Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clitheroe Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Clitheroe Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Edisford Road
Clitheroe
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BB7 3LA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01200 425294

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01 Mar 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
              8/10 from 45 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaqugra 28 reviews from this member

This site is a gem for its friendliness and pleasant surroundings. Right next door to the riverside country park with pitch and putt. We had really nice weather and every day the riverside area was used by families picnicking and paddling. The toilet block is shabby but kept clean enough, it certainly doesn't spoil your stay. We found there wasn't much info on the dog friendly websites for the area or in previous reviews, so.

The Edisford Arms has plenty of mentions on here plus it allows dogs in the non-carpeted areas of the pub, a really good meal with most main courses about 10. In Clitheroe itself we used the New Inn, Brown Cow Inn and the Kings Arms (which is the nearest pub going in the Clitheroe direction - all dog friendly.

A really nice area for walking and you can buy walks from the reception. Would recommend this site and it will be on our to do list for next year.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: P90tac 14 reviews from this member

Arrived at tea time lovely greeting by wardens and shown to pitch was busy for arrivals and we were blocking the road whilst we pitched up wardens told us to take our time there was room for others to drive round. Lovely friendly site facilities clean never queued for showers all weekend morning or night! Washing up area clean and tidy use of laundrette with 2 kids is always a bonus to clean uniforms after school.

Park near the site but Friday evening took my boys to play and didn't stay long as local teenagers where making their language and behaviour unbearable for me to subject my children too as it was 7. 30pm so we walked the dogs instead.

As we had no ehu we didn't need to leave our pitch until 4pm which we made the most of the nice weather the kids could ish in the river and play, I guess this is subject to the season times and if pitches are required but the wardens let you know.

Lovely site for a quick get away spar and chip shop close to site if you fancy not cooking.

Clitheroe is a lovely town with the castle and grounds short walk from site about 20 mins or so local swimming pool over the road from site.

Have re booked again

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 52 reviews from this member

Took advantage of a Camping & Caravanning Club offer to spend a week at the Clitheroe site - one we have not visited for over 20 years. Not a lot seems to have changed on the site over that time - except the trees are much taller and you can't actually see the river from the site now.

Checked in by the friendly Assistant Warden, and given the choice of six or seven pitches. We had booked hard stand, but in reality this turned out to be one of the infamous 'all weather' pitches - basically a plastic mesh mat pushed into the grass. Great when fine, but don't half hold the water when wet. Despite it being the warmest week of the year, part of our pitch never did dry out.

The site location is great - about 20 minutes walk into the town, where we spent a very pleasant day; market days are Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. There are are at least four supermarkets, and lots of small local shops, as well as the castle. Clitheroe is also well served by buses to the nearby villages, as well as the major towns of Preston, Blackburn, Burnley and Skipton.

Several modest pleasant walks are available from the site, along the river. We walked to Waddington and to Great Mytton. There is also an excellent pub - The Edisford Bridge - just across the river bridge from the site. It does very good - if not cheap - meals. Also has a good selection of beers, and friendly staff.

During the week the site was generally quiet - but over the weekend bedlam broke loose with young children racing round on bikes, shouting to each other - and their parents utterly oblivious to the annoyance they were causing other campers, as well as the dangers to their unsupervised offspring. There are no child play facilities on the site; there is a small park municipal adjacent, but not visible.

Facilities on the site consist of two small blocks - but one was only open from Friday evening to Sunday lunchtime. This was really not acceptable as at peak times the remaining toilets and showers were certainly stretched. They are also somewhat dated, although always clean.

There is also a small shop at the office - but it IS expensive; we were sold a pack of sausages that had been frozen on site, but had a supermarket price reduction label that showed 60p less than we were charged, and the bangers were two weeks beyond their 'best before' date! Milk was 1. 10 a bottle. It only opens an hour and a half morning & afternoon. There is a Spar mini-market less than half a mile down the road, quite well stocked and much more modestly priced. AND it is open all day 'till late.

The Forest of Bowland is a beautiful area with very friendly local people, and we had a really good holiday. Would we return to this site (given that we are veteran Club members)? Well, perhaps in another 20 years when it has had some inward investment, and become Adults Only!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 124 reviews from this member

A small-ish site near the river surrounded by trees susceptible to the wet weather, so much so that on my visit some of the grass pitches were restricted, however with the help of the wardens I was offered a pitch on a gravel track and the loan of an extension lead for ehu. Toilets/showers basic but clean and functional.

Clitheroe is walkable (about 25 mins) or there is an irregular bus service(bus stop and times opposite approach road). Didn't see any potholes in the approach road as someone previously mentioned though the waiting area for checking in is only small. Previous post about a high price, well I paid less than 10/night with ehu though was travelling alone which I would consider a good deal.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan/phil+holly 22 reviews from this member

On arrival checking in would have been ok if it was not for a very rude queue jumper who parked up to the barrier so nobody else could get through until he had been seen to, which I tried to hint at whilst in reception but seemed to fall on deaf ears.

As with other ccc sites was escorted to tent pitches with ehu and was able to freely choose where we liked best. All of these were slightly sloping but not a big worry.

Toilets and showers in the main block, although clean to a point, are in need of some fixtures and fittings updating, ie rusty curtain tracks, sinks and urinals need new sealant. A good shower with plenty of hot water from a push button system, but do not despair timer runs for about 2 mins from each push. The hot water at the pot washing room was exceptional for all those greasy breakfast pots.

A pleasant walk to the riverside [2mins] from site, where dogs can run free, Clitheroe town 15mins walk where there is a good variety of shops.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobmel 8 reviews from this member

Arrived on site at about 1630 and met with a friendly greeting in the reception. At reception given the codes for the barrier and the toilet blocks. Shown to our peg by the warden who cycled in front of us. He also helped with the reversing directions, great. After the wonderful weather over the past few months we were advise that the grass was a bit water logged and to take it easy when driving on and off, this was no problem as we had intended to park up for the 3 days and do a lot of walking.

For the size of site the toilet block does seem to be a bit undersized, only 2 showers in the mens and womens but I never had to queue, you just have to time it right. There is a family room in the toilet block but I never looked in there. The toilets were kept spotless during our stay. Press button showers but a good head of hot water.

Great location next to the park, with a miniature railway, pitch and putt and plenty of walks. A nice one is along the river early in the morning, we spotted kingfishers and a heron. Plenty of ducks.

The town is just a short walk away, with plenty of shops and supermarkets. Good pubs and the famous Sausage Shop.

There is also a good market, Tuesday(main), Thursday and Saturday. We went on Saturday and got a good selection of local produce, cheese, eggs and bakery stuff.

A great site and a good location.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1620 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0430