Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Townsend Touring & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01544 388527

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  10m   10m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: February 14th - January 4th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 159 Reviews
              9/10 from 159 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (18)

Reviews:  159 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steveissy 2 reviews from this member

A great location for exploring the Hereford countryside.

Quiet site (except for the noisy goose and ducks that woke us up every day at dawn!)with good facilities although had to wait for a shower as only 3 which may be an issue when the site is full, a bit self service when you arrive as just an A board with your pitch number and a phone number to call if any problems.

Stayed 5 nights and the proprietors didn't even acknowledge our presence which we found a bit odd. Farm shop on site but wasn't open on

Monday, Tuesday or when we arrived on Sunday. The village was also limited for food on certain days and we found it difficult to get a meal on Sunday night bit luckily the landlady at the New Inn offered to make us a ham roll and chips.

The dog walk was good, the pitches good sized and nicely landscaped although, we found the TV reception poor, and mobile reception patchy too. We managed to get good free wifi in the village pub.

We have stayed on a few Best of British sites and this one although good was not as good as the others we have stayed on.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gem57 2 reviews from this member

We only stayed at Townsend for two nights (a Saturday and Sunday) as we were travelling through Hereford and Wales. How lucky we were to pick this lovely site as our first stop.

We had a great pitch right by the lake with a lovely view, watching the ducks with their ducklings paddling around and other campers fishing from the bank. It is a beautiful setting and the camp is well laid out with spotlessly clean and modern shower and toilet facilities.

You can buy provisions such as sausages, eggs, cheese and bacon from the farm shop on site, plus fresh bread from the oven which tasted amazing!

It is only a short walk into the village of Pembridge which is very quaint and pretty. It has a couple of pubs and tea rooms. We tried The New Inn for an evening meal and can highly recommend it, the food was very good with a friendly service.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sssnake 24 reviews from this member

Sat at home as I write this having only this afternoon returned from a lovely weekend stay at Townsend Farm and wishing we were still there.

This site is absolutely and utterly immaculate. Beautifully located, well maintained and given the standard of site, excellent value for money.

We turned up on Friday eve at about 5. 30pm. Reception was closed but a notice was posted for new arrivals identifying the allocated pitch. Our pitch was bloomin' enormous, easily identified and level.

My lad spent all day Saturday fishing in the pool and had a fabulous time netting over 70 fish.

There are two pubs in the village, The Red Lion is a village drinker's pub which doesn't do food in the evening. It looked okay but I can't comment further on here. The New Inn does fabulous food and excellent ales and cider (I taste tested several local ciders from Westons and Dunkerton Cider and recommend them all!). There was live music when we visited too which made the evening complete for us music lovers. There is also a restaurant - The King's House. We were told that it is excellent but we didn't try so can't comment.

Bathroom facilities on the site are 10/10 for size, cleanliness and water temperature but there are only three shower cubicles which caused a short queue on both mornings - not a major problem but some might find this a niggle.

Would I visit again? In a heartbeat, yes. Indeed, my son rated Townsend Farm as 'in my top five campsites'. High recommendation indeed.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gail_70 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the bank holiday and re-booked again for August :-) Beautifully kept site and loved waking up to look out over the lake each morning.

Pitch sizes are very generous and each with their own water/electric so no long distance to fill up your water carriers. The farm shop is well stocked with meat & cheese products & they also offer the option of pre-booking before you arrive so BBQ needs are sorted. Also advise to pre-order the morning croissants/pain au chocolates as these can & do run out - they are very nice! Be careful to check opening times of shop and remember that it is a Farm Shop - whilst it is well stocked you may have to travel into town for further items.

Toilet/Shower facilities are clean & well maintained. Only three showers in both gents & females so expect a short wait during busy periods. They also have a separate family room very useful for those with small children. Washing up facilities are found at the back of the toilet block but again, at busy times, expect a queue.

Can't comment on the village as other than a trip to Leominster for Morrisons (approx. 10 min drive) we stayed on site playing football & rounders in the large field provided as play area and the children also enjoyed the bike track.

