Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Townsend Touring & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

Townsend Touring & Camping Park
Pembridge
East Street
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01544 388527

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: February 12th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 167 Reviews
              9/10 from 167 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (18)

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 40 reviews from this member

Our fifth visit to what is probably our favourite site of all. Geoff and Sue run it wonderfully, ably assisted this time by new wardens Karen & Andy. Everything is spotless, especially given how busy it was for the time of the year.

We had three delicious meals in the New Inn and happily had the last piece of the Game Pie. The Steak & Mushroom one was just as good as were the home-made lasagnes and salads. Please don't be fooled by the other review's description as gastro-pub food, it's simply brilliant home-made food in a non-pretentious wonderful village pub.

The rump steak we bought from the on-site butchery was as tasty as ever.

If you get the chance, try and visit Westonbury Water gardens just two miles down the road - an amazing place. Can't wait for our next visit.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeandbren 4 reviews from this member

Easy booking eventually. Confirmation email.

Easy too find. Book in quick. Booked for 2 night but only stayed 1. 1st assist did seem a little grumps 2nd in the shop later very helpful and happy! Hence why 9 out of 10.

Lovely quite site. Pond and wildlife all around.

Very spacious pitches.

Toilet block very good. Clean tidy well equipped. Information section on entry.

Nice walk around site also into the village. Few shops, cafes, pubs also local cider farm.

All within walking distance.

24 a night. Hook up and hardstanding, water etc.

Recommend will call again.

Shop on site. Lovely butcher section. Tasty.

Thanks

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DAVIDWARD 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet site, although the bottom end does suffer from distant road noise, so try and get a pitch in the middle.

We pitched on a serviced grass site, which we far prefer to a hardstanding, which had plenty of room and the grass is generally beautifully maintained with little trace of past campers. Superb toilet/shower block - the only one we have experienced with high pressure, hot showers which don't require the 'on' knob to be pressed every 5 seconds. Unobtrusive games room with free tv. We didn't want to unhitch the van first evening so walked into the village and, to our surprise and delight, had the best gastropub meal ever at The New Inn - game pie to die for !

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pili pala 9 reviews from this member

We stayed for two nights with two other families - 2 large tents and a caravan. We had pitches next door to each other. The pitches are very large and the site is very nicely landscaped. Each pitch has its own access to a water tap and electric point. It all feels very luxurious.

We were there for the first weekend of the school holidays and although the site was full it didn't feel packed - there was plenty of space to throw a ball, play badminton or generally spread out.

My daughter loved the opportunity to go fishing and made some impressive catches. The fishing lake adds to the feeling of peace on the site. All the children enjoyed the play area and good space to kick a football around.

The toilet and shower block were very clean and there was always hot water.

The farm shop had a good variety of meat to tempt the bbqers and to stock up on basics but it's not open very late.

The site is on the edge of Pembridge which is well worth a walk into particularly for a cream tea!

All in all a luxurious site which is well maintained. Definitely recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

Second visit to this site and I do find the prices are very high and lots of extra prices have wheedled their way in since our last visit, Gazebos - 5, Childrens Fishing, Late checkout etc which is a shame.

Toilets warm but not as clean as I remember.

Nothing for teenagers to do atall, no other children on site so too quiet.

Site now taken over by older people in Seasonal pitches with very few Touring pitches now in place therefore a different feel to the site did feel like an outsider.

Shop very overpriced.

Wouldn't revisit or go with children

Much preferred the site when it was owner managed and run much more friendly and customer focused.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 21 reviews from this member

Just spent 5 nights at this quite and peaceful site just on the edge of Pembridge. Both hard and grass level pitches all fully serviced, the shower/wc block was kept clean and always plenty of hot water.

Site has a small shop in reception however it is closed from 12 midday on Sundays until Wednesday morning. The owner or warden is available during this time, there is a small shop in Pembridge as well as a Morrisons a short drive away.

Ideal base for a look around the area and ideal for the black and white trail of all the local villages.

