Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Bude Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Gillards Moor
St Gennys
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 0BG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01840 230650

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 24 Apr 2014 - 30 Sep 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
              8/10 from 13 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (3)

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Coalhog 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weeks camping at this lovely site on arrival met by friendly helpful staff site was very quiet so was able to pick are own pitch. Showers were very hot and powerful toilet block was very clean behind toilet block is a games room with small snooker table and table tennis table then a room with freeview television all I can say is what a lovely site made better by the staff they even have printed sheets how to walk to the beach

The site is about 8 miles from bude and only about 5 miles from boscastle site is next to main road but you exit from a lay-by can you hear the traffic yes you do but you also hear the cows, in the next field, birds singing, and great views all in all I lovely site great position and lovely staff its not a modern site but kept tidy clean as thought it was there own 10/10

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bruin40 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from our 1st camping trip and thoroughly recommend this site. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially as this was our 1st foray into camping.

The field was level and the grass fairly short, and a high hedge for a wind break was also useful.The toilet block was immaculate with piping hot water available and a good power output from the shower head. Washing up facilities were also of a good standard, very clean and loads of hot water again.

Booking in and out was easy and quick. Access into the site from the main road is safe due to a long lay-by.Overall we were very impressed by the standards of all the amenities, and would be happy to stay there again.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mjrees 37 reviews from this member

My wife and I are trying to emulate the BBC programme by driving our motorhome round the UK coastline. We are visiting many sites during this project and this pleasant, level site near Bude is certainly in our top ten so far!

The staff are very welcoming and helpful - the toilet/shower/laundry blocks are immaculate and grass-cutting is camper friendly with no cuttings evident. Included in the facility block is a games and a rest room. There are 100 pitches, electric hookups abound and non-C&CC members are welcome. There is a small shop on site - otherwise it's a drive to Bude or Camelford. There is a friendly pub about one mile down the main road.

This site is ideal for visiting Tintagel and Boscastle, and of course Bude.

The entrance to the site is set within a layby and therefore eliminates the worry of slowing down on, or crossing, the fast A39.

Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robertb174 16 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for a week and unfortunately picked the week when it rained in Cornwall. This did not really put a stop to our activities though.

I have noted some of the previous reviews and I am glad that I did not take notice of them! Staff were very friendly and helpful. This was our first time putting up our awning and staff came over and assisted offering advice and tips which was really helpful.

All I can say is that there are some very distinct rules on C & CC sites which you know before you arrive, the staff here point the main ones out on arrival to highlight them so that everyone can enjoy the stay. This is done for everyone's benefit.

The toilets/showers are not brand new state of the art facilities, but they work, they are clean and tidy and I do not understand what more you could ask for.

The site is well located for all attractions. Worth a visit are Jamaica Inn for a superb meal (30 mins away) and Widemouth Bay (10 mins) for its superb sandy beach which has RNLI lifeguards looking after it.

I would definitely stay at this site again, I loved it and so did the kids despite wind and rain.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lance48 4 reviews from this member


We've just had 10 days there, &, in our opinion it's probably the worst C&CC site we've visited in 4 years membership, well below par for what we had to pay.

The toilet/shower block was of-course spotless but really in need of bringing up to date. The showers are of the old fixed type, no adjustment made showering small kids a problem & very small cubicles too. The out door washing up facilities were in need of replacing, the taps in particular were loose in the sinks, some having no red/blue markers, ok for adults, but that could be a hazard to younger children

The site manager & staff weren't the friendliest we've come across either, sticking rigidly to the rules, especially re-dog walking on site! It's a definite NO-NO at Bude, you are directed off site to a lay-by right next to the very busy A39, so not really a dog friendly site. The kids play area is also next to the site entrance, which we found a bit disturbing to say the least.

The site shop sells a few bits n bobs,and there's a small local mini-mart just up the road,along with a decent pub

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anja 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here twice in May as access to the South West Coastal Path is excellent.

As members of the C&CC, we had high expectations but were a little disappointed. The facilities themselves are fine - no complaints about the high standards of cleanliness and abundant hot water and free showers. However, compared to many other CCC sites, they look a little dated.

The site is next to the A39 which, we imagine, gets quite busy in the summer so there could be a fair amount of tyre noise in the background.

The views to the sea are reasonable and you really feel 'in the country'. The pitches at the rear of the site are probably best for tents as the hedges give good wind protection and are well away from the main road.

The CCC are not the cheapest of sites but you know what you're getting - high standards.

Our only issue was with the 'jobs-worth' attitude of the site managers at times. Flexibility was not in their vocabulary!

Plenty of places to visit with Boscastle even closer than the relative metropolis of Bude. Crackington Haven is certainly worth a visit, just a few house nestled in a valley by the sea. There's also a couple of good cafes - try the cream tea in The Cabin - superb!

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3460 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1171