Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Over Wier
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX37 9DU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01769 560009

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
              9/10 from 38 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (7)

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mick 1 review from this member

Lovely site with very helpful friendly wardens as is normal with ccc. Kids loved the games room and a tennis coach comes on Tuesdays in summer holidays and offers free 1 hour tennis lesson for kids over 7.

We'll be back as only stayed 4 nights and would like to see more of the area. Lovely bread from local bakery can be ordered from site reception. Toilets and showers were always clean. A nice warm shower was the push button type but seemed to last a little longer between presses than some I've been too. I'd not used a ccc site for about 3 years but remember the fun banter you get with just about every ccc warden I've ever met. No different here.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter Jones 70 2 reviews from this member

The sign on the main road could do with the hedge cut back or the sign enlarging, we have been here before but came from a different direction. The staff are very good at reception but not being asked if we would like a grass or hard standing pitch we were directed to a sloping grass pitch, I know were not members but it would have nice to have been asked.

The facilities are tidy and clean and the site quite quiet, the local pub has reopened since last time we were here and the antique place across the bridge is worth a visit. We will probably visit again sometime.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiesel 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for4 nights. Easy to find if you use the sites Instrutions. Sat nav useless in this area, stick to main roads. Beautiful site. Friendly welcome from site wardens. Clean facilities with nice hot showers. Grass kept nice and short. Kids loved the play ground and the games room was a welcome addition. Landry £3. 50 a wash with £1 for 20 min drying time. Lovely views from site, however it can get quite windy and the offset is not too much protection from the wind if you are on one of the upper pitches, but you can't book the weather!

The Bell Inn at Chittlehampton is good for food. Friendly staff there and a really nice beer garden. Book table for food though as gets busy. Quince honey farm close by was worth the visit and has an indoor play area for wet days.

Arlington court also nice to visit.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rads 11 reviews from this member

The previous reviewers have given an accurate view of this site. The wardens were particularly helpful in providing more chocks for our corner steadies! This is a small site but it has all the facilities of a larger site.

The local pub is a short walk into the village. We went once and the food was ok, nothing special. A good food experience was found at The Black Horse in Great Torrington. We would certainly return there if in the area. Great Torrington also had a Lidl as well as access to the Traka cycle trail. There is a petrol station and shop about a mile towards Barnstaple on the main road.

Worthwhile attractions and activities are Big Sheep (including the on-site brewery), cycling on the Traka Trail, Barnstaple leisure centre for those wet days, Saunton Sands (£7. 50 to park, but it has all the beech facilities) and also Braunton Burrows beech (£1. 50 to park but it has no facilities). Both beeches are dog friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nuttynana 5 reviews from this member

Spent a week at this friendly and tidy campsite, which was very central for amenities in Barnstable (Supermarket, Pizza Hut, Halfords etc) also, within easy reach of the beautiful fishing harbours and beaches, not to mention 'The Big Sheep, and Milky Way. The campsite also offers discounts for various places within the area. Warm welcome from the owners, who helped site caravan. Pitches are sloping, so remember to take some chocks with you. Toilets and showers were clean and warm. There is a little shop that sells basic provisions, and you can order bread, pasties etc. The fish and chips on a Tuesday night is a real treat, yummy, and no washing up! There is a barn for older children, with table tennis, tv, pool, which is really good, but a little too far away from the main campsite - having to walk from the dog walk to get there. There is a nice playground with an area for football.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woodya10 6 reviews from this member

Just spent our annual 10 day summer holiday at the Umberleigh site. As is expected from the Camping and Caravanning Club, all the facilities were in excellent order. The wardens were particularly hospitable and helpful, even to the point of going round to every unit/tent on the site to advise on what should be done when the weather turned very windy and wet, and indeed it did turn very wet and windy. The site drained very well and dried up quite quickly. The Games room was great for out little one who enjoyed many a game of skittles. We were pitched fairly close to the play area, so on some nights it was quite noisy up to around 10pm, after that the site was completely quiet. A word of warning though, quite a few pitches are on sloping ground (not mentioned in the club handbook) and we were infact pitched on quite a slope and therefore spent quite a few nights rolling into each other in our tent. A few of the caravans were chocked as high up as was possible and looked very precarious. Over the 10 days we stayed there the local farmers decided it was time to do “Muck Spreading” however they did not rake it in to the ground, the smell was horrendous. Nothing that site could do about it but be warned. The location of the site is not too bad, about 30 mins away from the major attractions (Milky Way, Watermouth Castle etc), but that itself is a good thing because it keeps the site from being too busy. A fish and chip van visited on Tuesday evening and this was very good, however get there was quite a queue.

In general a small, well kept site with very good facilities – we will be returning.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (North)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Win a HandiMoova and HandiDuffel combo Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 – 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5099 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015