Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Deers Glade Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Deers Glade Caravan & Camping Park
Whitepost Road
Hanworth
Cromer
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR11 7HN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01263 768633

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  10m  5m  5m   10m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 255 Reviews
              9/10 from 255 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  255 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 18 reviews from this member

Can I begin with one cautionary note. Check your Email Confirmation! We phoned the number for Deers Mead the owners second site but somehow were booked to Deers Glade.

This is a large site and has everything it says on the tin. We seemed to have the last available pitch a corner plot by the toilets. The owner stated 'we are fairly relaxed here' and this seemed to be so. Although there were a lot of children over the weekend it was not too noisy. The facilities for kids, an adventure type playground, appeared excellent.

The toilets/showers are modern and well finished. There was some queueing, as there were only two cubicles in this block, there was at least one other. No Problem with hot water. My wife found the shower controls less than intuitive and struggled with temperature control.

The owners were friendly and helpful each time I spoke to them. A nice touch is a small sheet with Sat Nav Post Codes for local supermarkets.

There are Recycling Bins but they are in a separate location to the normal waste and it was clear some were ignoring them.

The small fishing lake seemed well maintained and there are plenty of fishing stages.

Just to the South on main road is a Pub, Garage, Cafe and small store.

Enjoyed Wells Next the Sea. Recommend visit to Walled garden at Frelburg House. If you are a steam buff the Wells and Walsingham Railway is unique and must be seen. You can get a 9. 00 return and spend a couple of hours in either location.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woolliness 7 reviews from this member

This our second visit here and can only add to what has been said before- lovely site well laid out nice showers etc.

However I can say that I think the site has increased somewhat and the toilets in the week was not a pristine as they have been in the past I do think that a warden on site is probably needed.

The train ride to Holt is well recommended and the pub the Roman Camp outside Felbrig is well worth a visit had a lovely meal there and the terraced garden is lovely in the sunshine also a nice garden area to sit with the dog

We will be back next year.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjlincs 19 reviews from this member

We think this is a 5 star campsite, it is beautifully laid out with hedges and landscaping separating the generously sized plots, most seemed to have 16amp hook-up and a TV aerial socket for perfect Feeview. The woodland that surrounds the site makes a good windbreak and gives the site an even more attractive appearance, there is a small lake which can be fished, with geese and ducks and the woodland walks are perfect for the dog. The two shower blocks are very clean and modern and showers themselves are excellent, washing up sinks are plentiful as are fresh water taps. We received a very warm, friendly welcome that set the atmosphere for our stay, the shop at reception is adequate for those essentials you have forgotten and is well stocked with a few little extras. We were very taken with the large area given over to a children's play area with an adjoining communal area where you could meet and pass the time.

For shopping there is a Waitrose at North Walsham as well as a Tescos further along the A159 and we found the Groveland Farm Shop just off the A159 at Roughton an excellent place to visit, not only is there and excellent butchers, whose steaks and bacon are just wonderful, there is a delicatessen, hairdressers, field sports shop and my wife spent a long time in the fabric shop which I must say was quite a find.

We ventured out and took the Bure Valley Railway from Aylesham to Wroxham and combined this with a Broads Tour out of Wroxham we thought that for less than 20 each including the dog it was great value for money. A drive down the coast took us to Sea Palling where the Fish and Chip shop also has a coffee shop and both were very good as was the beach with dog friendly one side and non dog the other although I guess that Happisburgh takes the prize for best dog walk beach. I also went to the Caister Car Collection which at 12 seemed expensive but isn't there is a fabulous eclectic mix of interesting motor cars from all eras and I highly recommend a visit.

There is no doubt that we will be returning to Deers Glade it is a beautiful site in a super part of England.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shavlar 4 reviews from this member

This was our first test out in our motorhome. The site is very well laid out, fairly priced and very flat. We had a hard standing pitch which had hedging around to mark it out, which was fine but as we are left hand drive meant as we opened our door we encroached a little on our neighbours. They were lovely so it wasn't a problem. As it was the start of the season the site was very quiet and our daughter could play quite happily on the park area. There is a fenced off fishing lake, and two very good toilet/shower blocks, catering well for disabled visitors. The shop is extremely basic, but has enough to help you get by. No pubs, shops or other activities are in walking distance but the quiet and solitude of the site is lovely.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mixedgrill 7 reviews from this member

Like all the other reviews say this is a gem of a camp ground in Norfolk

We like to use public transport once we have set up our camper van so there is a good bus route into Cromer or into Norwich on the main road, Ask at reception for the short cut. Cromer has lovely fresh crab and quaint little shops. The train also goes to Norwich from there also.

