Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Townsend Touring & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB   See Map
Tel: 01544 388527
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 175 Reviews
                9/10 from 175 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Refills   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  175 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phishing 16 reviews from this member

Nice site on a working farm. Easy access up long wide drive with turn directly from main road, accepts the largest units. Roads all hard standing and wide with good surface. Facilities are superb, very clean and about the best you will find. Had a fully serviced pitch and everything worked as it should, plenty of space for van, awning and car. Good fishing with a decent lake with many different species. Village is on the doorstep for limited shops and a few pubs and tearooms. Nice walks from the campsite down the river via the village or across the fields to Erdisland, worth a visit. Site has a shop for the basics and also local meat and produce. Very warm welcome and warden on duty at all times. Phone signal 4G on Vodafone but other providers struggle. TV signal needed a good aerial but was just OK.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suziec1977 4 reviews from this member

This is a very attractive and well-kept site. The main aspect which stood out to me was the feeling of having lots of space. The units are not packed in to get as many as possible in - there is plenty of space around each one. The pitches and site were very well looked after.

The toilet block was spotless and was never busy. We stayed in the August peak season and I never queued to use the showers. The showers were warm, with adequate space. There was a family bathroom with a bath, which is good for younger children.

The site mainly had caravans when we were there which is perhaps why the toilet block wasn't busy but don't let it put you off if you have a tent. Some pitches seemed to be used for the whole season season so people weren't actually there. This meant the site was very quiet.

Our children enjoyed the little play area and spent times in the games room (had a pool table and places to sit) when it rained.

We found the reception opening hours a little strange - only open for an hour on Monday and Tuesday and then until 4 the rest of the week. However, they were well organised and left check in information with maps, your name and pitches for those who arrived when the reception was closed. There was a shop on site which was predominantly a butchers but sold some basics like bread. No butter though which is what I forgot to take!

The site has a lake which is why I've marked it lower for child friendliness. I personally wouldn't have enjoyed staying here with children any younger than mine (almost 7 and 4) as I am a worrier and some pitches were very near the lake!

The village of Pembridge was pretty (part of the black and white village trail) but the local pub only served food on Thursday evenings. We happened to be there when it was the village show and we enjoyed a day out there. Leominster, with a Morrisons (and other supermarkets - Co-op, Aldi) was a 10 minute drive away.

We stayed for 2 weeks in pretty wet weather and found we did a fair bit of driving to get to places of interest for our children. Hereford and Ludlow were about 25/30 minutes drive. We went to the cave centre in Wales which I thoroughly enjoyed but it was over an hour's drive. The Elan Valley dams were a similar distance away and we enjoyed a day out there. There was a fantastic park at the Elan Valley Visitors' Centre with play equipment I've never seen before! There was a small farm/owl centre close to the camp site - about 15 minutes drive away and our children enjoyed feeding the animals there. The site was ideal if you wanted a quiet place with walks/bike rides from it. We didn't mind the driving and were expecting it but if you were anticipating lots in the local area for children you might be disappointed.

Overall this was a lovely site. If we lived closer we'd visit again for a relaxing weekend on-site as the space and facilities were brilliant.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richg57 11 reviews from this member

We used this site as a three night stopover on the way to Devon. Nicely landscaped and tidy park with well spaced pitches. The washroom facilities were spotless and more than adequate for the number of pitches. My daughter made good use of the woodland mountain bike tracks and I fished a couple of times. The lake is smallish, pretty, well stocked and the fishing is easy and relaxing.

There's loads of room for children to run about and play in a large closely mown field with playground equipment visible from the pitches. This was perfect because we had peace and quiet whilst being able to see our daughter from the caravan.

We walked into Pembridge which took less than 5 minutes and ate lunch at the Red Lion which was good simple food at very decent prices. Pembridge is a pretty village which could benefit from a bypass due to huge numbers of heavy goods lorries thundering through. Never heard any traffic noise at the site though.

I only needed warden assistance once during my stay (electricity tripped) but the reception was closed and no one was answering the mobile numbers given. I sorted the issue myself by guessing the correct switch to press so no real issue.

I want to return to this site. Its small and attractive but has very good facilities and is child friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Funundercanvas 1 review from this member

6th time visiting this lovely park & it never fails to put a smile on our faces. Last time our grandson came with us, this time his mum (our daughter), dad & dad's parents came too & all have fallen in love with this little gem. There's lots of room for children to run around without disturbing anyone, with a smashing play area too. The park also has a superb toilet block & each pitch has it's own 16amp hookup, fresh drinking water tap & grey waste disposal too. My husband loves the fishing there & spends a lot of time dangling his rod. It gives me time to relax & enjoy the peace & quiet. Su, Geoff & their staff are welcoming & helpful, the on site shop sells wonderful meat & other bits n bobs.

The park is on the edge of the beautiful black & white village of Pembridge, there are 2 pubs & a restaurant, a coffee shop, tea shop & village store too. The Red Lion pub is run by Cliff who always makes us very welcome, they only serve evening meals on a Thursday but they are delicious & well worth booking in for. Townsend touring park is also well situated for visiting Leominster, Hereford & Worcester.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sssnake 30 reviews from this member

Beautifully maintained, spotlessly clean and very spacious. Located on the Black and White Trail in Herefordshire's lush countryside, we recommend this site to you. The village of Pembridge is gorgeous and a couple of great pubs. The Red Lion is just odd, go see for yourselves, great cider though.

Huge pitches allow you to chill out and do what you like best and the fishing pool is great for those followers of Isaac Newton. Small fish surrender willingly in the heat of the day which is great for those father and son times but as it cools, the bigger carp come out to play and the quality of the sport improves without it getting intimidating for the part time angler.

The bathroom facilities are excellent - clean, modern and spacious with probably the best showers we've experienced.

Plus. The owners are lovely too. I wouldn't normally tell people about excellent sites because I want to be able to get on next year but honestly, these people deserve your patronage.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LouLiz 11 reviews from this member

Fabulous site. We had a fully serviced pitch with views of the lake and fields. Toilet/ shower blocks very clean. Geoff, who I think is the owner, couldn't have been more helpful as we were new to the area he told us lots of information about local tourist attractions. Very quiet site during the week although it did get a bit busier over the weekend. Lots of space between the pitches. A great site, well maintained and we would definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrDimpy 2 reviews from this member

Went to the site with my parents who have a caravan as they had been before and enjoyed it.

On arrival check in went smoothly and the pitches found. They where both flat and the grass almost golf course level. Each pitch had its own electric point, water and a waste grid. The post also had a small light which was useful at night.

The site was beautiful and had a children's play area and building with a TV, wifi and a pool table.

The dish washing facility's where good and the toilet block clean and warm with plenty of showers and sinks.

The space was the amazing thing for me as there was so much of it. Most sites wouldn't give you so much room but it was great. The kids could play with no chance of annoying the neighbours.

Overall the site was amazing with the only minute issue being the on site shop was very small with only very basic supply's. But having said that Morrisons was only 5 miles away so not a massive problem.

Would recommend anyone traveling to the area to stay there.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 18 reviews from this member

We have a motor home 7. 7 meters long.

We paid for a super pitch, it was more like a mini pitch, we could not fit are awning on the pitch and had to go on to the very muddy grass.

Dog walk was more like a rat run and was covered within 30 seconds and very dirty, considering the surrounding grounds this could of been much bigger.

Toilet block was cold.

Wardens where very unhelpful when asked for a spare fuse we needed we where offered no help.

Paid for 2 nights with dogs @ 54 left after 1 night.

Not to return 😟

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 56 reviews from this member

Our fifth visit to what is probably our favourite site of all. Geoff and Sue run it wonderfully, ably assisted this time by new wardens Karen & Andy. Everything is spotless, especially given how busy it was for the time of the year.

We had three delicious meals in the New Inn and happily had the last piece of the Game Pie. The Steak & Mushroom one was just as good as were the home-made lasagnes and salads. Please don't be fooled by the other review's description as gastro-pub food, it's simply brilliant home-made food in a non-pretentious wonderful village pub.

The rump steak we bought from the on-site butchery was as tasty as ever.

If you get the chance, try and visit Westonbury Water gardens just two miles down the road - an amazing place. Can't wait for our next visit.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeandbren 8 reviews from this member

Easy booking eventually. Confirmation email.

Easy too find. Book in quick. Booked for 2 night but only stayed 1. 1st assist did seem a little grumps 2nd in the shop later very helpful and happy! Hence why 9 out of 10.

Lovely quite site. Pond and wildlife all around.

Very spacious pitches.

Toilet block very good. Clean tidy well equipped. Information section on entry.

Nice walk around site also into the village. Few shops, cafes, pubs also local cider farm.

All within walking distance.

24 a night. Hook up and hardstanding, water etc.

Recommend will call again.

Shop on site. Lovely butcher section. Tasty.

Thanks

Previous     175 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Herefordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Colibri Lux Sleeping Bag and Sim Bundle worth over 270 Win East Anglian Game & Country Fair Camping Weekend Tickets!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 28 to 29 April
Thetford. Weekend Camping available. Plus win tickets in our competition ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2880 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1084