Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - California Cross Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

California Cross Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Modbury
Ivybridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL21 0SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 821297

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 24 Apr 2014 - 30 Sep 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
              8/10 from 23 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PoppydogandRhi 1 review from this member

Had a lovely few days at Calif Cross with my pooch. It was my first Campervan trip having been a solo tenter for years but the wardens could not have been more helpful and welcoming.

The fact that the gate is shut on arrival is my only negative about the site and seems totally unnecessary to me but maybe that's because I don't have kids.

The approach roads were fine for a VW camper but I can imagine that it's a bit hairy for caravans. But it's worth it when you get there.

Smashing site. Excellent Spar in the petrol station right next door.

Nice pub opposite. Totally over priced - and I'm used to London prices!

Back to the site, really not much for sale because why would you when you have such a comprehensive shop right next door.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and keep the place beautifully.

Only 3 showers, but I didn't have to wait at all - only negative is the shower curtains which are set a bit too close so you have to fight them a lot but lovely hot proper showers not silly push buttons.

Dog friendly. The wardens have a huge GSD but other than a quick display of 'this is my turf' to my dog with which I had no issue as, it is hers, and she was locked behind a fence and the warden quieted her very quickly, we heard nothing of her the whole time we were there.

No dog run and nowhere to really walk nearby as the road is a very fast road so you need to leave to go for a proper walk. But there is a farmers field nearby where a quick off lead run can be had.

Looking forward to going back again very soon - hopefully next month!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyasmum 12 reviews from this member

A great site. Friendly staff, excellent facilities. Pleasantly landscaped. Dog friendly. Very handy and well stocked Spar shop next door. Quiet, although near a well used B road. Visiting fish and chip van calls every Wednesday evening. The only improvement that I could think of is to provide a few picnic tables

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cmes 5 reviews from this member

I hadn't planned to be at this site, but begged to allowed to use the shower facilities (as a member in dire need of good hot safe shower) and booked in as soon as I could. To the amusement of the assistant site manager.

It's a club site which seems to mean, excellent facilities, clean pitches, well maintained grounds, shopping facilities on site or nearby, reasonably flat pitches, the list could continue. Along with all the good stuff, you get the usual rules to follow, but it isn't an issue. It's a quiet season so far, according to the manager, we were one of two or three tents and half a dozen caravans. Remote, but Devon seems to be, within driving distance to Modbury, Kingsbridge, Slapton and Dartmouth one way and Plymouth the other direction.

The local pub was over the road, it was a lovely place, dogs welcome. Food very good value, we had a lovely evening made entertaining by chatting to the local residents.

What you'd expect from a club site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr.big09 3 reviews from this member

This was the best place we have ever stopped at. The people that run the site are very nice and very helpful. The toilets and showers are 100%%% and free.

The site is nice and quiet. The lane to get to it is very narrow. But there is pull ins. But hi will be going back next year for sure.

And only a short drive to paighton, torquay. Morrisons is just out side paighton. The woodlands leisure park is a great place for kids. We spent 9 hours at the park.

Plenty to do for the kids. And not to pricey as well. Very close to the camp site as well.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gasguzzler 5 reviews from this member

Just spent six lovely nights at this site. As previous reviews have said there is a gate that you have to open/close but no great hardship. In fact having young kids just gives you that little bit of added comfort they wont run off out into the road (that said it is a quiet Devon lane).

The site itself is spotless. The pitches are very slightly sloping but not an issue at all. The ground is very easy for getting the pegs into.

There is a toilet block was kept very clean, a washing up area and laundry rooms. The showers were hot and free. You had to be careful with which one you chose as the temperature on one could not be controlled as easily for the others. Not a problem for adults but was for the kids. There is also a parent /baby room with a tub and shower attachment for those who have babies.

There is a very small play area (swing and climbing frame/slide). Although small it kept the kids amused for hours playing with the other children.

There is a mobile butcher who visits the site twice a week and a mobile fish and chip van on a Thursday night. We didn't use the butcher but the fish and chips were lovely! The California Cross pub is a two minute walk away from the site. The a la carte menu was very nice but a little on the pricey side. We didn't try the bar meals while we were there. There is also a Spar/garage a minute walk from the site. Useful for little things that you may have forgotten.

The overall atmosphere of the site was quiet, family friendly site. We'd happily go back to the site as it was so easy to explore South Devon from.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StixJimbo 8 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site, it is a great little site!

The site is situated not to far from the A38 and as such has very easy access, some of the lanes are a little narrow but not too bad.

The site is quiet and immaculately kept, a real gem. The facilities are also immaculately kept.

We would recommend this site to anyone, it is the perfect place for a quiet getaway whilst being close enough to the A38 to explore the rest of Devon with ease.

The site staff are very helpful and will accommodate most needs. Booking, through the club website, was easy and the pitches are relatively cheap.

There is a pub located within 100 yds of the site and there you can buy decent food at reasonable prices. The South Devon Chilli Farm is also located within a few miles of the site and makes for an interesting visit.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4671 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0781