Very relaxed, friendly site and definitely recommend it.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Thewhitehorse 19 reviews from this member

Not only is this site pretty in its own right, but it is set in a picturesque village, chock full of medieval style houses both ancient and modern.

The site is top class in every way; the pitches, each with hook-up & water, are set around a beautiful fishing lake with resident water fowl.

The toilet/shower block is spacious and immaculate. It has ample showers, toilets and sink cubicles, as well as a line of sinks for general use. In the same block are separate facilities for the disabled and a family room.

In a neighbouring paddock, is a children's play area.

The reception/farm shop is well stocked with home grown and locally sourced produce and the staff are very friendly and efficient.

Pembridge is worth a visit in its own right; we recommend the Strand Tearoom and Ye Olde Steppes for meals.

We love Shobdon Airfield for its entertainment value and Westonbury Water Gardens for its unusual follies. Croft Castle, (National Trust) is also worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HANSELL 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from townsend a fantastic site, a warm and helpful welcome followed by a site that has plenty of room no overcrowding, the toilet block was kept spotless and never any waiting even though the site was busy, the fishing lake covers everyones wishes and is well looked after, the shop on site has a good all round stock, to sum up the site is a credit to the owners, also the area is well worth a visit follow the black and white trail to see the old black and white timber houses

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jaynemun 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a a lovely night at Townsend Touring Park. Beautifully maintained site and only a short walk from village. The pitches are well kept and plenty of space between. The New Inn in the village served a beautiful meal and friendly service. This was our first trip of the year and we will definitely bee coming back

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: X4CER 1 review from this member

Stunning surroundings, in the middle of countryside, overlooking a fishing lake, but within a short walk of pubs and shops. Local walks and cycle rides from the site, and on the 'black & white villages' tour. Very clean wash block, good children's play area and large pitches. Friendly laid back approach by the owners who also run a farm shop on site. Nearby there is a superb gallery of arts and crafts made in the UK, a very old church and an amazing bell tower.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lizo51 2 reviews from this member

We frequently stay on this lovely site. We stayed again for a week in August and one of our daughters joined us with their family. The wardens were extremely helpful doing all they could to help us enjoy our stay.

Our grandsons who are 3 and 6 thoroughly enjoyed the mountain bike park. Yes the 3 year old can bike independently and had a ball.

The meat in the farm shop is second to none. Geraint, ( warden and butcher} also gave hints on the best way to cook certain cuts of meat. He makes a good variety of sausages.

The toilets and showers are beautifully kept. There is a welcome addition of a bathroom which was really appreciated for the children.

The village is very pretty and we can thoroughly recommend the Red Lion for real ale and a very good steak meal on a Thursday evening. Its a very friendly pub.

The village shop is a delight.

Our dogs loved the river walks and were very reluctant to get back into the van to come home.

Only downside for us is the tricky walk along the main road to the village. The road is very busy with very large lorries. A footpath from the site would be most welcome.

We certainly hope to return this year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheSqrl 2 reviews from this member

The pitches here are huge! This was brilliant for us as we were with friends and we could put our tents close to each other. It was a Bank Holiday so the site was busy with quite a few large groups of families with young children. It was quite noisy up until the 10pm curfew, but pretty quiet after that.

There are some lovely trees in the site that the kids loved playing in. The playground is also good and well away from campers.

Best thing was we could see the Milky Way on 3 of the 4 nights! It would be good if the site lighting could be reduced after midnight to help stargazing!

The toilet block is top-notch: always clean, always loo roll, always soap, and music too! Men's showers could go hot and cold which wasn't good.

Some friends stayed in Pods. They are quite small units, but they were happy to have a warm and dry place to sleep, with electric.

Shop opening times were quite limited. The warden wasn't particularly welcoming.

Overall a great campsite and we may well return.

Previous     159 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Herefordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a BUZZ RACK Buffalo 4 Bike Tilting Carrier Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Benington Chilli Festival, Hertfordshire 29 31st August
Celebrate all things chilli in the hidden gem of a garden at historic Benington Lordship.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3445 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0469