Great friendly staff and kept very clean campsite, I am a Blind traveller but felt very safe here and the disabled washroom was very handy.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clbewi 7 reviews from this member

This is about our 4th stay here, having stayed the first year they opened.

I must admit I feel the site has got a bit too big now and the toilets just can't seem to cope, they're certainly not kept as pristine as they used to be and they are so cramped, the toilet roll holder has been put next to the toilet so there is no room to move. The water is very hot too, the washing up water needs to have cold added to it to be able to put your hands in.

I feel there should be a warden on such a large site too to keep an eye on the older kids that are bored and messing up the toilets as the parents couldn't seem to care less. Last night we had loads of tents turn up, two were being putting up in the pitch black using their car headlights and then they sat up talking until 1. 30am. The tents behind us had young children and they were up at just gone 6 and not very quiet, seems very inconsiderate. I'm not putting down tents, but the more tents there are, the more strain there is on the toilet facilities. OH said quite a few times he went to the toilet and there wasn't any paper.

We will not be returning to this site but will stay at their new adults only site up the road which was fantastic when we stayed a few weeks ago. Much smaller, but with the same toilet facilities and of a very high standard.

This is a real shame, as David and Heather and their family work hard, but it seems that people just don't clean up after themselves and leave things as they would want to find them.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Walshamboy 1 review from this member

This the the 5th year myself and my daughter have camped on Muntjac Meadow and found it excellent every time. Every year I ask her if she wants to go somewhere else and she says no so we go back.

Although we only live a few miles away, you could be anywhere in the country. Very relaxing, safe for children and as everyone in in tents it gives greater opportunity to make new friends, both adult and children.

Camp fire is great as the children love to toast marshmallows over it in the evening.

More than likely to go back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vanfanclub 2 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, family run very friendly. Cars drove really sensibly so safe for kids!

The pitch we were given was lovely and had plenty of room for our group, it was actually very private too, not all seemed the same but we had a hedge all the way round pretty mucch.

The site itself was the perfect size for us there is a lovely playpark which my children loved (age 3 and 5) and they made lots of friends to play with there, there are a couple of goats and sheep in a pen which the children can feed which is a nice little addition to the site, there is alse a little walk to a pond to go pond dipping.

The toilets, washing up, shower facilities etc were all lovely and always clean each day, and always hot water. I used the disabled toilets so I could shower with my children and only occasionally did I have to wait but the wait was never too long and it was peak season!

There is no pub, club or swimming pool and the site is not within walking distance of very much, however Cromer is a short drive away (less than 10 mins) we stayed during the Cromer festival and always found lots of activities to do during the day and we weren't particularly fussed about a club, we met some lovely people on the site and also went with friends and we had good enough weather to sit outside the tents.

One morning our friends had a flat battery and the site manager came over with his tractor and jump started (he said it's a regular occurrence on a camp site) but my point being that they were very friendly and helpful.

We used the laundrette as one of the children had a little accident, again no bother with this.

We would definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woody101 3 reviews from this member

Took our daughter aged 4 for her first camping trip here, and wasn't disappointed. We chose Muntjak Meadow as we wanted a more relaxed site, and it met our needs perfectly.

The field is pitch-where-you-want and was uncrowded. There was only one water point near the toilet block. The toilet block is a portacabin which initially worried me, but the facilities inside were modern and in excellent condition, and kept very clean. The washup area was under cover and had plentiful hot water.

We loved the fact that there is a communal campfire every evening, daughter loved roasting marshmallows! There is also next to no light pollution, so the night sky here is something to behold. Other campers were on the whole friendly and considerate, though we did find a few swiped the campfire wood for their own private fires! The main site is a short walk away with a well stocked shop, pleasant staff, freezer and kids play area (which could use a little TLC)

Bewilderwood, Cromer and Sheringham are all a short drive away. Thanks for a lovely few days, we'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woolliness 7 reviews from this member

First visit to Deer's Glade but it wont be our last, ticks all the box's for us. Excellent facilities - clean toilets- free hot showers-free wifi. Brilliant walks if you have a dog. Near to many great beaches and dog friendly.

Dont have kids but the play and picnic area seemed spot on if you do. Having the kennels is a good idea as well we put our pooch in for the day (7)and she was walked midday and was fine so we could go on the boat trip to Blakeney Point to do a bit of seal watching well worth a trip.

The owners have made a really 1st class campsite.

Maybe a dog wash could be added?

Hubby loved the fishing lake and caught a few big breen and carp.

Have to agree to a previous comment concerning the temperature of the shower they are hot and a little difficult to alter so maybe not suitable for children so be aware.

Previous     255 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0703