Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Alfriston Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Alfriston Camping Park
Pleasant Rise Farm
Alfriston
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN26 5TN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel:   or  07591880129

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
              8/10 from 95 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (9)

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coastwalker 34 reviews from this member

A decent enough site that charges per person, which is good for lone campers especially in this area, which is poorly off for campsites.

Not much to add to previous reviews. The young owner was very amenable and gave good advice, especially about what the site was like on Bank holiday weekends- a bit manic. (So I left early).

When I was there it was quite quiet and the facilities coped easily. Plenty of properly hot water and the powerful showers were appreciated.

Alfriston village is very quaint, and worth a walk round when the coach trips have gone. Lovely Church. Small shops only.

Seaford is the place on the coast nearest the site and is a pleasant little town with a good seafront. (go to the East end for plenty of 12 hour free parking and a reasonably priced beach caff).

Nearby Newhaven is a small working town dominated by the ferry terminal and a large ugly metal processing plant. The fort and Castle Hill are worth a visit though.

Eastbourne, the other way, is well known as God's waiting room but there were plenty of young people about too and the town is quite smart compared with many large resorts. The front is impressive.

The coast walks are lovely, but are where the Downs meet the sea, so it is up and down all the way. The Seven Sisters are best, but Beachy Head rather unimpressive apart from the lighthouse, and very crowded. Seaford Head is nice. The Cuckmere Valley is quite lovely, with a meandering river merging into brackish waters (crabs!) where it goes tidal.

The Coaster bus service is excellent and popular, running between Eastbourne and Brighton every 10 minutes.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fluffy99 3 reviews from this member

Site situated within easy walking distance of local amenities, nice cafes for breakfast nearby, the pubs in Alfriston are all fairly good.

Great site for walking the South Downs way and would highly recommend a walk to Littlington tea rooms, the pub in Littlington is also pleasant.

Shower facilities are recently upgraded and good compared to my last visit, clean and usable shower: toilet block. The other toilet shacks are unfortunately quite vile, they stink and are rotting away, there are holes in the door and it is not relaxing or pleasant using these facilities.

The site was very overcrowded but we pitched cheaply and did not book. Lots of noise until early hours poss not a good site for those with young children.

Would advise not to pitch near the woodland paths, we did and were kept up much of the night by people going to the toilet in the woods or behind our tent. Just unpleasant.

This site is good in many ways but I would not stay here for more than 1 or 2 nights as am someone who values my sleep, I also found the toilets too smelly and was retching when using them.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Welly2k 3 reviews from this member

I had visited this site about three years ago for the day to see family and it was quiet and very nice so we were looking forward to going again.

What a difference! We arrived Friday and it was already what I would call quite full but enough space to have some peace and quiet. Then it just kept getting busier and busier. Friday night was really noisy until about 1am. At one point I thought a fight had broken out in the woods as sound echoes round the valley. Ear plugs are your friend in this situation.

Saturday more and more people turned up this was more like a festival than 'family' camping! I have never had people having to pitch up quite so close.

Well behaved dogs are welcome at the site but many were running around loose and there was a lot of poo that had not been cleared up. I went to pick up some litter by our tent to find it was poo in a cup covered in tissue (dog or human?). We had to warn the children to watch where they were running.

It also turned out that there was a huge 50th birthday celebration that night so the noise just went on and on (again ear plugs saved us). Luckily up the other end of the field I felt for people camped near them.

Both nights we had people bumping into our tent and tripping over guy ropes.

I am not a party pooper and I love the sound of people laughing into the night while I fall asleep but if I wanted that sort of experience I'd have gone to a festival.

The area is glorious and there are some amazing walks we just won't be back to this site if there is a chance of a repeat of this weekend.

On the plus side the shower block was clean and worth walking that extra for the nice toilets. Everyone was friendly and during the day it was a nice atmosphere just far too many cars and units.

