Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Camping Le Ty Nadan

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Site Reviews

Castel Camping Le Ty Nadan
Route D Arzano
Locunole
Brittany   (Browse area)
29310   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 02 98 71 75 47

Facilities:  (Key)
                        

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 325
Open: 24/05/17 To 04/09/17

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
              8/10 from 20 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nellie72 12 reviews from this member

We booked for 7 days and had a caravan pitch overlooking the river with the plan being that if we didn't need to get back home for work, we'd extend our stay by a further week. Needless to say that we didn't extend our stay.

Thankfully I booked an extra large pitch as some of the pitches offered, (which will supposedly take a twin axle caravan, ) had the rear of the caravan rammed in the hedge whilst the hitch was sticking out into the road, leaving the occupants to hope that passing car drivers were paying attention and didn't drive into the front of their unit.

There were some really inconsiderate campers, both in the pre-erected tents and those with their own units. Raucously yelling at gone midnight, and then giving your young children bang snaps to play with before 8am seemingly being the done thing.

The site is advertised as having wifi. It does NOT. Even though staff were well aware of there being no wifi, they still sold us 20 hours worth, although in fairness this was refunded without question. The phone signal is also non existent, so those of you who like us who HAVE to work whilst you're on holiday (answering emails and the like) stay elsewhere or you'll be tearing your hair out. Or twice daily driving to a lay-by 4 miles away where there is a mobile phone signal, in order to reply to emails.

Perhaps we've been spoiled by other Castele sites such as Bien Assise in Guinnes and we were expecting the same standards of care, quality and general condition, especially with Ty Nadan being more expensive. We were not expecting to scratch the sides of our caravan in getting to our pitch thanks to the over grown trees and hedges, neither did I expect to have to tramp through stinging nettles in order to access the electricity hook up.

Simple things such as being able to turn a tap off for the caravan water supplies rather than it continue to flow all over the ground resulting in a muddy quagmire could be so easily remedied, but nobody seems to care.

Shower pressure left a lot to be desired. Out of eight showers in a block with only two in use, there was not sufficient pressure to wash soap suds out of my hair.

The pool complexes were fabulous but seemingly run by rowdy (and downright rude)gangs of British and Dutch teenagers making everybody elses' life a misery should you dare to encroach on their turf.

Bins were few and far between and always seemed to be overflowing.

Pitches near the breathers for the septic tank reeked of sewage, thankfully we were far enough away for our pitch not to be affected.

The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and managed to solve our issue with not being able to work (albeit the issue shouldn't have arisen in the first place) The lady teaching Segeways was very funny and supportive of my pathetic beginner status, thank you for your patience!

Perhaps our experience is influenced by having left Ty Nadan and found ourselves the next night on a small family run site which is both immaculate and with relatively modest but immaculately presented facilities. In short, for half the price of Ty Nadan, Camping Le Balcon de la Baie provided all the facilities we had expected (pool, showers, space, peace and tranquility) and failed to receive from Ty7 Nadan. Quimperle was a long way to tow a caravan for a week we didn't particularly enjoy.

The campsite is in the middle of nowhere and there's no opportunity therefore to stroll into a nearby village for tea or a quiet drink of an evening. The setting is lovely, but facilities and the environment could be so much better, and for the money I would expect it to be a LOT better.

However, a visit to Doelan just south of Quimperle is a MUST if you like seafood and sea views.

Pitch 400 is ideal if you are traveling with a dog as half the pitch stays in shade, but you'll be inundated with children at the front of your pitch accessing the river.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rethomas 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two week stay at Le Ty Nadan from the end of June through to the beginning of July. We chose this time as it was out of peak season knowing the site would be that much quieter and altogether more relaxed. This was our first time to this site although we are quite familiar with the Castel chain of sites and the surrounding area.

Our touring outfit is quite large and we arrived with family in another touring outfit at the same time. It quickly became apparent on arrival that space was pretty much wherever you could find it and at busy times would become a bit of a nightmare. I think they need to develop an arrivals procedure and mark out at least a couple of bays for outfits to pull into.

Check in was simple and we were greeted by very friendly staff. As our outfit was quite large, we were escorted to a large open playing field down by the river and taken via buggy to our pitch. This was a nice touch as it allowed us to plan the route through the site ensuring that we were properly able to negotiate any tight spots.

Pitching up was relatively simple and we had chosen a premium pitch with its own private sanitary facilities which included a separate shower and wash basin cubicle, kitchen sink and fridge as well as a separate toilet. All in all it was a really nice touch.