Pembridge is a lovely old village the Inn does really good food, the plate was what I call man size, ladies might find it a struggle. But well worth a visit.

This is a site we will come back to next time we are in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AlHeather 3 reviews from this member

Its been a while since we visited Townsend, but we all found this site lovely!

We were a bit last minute booking with the site for Aug bank holiday - but Sue was very accommodating getting us two grass pitches (no electric). This was also our son's first visit and we ended up bringing an extra car, but Sue was very welcoming and accommodating when we arrived on the Friday morning.

Our pitches were really large so for our 5 man, kitchen and 3 man tents we had loads of room!

The facilities on site are good - the showers were always clean & hot. I really appreciated the 'family bathroom' area so myself and my son could get ready easily. Thank you!

The washing up area was clean and tidy, and the park in general was kept in a great condition. My son loved the play area and in particular the friendly ducks and goose who he made 'friends' with and brought to our tent!

The only negative thing (which is no one's fault) is that we did get a bit bombarded by crazy wasps, but I think that was the time of year. We have mesh inserts on our tent and I would definitely recommend taking wasp traps, spray etc so they don't spoil your stay.

The shop is small, but we got cheese, milk, eggs, meat for our BBQ and some lovely bread on the first day. However, in Leominster there was a huge Morrisons only 15 mins drive away, so we used that for any other provisions.

We went to the village pub one evening to get out of the rain and the food was good - huge portions and a friendly atmosphere.

We visited Leominster itself and also a couple of NT properties, but was loads we didn't have time to do! This is a great base for exploring the Herefordshire area.

So all in all, we had a great stay and will be returning!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilb 4 reviews from this member

We are two related families in two tents with teenage children. This is our second visit here, only four nights this time. As the site information says, the shower block is exceptionally clean as is the whole site. Dog owners are very good clearing up after them, fishermen don't moan about children running by having fun!

We had a gentle stroll to Dunkertons cider shop. It does feel further than the mile stated on the sign by the pub, however coming back didn't seem half as bad!

Ordered a curry from the Shabagh in Leominster. They deliver! very nice it was too.

The new boq fiddoh looks lovely, check out the photos on the website.

Hoping to stay longer next time and try out Ye Old Steppes and Red Lion.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steveissy 2 reviews from this member

A great location for exploring the Hereford countryside.

Quiet site (except for the noisy goose and ducks that woke us up every day at dawn!)with good facilities although had to wait for a shower as only 3 which may be an issue when the site is full, a bit self service when you arrive as just an A board with your pitch number and a phone number to call if any problems.

Stayed 5 nights and the proprietors didn't even acknowledge our presence which we found a bit odd. Farm shop on site but wasn't open on

Monday, Tuesday or when we arrived on Sunday. The village was also limited for food on certain days and we found it difficult to get a meal on Sunday night bit luckily the landlady at the New Inn offered to make us a ham roll and chips.

The dog walk was good, the pitches good sized and nicely landscaped although, we found the TV reception poor, and mobile reception patchy too. We managed to get good free wifi in the village pub.

We have stayed on a few Best of British sites and this one although good was not as good as the others we have stayed on.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gem57 2 reviews from this member

We only stayed at Townsend for two nights (a Saturday and Sunday) as we were travelling through Hereford and Wales. How lucky we were to pick this lovely site as our first stop.

We had a great pitch right by the lake with a lovely view, watching the ducks with their ducklings paddling around and other campers fishing from the bank. It is a beautiful setting and the camp is well laid out with spotlessly clean and modern shower and toilet facilities.

You can buy provisions such as sausages, eggs, cheese and bacon from the farm shop on site, plus fresh bread from the oven which tasted amazing!

It is only a short walk into the village of Pembridge which is very quaint and pretty. It has a couple of pubs and tea rooms. We tried The New Inn for an evening meal and can highly recommend it, the food was very good with a friendly service.

Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Herefordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to the Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3094 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1250