Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Visitor Reviews - Clitheroe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Clitheroe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Edisford Road
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BB7 3LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01200 425294

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 27 Feb 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
              8/10 from 52 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 101 reviews from this member

An ideal location for visiting the delightful Clitheroe town and surrounding area, however it has a major drawback due to the lack of reinvestment by the C&CC club in the site!

The toilet block/s is in dire need of refurbishment. The lower half of the site is prone to waterlogged pitches, and the grass mat/hardstanding compounds the problem creating mud baths. The Wi-Fi is still only available within the immediate vicinity on the reception area (despite assurances 4 years ago from the C&CC club this would be improved).

Upside of the site is the location that provides direct access to so many walks, access to the adjoining leisure centre and an easy 1 mile walk into Clitheroe centre with all of the good eateries, independent shops and market.

Aspinal Arms (2 mile riverside walk South of site) is a dog friendly pub with great food, beer and wine well worth the walk for a lunch time meal.

This could be a wonderful site if the C&CC club invested money into much needed refurbishment and improvements to the site and facilities to take this up to modern day standards that are provided by other sites in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DaveP65 10 reviews from this member

Arrived in heavy rain, quite late on Friday evening. David, the warden was extremely helpful in finding a pitch where we wouldn't drown, even though he had already finished his shift. Glad to see that parts of the site had been closed due to excessive standing water. Facilities all good as you would expect from C&CC. Drove over to Skipton, only 20 miles and well worth a visit. Will visit many times again.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roving pair 25 reviews from this member

Very nice site within 20 minutes walk into clitheroe where there are some nice shops and a castle to visit. The site is clean and well maintained it had been raining for a couple of weeks before we went but that didn't cause us a problem although it could possibly do as the hard standing was the plastic matting which does tend to sink so choose the pitch wisely. Site is just by the river and the picnic area so some lovely walks. Very good and reasonably prices meal at the Edisford Bridge pub which is five minutes walk away. Would revisit this site.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 18 reviews from this member

This site is in a lovely situation, right along the river, though all safely fenced. The wardens keep it neat and tidy and are extremely helpful and friendly. The toilet block is dated but very clean, and newly painted. The mesh handstandings are not as good as gravel or Tarmac as muddy puddles occur but as most caravanners are outdoor people it doesn't really matter!

Clitheroe is 20 minutes walk away, a very interesting town with its castle, church and market.

There are many good walks in the area, we also visited Whalley and ate at the Dog Inn - fabulous meal!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ollie777 1 review from this member

Owners rang before to say site was wet, thought that was nice gave us a chance to decide if we wanted to go or not. Decided to go. Got there was shown to pitch by lady warden who proceeded to try to explain where she wanted us she guided us saying don't go on the grass we tried our best not to, but to not go on the grass we would have had to have the turning circle of a child's toy car! Unfortunately we got our wheels stuck on the grass the lady warden proceeding to tell us off like we were naughty children by saying 'look what you've done now!' We got out of the mud and was guided to the pitch getting stuck in the mud again. The gentleman warden came down and said look at the state of that ! My husband at this point wasn't happy about the way we were spoken to and asked for our money back as we were going to leave the warden just said it was too late and that the money had already gone to the caravan club. We decided to stay but will NOT go to the site again. We were made to feel like naughty children. We now know what the phone call was before they didn't want us to go. Needless to say we didn't use the shop. On the up side the pubs in Clitheroe are warm and friendly especially if you have dogs. Just a shame the unfriendly wardens have made it that we won't go back to the site.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andypye 12 reviews from this member

Big disappointment!

These can never be described as hardstanding. The plastic mesh is so far sunken into the ground that it is ineffective. In fact the mesh acts as a reservoir for water leaving a very boggy pitch.

The toilet and shower block is also the most dated and disgustingly dirty I have ever experienced. They are 'cleaned' to the bare minimum, the floor is grimy!

Needless to say, I wont be back

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5057 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Open Today's Window!