Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Deers Glade Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Deers Glade Caravan & Camping Park
Whitepost Road
Hanworth
Cromer
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR11 7HN   See Map
Tel: 01263 768633
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Pitches: 129
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 274 Reviews
                9/10 from 274 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  274 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piglet 4 3 reviews from this member

This was our first visit here, very few people on site, but never is early February. Was concerned as we drove up, as we passed a dead deer just on the turning into the site, we informed the man who booked us in and said he will inform someone, which he did as it was gone hours later. A lovely site, the toilet's and showers are ok, do the job, but nothing special. They are rebuilding the kids play area when we were there, so a little noise during the day from tractors and machines, but didn't disrupt us much. We rarely visit a site twice, but would like to go again during the warmer months.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jbraund 8 reviews from this member

Lovely site in a good location. Well spaced, good sized pitches around a central play area. Nice service and good basic shop in reception. Excellent shower blocks with handy underfloor heating and piping hot showers, especially welcome at the end of October. Had a great meal at the Banningham Crown about 4 miles away.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Thewhickers 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 14 nights in August this year. The site is nice, very well laid out with nice hedges between pitches.

We got off to a bad start though – the pitch we booked (last November) had another tent on it! I went back to reception to ask them to help. They checked their computer and said there shouldn’t be anyone there so came back with me to see what was happening. It turns out the people on it arrived late the previous evening and should have gone on pitch 57 not 55! They said they were told to go on 55 but when they checked their email it clearly said 57. They had to move the whole tent as they were only staying one night and their pitch (57) was booked out the following day with somebody else. So we got off to a late start at setting up – thank goodness we have a Pennine Folding Camper that doesn’t take long to set up! We were settled in time for the Hog Roast which was lovely.

The site is a nice base for seeing Norfolk. We visited Pensthorpe Nature Reserve one day (40 minutes), The Muckleburgh Collection (30 minutes) and the Royal Norfolk Showground (30 minutes) where Truckfest was on. We also visited Sherringham, Cromer and North Walsham amongst others.

The site rules clearly state – please keep noise to a minimum between 9pm and 11pm and absolute quiet between 11pm and 7am. If you feel it’s just part of being on holiday to be very loud from 9pm till 11. 30pm (or later) and it’s ok to hold a loud conversation with your neighbours at 6am then this is the site for you! If you feel this is a bit much (or perhaps you would prefer your children to sleep a bit) then maybe you would prefer somewhere else. We did ask reception if they could have a word but it didn’t seem to do much good.

The showers were good but not enough of them! Just 4 showers for 130 pitches. No push buttons though and you could choose your own temperature. The heads move too! There was nearly always a queue in the mornings. Afternoons were quiet though. Also the sinks were odd – the push button taps weren’t quite close enough to the basins so there was water all over the tops.

I think a few signs would be a good idea - it wasn't always obvious where some of the pitches were. 31 seemed to be an afterthought and was stuck next to 46 for some reason and I never worked out where 39 was! The road around the site is one way but a lot of people didn't seem to realise - which was fun when they went round the bend by the toilet block and came face to face with a car going the correct way! Most of the turnings had signs but maybe some had fallen off?

Oh, if you like to check your phone now and again while you are on the campsite – this site is not for you either. There is NO Vodafone signal and most other phones seem to have the same problem. You could always see people wandering around, looking at their phone then at the sky! Staff use EE but it doesn’t seem to work for everyone. Makes for a nice, peaceful holiday though – till you leave the site for the day and all the messages ping though at once! There is a free wifi service on the site but it is terribly slow and drops out regularly (probably because everyone is on it!).

Overall, we wouldn’t go back as it was just not for us (we rarely visit a campsite twice anyway).

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Asti73 1 review from this member

Stayed for 1 week on Muntjac Meadow. As first time campers and without electricity we were a bit worried. It was fantastic! The toilet and washing up facilities were ample. The evening camp fire was a lovely touch and we enjoyed toasting marshmallows. My children aged 12, 11 and 4 yrs had an amazing time playing in the woods, building dens with their new friends. It felt totally safe for them to play. You can also use the facilities on Deers Glade main site but apart from the odd visit to the shop we didn't have the need. Highly recommend and we will be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Custard15 13 reviews from this member

A compact site arranged around a children’s play area. Nice hedges between pitches, but having recently been trimmed, they were very dense and neat, rather than being wildlife havens. Pitch sizes were OK, but the short, low hedges left you very much aware of your neighbours when sitting outside the ‘van.