If you want to party then this is the site for you. If you want peace and quiet then I would find somewhere else.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyhagerty 2 reviews from this member

Lovely 'basic' site. Slightly sloping field. No marked pitches, but plenty of space. No hookups. No playground, but you are close to the sea, and The South Downs.

10 min walk into beautiful Alfriston, with it's pleasant pubs, all serving fine food. Loads of great walking around the site.

The showers and toilets were ok, and are being refurbished for 2016.

One thing, the owner told me that the site is CLOSED during the winter (from November 1st), however backpackers would not be refused.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dodgers49 4 reviews from this member

Back to basics camping, camping as I remember it when I first started camping way back in the 1960s!

Quite a nice pleasant location, at the end of a valley with hills to three sides, with woods to the right and left. The staff here were good, friendly and helpful when needed but left you alone to do your own thing when not. When you arrive you just pitchup wherever you like wherever there's a space and the staff come and see you for payment and with all the site details etc etc, seven quid a night per person, can't be bad. The place is just a camping field or two with basic facilities, a drinking water tap at each end of the field with a small toilet block and rubbish bins in the middle, plus and toilet and shower block with washing up facilities just outside the entrance to the field. Open fires are permitted but only in the fire baskets provided, you can buy a bag of logs for a fiver or source your own.

We arrived on Wednesday the 20th of May 2015 and the place was nigh on deserted, just several other campers apart from ourselves, didn't stay that way for very long though! On the Thursaday evening follwing our arrival the place started to fill up, and by the next day Friday it was nearly full, and by that Saturday evening the place was was virtually full, heaving with people and kids, must have been about 250 to 300 adults there plus around 150 kids alltogehter! Daytime it was kids running around playing ball games and various games, flying a kite or two, with the adults sitting around the tents enjoying the sunny weather and the atmosphere, as we did. The evenings were enjoyable too, sitting around the tents with open fires and BBQs, smoke everywhere, some music and partying but there's a 10. 30pm curfew here and the whole place quietens down very nicely shortly after. That weekend was a bank holiday weekend and by the Monday evening the place started to empty, was about half full, we left in the morning, Tuesday morning, was only about a third full by then.

Although the facilities where clean and adequate they did get a bit over streached when the place was full, had to wait about half an hour for a shower on the Monday morning. The pretty quaint old village of Alfriston is a short ten or fifteen minute walk from the site, several old pubs that serve food, several or more cafes and restaurants, plus a supermarket/deli that also has a post office, there's some gift and antique shops etc etc in the village too. Alfriston has some fine old buildings which date back hundreds of years. The surrounding South Downs scenery was very good, at times magnificent, a walkers paradise although we didn't do any hiking. The nice little seaside town of Seaford is about a ten minute drive from the campsite, pubs cafes restaurants and the like, shops and supermarkets, and a nice pebble beach with promenade, also has a train station and good bus connections, we spent some time there. The lovely little town of Lewes is short train ride away from Seaford, and on the Saturday of our stay we parked the car and went upto Lewes by train. Once again numerous shops and supermarkets and restaurants and cafes and pubs etc etc, and some nice old historic architecture, a very pleasant little town.

We liked this campsite and the surrounding area, we would go back one day, although not on a bank holiday, nor probably a weekend either, ( very busy ), but once again we did enjoy the kids and the full site and the atmosphere and so on and so forth.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynne F 4 reviews from this member

Nice quiet and roomy site with lovely surroundings. Some slopes but plenty of level pitches. Toilet block on the campsite is a bit primitive and could do with an update but there was a larger more modern block a little way away.

Staff were friendly and unobtrusive. Could pitch exactly where you liked. Site is surrounded by woodland so it was a delight to hear children playing fantasy games in the woods like they did before electronic games!

Fires are allowed by your tent in a fire pit which was a nice sight to see. Evenings were quiet which was nice with so many children staying.

On the Sussex Way for walkers and a short stroll into the charming village of Alfriston with lots of pubs cafes and shops.

This is our second stay and we will visit again for a short stay as it is not too far from home.

Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in East Sussex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6293 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0889
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec