Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cae Du Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Cae Du Campsite
Beddgelert
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01766 890345

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  10m  10m  10m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 175 Reviews
              9/10 from 175 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  175 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trewsie 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved this stunningly located, beautiful campsite. Easy access, with plenty of space to pitch up, love very walks and a dog walk area. New wardens were lovely and so helpful. Shower block was really clean. No signal or wifi which suited me. Small shop with staples and cute trinkets. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wessies 1 review from this member

We (my husband and I) stayed at this site on the last May bank holiday. The site is set back off from the road, so there is very little road noise. It is approximately ten minutes walk to the main town of Beddgelert where you will find a few pubs and restaurants. Lots to do and see around the area. Campsite is very well set out with enough room on the pitch for a caravan and a car. There is a man there on the weekend that cooks pizza on site, a well stocked shop at reception. Do not forget the bug spray as the bugs are out in full force. Well worth a visit, will definitely return. Do not understand the negitive reviews, go and check it out for yourselves.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 58 reviews from this member

This was my second visit to Cae Du Campsite. Usual warm welcome on arrival and freedom to pitch as space allowed in any of the electric free fields. I chose a beautiful grassy spot by the river, mountain views all around and soon felt at home. There was plenty of space this time of year. The locals did let on that the midges are a pain in the summer, not just around the campsite but in Beddgelert too. There is a shop and reception at the entrance and a security pass operated gate. The new toilet block is now finished and is kept clean and tidy.

Beddgelert is a 10 minute walk away with a selection of pubs, gift shops, art galleries and even a steam railway station. My favourite was the Tanronnen Inn. The beer was good and locals friendly! What more do you want. There is a Tesco store at Portmadog (20 minutes drive) and check out the Purple Moose Brewery and shop.

The main reason for visiting was access to the mountains. Moel Hebog, Cnicht and Snowdon can all be climbed by walking from the site. Fantastic, and even snow was added during my stay.

A well equipped site, close to pubs, close to mountains, close to perfect. Will definitely return again.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Freecamper 6 reviews from this member

This site is very good large pitches nice walks all staff were ok you can walk into the village were there is some nice shops and pubs. The only things is very dark at night no lights and the site know how the charge and all the extras add up and a rip off price on bank holidays by putting 10 a night on the price and if you tow a car with your motorhome you get charged for that to but a caravan and car and a tent and car are the same price as a motorhome and no car rip off site I will not be going back

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Friendly Wendy 2 reviews from this member

This site will definitely one that we go back to again as the staff were so helpful and friendly and the facilities outstanding yet still fitting nicely into the beautiful countryside setting.

It's an easy walk into the village with plenty of eating places and lovely walks along the river. We stayed longer than planned as we kept finding more walks to do and were made very welcome as we drove back in at teatime having said goodbye in the morning thinking we were moving on! A special site x

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claireat1 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic location and panoramic views. The campsite has friendly owners and really informative about the surrounding area, our children loved getting daily updates from Tony! There is plenty of space allowing for choice as to where you pitch up. Be aware that in most non electrical hook up pitches you cant park your car next to your tent as the fields or areas are fenced off. It makes the camp look nice but not always practical as you do need your vehicle next to your tent ideally. However there are a few places that allow this. You can pitch right next to the lovely little river that runs through the site but be aware of the midges. Take repellent with you but don't let this put you off this lovely little place. The shop stocks most essential non perishable goods. There is a pizza hut that opens on a fri and sat night throughout July and August and the pizzas are gorgeous and reasonably priced. The toilets, showers and washing up facilities are really good, well maintained and clean. The children enjoyed the freedom and space being able to ride their bikes around and use the 2 swings hanging from the tree! It feels safe as there is a one way system in and out and barriers to enter and exit. Beddgelert is a short walk along the river and really pleasant. We will definitely return but with jungle formula repellent packed!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chri5B 5 reviews from this member

A very well run site. Not crammed full at all, even on a warm weekend during the summer school holidays. In fact, it's probably the most space we've had on any campsite for a long time.