A couple of hours after we'd pitched up, we were asked by a member of staff if we'd like the grass on our pitch to be cut! This should obviously have been done in advance of our arrival and as we'd booked this specific pitch months in advance, there were no excuses as to why it hadn't been done! We did notice this recurring theme throughout our stay and found the ground keeping to be really quite poor considering the site is part of the Castel group. On other sites of this standard we have experienced finely manicured pitches, hedges and trees which makes a big difference to the overall appearance of a site and is something you come to expect.

Site facilities are fairly typical for a site of this nature and there are loads of activities available to chose from. This site is a haven for kids (young and old) although it would be quite easy to spend more than budgeted with the vast number of things to do costing extra. That said, with a bit of forward planning there should never be a dull moment at Le Ty Nadan!

There is a small grocery shop on site which has all the basic essentials and more although we didn't really use much of this as there are numerous supermarkets only a short drive away. The takeaway served some delicious snacks and the large cheeseburgers were a real treat! There was a nice but fairly basic selection of food on the menu in the site restaurant and the quality of the food was superb. The scallops, seabass and steak were firm favourites!

The Euros were on whilst we were there and a great atmosphere surrounded the bar area for the Wales games with a strong Irish contingent on site bringing some Celtic camaraderie to the proceedings! Very sad to see Wales knocked out!

The pool complex on site is great featuring a couple of small outdoor pools for young kids which had water slides as well as a deeper outdoor pool for adults. There was also a heated indoor pool with it's own slide and a few water jets dotted around the edge as well as a separate jacuzzi. Everything was kept spotlessly clean.

There are some lovely places to visit nearby and some worth a mention are the beach resort of Le Pouldu, Concarneau and Pont-Aven.

All-in-all we had a great time at Le Ty Nadan and I would recommend it to others. We felt it was let down by a lack of ground care and maintenance. Much more could be done to 'grade' the ground on the pitches, making them flat and level as well as trimming hedges and trees. We've seen this in other sites and there's no reason it shouldn't be done here. With more effort, care and attention to detail, this site has the potential to score 10/10!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CJ75 3 reviews from this member

We spent a week at Ty-Nadan at the end of August which worked well as the French were back to school therefore the campsite was quietening down and coming to the end of season. The site was easy to find only taking 2. 5hrs from St Malo, upon arrival staff were helpful and pointed us to our pitch which although was not what we paid for 'Castel Premium' near the river, we stuck with it as it was plenty big enough for our 5 man tent + a car. The staff also brought along a table with chairs, a bbq as well as a full size fridge which was a blessing!

The site is very good for younger children, we had a 9 year old in tow whom was kept busy with indoor & outdoors pools as well as the play area opposite our pitch. There are plenty of activities that are an additional cost, we only did the kayaking which was excellent!

The facilities were clean, the shower block had plenty of hot water although were unisex which we weren't too comfortable with.

The grocery shop on site was well stocked though on one occasion ran out of croissants? The wine was incredibly cheap though. There is one restaurant that only opened in the evening so there wasn't much for lunch only a takeaway doing greasy junk food. We ended up making our own sandwiches from food bought at the grocery store. We had takeaway pizza one night which was splendid and just what you need after a busy day.

The bar is open all day & evening and puts on entertainment for kids, we made it to bingo one night which got particularly busy.

The beach is about 20mins by car, they are well worth visiting as there are many coves with idyllic quiet beaches along the coastline. Overall this was a good campsite, one we would recommend for definite!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chinster1957 27 reviews from this member

Ty Nadan is a 5-star site situated in the south Brittany countryside a few miles outside Quimperle. Some of the roads around the campsite are narrow, not really squeaky bottom narrow, but it is worth planning your route properly before making the journey. For the record, we came along the N165 and then took the D769 and the roads were ok on this route. Take care as you approach the campsite as the entrance is not very well signed and is easy to miss.

The first building you will see on arrival is the site reception. Out of season you are able to choose your own pitch. They vary in size between large and obscenely large (extra charge), some also have a water connection (extra charge), most are level. The Camping Cheques book suggests you book but out of season the site is virtually empty and there are hundreds of pitches. You can buy Wi-Fi time which is supposed to be available site wide, we managed to get a signal from our pitch but it wasnít very strong. You can use the computers in reception and in the bar if you have trouble connecting to the Wi-Fi on your pitch. Tourist information leaflets are also available at reception.

Ty Nadan is part of the Castels group and is classed by them as a CLUB site. This basically means that they have lots of activities available. I wonít mention all the activities, there are simply too many. The more unusual ones on the site are Paint Balling, Segways, Horse Riding, Quad Bikes, a ďGo ApesĒ type Adventure Course, a Zip Wire Course, Canoeing and Underwater Diving. They also have a fantastic swimming pool complex (both indoor and outdoor), football pitch, tennis courts and undercover table tennis and badminton. All these activities are open throughout their season.

In May the site was very quiet during the week days but was a lot noisier at weekends when groups occupied the siteís own mobile homes and visitors came for the activities.

Ty Nadan has a small grocery shop, a takeaway (the pizzas are excellent), a restaurant and a bar together with a games and tv room.

I felt the toilet blocks were the main disappointment with this site. Poorly designed with few menís toilets, slippery floors, irritating lighting and freezing cold (the weather was particularly cold when we were there but external doors may have helped keep the wind out). There are three blocks on site, one at each end and one in the middle. When we arrived (mid May) only the middle one was open. The ladies have plenty of cubicles; however, the men only have three (one of which is a disabled toilet without a seat). For our first few days on site, one of the menís cubicles was permanently locked which meant that the men had only one proper toilet for the whole site! Later in our holiday they opened the toilet block down by the river, but this isnít very big either, having just two menís and two womenís toilets (plus two disabled and two childrenís toilets). It does have external doors on the shower section though. The third block was permanently locked so I donít know what it is like. I canít help feeling that in peak season these facilities are going to feel the strain.

There are a reasonable number of showers. These are operated by push button and have no temperature control. The main problem with the showers is the lighting which is activated by someone entering the block and goes out after a few minutes. This may be ok when there are plenty of people about but out of season the lights tend to go out mid shower.

Southern Brittany is a fantastic place to holiday. The beaches (around 25 minutes away) are really good and there are some lovely villages to explore. It is also a fantastic area for walking (we bought a book from the Tourist Information in Quimperle). Some of the best walks follow the coastal path. The coast is very rugged here and very picturesque. Another good walk is at the Roches Du Diable which is only a few miles from the campsite. These are large rock formations that are in and around the river and well worth seeing (especially as they are free). If you like biscuits or paintings then a visit to Pont Aven is a must. It is very picturesque with its river and harbour. If you are at Ty Nadan during May on an odd numbered year then be sure to visit Scaer for the Carnivale. The floats are enormous and elaborate; the whole thing is very French with plenty of street food, music and drink.

In summary, Ty Nadan is a good site with plenty going on to keep everyone amused. The toilets / showers could be improved but at least they were always clean. Out of season it is quiet but I suspect it becomes a whole lot livelier and noisy as the season progresses. If you like a site with a lot going on, then this site should be near the top of your list.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Olliethedude 2 reviews from this member

Very clean site, we had a great pitch 329 with the river running behind, the boys spent most of their time in it both age 14, great site for activities but you need to pay extra for these, archery paintballing zipwire adventure park with zip wires ropes extra, BEWARE the sat nav's have hissy fits after Rennes and send you towards Nantes, just put in ARZANO and you will find site

Only downside is it is remote but if you happy to stay on site there is plenty to do at a cost but very enjoyable and would go back again

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynn_brighton 11 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a rainy 10 days at Ty Nadan. Having expected variable June weather we chose Ty Nadan because of the excellent facilities and we wern't disappointed. We stayed in our own tent on a superior pitch with electricity. It was right on the river and a really beautiful location. It wasn't that near to the facilities but this didn't bother us because we took our bikes and cycled everywhere.

Good points

Excellent value for money. I thought that the pitch fees were very reasonable given all the on site activities included. Free activities included heated swimming pools with very good slides, Badmington courts all over the site, ping pong tables and more badmington in an covered barn area, bouncy castle and evening entertainment. Paid activities were also very reasonable. We did the adventure rope activities, canoeing and pony treking. The quads and segways also looked great fun but our kids weren't old enough for this.

The site was clean and well laid out. It is spread over a large area so if you are a long way from reception there is a lot of walking (as I say we used bikes)

Reception were friendly and helpful but there wasn't much tourist information available or weather updates provided which would have been useful.

Showers and hot water were free in the toilet blocks but the swimming pool showers were so hot and lovely we did all our showering there.

Grocery store was well stocked and reasonable. We did a big shop in L'Clerk for most of our food/drink but for the odd bit and daily baguette it was a good little shop.

Evening entertainment was friendly, relaxed and well thought out.

The site is well situated for Brittany. We visited Quimper, Quimperele, Carnac, Concarneau and Pont Scorff Zoo. All within 45 minutes drive.

Negatives

The shower/washing up block near us was large and functional but it wasn't cleaned as often as I would have expected and the washing up sinks were often blocked with water being very slow to drain away. Also no toilet paper on occasions.

We wanted to use the restaurant on the last night but they couldn't fit us in. The takeaway service was good though.

Rain. But I can't really blame Ty Nadan for that :)

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Brittany   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to the Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4510 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1211