Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Camping Anse Du Brick

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Site Reviews

Castel Camping Anse Du Brick
Maupertus Mer
Manche
Normandy   (Browse area)
50330   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 00 33 0233 543 357

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  1m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 189
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
              9/10 from 21 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (21) and Video

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ewen c 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 12 days at the beginning of July 2014.

The site is literally 15 minutes from Cherbourg port overlooking a small bay with a beach when the tide is out.

English is spoken by all the staff and they are very friendly and helpful. We weren't expecting it tobe so hot and the coolbox couldn't cope. We managed to rent a fridge at short notice even though it is supposed to be booked in advance.

The showers are push button but seem to be cleaned constantly. The toilets are also high standard. The shop is small but has fresh baguette and croissants every morning. Dish washing at the top block has an amazing view over the bay. Laundry was by token Ä4. 50 and irons are available at reception. The swimming pool complex kept my daughters happy but there isn't a lot for teenagers. The kids club seemed very active and there was live music in the pizzerie.

We ate out in the restaurant and the pizzeria and both were good. In fact, the maison rouge was excellent.

We took a sea view pitch and it was just the right size for our tent and car. The atmosphere of the site was very friendly, with mainly Dutch and German visitors. The only noise we encountered was a few instances of coastguard helicopters flying low at night but we couldn't hear any other airport noise. Quiet after 11 is the rule and this was kept to except after one world cup game which I could understand.

The nearest supermarket is in St Pierre Eglise, about 10 minutes away. There is also a decathlon and a massive Auchan hypermarket in La Glacerie, just off the motorway south.

I would highly recommend this site and will be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debbie.scott 5 reviews from this member

Went here last July with 3 and 8 year old. We were very lucky with beautiful weather but the site was really lovely - pretty much next to a beach - beautiful views when washing up ! Great pools, nice small shop, takeaway food useful, kids club a few hours a day, just enough to occupy us for the week - but we wanted a quietish break for young family. Overall, well presented and maintained site - no complaints. Quite a few Dutch there. Good playgrounds and a Bouncy castle for our kids age group. I think teenagers may find it a little limited though. In summary, we had a fab time as it was quite a laid back site. Cherbourg (at the time we visited) though was really dirty - unsure if they'd just had some sort of festival but we didn't like it when we took the children there. Local supermarkets fine but fairly pricey - some smaller places with a bit more character in the other direction from the site but decided to venture to another Castel site further down past Cherbourg this time for a change of scene and as the children are a little older.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 6 reviews from this member

Excellent site very convenient for the Cherbourg ferry. We only used it for one night and it was a last minute decision as the site we intended to use (Colligon) was closed. Using our ACSI card it was only 16 euros a night.

We arrived quite late at about 7. 00pm but were given an excellent welcome and allocated were pitch at the top of the site. The pitches are separated by small trees and bushes and felt spacious.

The wc/shower/laundry blocks were excellent (we were near the new one) - spacious and with a pleasant veranda with a picnic bench at the end which had splendid views over the bay. All facilities were spotless.

We didn't use the pools but both the indoor and outdoor pool looked well maintained and safe, as did the children's play area.

We used the snack bar on site in the evening and had a decent meal. The young waiting staff went out of their way to be helpful.

We would certainly use it again and have recommended it to friends with young children as an ideal site. The only downside we could see was that it was not near any villages or owns that we could walk to for a drink etc, which as a mature couple we enjoy.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ShawnT 1 review from this member

Very good site, visited July 2012 for 3 nights, arrived late so we were put on a temporary pitch (No 32), we had the swimming pool one side, bouncy castle and games area the other side and the bar/restaurant in front of us, rather noisy to say the least. We moved to our permanent pitch (No 20) at around 1pm the next day, even though departure time is 12 midday the couple still on pitch 20 were in no hurry to leave so we had to wait!

Other than this minor grip it was nice to set up properly, the site itself is lovely and only a 15 minute drive from Cherbourg ferry terminal, well laid out and very friendly / helpful staff, toilet/shower blocks were spotless, small but useful shop, bar and restaurant looked ok although we didnít use. They also had two cars you could hire for the day which we thought was a great idea if youíre like us travelling in a motorhome.

Five minutes walk away you have direct access to the beach/cove (make sure you visit at low tide) tide table is available from reception, the area is great for walks and exploring, all maps again available from reception.

If when we visit the area again will probably try another site further down the coast as we did feel a little isolated, again as we are in a motorhome.

All in all a good site maybe as an overnighter or two at a push.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicksy 12 reviews from this member

We visited for 10 nights from end of May 2012. The weather was mixed, but this did not take away from what was a fantastic holidy at a site that deserves every one of it's 5 stars.

The staff: I have yet to find staff so friendly and helpful, from reception to the bar, all were fantastic and welcoming.

The pitches: Vary in size according to your requirements, most were huge. We had a sea view which was nice, but the Atlantic winds find every nook in a trailer tent without a sewn in groundsheet, be careful where you pitch.

The showerblocks: Absolutely first class. Always hot water, never a queue, but it was quiet when we visited, and always spotlessly clean. Piped music was relaxing too.

The bar/pizzeria: First class staff. Mainly Pizza's, but salads, kids basic menu and deserts all nice. Pizza's were excellent, and the restaurant gives a fantastic view over the beach.

Reception/shop: Basic shop, covers requirements with supermarkets not too far by car. Fresh bread and croissants have to be ordered the night before.

The Pools: ACE, the indoor pool was like a warm bath, superb when the weather turns all British on you. The outdoor pool was posibly heated by a 60 watt bulb, but my 11 year old daughter and I loved taking a daily bracing dip and when you got used to it, it was very nice, probably better when the weather warms up. Too cold for my 6yr old though.

The slidepool was lovely and warm, we all loved it, excellent fun.

The beach - Clean beach, crystal clear water, a few fisherman, some surfers when conditions wee right, absolutely lovely. Nice walk from the site too.

Nearby - The Cite de la mer in Cherbourg was good, but expensive (18 euro's per adult, owch!)Check when you book direct with the site- they sometimes have free passes available. We particularly loved the tour of the Nuclear submarine at this aquarium.

THe area: We were lucky to catch half term over D-Day. Loads of Towns put on parades, hundreds dressed up in WW2 dress and hundreds of WW2 jeeps, motorbikes, trucks etc driving around, with military planes flying overhead and Edith Piaff playing on loud speakers from shops, some towns put on an effort to make you feel you were in occupied France - a little eerie, but helped with the history, even the kids loved it. Utah Beach and a few museums within about 35mins, allow an hour to Omaha.

Cherbourg is only about 15-20 minutes drive away for a city & the ferry.

Would we go back - definitely 100% yes.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JenniferB 7 reviews from this member

This was our second year of visiting Anse Du Brick and I am delighted to report that it was every bit as good as last year! Plans are afoot to build an indoor swimming pool in addition to the excellent outdoor pool. The toilets, as always, were immaculate and there was never a shortage of shower cubicles or hot water. It is VERY easy to get to from Cherbourg and is an excellent place to go for anyone venturing abroad for the first time. We took the ferry from Portsmouth to Cherbourg which takes around 5 hours.

Shop has been smartened up and offers a good range of basics plus fresh bread, croissants and milk every day. Weather is quite similar to the south of England, although we were very lucky and had 3 or 4 very hot days. There is also excellent access to a beautiful sandy beach with shallow water - great for the kids to body-board. We will be returning next year as this site has become our family favourite!

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Normandy   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430