Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Umberleigh Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Over Wier
Umberleigh
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX37 9DU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01769 560009

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
              9/10 from 32 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (3)

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woodya10 6 reviews from this member

Just spent our annual 10 day summer holiday at the Umberleigh site. As is expected from the Camping and Caravanning Club, all the facilities were in excellent order. The wardens were particularly hospitable and helpful, even to the point of going round to every unit/tent on the site to advise on what should be done when the weather turned very windy and wet, and indeed it did turn very wet and windy. The site drained very well and dried up quite quickly. The Games room was great for out little one who enjoyed many a game of skittles. We were pitched fairly close to the play area, so on some nights it was quite noisy up to around 10pm, after that the site was completely quiet. A word of warning though, quite a few pitches are on sloping ground (not mentioned in the club handbook) and we were infact pitched on quite a slope and therefore spent quite a few nights rolling into each other in our tent. A few of the caravans were chocked as high up as was possible and looked very precarious. Over the 10 days we stayed there the local farmers decided it was time to do “Muck Spreading” however they did not rake it in to the ground, the smell was horrendous. Nothing that site could do about it but be warned. The location of the site is not too bad, about 30 mins away from the major attractions (Milky Way, Watermouth Castle etc), but that itself is a good thing because it keeps the site from being too busy. A fish and chip van visited on Tuesday evening and this was very good, however get there was quite a queue.

In general a small, well kept site with very good facilities – we will be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: D J M 3 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed our stay here. Small quiet site run by friendly and helpful wardens. It is family friendly with a small outdoor park, large playing field and an indoor games room. The children enjoyed playing table tennis and skittles. A lovely extra bonus was an hour long free tennis lesson which they loved. The toilet block was always clean and the showers hot. The wardens did regular patrols and made sure rules were adhered to and everyone was happy. We would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Werthemods 1 review from this member

Arrived on site & was greeted by friendly warden trish. Touring caravan holiday for 2 adults, 1 ten year old & dog. Very clean dog friendly site. Dog walking aera. Lots to keep the kids occupied, tennis / table tennis / football / pool / skittles / tv room. Excellent shower / wash rooms. Nearest beach 20 mins is Instow were dogs are allowed. Ace pub that does a cracking sunday roast (the rising sun), 5 mins drive from site. 20 min drive to Barnstable, 30 min drive to bideford which must be the most dog friendly town in England. Me & my lad visited cobbaton combat collection. 10 min drive from site, watch out for farmers down those country lanes. Described a 1 mans collection that got out of hand. Wow! you will not be disappointed. Overall fantastic site just wish it was closer to beach.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasmo 6 reviews from this member

We booked the August Bank Holiday at fairly short notice. We were greeted warmly by the friendly wardens and had a choice of pitches. We chose hardstanding but there were lots of sheltered grass pitches, some electric and some with water, pitches were level and easily accessed. It is a site with wonderful inland views and the sunsets were beautiful.

For children(our son is 11)there are FREE tennis lessons to prebook, tennis courts at a modest charge as well as a barn with TV, table tennis and pool. There is a play area with scramble net and climbing frame and a field close by for fishing.

We don't have a dog but the majority of visitors did and used the extensive dog walking area.

The showers were immaculate but not the most modern and lacked any shelves for toiletries. There were queues in the ladies except later in the evening.

Water/waste points were easily accessed and the chemical toilet point also easily found and well kept.

The reception could supply preordered papers and bread and had a good choice of essentials.

This is a site within easy drive of good surfing beaches, the local pub The Rising Sun is delightful and their Ploughmans excellent. There is a train station within walking distance and you can get into Barnstaple for shopping or sightseeing.

The Wardens at the site were a delight, hard working, professional, enthusiastic and helped make our stay memorable.

Only one negative. The Fish and Chip van that serves the site on Tuesday was expensive, the fish portion tiny and the service rude, we were made to wait for an hour! Think the van owner needs lessons in customer service from the wonderful CCC wardens.

We will be returning ( but getting our fish and chips somewhere else!)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Skyblueman 2 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site this is and what a wonderful time we had. The wardens are a credit to the club and the site and were very helpful and on hand when arriving and throughout our stay.

It is not the most level site in places but levelling was not a problem again with the wardens on hand who provided us with blocks of wood.

The showers and toilets were spotless as were the other facilities and there is an information room which is full of information, leaflets and everything you need to know.

The site has wonderful views when it is clear and is in a lovely quiet location. It's not particularly near much but having a car this did not effect us but there is a lovely pub within walking distance and also the train station which is very handy.

The adjacent field and games room is such a plus and made the holiday for our son. He made so many friends playing football etc what more could we ask for.

The only negative for us was the fish and chips, sadly it was quite late getting there on the Tuesday and they were just too greasy for us but everyone's different.

Without a doubt I would return and most definitely will next year and I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ccmmick 1 review from this member

Got back into camping or should I say glamping after quite a few years I went to this site for its location and I enjoyed it very much, showers/toilets immaculate a lot better from what I remember years ago.

The area in North Devon is stunning to say the least it is an ideal base for touring, I used the train the station is just a 10min walk away with trains every hour to any destination in Devon/Cornwall ideal.

There is also a great Pub by the station called The Rising Sun good food and a lovely pint of beer to end the day

I will be back there again in the near future.

Ccmmick.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (North)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Dining Package, worth £124.98 from Yeomans Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


524 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430