Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Leek Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Site Reviews

Leek Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Blackshaw Grange
Blackshaw
Moor
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 8TL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01538 300285

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
              8/10 from 56 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Coliver57 5 reviews from this member

Just had 3 excellent nights here. Very friendly and helpful wardens (thanks for the onion!), exceptionally clean facilities which were beautifully warm, despite the snow and freezing conditions. We were recommended the walk around the reservoir and it was stunning, helped by the snow and very blue skies. Decided to save the Roaches for our next visit as we are bound to return. Well recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 12 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site and we will return again. Although sited just off a busy road, there is very little, if any noise and the whole site is very peaceful.

This time we were pitched on the more open area and we preferred this as you could take advantage of the sun. There also seems to be more space than those pitches on the more shaded side underneath the trees.

Facilities were spotless and adequate. The washrooms near the reception area are heated, those in the middle of the site are not.

This is a great site for walking The Roaches, visiting Lud's Church, birdwatching at Coombes Valley or Rudyard Lake or Tittesworth Reservoir. There are also some pretty challenging cycle rides on roads that see little traffic. It is on the doorstep of some of the most stunning countryside in England.

Leek is a couple of miles down the road and has everything you need shopping wise, which is a good thing as the site shop is very limited in its offerings!

The welcome and all contact with staff was perfunctory and nothing more.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyasmum 18 reviews from this member

Nice site in lovely surroundings, close to excellent walking and cycle routes. Good walk from the site to the local reservoir; about 1. 5 miles each way. Plus walks around the reservoir itself. Lovely toilets and showers. Pleasantly laid out site. Staff friendly and showed us to our site, giving us a choice of location. However, I thought it was a bit over zealous to remind us to put our small dog on a lead just as we were moving her from inside our campervan to outside in order to feed her. She was well under control, never leaves our side and we were just about to tether her outside so she could have her dinner.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slowroad 38 reviews from this member

Up to the usual Camping and Caravanning Club standard. Friendly, helpful staff, clean, warm facilities, well-kept grass and pathways.

There's some road noise but not excessive.

Leek is a pleasant town well worth a visit, and the Roaches are very close.

If you're arriving from Leek by bike like me, go via Meerbrook rather than the main road, it's a lot less hilly. From Leek there's a railway cycle route to Rudyard Reservoir - lovely. There's also cycling along the Caldon Canal towards Stoke.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Corrine Campbell 2 reviews from this member

My Husband spent 9 days at this site and I joined him for the last 4. We would have preferred to be on the open side but because they thought bad weather coming we would be more protected in the trees. Not good for the satellite. Showers were very good and clean main staff were friendly but we still got in trouble. Site was practically empty but Duke went to say hello to a passer by (stand in warden) that dog should be on a lead. And the day before leaving I needed to pack my car and was questioned where are you taking that. Too load up of course and return to outside car park. Rules are rules but some flexibility guys. Great stop for getting out and about. Dog walk very small. Nice setting will go again as they do all year round.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chilephilly 19 reviews from this member

We spent a very enjoyable few days here. The site is sloping, with lots of trees: lovely, until it rains, when we had a river in our awning! The facilities were beautiful and clean but could do with being updated. The site is a little way out of Leek so there are no shops within walking distance. The Three Horseshoes (10 mins walk)does a good pint, the food looked nice but was out of our price range. The playpark is swings and a slide, but there was nowhere to play ball at all. Be careful when you leave - we clipped our caravan on the gatepost as the turn out of the site on to the access road is very tight; from what the warden said this is a common problem and telling people about it rather than doing something about it is unhelpful. We will return when this is improved.

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Staffordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Tickets to the March Volksworld Show in Surrey Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Spring Motorhome & Caravan Show 21/03 to 23/03
Major outdoor show for day visitors, weekend campers, and trade stands at Newark Showground

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5140 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1172