Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Hudsons Field
Castle Road
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP1 3SA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01722 320713

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
              8/10 from 64 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5) and Video

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trubytribute 11 reviews from this member

This campsite was chosen because of its proximity to little villages where my husband's ancestors had come from and it was an ideal base, not only for that but Stonehenge and so many other places.

It was on the edge of playing fields and I wondered about noise from this but there was none. The staff were very friendly but oh so busy when we arrived and for the length of our stay. They said a lot of people use it as a stop over for ferries.

The views of old Sarum were just as in the books, amazing and as I gazed at it I wondered about the people who had lived there. It is owned by English Heritage and is an easy off road walk from the campsite and even if you only walk on the surrounding embankment the views back over Salisbury are lovely and the Cathedral stands out really well from there.

The field and surrounding area is great for dog walking and children could play safely there too.

We went to the village of Kilmington to find the church where so many Laphams were born and seems to be a hot spot and then to the Deverills. I guess the distance between can only be about 5 miles or so but the difference in the landscape was amazing. The road from Mere (along the B3095) to the Deverills was a steep climb and the most amazing views towards the Salisbury area. We were at quite a height. Mere itself was a lovely little place and as we actually went wrong on our way back from the Deverills and ended up going along the B3089 to Wilton. What a great mistake. Lovely little villages and scenery. I would recommend going off the main roads as this is lovely country.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timetravellers 4 reviews from this member

This is a lovely, open site with great views across the countryside. It is a grassy, well-kept site and is easy to access. There is no shelter and it was quite breezy while we were there but this aspect is what gives you the views. Nice sunsets too! As the details say, it is sloping but the pitches nearer the top of the site are almost level and we were easily able to level our 'van on pitch 38. The site is divided into two and the lower site does slope away a lot so at busy times it may be hard to avoid a sloping pitch. The facilities were modern and spotless. One morning I did find the shower very hot and only just bearable, there is no control over the temperature which is a shame but is often the case. The staff are all friendly and when we needed a bit of extra help we were given time and expertise for which we were most grateful. Other people staying on the site were friendly too. The fish and chip van opens on Wednesday and Friday evenings, we bought chips to go with our steak! There are a few provisions available in the reception shop but a good Co-op is only 10 minutes walk away along the main road. The walk into Salisbury is easy enough, although to get to the cathedral took us around 40 minutes. The Salisbury sausage shop is a must, 60 varieties! including some 'non-pork' based varieties. They also sell pork steaks (delicious) and chicken breasts in various marinades. Waitrose is en route too and is an obvious boon though you have to carry everything back of course! There is also a Harvester pub within 10 minutes walk. We would certainly return to this site if we wanted to stay in this area again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Little Bella 6 reviews from this member

Lovely, friendly site. The wardens were cheerful and helpful. The other campers were all very cheery and sociable. Toilet block very clean. Showers were the push type and there were vanity units and toilets.

There is a playing field just outside the entrance for dog walking. It really is perfect for walking into Salisbury. It's a traffic free cycle/walking path all the way into Salisbury. I reckon it took us 30-40 minutes. Salisbury itself is lovely and the cathedral is stunning. Guess what you are allowed to take well behaved dogs into the cathedral!

Turn left out of the campsite and a ten minute walk brings you to the Old Sarum, which was the original site of Salisbury. Then William the Conquerer built a castle on the site. The views are lovely and you can take dogs in. (Unlike Stonehenge!).

We were in a motor home so it was perfect for getting about without a car.

Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TotnesTravellers 24 reviews from this member

Very well placed site for visiting Salisbury. Easy walk into town (20/30 mins) off the roads which was good and passes Waitrose (useful if you have a card!). The city itself was lovely too.

The setting for the site is great - just under Old Sarum castle - with very open views. Essentially it is two large fields so nothing special. Toilet facilities not the most modern but immaculately kept. The on site staff were excellent - could not have been more helpful and obliging.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Acornis 12 reviews from this member

This is about the forth time we have visited and as always the site is well kept and well run. There's always plenty of staff around who seem to be full of busy keeping the site clean and well maintained. Well positioned for a walk into Salisbury, a trip to the gardens at Heale House, Stonehenge or a walk around the Old Sarum.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 131 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From Salisbury Ring Road take A345 towards Amesbury. Crossing two mini roundabouts grouped together watch out for sign to left to campsite in about a couple of hundred yards. Continue on site access road, with playing fields on right to campsite. The site gate is kept closed (but not locked) probably to deter non campers accessing the site. At busy times there is usually a member of staff on hand to open the gate otherwise itís a DIY job! Pull forward to sign before going to reception.

Salisbury C&CC site is set in a semi urban environment but also has lovely views out over the surrounding countryside including the Old Sarum Hill Fort. It is open to members and non-members. We received a friendly welcome from the site staff. You are escorted to your pitch once your own preferences have been taken into account. The site has a two way slope from the reception down to the far end of the site although individual pitches are not too bad but will require a degree of levelling. Most of the 150 pitches are on grass although there are some which have an embedded plastic lattice set into grass to provide a more all-weather surface. There are limited tarmac site roads and pitches are arranged in rows across the grass and whilst the reality is there is plenty of room between pitches you can feel there is a lack of privacy with people walking through the units quite close to where you are sitting. Being a C&CC site not all pitches will have electricity but most do and they are rated at 16 amps and uses CEE17 blue connectors. Several fresh water and grey water points are placed at convenient places across the site.

The well designed motorhome drain point is near to reception, fresh water can be replenished from the adjacent service point. Chemical waste emptying points are at the main toilet block and behind reception. The site has two toilet blocks, the main one being situated about half way down the site. It is of an excellent quality. At the end of the block is a laundry room which also houses local information. The smaller block nearer to reception is only open at very busy periods although the dish wash area is open all the time. Reception sells a range of essentials like milk. Site wide WiFi is available and time can be purchased at reception or online. Its good value but you have to be aware that download limits apply. There are no childrenís play facilities on site although older children have plenty of room in the adjacent park for ball games. There is a little light aircraft noise at certain times of day.

The main advantage of this site is the close vicinity to the City of Salisbury and as a result is quite popular with our Continental chums. The site will provide instructions for a pleasant walk into the city along the river. Alternatively there is a good bus service from the main road at the site entrance. Old Sarum, is within easy walking of the site and is under the control of English Heritage. For eating out there is a Harvester just up the road from the site. In Salisbury there is a multitude of eating places, we used the Market Inn which was very nice. For shopping there is a large Waitrose Food and Home which you pass on the walk mentioned above. In the centre there is a Sainsburys and a Tesco Metro

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7229 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0469