games of pool.

Some pitches are slightly sloping but didn't seem to cause problems for both caravanners and tenters alike, the grass was cut very regularly even in the field going down to both of the lakes.We stayed for 10 days there and we were quite sad to leave really .

It was about a 15min walk into rostrenen which is quite a bustling little town with a weekly market in the square which is dotted about with various shops bars and cafe's. There's quite a few supermarkets a short drive / long walk from the site including. Lidl carrefour and leclerc

There are many lovely days out within easy driving distance and lots of local markets.

Its close to the nantes brest canal which is lovely to walk or cycle along and we stopped at many lovely aires / picnic sites along the canal.

Being central in brittany you can get to the majority of beaches sights etc within a 30/40 min drive which is a real boost if you do want to venture around and explore. Which we tended to do when mum and mary was with us there. After we tended to stay on site and really chill out.

The whole area of brittany has a very different feel to it from the rest of france,very similar to wales (very celtic)it has signs in French and breton language and the local people / villages are very proud of their own distinctive breton heritage.

We would stay at the site again if / when we are over in brittany. We had a warm welcome, lovely relaxing time and found the site very good value for money.

Roscoff 1hr 20mins and st. Malo 1hr 50mins away

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan dog 2 reviews from this member

This is a hidden gem. Very quiet, very peaceful, and in a very beautiful area of France which still retains its authenticity.

It has open pitches (some sloped areas), a good size swimming pool (not heated)a lovely little bar (Sky TV) that does excellent fish & chips on Friday evenings. A fishing lake on site and it is only minutes from the Nante Brest Canal - perfect for cycling or walking. Not all pitches have electric, so phone in advance in high season. WIFI is always a bonus and it´s free.

Carrefour, Intermarche and Liddles in Rostrenen, so no shopping problems.

Facilities are fairly basic but kept clean and there is plenty of hot water (no music in the showers so you will have to sing to yourself). The owners are really lovely and will put themselves out to help you. No hard standing, but there is room in the upper car park for over nighters if the weather is bad.

If you want a large commercial type park with lots of entertainment for the kids laid on, you will have to pay for it and go nearer the coast. If you want a truly relaxing holiday, time and space to read your book, then this is the place for you. We love it.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Brittany   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5940 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469