Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Visitor Reviews - Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Site Reviews

Camping Municipal De Chalons En Champagne
Rue De Plaisance
Chalons En Champagne
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
51000   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 326 683800

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)

Pitches: 131
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 45 Reviews
              7/10 from 45 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 23 reviews from this member

Update from 2014 review.

Good news they have at last done some work in the sanitary blocks behind the reception. Gone are the two showers in the heated block that had mould growing in them as they have now been completely retiled. The unheated block has also been refurbished and looks a lot better for it. The refurbishment of the two blocks might not be “top end” but it is an improvement. The third block at the other end of the site was not open so we cannot comment on them.

However as per out visit in June 2014 the hedges were again completely overgrown and the pitches needed weeding. We cannot see why they cannot plan to undertake this earlier in the season, there was a bit of improvement when we returned in July but not much!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elizahigham 21 reviews from this member

Like most people we used this site as a stop-over. Not the easiest site to find and not helped by road closures for road works! Pitch size a bit tight for us as we tow a car, but we managed to squeeze it onto the pitch. Facilities were basic, could do with up-dating. Shady, level pitches, surrounded by hedges. Easy access to the motorhome service point. We didn't use any of the other facilities on site, so can't comment. We would use it again as a stop-over.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 23 reviews from this member

Follow up to my reviews of October 2011 & October 2012.

We continue to use this site as a one or two night stopover going North or South because of its proximity to the motorways and that it has hard-standing pitches. This year we have used it four times June, July, September and October.

We cannot believe how the owners of this site (Aquadis Loisirs) are letting this site go and not making any improvements to the facilities. When we arrived in June the hedges were completely overgrown and the pitches needed weeding. Things did improve during the year and when we arrived in October everything had been tidied up. We thought this a strange way of approaching things as it was about to close!

Quite frankly the sanitary facilities are dreadful having reached such a level of neglect and we also found that people were complaining. The people working on the site try their best to keep them clean but they are fighting a losing battle. Further to this some of the drains on the service pitches are blocked.

We will continue to use this site as we always use the facilities in our caravan so this does not bother us but as the previous reviewer said I would recommend others to do the same.

I have also gone onto the Aquadis Loisirs website and e-mailed them a list of my concerns.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SGThomas 69 reviews from this member

Because all of the champagne region was full with migrant workers for the grape harvest, we stayed at this site again.

Nice pitches etc but the toilet facilities have reach such a level of neglect, with falling plaster, rotting wood work, black and grey mould that some people were refusing to pay their fees, others getting up petitions to send to Aqua-Loisirs ( the newish owners) and Camping Cheques (who inspect the site).

If you stay here, use your own facilities.

A pity because its pitches, geographical position and nearby hypermarket, make this a very useful site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil17 4 reviews from this member

I chose this site as a convenient stopover on the way to the South of France and on the return to Calais.

As a Municipal site, I expected it to be basic, but it was better than I had thought and worth the price. The reception staff were friendly and allowed me to practise my poor French on them.

The toilet facilities were very old and tired, but adequate.

Our 1 night stop on the way south turned into an extended second day due to a problem with the car. The staff did their best to help us with our problem, allowing us to park the caravan in a spare area while a local dealer found and fixed our car, eventually allowing us to leave the site around 5pm.

There was basic food on offer on the site, but we discovered on our extended stay that there was an excellent fast food restaurant, Flunch, in the nearby shopping complex which also housed a massive Carrefour.

I would certainly use this site again as a stopover if we ever travelled this route again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kayjo 5 reviews from this member

We've used many municipal sites very happily but will not return to this one. We arrived in afternoon and it appeared quiet and pleasant. Receptionist was friendly. The sanitaires had obviously been freshly cleaned so looked OK, though very old. However, we noticed there were a very large number of small tents pitched, accompanied by 2 enormous trucks, so assumed maybe a scout camp or similar. When we returned in evening it was extremely noisy and some rather 'rough' looking characters about. In the morning the facilities were in a disgusting state so we made a quick getaway. The town itself was very pleasant, especially the boat trip which starts from the tourist information office. You can catch a bus into town but they're few and far between so we had to walk back.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Champagne Ardenne   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5127 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder