Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Berwick Seaview Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Berwick Seaview Caravan Club Site
Billendean Road
Spittal
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 1QU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01289 305198

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 93
Open: 28/03/2014 To 04/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 41 Reviews
              9/10 from 41 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin.eneale 28 reviews from this member

We arrived here about 11. 30 at night after a terrible journey from home. One of the wardens popped out to say hello and give us the code for the shower block. We found all the wardens at this site to be amongst the friendliest we've ever found.

The views from the site are amazing, you can see the sun rise up out of the sea if you're up early enough. It doesn't have a kiddies play area, however there is a football pitch that we were able to use. The shower blocks were spotlessly clean and warm, the site also offers laundry facilities as well.

Would recommend having a wander around the site to pick your pitch as there are dead ends that could be difficult to get out of if the site is busy. We couldn't access the Internet for much of the holiday, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment of our time here.

Berwick is a short trip away, the local bus picks up and drops off right outside the site. Parking is free if you use council run sites, although you need to display a parking disc. These are free from council offices and you can use them throughout the local area. A walk around the town walls is worth ago, there are information boards dotted around telling you their history. Also the barracks are very interesting, they contain 3 museums.

Loads to do, with Lindisfarne, Bamburgh and Alnwick all not too far away at all.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 23 reviews from this member

We had two visits to this excellent site this year, 3 nights on the way up to Scotland and 2 on our return home.

We have a compact motorhome and had one of the best seaviews from our pitch, overlooking the wee town of Spittal, the vista is endless.

The W/C and shower block are spotless, the wardens really work hard to keep the site in tip top condition.

The site is on a slop next to the main east coast railway line, most of the pitches are flat, however you may need some levelling blocks.

The site office has a well stocked shop, you can order a daily newpaper, Berwick has a couple of well known superstores and retail park.

One of the motorhome service points is on the hill on the one way circuit, this restricts the follow of vehicles, however there is a second service area at the top far end of the site, highlighted on the site plan.

Dog walking is off site, a short walk to the beach and promenade.

This is a coastal site and can get very windy.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rustytoon 1 review from this member

This was a going back to my roots trip back to place I was brought up in.

The main reason was going home for my dad's 80th birthday.

So a great trip down memory lane walking round the streets of Spittal and bumping in to folk I grew up with.

The site has changed beyond recognition from the one one I used to cut through on my way home from school!

The site itself was great, wardens were very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much of a problem either.

Do not get put off by the trains as you hardly hear them now that the majority of them are electric.

If you do not have a sea-view on your pitch you do not need to go far to get one.

Its a great place to base yourself, we got the train down to York for the day and was there in under 2 hours.

We as a family enjoyed this site and will return again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M AND M89 1 review from this member

Wonderful site for sea views, well maintained grounds, and clean and tidy toilet and disabled blocks. Well situated for all areas in Northumberland. 10 minute walk to Spittal which has a lovely clean beach. Wardens helpful and pleasant. Train line runs along back of site but not disturbed unduly. Site rather hilly for disabled persons and no dog walking facilities on site. Had a great stay and would recommend site to others. Thank you M & M

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lincoln57 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to a Caravan Club site and it is easy to see why they are so popular! The welcome and advice offered by the site staff was outstanding.

We opted for a grass pitch near the facilities block which had a stunning view over the roof-tops of the local village and across the bay to Berwick. All of the facilities on site were clean and well maintained. The toilet block was warm and clean whatever time of day it was visited, water was always hot and individual washing cubicles are provided.

There is a railway line at the rear of the site but this was not intrusive, a passing train sounded like a low hum and only lasted about 4 seconds. After a while we didn't even notice. I was more disturbed by the bells of the village church striking 5am!

Berwick is a pleasant 30 minute stroll from the site and has many interesting features, every corner turned reveals some of the history and character of the town. The barracks museum is well worth a visit, admission is 4 for adults (free for English Heritage members) and includes 3 museums, 2 with a military theme and one featuring aspects of the town history and an art collection. Berwick is well served with restaurants, cafes and tea rooms, one we particularly liked was Fortes in Hide hill, good choice, good value and a friendly welcome.

Spittal, the local village, has several pubs and there is a general store in the village. The beach and promenade is a pleasant walk and a footpath at the end of the promenade leads further afield with some great coastal views.

Other local attractions include Bamburgh castle and the Grace Darling museum. Edinburgh is about an hours drive away and we got the park and ride from Newcraighall (3. 40 return) we also saw the sites on a bus tour (13 each)which starts and ends by waveley station. Alnwick gardens and Castle are a short drive away but with 2 adult tickets costing 52. 50, quite an expensive visit.

Supermarket wise, Berwick has Asda, Tesco, Aldi and Morrisons which can be found in that order driving from the campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thebroons30 6 reviews from this member

Just back from a week at this lovely site.

We have only recently joined the caravan club and the standard of this site is a credit to the club.

Well maintained, spotless warm toilets / showers and our pitch had a lovely view over the sea.

Whilst the pitches are large the road separating them is quite narrow so can be a bottleneck if several units are trying to leave at the same time.

We also noticed that several vans bottom rear would catch on the road when entering the site due to the road layout so if you plan to go enter very slowly.

Overall a lovely site that we will return to without hesitation.

Previous     41 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7657 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0430