Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Salisbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Hudsons Field
Castle Road
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP1 3SA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01722 320713

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 73 Reviews
              8/10 from 73 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5) and Video

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: UXO8 19 reviews from this member

Extremely disappointed. We were members of C&CC a few years ago and only visited one site in our membership and after this visit we now know why we didn't renew. Booked 2 nights online at a cost of 58 ! Way over priced to pitch up in a grass field, it was more like being in a Rally than a campsite. The gent who showed us to our pitch was extremely friendly and helpful but sadly our pitch was very uneven and even with using levellers it still made sitting upright and our bed uncomfortable. View through the caravans and motorhomes was of a Playing field and Old Sarum.

Not so nice crossing wet grass to get to the Toilet block which was clean but I was not happy to find a man in there doing what looked like non urgent maintenance at 9. 15 am ( when most females use the loo) Surely it could have waited until they were closed for cleaning

Walked to town centre took about 25 mins and all level caught bus back which was nearly a fiver for a 10 min journey. Have to say we were disappointed in Salisbury for a Cathedral city ( having visited many others ) Didn't visit The Harvester up the road as the reviews on TripAdvisor put us off

Having just come form a fully serviced pitch in a lovely well landscaped campsite at much lower rates puts C&CC prices to shame. Way overpriced having stayed at many Premium and C&C club sites at much lower rates

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cliffy44 11 reviews from this member

We booked two nights at this site but wished we had been able to stay longer. Although most pitches are grass on an open and slightly sloping field there was no problem with getting stuck even though it had been raining. The warden gave a warm welcome and very informative of where to go and what is around the site. The two shower blocks were very clean and well maintained. For us the main attraction was that we could ride along a nice level cycle/walking path in to the city and beyond. There is a hot food van (Burger Van does not do it justice) on site doing breakfast and refreshments during the day. Fish and Chips available twice a week. We did not use it but it looked good and got regular use throughout the day.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 133 reviews from this member

We'd not been back to this site for some 7 or 8 years, but now can't understand why!

Friendly check in and lovely warden who took us to our pitch on his bike. Hard standing not gravel but plastic grid under grass. Great views over Old Sarum.

Small shop on site. Lovely, clean toilet/shower blocks (2). Food waggons seem to visit regularly too (fish & chips and pizza on each of the nights we were there).

Easy walk into the city (ask the wardens) and what a great city it is. Beautiful walks around the cathedral area and Harnham Water Meadows. Nice walk up Old Sarum Hill too with stunning views back over Salisbury (and the campsite!) and the Wiltshire countryside.

Harvester Restaurant 10 minute walk from the site too.

We will certainly be back sooner rather than later this time!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Arnoldbongo 4 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, with friendly helpful staff. Nice traditional dog friendly pubs with 20 min walk plus Salisbury cathedral and old sarum. Also visited stonehenge during our stay. Would recommend, no faults at all. Even a pizza van and chippy van comes on site on evenings. Staff gave us a list of dog friendly pubs to eat. And lots of info about days out.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaxpix50 8 reviews from this member

This site is superbly situated for walking, cycling and bus travel, so excellent for people with motor homes and campervans. The facilities were always immaculate and I never had to queue despite it being the height of the season and the site virtually full one night. The staff were really friendly and helpful even when the site was very busy.

The site was used by many Europeans and we really enjoyed chatting to people from wide and far and seeing there tents and equipment so different to ours sometimes.

There is a bustop outside the site which takes you straight into Salisbury or alternatively there is a cycle path/footpath along the river which you can use. The staff have details of how to reach it.

Salisbury is a beautiful city with a superb 'specialty' market. The cathedral is stunningly beautiful. Entrance to the cathedral is by donation and the suggestion for us ( seniors) was 6. 50 each. It was worth every penny with a conducted tour thrown in. There is a bus from Salisbury to Stonehenge.

Next to the campsite is Hudsons Field, just an open field for public use. It's excellent for kite flying ( which we did). Old Sarum overlooks the site and worth a visit.

We loved every minute of our visit here.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cake Man 17 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 6 nights, Cant complain at all, the wardens are very friendly the fellow campers were also friendly.

The 2 toilet blocks are clean and I never had to wait to shower

A very big field which is great for dog walks

Easy access to the city (20 min walk) a small shop on site which stocks most essentials and a chip/pizza van on site did not use but seemed popular.

We had a pitch on the far side of the field by the rugby club, and had great views and space for the things we wanted to do. Would we use again yes we would.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

2146 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder