Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280999

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 1st March - 6th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 147 Reviews
              9/10 from 147 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  147 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl13 1 review from this member

As other reviews have said, immaculate facilities & helpful staff. Plots are a good size & clearly laid out. Most seem to have electric hook up.

We just wanted a standard camping plot for a tent, without electricity and these unfortunately seem to run along the boundary wall, right next to the main A496 road running between Barmouth & Harlech. The sound of cars roaring past just the other side of the wall made it hard to get to sleep & we were woken around 6am by the traffic.

Having re-read the reviews now I'm back, I notice someone has mentioned this, but it didn't bother them. I must've missed that somehow. For us, it was really disappointing & for that reason alone, we wouldn't return to this site.

Also, I wouldn't fancy walking along that road to go to the beach, especially with children, as the cars go so fast. We drove to the sister site & parked there.

If that sort of thing doesn't bother you, then the rest of the site is very well run. We all had showers, some in the morning & some in the evening - the facilities were always clean, the water always hot. The washing up area was the same. We didn't use the launderette, but it looked well equipped & clean & tidy.

We visited Norbar which is about 3 minutes walk from the site - along paths, not on the road, it has a great menu, very varied & caters well for vegetarians & gluten free. They also run a pizza kitchen there too with lovely looking artisan type pizzas.

So whilst I am reluctant to be negative, I just wanted to alert non-EHU tent campers like us, about the proximity to the busy road.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lazychu 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from another great stay at Trawsdir. As always the facilities were immaculate, the staff are friendly and efficient and we really enjoyed our sea view.

There have been a few changes since our last visit in August 2016 so I thought it was worth a new review.

The dog and ball games field has now been split. This is brilliant for us as my son is sporty but afraid of dogs. He can now play cricket or footie without the dogs being around.

Also installed is a new lit and paved walkway across the ball games and dog walk area to the new bar next door called NorBar.

We went to NorBar on Tuesday to celebrate my birthday. At the moment they are running a limited menu as it is newly opened (they only started serving food last Friday) but everyone was happy with the menu and when the food came, it was excellent. They also serve a very well thought out range of wines and beers and have a large terrace for viewing the sunset or just looking out to sea and enjoying a drink. Dogs are welcome on the terrace overlooking the bay.

I have a food allergy (milk) and they coped very well with this. Would happily eat there again.

We didn't try the attached Fish and Chip shop but was told it opens Thursday, Friday & Saturday and it also has a terrace to enjoy the view from.

Spring has definitely sprung at Trawsdir, lots of spring lambs, blossom and birds singing. Wish I was still there and we only paid 13 a night with EHU. What's not to like?

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richardssecurity 1 review from this member

Great site loved the fantastic views across to the Lleyn, the staff are great, the site is great, god it was all great really recommend this site worked out under 15 inc, per night with 30% discount if off peak and stay for more than 3 nights;

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Berte74 1 review from this member

Fantastic site well kept and shower block and toilets were clean through out the stay. Set just far enough of the road not to hear any traffic great location Booked for the August Bank holiday they squeezed us in Saturday to Monday afternoon can't rate highly enough. If you are gluten free then get to the little chip shop in Harlech just around the corner from the castle the gf fish chips and sausage are out of this world. Half hours notice and it's all cooked separate. If its cake your after the coffee shops in Barmouth just opposite the spar are well worth the vist will be visiting again next year. Brilliant. Thank you all.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nessa_an_kids 5 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site with wonderful views. The toilet/shower blocks are closed between 5:30am-7:30am and 12-2pm for cleaning. Their is another toilet open during this time. My only criticism of this site is that the on site shop is only open until 5:00 and if you have been out all day this could be a problem

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharn 46 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 7 nights. Large camping field which was nice and flat! Fantastic views over Cardigan Bay. Small play area for children which is locked at 9pm so it's not too noisy for those who camp nearby. Parts of the camping field are a little exposed and it can get windy so we used an awning strap to make sure it didn't blow away!

Absolutely spotless facilities on this site at all times of the day. Toilets & showers are cleaned 2x daily and there are other facilities to use when main blocks are being cleaned. Spotless dishwashing facilities. Staff visible all day on the site cleaning & picking up litter etc. Really helpful when we were booked in showing us to our pitch. Fobs used for access onto site and into the toilets.

Site is next to a busy road but this didn't cause too much noise and the views make up for this. Access to beach is via the sister site via the main road which might be off putting for those with younger children. There are also lovely beaches within 10 minutes in a car.

My only negative about this site is that the children's playing field is also a dog walking field and although owners clear up after their dogs I didn't like the idea of the kids rolling about on the grass. The field is large enough to be divided. This was the reason I gave it 9 out of 10. All in all this is a lovely site for families and I will definitely be going back in the future - probably the best family site we have visited!

Previous     147 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4683 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938