Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lydford Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Lydford Caravan And Camping Park
Lydford
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4BE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 820497

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  10m  10m  10m  5m   10m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 15/03/13 To 04/11/13

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
              8/10 from 46 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ashworth55 6 reviews from this member

Stayed for a weekend which turned out to be the local music festival that saturday.

We were given a warm and helpful welcome. We were given a choice of pitches and shown to the selected pitch. Full knowledge of what sun and satelite reception were imparted.

We were in the field behind the main field and it was nicely laid out our pitch was level! bonus.

Toilet block was very clean and tidy. Didn't have to queue which was good as the site was pretty full. Cant comment on the tent area as we didn't take a look.

The music night was saturday and sounded very good beleived it finished about 11pm.

This gave way to the odd owl hooting before over taken by the woman in the pitch next to us bearing in mind the decent distance between units who was one of these women who loved the sound of her own voice.

Just makes me chuckle that some people still cant grasp that canvas/caravan offer no sound proofing.

Still that paved the way nicely for my usual nights battle to get to sleep before my other half sadly as she was so relaxed already from the feel of this site. I had no chance.

We will be returning to recharge our batteries.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pceh 7 reviews from this member

We had a lovely week at lydford site. The wardens were very helpful and good for a laugh. The toilets were always spotless.

There is a lovely dog walk around the outer edge of the site, the grass was always trimmed with a seat half way to sit and admire the view.

The granite way cycle path starts in the village and goes for eleven miles to oakhampton station.

The castle pub in the village is a good place for a meal, and it is dog friendly.

The site is easy to find and as a good access via a barrier.

The reception as a small shop for essentials.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elizahigham 13 reviews from this member

This is a delightful site. We were made very welcome and shown to our pitch, which was an almost level hard standing with EHU. We found the site quiet, except for the bleeting of lambs and the odd squawk of pheasants! The toilets and showers were clean and the water hot. The site is a short walk from Lydford Gorge, which is well worth a visit. My only minor concern was that some pitches were a little small. We would certainly return to this site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kateandjames 30 reviews from this member

And yes we used this site again! Good stop over point for us on the way to Cornwall.

Again wonderful friendly helpful staff and views across to Dartmoor from our pitch.

The Granite Way is now complete, so no road cycling at all. All off road all the way to Okehampton, though there is one section that is not always open (open at landowners discretion) but the diversion is over moorland and not on the road.

The only downside to this site is that you have to stay a minimum of 2 night.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gnash58 2 reviews from this member

Wonderful site. Very clean, very friendly with facilities I'd be 100% happy to have a home. The toilets and shower are very clean and very tidy, as is the washing up facility. The people that run the site are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them. The location although pretty is not ideal for elderly people to walk to the village.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kateandjames 30 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a couple of nights at this lovely site on the outskirts of Lydford.

We were warmly received and quickly shown to a selection of pitches choosing one with great views over the moors. The site is well kept, neat and tidy with plenty of flower tubs, the toilets are clean but a little dated.

There are no nearby shops but milk, papers, ice creams and a few basics are available in the site shop.

There is plenty of walking direct from the site, we chose to walk the Gorge (National Trust so there is a charge). There is a nice café at the entrance to the gorge (about 15 minute walk from the site). The village also has a pub with a lovely beer garden, the bar is a bit small but there is a restaurant area as well. Dogs allowed in the bar area.

Lovely site and we will definitely use it again.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5917 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0940