Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Townsend Touring & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01544 388527

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  10m   10m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: February 14th - January 4th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
              9/10 from 155 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (15)

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Thewhitehorse 19 reviews from this member

Not only is this site pretty in its own right, but it is set in a picturesque village, chock full of medieval style houses both ancient and modern.

The site is top class in every way; the pitches, each with hook-up & water, are set around a beautiful fishing lake with resident water fowl.

The toilet/shower block is spacious and immaculate. It has ample showers, toilets and sink cubicles, as well as a line of sinks for general use. In the same block are separate facilities for the disabled and a family room.

In a neighbouring paddock, is a children's play area.

The reception/farm shop is well stocked with home grown and locally sourced produce and the staff are very friendly and efficient.

Pembridge is worth a visit in its own right; we recommend the Strand Tearoom and Ye Olde Steppes for meals.

We love Shobdon Airfield for its entertainment value and Westonbury Water Gardens for its unusual follies. Croft Castle, (National Trust) is also worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HANSELL 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from townsend a fantastic site, a warm and helpful welcome followed by a site that has plenty of room no overcrowding, the toilet block was kept spotless and never any waiting even though the site was busy, the fishing lake covers everyones wishes and is well looked after, the shop on site has a good all round stock, to sum up the site is a credit to the owners, also the area is well worth a visit follow the black and white trail to see the old black and white timber houses

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jaynemun 1 review from this member

Just spent a a lovely night at Townsend Touring Park. Beautifully maintained site and only a short walk from village. The pitches are well kept and plenty of space between. The New Inn in the village served a beautiful meal and friendly service. This was our first trip of the year and we will definitely bee coming back

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: X4CER 1 review from this member

Stunning surroundings, in the middle of countryside, overlooking a fishing lake, but within a short walk of pubs and shops. Local walks and cycle rides from the site, and on the 'black & white villages' tour. Very clean wash block, good children's play area and large pitches. Friendly laid back approach by the owners who also run a farm shop on site. Nearby there is a superb gallery of arts and crafts made in the UK, a very old church and an amazing bell tower.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lizo51 2 reviews from this member

We frequently stay on this lovely site. We stayed again for a week in August and one of our daughters joined us with their family. The wardens were extremely helpful doing all they could to help us enjoy our stay.

Our grandsons who are 3 and 6 thoroughly enjoyed the mountain bike park. Yes the 3 year old can bike independently and had a ball.

The meat in the farm shop is second to none. Geraint, ( warden and butcher} also gave hints on the best way to cook certain cuts of meat. He makes a good variety of sausages.

The toilets and showers are beautifully kept. There is a welcome addition of a bathroom which was really appreciated for the children.

The village is very pretty and we can thoroughly recommend the Red Lion for real ale and a very good steak meal on a Thursday evening. Its a very friendly pub.

The village shop is a delight.

Our dogs loved the river walks and were very reluctant to get back into the van to come home.

Only downside for us is the tricky walk along the main road to the village. The road is very busy with very large lorries. A footpath from the site would be most welcome.

We certainly hope to return this year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheSqrl 2 reviews from this member

The pitches here are huge! This was brilliant for us as we were with friends and we could put our tents close to each other. It was a Bank Holiday so the site was busy with quite a few large groups of families with young children. It was quite noisy up until the 10pm curfew, but pretty quiet after that.

There are some lovely trees in the site that the kids loved playing in. The playground is also good and well away from campers.

Best thing was we could see the Milky Way on 3 of the 4 nights! It would be good if the site lighting could be reduced after midnight to help stargazing!

The toilet block is top-notch: always clean, always loo roll, always soap, and music too! Men's showers could go hot and cold which wasn't good.

Some friends stayed in Pods. They are quite small units, but they were happy to have a warm and dry place to sleep, with electric.

Shop opening times were quite limited. The warden wasn't particularly welcoming.

Overall a great campsite and we may well return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beautiful soup 5 reviews from this member

Our visit to Townsend marked the end of a two week holiday with our 15 month old toddler. We camped for 3 nights with friends who were staying in a tent.

The first thing to say is that the facilities are absolutely amazing. The shower block is modern and new with a carpeted entrance - brilliant! - and was absolutely spotless. There are lovely little touches such as music playing in the toilets and J-cloths provided around the sinks. There is ample space for washing up, a nice little play area, mountain bike trails which our friend's 10 and 8 year old loved, a fishing lake and acres of space for the toddler to run around in.

We had a 'super pitch' with our own water supply and grey waste point which was nice but in no way essential as the site isn't huge. The shop is more a butchers than anything else and I can heartily recommend the bacon, black pudding, bread and hungarian sausages. The staff were all relaxed and friendly throughout our stay, as were the other campers.

The village of Pembridge is just a few minutes walk away but was slightly tricky to get to with a stroller due to higgledy streets, narrow pavements and lots of cobbles and steps. The village shop has to be seen to be believed - it's a jam packed curiosity shop selling pretty much everything you can think of with an adjoining tea room and little wine cellar. The river, literally a couple of minutes walk from the centre of the village, is beautiful and has a nice little picnic area. We had read positive reviews of the New Inn pub and went there for lunch but to be honest found it lacking. The landlady was stand offish and rude, the food ok but overpriced. It was all quite odd!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return in the future with a view to using the campsite as a base and travelling around the local area a little more.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Radders58 3 reviews from this member

Stayed 1st August 3 nights, good size pitches showers & toilets spotless, very friendly staff, the site is maintained to a very high standard there is a small butchers shop on site selling fresh cut meat. The village of Pembridge is 3 mins walk away with two pubs, plenty of places to visit close by, Hereford, Ludlow/, Leominster. Enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Wyreynolds 1 review from this member

We stayed for a weekend in one of the pods. We were lucky enough to have perfect weather. The site was wonderful, it was clean and attractive and in 20 years we have never seen such a clean and perfect toilet block. There were plenty of toilets and showers all spotlessly clean. The wardens were friendly and helpful and all in all we had a perfect weekend. The bike trails were very small but our 6 and 7 year old enjoyed them. The shop was nicely stocked with essentials and lovely fresh meat and bread. The village was wonderful and the river walks looked fantastic although we only discovered them as we were leaving!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 28 reviews from this member

We had a great time on this site; it is our 4th return visit. It is a level green site with plenty of trees. The grass pitches are very spacious, lots more room than many other sites. Having waste water points and clean water taps at each pitch is really handy.

The toilet and shower block were super clean and warm and had plenty of hot water.

We loved seeing the ducks and rabbits on the site. We cycled from the site every day and were able to find quiet country lanes nearby. The gallery in Pembridge is full of lovely crafty things. The shop in the village is quite a tardis with a good range of stock and the owner is really lovely. I would recommend the horse riding hacks at nearby Bryngwyn Stables, although it is just over the border in Wales it is only 40 minutes drive away, and the scenery is spectacular.

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Herefordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Codicote, Hertfordshire 02/05 to 31/05
A massive range of tents, trailer tents and accessories on display to wander around

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1857 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0762