Toilets & showers were always clean for us. Quiet time from 10pm was well respected by all (not that it was noisy during the day though).

There is a very nice circular walk of about 6 miles straight from the campsite - follow the back lane to Llyn Dinas (past the coppermine). Once you reach the lake, turn right and follow the well marked path that climbs up the hill. Keep following the path and you reach a junction with a fingerpost sign. Take the left option, descending down to the car park at Aberglaslyn and then follow the path up the valley. Beddgellert makes an excellent stop for tea, cake, ice cream or beers. That leaves an easy 10 minute stroll back to the campsite.

Don't forget the insect repellant, citronella candles or anything else that might help keep the midges away. We pitched near (but not right next to) the river and the midges were out in force when there wasn't much of a breeze to keep the little blighters away.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ThePatFamily 3 reviews from this member

Great site, perfectly located just 10/15mins pleasant walk intom Beddgelert. So convenient for bars, restaurants, craft shops and provisions. Even the Welsh Highland Steam Railway is easily reached by walking. Of course the site is very handy for walking, too - Snowdonia and more. Parked up car when arrived and then didn't move it for 4 days!

Fabulous views from site, although it could be better if trees/bushes were planted around the new toilet block. Hopefully that is in plan for future.

Check in straight forward and friendly and staff pleasant throughout stay. Onsite shop with basics (no beer or wine, though). Amenity blocks were clean and pleasant. Showers seemed busy in mornings til around lunchtime but quiet in evening. Free warm showers (once you got hang of pressing button every 15 seconds). Washing up area is open but undercover.

There were clouds of midges around but none of us were seriously bitten. I was stung on back of neck by something that got stuck in my hood - very stupid of me but quite painful so make sure you have insect bite/sting cream with you.

Lots of little nooks for pitching tents relatively privately. EHUs are plentiful. Barrier card for access to site requires 10 cash deposit. We didn't move our car from the site during our stay but assume barrier works well and is locked betweeen 10pm and 7am. 10 refunded on departure.

We were well prepared for the 10pm -7pm quiet rule, having gotten ourselves worn out from walking. However, our neighbours ignored the rule, constantly talking from before 6. 45am to after 11. 30pm (when I managed to fall asleep). Really needed a warden to enforce the rule! We would have loved to have listened to the birds, etc and enjoy nature but the constant drone from our neighbours' tent ruined this for us. We were glad of the noise of some rain to drown them out! Perhaps a few posters in the amenity blocks to remind guests of the noise curfew might reinforce this rule(similar to the posters to remind of check out time at 12pm), especially since music isn't allowed to mask noise from neighbouring units.

On the whole a wonderful site, perfect location and great facilities. We look forward to going back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PamnJim 5 reviews from this member

Such a brilliantly positioned site. Mountains all around, a trickling, tumbling river sauntering by. The site insists on peace and tranquility and it certainly is, 'lights out' at 10pm! & no music in earshot of others, excellent!

Bedddgelert village more than deserves its 'best in the UK' title, so ideallic, pls check their website and see.

Llanberris for the Snowdon Railway is only a 40min drive away. The Welsh Highland Railway station(a MUST do) also in the village and both walkable from the site. A mini-mart in the Post Office for essentials and plenty of eateries. Try and avoid the A498 from the north down this pass if you can, although scenic it's VERY steep, narrow and quite hairy esp. With a caravan. Apart from the midges absolutely feasting on me, it was perfect and just heavenly. Wow effect 10/10 !

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: B20pjg 5 reviews from this member

An excellent site. Open aspect with clean toilets and facilities. Easy walk into Beddgelert and direct access to the fells. Arrived without a booking but were able to have a hardstanding with electric hookup. Plenty of space with a range of units from motorhomes, caravans right through to D of E one man tents.

Previous     175 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
50 Tickets for the NEC Oct Motorhome & Caravan Show Win a Clarke IG2000 2kW Generator

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5939 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1172