Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Over Wier
Umberleigh
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX37 9DU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01769 560009

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
              9/10 from 29 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (3)

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasmo 6 reviews from this member

We booked the August Bank Holiday at fairly short notice. We were greeted warmly by the friendly wardens and had a choice of pitches. We chose hardstanding but there were lots of sheltered grass pitches, some electric and some with water, pitches were level and easily accessed. It is a site with wonderful inland views and the sunsets were beautiful.

For children(our son is 11)there are FREE tennis lessons to prebook, tennis courts at a modest charge as well as a barn with TV, table tennis and pool. There is a play area with scramble net and climbing frame and a field close by for fishing.

We don't have a dog but the majority of visitors did and used the extensive dog walking area.

The showers were immaculate but not the most modern and lacked any shelves for toiletries. There were queues in the ladies except later in the evening.

Water/waste points were easily accessed and the chemical toilet point also easily found and well kept.

The reception could supply preordered papers and bread and had a good choice of essentials.

This is a site within easy drive of good surfing beaches, the local pub The Rising Sun is delightful and their Ploughmans excellent. There is a train station within walking distance and you can get into Barnstaple for shopping or sightseeing.

The Wardens at the site were a delight, hard working, professional, enthusiastic and helped make our stay memorable.

Only one negative. The Fish and Chip van that serves the site on Tuesday was expensive, the fish portion tiny and the service rude, we were made to wait for an hour! Think the van owner needs lessons in customer service from the wonderful CCC wardens.

We will be returning ( but getting our fish and chips somewhere else!)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Skyblueman 2 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site this is and what a wonderful time we had. The wardens are a credit to the club and the site and were very helpful and on hand when arriving and throughout our stay.

It is not the most level site in places but levelling was not a problem again with the wardens on hand who provided us with blocks of wood.

The showers and toilets were spotless as were the other facilities and there is an information room which is full of information, leaflets and everything you need to know.

The site has wonderful views when it is clear and is in a lovely quiet location. It's not particularly near much but having a car this did not effect us but there is a lovely pub within walking distance and also the train station which is very handy.

The adjacent field and games room is such a plus and made the holiday for our son. He made so many friends playing football etc what more could we ask for.

The only negative for us was the fish and chips, sadly it was quite late getting there on the Tuesday and they were just too greasy for us but everyone's different.

Without a doubt I would return and most definitely will next year and I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ccmmick 1 review from this member

Got back into camping or should I say glamping after quite a few years I went to this site for its location and I enjoyed it very much, showers/toilets immaculate a lot better from what I remember years ago.

The area in North Devon is stunning to say the least it is an ideal base for touring, I used the train the station is just a 10min walk away with trains every hour to any destination in Devon/Cornwall ideal.

There is also a great Pub by the station called The Rising Sun good food and a lovely pint of beer to end the day

I will be back there again in the near future.

Ccmmick.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Damomitzi 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site! Stayed here for 5 nights early August with 3 children; ages 9, 8 and 3. The site and facilities are immaculate and exceptionally clean. We were met on arrival after a 5 hour journey by extremely helpful staff who couldn't do enough to help us. The site provided free tennis training for the children and the games room provided a good backdrop to watch the Olympics on! Lots of things to do in the area with visits to beautiful Lynton and Lynmouth, Westward Ho and nearby South Molton for lovely shops. Loads of very informative leaflets on site with places to go and things to do. Choice of very large supermarkets in nearby Barnstaple with directions from the site staff. Very impressed and will definitely return - only wish the site was a bit nearer!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony t bone 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this great little site. Umberleigh is just far enough out to be secluded but not so far out as to be isolated. A very neat and tidy site with clean shower and toilet block with lots of hot water, possibly a little too hot!

Plenty of space between units so even when busy there is no feeling of overcrowding. Facilities for the little ones are quite basic.

There is a small games room with pool, table tennis, skittles and a TV lounge.

The site shop has a very basic stock of everyday needs at very good prices, however there is a garage about 5 minutes drive away which is very well stocked.

The site staff very friendly and extremely helpful. The site is situated next to a working farm and the farm machinery can start early and finish at around 10 pm. However this didn't bother us at all.

The hours in between at night were filled with the glorious sound of total silence!A cracking little site well placed for exploration of North Devon and beyond.


Definitely recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ieh103 2 reviews from this member

We have just got back from a 5 night stay here and I couldn't be more impressed! What a beautiful site! The grass is lush and so well maintained even in peak season. The facilities are an absolute treat! Easily the best I have used. The views from the campsite are spectacular and you feel like you are right out in the sticks! But Barnstaple is very near by and ere is a farm shop and garage less than a mile away. Umberleigh is perfectly positioned to explore north Devon. We will be returning next summer for a few days on route to Cornwall.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (North)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


14698 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469