Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Wingfield Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

The Wingfield Caravan Park
Montford Bridge
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 1EB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0785 393 4379

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m   1m 

Pitches: 23
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 28 Reviews
              7/10 from 28 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Muskatina 3 reviews from this member

From start to finish our stay here was delightful. There is a lovely pub on site that serves the best carvery at a very good price. Everyone gets their own personal electric point and tap. There is a lovely picnic area close by, the children can use the park that's by the pub and there is fishing for the men :-) the toilet block is being updated this season which will add to the fineness of the site. Will be going back

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Macdaf426 2 reviews from this member

This touring site needs some work. Some of the sites are quite tiny not enough room for a car and an awning. Although it has a barrier system in operation for some security, the toilet/shower block is situated outside this area, this block is not heated and quite cold whilst having a shower. The water just about manages to run and is on a timer where you have to keep pushing for more. Also the lights are on a timer too, so you are left in the dark whilst trying to get dry. There is only two toilets and two showers, not really adequate if the site is full, they are very antiquated and need updating, seemingly the owners told another holiday maker back in 2012 that this would be completed by the end of 2012 still waiting!

The tent field is overlooking the river but the tourers are next to a field which is used for dog walking and not overlooking the river. At 20 per night I would expect a lot more for my money, as said in another review there are a lot more sites around with a lot better facilities for this kind of money. There seemed to be quite a few long stayers on this site who seemed to have larger pitches than holidaymakers. I think more money should be spent on updating the tourer/toilet facilities as is being spent on the static field.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Prospect35 15 reviews from this member

Visited this site in October 2010 and was really pleased with it, then it belonged to the pub the Wingfield Arms and was lovely, the showers and loos were always warm, showers were great.

But this trip Dec 2011 for New Year we were disappointed, not run by the pub any more and the standards had certainly dropped, the shower block was not heated and the mens showers were faulty, the water trickled out the push button did not work, my husband was not impressed.

The pitches we had were on the small side and very muddy, the ground where they have put the tourers has not got any drainage and it was very muddy.

Saying that the New Years Eve Black and White party at the pub was great. Julie and Steve still run the pub and it is great. The carvery on New Years Day was to die for, one of the best I have had.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Darrenforster99 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night and wasn't overly impressed. Was ok site for short stay but not really that good.

I turned up and looked at the campsite and it all looked like really nice area, look nicely laid out with nice parking area for cars and everything, but this isn't quite the same if your a staying in a tent.

When I went in to book the guy told me it was 6 for a night camping - ok not too bad. Then he took the 6 and pointed out to me where the camping field was. He told me it was on the field on the far side of the car park, it was out on it's own, wasn't even in the barriered off area within the proper campsite so it felt like you were camping on an unofficial field.

At first the location he explained as being the camping field actually turned out to be the dog walking path and the people there said no it's the field to the right of the dog walking field.

No sign up to indicate this actually was the camping field, just a sign that fishing was available there.

Camping field was very open to the public with no security to stop any member of the public from walking into there and very disconnected from main campsite. Also field was very open with views from the main road straight down onto the camping field. When I went there no-one else was booked in that night so I was on my own on this entire field.

The guy told me to park the car to the left of the bin on the pubs gravel car park, also the exit to the car park had a sign up stating that the barrier would be locked when the pub closed - I did notice that the barrier didn't get locked.

In the morning I went to use the shower - they have locks on the toilet/shower room and asks for a 10 refundable deposit for the key for toilet/shower room. Considering the quality of the showers I don't know why he bothers locking the room. The showers dribbled water - no water pressure at all and took numerous presses of the button to get them to get any type of hot water out - once the water was hot that was fine but it did just dribble rather than pouring water. Also half way through trying to have a shower all the lights went off in the shower room - the sensor for the lights was outside the shower room so you have to fumble round in the dark trying to open the shower door to re-activate the light - stupid idea and could be quite dangerous, light sensor should really be in the shower area.

In the area there was the Wingfield Arms pub, that was quite a nice pub to sit in at night. Had a nice big fire and the people in the pub seemed quite nice and friendly.

Shrewsbury town centre wasn't too far away, nearest shop was the Shell garage and that was opened quite late on a Sunday night, to get to the Shell Garage you turn right out of the campsite and then right again following the signs to Welshpool, at the bottom of the road turn right again and you will see the large petrol station with supermarket.

Also one other very important thing - the camping field had no fence at the bottom to prevent access to the river at the bottom. This campsite possibly wouldn't be suitable for people with young children as there is a chance they could end up in the river.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xxbassam 1 review from this member

We have stayed at Mountbridge before in past few years but not at Wingfield Park. We found it very pleasant and clean everywhere. The site is improving all the time the toilet block whilst very clean needs better shower units - not much hot water -shower button needs to be pressed every few seconds

The owner tells me that a new shower/toilet block is in hand to be ready towards end of year.

We enjoyed our stay and plan to be back again later this year. Good dog walk but lacking in poo' bins, ALSO no waste water dumping place other than on the ground. Did not get time to try the PUB. All will improve this year we were told.

Would not hesitate recommending it.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Foxmeister 3 reviews from this member

Lovely welcoming site. Clean toilets, nice level field & a great pub on site. The landlord & landlady of The Wingfield could not have been more welcoming & lent us crockery, glasses & even packed up some supper for us!

Only downside is the traffic noise but not much can be done about that. There's a play area for kids and a nice stretch of the Severn for those who like fishing.

Make sure you don't forget any essential supplies because we didn't spot any shops within walking distance.

We'll definitely be returning though.

Previous     28 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7932 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0391