Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cae Du Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Cae Du Campsite
Beddgelert
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01766 890345

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 165 Reviews
              9/10 from 165 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  165 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Topher52 2 reviews from this member

We loved this campsite, it is peaceful, relaxed, clean and secure. You can walk to the centre of Beddgelert in 10-15 minutes to eat out or have a drink in the local pubs. The site is clean, showers are hot on a push button, bathrooms are very clean. Washing up area, spotless as well. You can choose where to pitch your tent, no official tent pitches, we liked this.

We walked to the summit of Snowdon from this campsite via Watkins footpath.

We will be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjules 4 reviews from this member

Returned from a 2 night midweek camping trip and was very impressed with this site. The no noise rule after 10pm worked for us and we just sat outside watching the sun go down with a glass or 2 of wine. Booking in was easy and we were shown a map of the site and told were we could pitch to get the best of the evening sunshine. Shower facilities were always clean as was the pot wash area, our only concern was the outside toilet facility and hand washing area, not really a problem but could understand anyone seeking a bit more privacy.

We took the wifi option available to post our snaps of our accent of Snowdon for family and friends, but found it to be poor reception, cutting off all the time and for £6. 00 for 12 hours a little pricey.

Overall we would recommend this site and will visit again if in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chorleydave 5 reviews from this member

You turn off the A498, cross the river over a metal bridge and are faced with what looks like the Burma-Thailand border crossing, complete with metal fencing, barriers, gatehouse and spotlights. Entering the gatehouse and registering to camp, you are handed a glossy leaflet describing the site and facilities and, also, a separate sheet with prices and a long list of rules and regulations. As you enter the site and pass the amenities block, you are treated to signage repeating the rules of the campsite. Rather than Burma-Thailand, you might find yourself looking out for the EU flag, as with all the rules and regulations you might be forgiven for believing that the site is run by the European Commission.

However, once on the site, you are now left to your own devices. There are various areas in which to pitch, some very open, others more sheltered and you can pitch where you like (within reason). The toilets, dishwashing, laundry facilities and washrooms, complete with free power showers are kept absolutely spotless by the friendly staff, who will always exchange pleasantries when passing. The views from the pitches are to die for.

Without the excessive rule displays, I would give this site 10/10 for every rating. To be fair, the only rule that really affected me was the unreasonably early 10PM curfew. As I have often argued, some people only get away once a year and to expect them to be either in bed or in silence at ten o clock - earlier than they would when they have to be up for work next morning - is asking a bit much. Eleven o clock would be more reasonable. Still, I suppose it keeps some of the idiots away and there are three pubs and a hotel within twenty minutes if you want to stay up a little later.

I'd go again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nestos 2 reviews from this member

A nice quiet site, the staff were polite and helpful. Superb views of the surrounding mountains when the sky is clear. We weren't too keen on the toilets with outside basins and no soap dispensers but, they were kept clean as were the showers. It's not clear whether the water from the washing up sinks and showers blocks is of drinking quality, some signage would help. Apart from those two minor niggles, I would definitely use this site again

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Scotsgirl 5 reviews from this member

This is a large site with a mixture of hard and grassy areas. Many are sloping, so you may need blocks. Tents have separate areas from caravans and motorhomes. It lies outside the village and it is a good 15 minutes brisk walk. Parking in village is difficult and the roads have no pavements in the main. Alternative route to village is from site along river bank on a path. On arrival at site we were told to choose our own pitch. Only one block was open so we went far end of site beside it. Building work around the block was ongoing and when I asked about grey water disposal, was told to empty it in ditch beside our pitch! Needless to say I didn't. Block had three showers in ladies and two sinks. Toilets were in a separate block outside, four of them. This was not enough when site got busy at weekends. There were two handbasins outside but no soap or driers there or in shower block. So much for handwashing after you've been to the toilet! Showers only open seven am to ten pm. Laundry facilities good. Good shops and place to eat in village. Midgies can be bad so take some repellant.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob ashcroft 11 reviews from this member

I know the weather helps - and we had nine glorious days of sun with no rain at all - but this really is a great site.