Can’t fault the washrooms – lots of hot water, a chair and hooks to hang clothes on. Need to keep an eye on water use though, one loo was permanently flushing – must have used gallons in a day !

Good service points for water and elsan disposal.

Nice little shop in reception, where we bought some wonderfully fresh local eggs – picked the ones we wanted from a basket.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dno12 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from a great week at this site, one of the best sites I have visited.

Shower block was clean and tidy, excellent play park for the children location is ideal for days out to cromer, great yarmouth also seal watching at Horsey bay about 35mins away.

I liked the look of the bell tents set up on site.

The pitch area was ok, most pitches had a little like privet hedge separating pitches, next time as we had a group of us we will try and get pitch without hedge

Overall I loved this site and look forward to coming back to it

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie1066 2 reviews from this member

We (me and my husband and our two boys aged 1 and 5) are just back from autumn half term at Deersglade. It was our first visit and the first time we'd used our folding caravan. Ive just booked up again for Easter holiday and summer holiday we loved it SO much. The site is immaculate, the facilities are absolutely phenomenal - the toilet/shower blocks are like something out of a 5 star hotel! The staff are all amazingly friendly & so helpful. My children who are two very lively boys had the time of their lives running free playing safely on the fab playground and woodlands. We stayed on for longer than originally booked as we had such a great time. We Hired out the fire pit to toast marshmallows which was lovely. We had some super days out in nearby Cromer, Sheringham and Holt. We cannot recommend this place highly enough! Thankyou to all at Deersglade for making our family holiday so fantastic and creating some forever memories. See you at Easter!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rich March 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a wonderful break from 23rd August until 3rd September. This was our second stay at Deers Glade.

We had pitch 46. The campsite was very busy as expected however the pitch sizes and general layout for most of the pitches allows for ample room for everyone. The other users of the Campsite are respectful of each other so even though it was busy, noise etc was fine.

The amenities were just as we found in October 2015. Spotlessly clean, well presented blocks with the best camp site showers I have ever discovered.

The Hog Roast was a hit as was the Pizza night! The staff are always friendly and on hand for needs.

It is ideally located for the North Norfolk Coast as well as the broads. You can reach Wells next the Sea in around 30 minutes on the Coast and Horning and Hinkley are 30 minutes in the other direction on the broads.

We visited Penthorpe Park, a wonderful bird Sanctuary which also combines Hootz House, a great indoor play park and outdoor play park. Had a lovely day there.

My only disappointment with Deers Glade was that we had to pay £2 a night for a dog, not sure where there is a cost implication to the site? We had to put our dog in a local kennels on day 2 for the stay (it was trial and error) and was then not able to get the £2 per night back.

My best way to describe Deers Glade is that if I owned a Campsite or was going to own one, I would model it on here.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Denby06 1 review from this member

Beautiful site. Staff helpful on arrival & gave plenty of advice on pitching, amenities & local places. Pitches are spacious & hedges add to that little bit of privacy whilst enjoying being in a camping community. Hog roast & pizza nights were a big hit & excellent value. Toilets were clean & tidy most of the time, peak times you did have to wait for showers but this is to be expected in main two week holiday! Would definitely go back & one of the best sites we have been to.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Greenhill 17 reviews from this member

We (2 adults, 11 and 9yr old) stayed for May BH weekend and the site was full. The staff were friendly and at book in we were told the pitch we had been allocated was rather small and were offered different ones. (Had we had to go on the one allocated our caravan, porch awning and car would not have fitted). The pitch we had had hedges round 3 sides and ample room for us.

The shower blocks looked v good and had lovely underfloor heating in the shower cubicles. The temp control on the shower could be quite stiff and there were issues with the toilet flushes and also running out of loo roll. The site is very pleasant with a good busy play area, we had the hog roast which was shops sells camping basics. There was not as much tourist info as I had expected.

We saw lots of bluebells at Blickling Hall (free to walk round the park) and tried crabbing at Cromer (but really you need a net rather than just a line and bait bag as the crabs drop off as you pull them up to the pier). Personally we prefer Sheringham and would go there, rather than Cromer, next time.

Previous     274 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth £249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6726 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1328