Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thorpe Woodland Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Thorpe Woodland Camping In The Forest Site
Shadwell
Thetford
Norfolk   (Browse area)
                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel:

Facilities:  (Key)
  

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
              9/10 from 13 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

Photos (3)

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 167 reviews from this member

We stayed in a luxury lodge with a hottub and the place was outstanding.

The welcome at reception was excellent and everytime we spoke with them they were helpful and accommodating.

The lodges range from small ones to the huge luxury ones and we had the four bedroom lodge for the weekend. It came with everything you would need for a long weekend and was extremely comfortable. The dog especially liked the underfloor heating.

The site is set in the lovely Thetford forest and walks from the site are in abundance. Locally you have teh full forest to wander around and we spent an afternoon at the visitor centre of the forest where you can take part in Go Ape, on Segways and more.

Tesco is about 6 miles away and take 15 mins by car, plus you have all the shops you would find in a town too.

Onsite there is a bar and small shop which you can buy some basics.

We loved our stay, it was not the cheapest, but definitely worth a visit.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please be aware that this site has now closed for touring bookings. To search for another site, please click here

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen707 6 reviews from this member

A lovely site, that very sadly closes probably forever at the end of October 2013. We have had many happy holidays here over the past 15 years. No toilets have ever been there but that didn't put people off at all, they just took their own in caravan or a toilet tent.

Forest Holidays plan to build 70 log cabins for those non camping types. What a shame, check out this web site to support the cause http://www.savethorpecampsite.co.uk

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PaulandChrissy 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is truly beautiful. Nothing but grass, trees and completely tranquil. There are no toilet facilities, but that's what this campsite is all about, being at one with the natural surroundings. This is what campsites were like when l was a child back in the 60s. There are electric hookups, so its not totally cut of from the real world. As an astronomer with a telescope, this campsite is heaven. You can actually see the milky way with your eyes alone. Its humbling. Theirs walks a plenty, and the local town of Thetford has some history and plenty to see.

We will be back again and again that's for sure

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feistymaid 1 review from this member

Super site, the best thing they ever did was to open all year round. We have been coming here for years and everyone is so helpful and friendly. Warden is very nice and always helpful.

On the upside, the site is beautifully quiet especially in the low season, mostly level, the approach to the site is good - nice easy access, the few facilities that they have are good, lots of lovely walks for the young and the elderly - with or without dogs. The wildlife is plentiful.

On the downside, I would like to see the site shop offer more groceries. Otherwise. ? can't think of anything else. If you want flush toilets and showers, this is not the site for you.

Tesco's within easy drive, the town of Thetford not far away with plenty of shops and stores.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuandtan 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from an impromptu overnight stopover! Overall it was very enjoyable but I think that was as much to do with the excellent weather and company as it was the site itself.

A lovely quiet setting as you'd expect on the edge of the Thetford Forest, we pulled up at reception to find out where we could pitch up. We were advised that the site was a bit more securely run due to some gypsies moving in illegally up the road! Not the most assuring of things to be told, but I guess at least the forestry commission were acting responsibly. The only other gripe I had was that we arrived 45 minutes before their booking in time and were subsequently charged 3 extra, even though we had the entire rally field to ourselves!

As the site material states, there are no loos, showers or much else other than wonderful scenery and an access to wildlife that will amuse and surprise many of the visitors.

The lack of facilities is reflected in the price though, as it only costs 11. 80 for an overnight stay and our pitch was about 8 acres!

As long as you remember the distinct lack of most things, you can't go too far wrong.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4176 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window