Two toilet blocks with very good facilities and both very clean and well kept. Reception office never seems to close! It also sells a few essential items. Very friendly owner and staff. They have fairly tight rules on noise (no music) which I personally think is great. They don't allow groups, which is also great. There were several Duke Edinburgh type small groups there over the week, but they all behaved impeccably.

The site is quite open, with superb mountain/valley views, but there are sheltered spots in the trees if you want it. Midges don't appear to be so much of a problem here as in other local sites we have been to - probably due to the more open nature of the site.

I can't fault any of it really, and that weather was just incredible. I knew I should have left my Gortex at home.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline2209 8 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site! We have just returned from 10 nights at Cae Du, we didn't want to leave. The site as advertised is very peaceful and the scenery surrounding the site is just stunning. When we arrived it had been raining so we chose a hard standing pitch, these were roomy but if we had one slight niggle, they do look a little scruffy. Maybe some new tarmac or loose stone would just finish it off to a higher standard as the hardstandings were loose tarmac chips which when the weather got warm, did tend to stick to your shoes. However, that is the only slight niggle about the whole site that we have. Of course, we could have moved but we had so much space we stayed put. The showers/toilets were clean at all times. The grass is kept well cut. The dog walking area was great too. The wardens are strict on the rules regarding no music/no noise after 10pm & dogs on leads at all times - but as long as you stick to these, you are left to your own devices. This is not a site for wild parties, but if you are looking for a peaceful retreat to sit & watch the wildlife, listen to birds and look out for the wild goats on the mountains then this is the site for you. A special mention to the wardens on the site who went above and beyond their call of duty when my husband was taken ill, they arranged an ambulance, offered to look after our dog whilst I travelled to hospital with my husband, and even drove an hours drive to collect us. We were so very grateful. We didn't get a tv reception or mobile phone signal but we knew that before we came. Take the opportunity to enjoy the tranquillity of the area. Fab riverside walk into Beddgelert village or you can choose the walk along the road. Village has a few pubs, some fab eating places and some amazing walks. The copper mine just along the lane is also worth a visit. All in all, a fabulous site, we can't wait to return. We feel their website really does not do them justice.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rileybobs 1 review from this member

We have stayed at this site a number of times and found the overall experience to be superb on each occasion. The sites location is excellent and the toilets and showers are spotless. The site offers various areas for both tents and caravans with electrical hook ups available, which is extremely handy to have with a three year old child in tow !

There are some fantastic walks and the village is a stones throw away. The scenery and views are perfect. The on site staff are a pleasure to speak to and they will do their best should any problems arise during the stay.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Veedub camper 3 reviews from this member

A lovely peaceful site set in the foothills of Snowdonia. The hills tower above you and give you lots to look at. The site is strict on noise which is good and isnt overdeveloped. The showers are good and if I remember correctly free. Beddgelert is a lovely little town with 3 good pubs, although they are all robinsons pubs so beer choice is very similar in each. I think its the watkins path up snowdon which starts on the road just outside the campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S-and-G 2 reviews from this member

2 adults / small tent / no kid / no dog / 5 days

We stayed here last summer, a bit longer than predicted as we encountered a severe issue with our car. The people in charge are super friendly ! They let us use their phone and took messages for us from the garage (our cellphones had no signal). There is a small useful shop (the most important article being 'Smidge that midge' !)

I can't remember the price, but it must worth it as the scenery is amazing, the location great with a small river, some sheeps being on the other side. You are in a valley, surrounded by mountains. No pitch delimitation in the tent zones. The showers are wide, very good. The facilities are cleaned several times a day so it's perfect. Beddgelert is a cute town, not far by foot.

You don't need your car to have great walks. For instance you can go to Aberglaslyn Pass (by Beddgelert), then up in the beautiful moutain offering great view on the bay and later another one stunning on Llyn Dinas, then back to the camping by the track close to Sigun Copper Mine.

Best camp site we ever went, definitely recommend it !

Previous     165 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3378 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0518