Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Site Reviews

Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne
Rue De Plaisance
Chalons En Champagne
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
51000   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 326 683800

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:

Pitches: 131
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 42 Reviews
              7/10 from 42 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 18 reviews from this member

Follow up to my reviews of October 2011 & October 2012.

We continue to use this site as a one or two night stopover going North or South because of its proximity to the motorways and that it has hard-standing pitches. This year we have used it four times June, July, September and October.

We cannot believe how the owners of this site (Aquadis Loisirs) are letting this site go and not making any improvements to the facilities. When we arrived in June the hedges were completely overgrown and the pitches needed weeding. Things did improve during the year and when we arrived in October everything had been tidied up. We thought this a strange way of approaching things as it was about to close!

Quite frankly the sanitary facilities are dreadful having reached such a level of neglect and we also found that people were complaining. The people working on the site try their best to keep them clean but they are fighting a losing battle. Further to this some of the drains on the service pitches are blocked.

We will continue to use this site as we always use the facilities in our caravan so this does not bother us but as the previous reviewer said I would recommend others to do the same.

I have also gone onto the Aquadis Loisirs website and e-mailed them a list of my concerns.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SGThomas 60 reviews from this member

Because all of the champagne region was full with migrant workers for the grape harvest, we stayed at this site again.

Nice pitches etc but the toilet facilities have reach such a level of neglect, with falling plaster, rotting wood work, black and grey mould that some people were refusing to pay their fees, others getting up petitions to send to Aqua-Loisirs ( the newish owners) and Camping Cheques (who inspect the site).

If you stay here, use your own facilities.

A pity because its pitches, geographical position and nearby hypermarket, make this a very useful site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil17 4 reviews from this member

I chose this site as a convenient stopover on the way to the South of France and on the return to Calais.

As a Municipal site, I expected it to be basic, but it was better than I had thought and worth the price. The reception staff were friendly and allowed me to practise my poor French on them.

The toilet facilities were very old and tired, but adequate.

Our 1 night stop on the way south turned into an extended second day due to a problem with the car. The staff did their best to help us with our problem, allowing us to park the caravan in a spare area while a local dealer found and fixed our car, eventually allowing us to leave the site around 5pm.

There was basic food on offer on the site, but we discovered on our extended stay that there was an excellent fast food restaurant, Flunch, in the nearby shopping complex which also housed a massive Carrefour.

I would certainly use this site again as a stopover if we ever travelled this route again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coquelicot 1 review from this member

This site is ideal for a stopover. Several of the pitches have water and waste on them which is handy if you want a fully serviced pitch but have a look at them first to pick one with the taps/drain on the correct side for your caravan otherwise your hoses may not reach. These pitches do not cost any more than the other pitches. Also you will need a 2-pin adaptor for the electric hook-up.

The Wi-Fi is no longer free at this site. You pay online for the Wi-Fi depending on how long you want and how many devices you want to use.

There are two shower blocks. The showers are not great as they tend to take a few minutes to heat up. The laundry facilities are fine. The washing machine is quite large and takes a token you buy from reception.

There is a bar/restaurant on site which was open every night. The menu had a reasonable selection, the food was good, the price was reasonable and it was ideal if you didn't want to cook.

The site was great for dogs as there is a park within the site for dog walking around a lake.

There is a great boulangerie/patisserie just outside the site but you can also order bread and pastries every day at the site. There is a huge Carrefour shopping complex about a five minute drive or 15 minute walk from the site. They take Camping Cheques which makes it a reasonably priced site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Seacrest 11 reviews from this member

Arrived at about 5pm and we hadn't booked so were very glad to get a pitch. Staff at reception were very helpful. The site was almost full and unfortunately our pitch was a very long way from an electric point. We couldn't hook up and reception couldn't lend us an extension. The toilet facilities are very dated and in need of some decoration. The pitches are spacious and there was easy access to water and drainage facilities. The snack bar was open but that too was a bit run down. It is mostly used for overnight stays and it is probably fine for that. I don't think it deserves it's 4 star rating.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SGThomas 60 reviews from this member

The other reviews on here give an accurate picture of Chalons as an stopover site

We had an enforced stop here whilst we waited for a replacement credit card - 5 days.

This gave an opportunity to cycle along the canal into Chalons itself. There are 3 distinct, but contiguous, parks or 'jards' which are quite beautiful. The centre itself is small and compact and well worth the visit.

The town used to be called Chalons sur Marne but they changed it recently to attract tourists.

The surrounding countryside is a bit bland but good cycling

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Champagne Ardenne   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Norths biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3203 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1094