Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Site Reviews

Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne
Rue De Plaisance
Chalons En Champagne
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
51000   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 326 683800

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)

Pitches: 131
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 54 Reviews
              7/10 from 54 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barsar 34 reviews from this member

We used this site as an overnight halt en route back to Calais. I am glad we did not stay for longer.

There is a choice of grass or hardstanding pitches and all are of a decent size.

There are two toilet blacks but travelling so late in the season the larger one was closed so we used the one in the main building. I first stayed here about 30 years ago and my goodness how things have changed. The site is much larger than I remember but the sanitary facilities have deteriorated. It looked like an attempt had been made to upgrade the shower areas by cladding the walls with laminated board but the old walls could be seen behind. I dread to think how many insects must live there. The floors of the toilet and washing areas were dreadful. They didnít need a mop they needed a scraper.

The whole site just felt uncared for. Which is a great pity because with some effort and a little bit of money it could be so much better. Also, a number of seasonal workers appeared to be living in the bungalows. They did not disturb us in anyway but it did change the ambience of the site.

We will avoid in the future but if you canít (as we couldnít) then be prepared to use your on-board facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Montesa 17 reviews from this member

Pleasant enough stay at this popular stopover site to decide after first night to stop for longer and to do the Champagne route to the West which was very nice. Perfectly acceptable for us in most regards but some would complain.

Supermarket & diesel about half a mile.

Good pleasant dog walk around the park area & large pond (forget fishing it unless very very bored).

Do check the directions carefully - we think the 2017 ACSI book had incorrect Sat Nav coordinates to liven up our arrival !

Not many sites in this area around Reims and a quick call at the Epernay Campsite (a long way off route for a stopover site) confirmed our choice.

Will use again if on this route but as said its a slight detour through town but not too bad.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 73 reviews from this member

Used as NH on journey south but wouldn't use for a longer stay. Located in quiet residential area. Would use again but the approach from the southerly motorway junction would be far easier, avoiding more of the town. Facilities rather shabby but plenty of hot water for showers. Good value with ACSI discount at Ä16.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MollyD 5 reviews from this member

We stopped here for one night on the way down through France. I agree with the previous comments about the toilet blocks being tired, however as our and most of the pitches were fully serviced we used our own facilityís as normal, making use of their chemical waste prior to leaving. The site is about 1 mile from a large superstore with cheap diesel. We found the reception staff friendly and spoke English if required. Wi-Fi is free in this area, there is a small restaurant but we did not use it. We did not explore so cannot comment on the area, except to say that the site is close the motorway network which for an overnight stay is a bonus. I would definitely use this site again as a one night stay over

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 28 reviews from this member

We stopped here for one night on our way north. A large, but not very inspiring site, fine for a night halt. It is in the middle of a built-up suburban area with a Carrefour not far away. The town centre seemed some distance, although our guide book said you could walk there along the river. However, this path was not evident from the site.

Washing facilities are tired and pretty limited. There were only 2 toilets in the main women's block. However, there was paper in them.

Reception area pleasant and free Wi Fi is available there and on the terrace. Bread can be ordered for the morning.

We didn't use the snack bar and the menu looked very limited - chicken nuggets or burgers seemed to be about it!

There is a pleasant area through a gate from the site which has a lake with wildfowl on it and where we were able to exercise dogs off the lead.

As we were out of season, we thought the site expensive for a municipal (26 euros), but this is probably due to being in a large town. There were certainly plenty of over-nighters, but the rest of the site was deserted. Not sure we would use it again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+julie 52 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights and used our camping cheques we had as part of our ferry deal although the actual price per night was only 13 euros.

We liked it here. Nice pitch, fully serviced, neat and tidy site mainly used for overnighters. Challon worth a visit but not much to do here. Visited Epernay and Haughtvillers which we loved.

Two blocks of sanitaires men and women but people using both, unisex. Cleaned regularly but more of a swill down as entrance floors very wet so mucky shoes making a mess everywhere. Would stay again.

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Champagne Ardenne   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6817 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec