Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Wingfield Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

The Wingfield Caravan Park
Montford Bridge
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 1EB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0785 393 4379

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   1m 

Pitches: 23
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 32 Reviews
              7/10 from 32 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Missmally 21 reviews from this member

We stayed on the camping field for 1 night and for 12 for our tent and 2 people we found it excellent value for money. Our pitch was level and the River Severn was at the bottom of the field. The owner was friendly and gave us a key for the heated toilet/shower block, which was very clean and plenty of hot water. Had an enjoyable and reasonably priced meal in the pub and apparently if you walk under the A5 bridge there is a cafe that does a superb breakfast.

If you are bothered by road noise then the A5 close by might put you off. Dogs are welcome on site and in the pub and you can fish from the campsite if that is your thing.

A lovely, well kept and informal site which we would return to.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cleggy2 1 review from this member

Just returned from Wingfield camp site. We were very impressed. We had a campervan & iPod awning and it was a lovely site. The grounds were immaculate, toilets & showers were very clean. There is a pub just outside the entrance where we thoroughly enjoyed a lovely meal (compliments to the chef). We would definitely go there again and recommend it to our friends. The owners were a very nice couple who were very helpful. It is only a short bus ride into Shrewsbury town which is pleasant. Not to be missed

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DeeD 10 reviews from this member

I have just returned from this campsite after finding it rather strange. The leaflet stated that there was a reception area. Well there wasn't! Then suddenly a man appeared from nowhere, booked us in, showed us where we could pitch & told us where the amenities were. He also handed us the key to enable us to get into the shower block & toilets. The block looked very new & unfinished. There were 2 showers & only 1 had a door on the first night that we stayed. However, this was rectified the following morning when the other door had been fitted. The paint hadn't even dried. The showers were not that warm or powerful.

The washing up area is outside, but under cover. Just a hot & cold tap. No sink! Just a metal draining board with paint pots stood on it. Not very hygienic. We preferred to wash up under the standpipe.

On the positive side, there was plenty of toilet roll & several hooks in the shower. Lovely views by the river. The campsite is set right behind a pub that serves lovely food, especially the Sunday carvery. At first we thought that it was the same business. But apparently not.

There is no child's play area, which suited us because we enjoy the peace & quiet. They allow fishing on the site.

It is also handy for the bus.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Muskatina 3 reviews from this member

From start to finish our stay here was delightful. There is a lovely pub on site that serves the best carvery at a very good price. Everyone gets their own personal electric point and tap. There is a lovely picnic area close by, the children can use the park that's by the pub and there is fishing for the men :-) the toilet block is being updated this season which will add to the fineness of the site. Will be going back

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Macdaf426 2 reviews from this member

This touring site needs some work. Some of the sites are quite tiny not enough room for a car and an awning. Although it has a barrier system in operation for some security, the toilet/shower block is situated outside this area, this block is not heated and quite cold whilst having a shower. The water just about manages to run and is on a timer where you have to keep pushing for more. Also the lights are on a timer too, so you are left in the dark whilst trying to get dry. There is only two toilets and two showers, not really adequate if the site is full, they are very antiquated and need updating, seemingly the owners told another holiday maker back in 2012 that this would be completed by the end of 2012 still waiting!

The tent field is overlooking the river but the tourers are next to a field which is used for dog walking and not overlooking the river. At 20 per night I would expect a lot more for my money, as said in another review there are a lot more sites around with a lot better facilities for this kind of money. There seemed to be quite a few long stayers on this site who seemed to have larger pitches than holidaymakers. I think more money should be spent on updating the tourer/toilet facilities as is being spent on the static field.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Prospect35 15 reviews from this member

Visited this site in October 2010 and was really pleased with it, then it belonged to the pub the Wingfield Arms and was lovely, the showers and loos were always warm, showers were great.

But this trip Dec 2011 for New Year we were disappointed, not run by the pub any more and the standards had certainly dropped, the shower block was not heated and the mens showers were faulty, the water trickled out the push button did not work, my husband was not impressed.

The pitches we had were on the small side and very muddy, the ground where they have put the tourers has not got any drainage and it was very muddy.

Saying that the New Years Eve Black and White party at the pub was great. Julie and Steve still run the pub and it is great. The carvery on New Years Day was to die for, one of the best I have had.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
50 Tickets for the NEC Oct Motorhome & Caravan Show Win a Clarke IG2000 2kW Generator

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1191