Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cae Du Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Cae Du Campsite
Beddgelert
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01766 890345

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
              9/10 from 161 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nestos 1 review from this member

A nice quiet site, the staff were polite and helpful. Superb views of the surrounding mountains when the sky is clear. We weren't too keen on the toilets with outside basins and no soap dispensers but, they were kept clean as were the showers. It's not clear whether the water from the washing up sinks and showers blocks is of drinking quality, some signage would help. Apart from those two minor niggles, I would definitely use this site again

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob ashcroft 10 reviews from this member

I know the weather helps - and we had nine glorious days of sun with no rain at all - but this really is a great site.

Two toilet blocks with very good facilities and both very clean and well kept. Reception office never seems to close! It also sells a few essential items. Very friendly owner and staff. They have fairly tight rules on noise (no music) which I personally think is great. They don't allow groups, which is also great. There were several Duke Edinburgh type small groups there over the week, but they all behaved impeccably.

The site is quite open, with superb mountain/valley views, but there are sheltered spots in the trees if you want it. Midges don't appear to be so much of a problem here as in other local sites we have been to - probably due to the more open nature of the site.

I can't fault any of it really, and that weather was just incredible. I knew I should have left my Gortex at home.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline2209 8 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site! We have just returned from 10 nights at Cae Du, we didn't want to leave. The site as advertised is very peaceful and the scenery surrounding the site is just stunning. When we arrived it had been raining so we chose a hard standing pitch, these were roomy but if we had one slight niggle, they do look a little scruffy. Maybe some new tarmac or loose stone would just finish it off to a higher standard as the hardstandings were loose tarmac chips which when the weather got warm, did tend to stick to your shoes. However, that is the only slight niggle about the whole site that we have. Of course, we could have moved but we had so much space we stayed put. The showers/toilets were clean at all times. The grass is kept well cut. The dog walking area was great too. The wardens are strict on the rules regarding no music/no noise after 10pm & dogs on leads at all times - but as long as you stick to these, you are left to your own devices. This is not a site for wild parties, but if you are looking for a peaceful retreat to sit & watch the wildlife, listen to birds and look out for the wild goats on the mountains then this is the site for you. A special mention to the wardens on the site who went above and beyond their call of duty when my husband was taken ill, they arranged an ambulance, offered to look after our dog whilst I travelled to hospital with my husband, and even drove an hours drive to collect us. We were so very grateful. We didn't get a tv reception or mobile phone signal but we knew that before we came. Take the opportunity to enjoy the tranquillity of the area. Fab riverside walk into Beddgelert village or you can choose the walk along the road. Village has a few pubs, some fab eating places and some amazing walks. The copper mine just along the lane is also worth a visit. All in all, a fabulous site, we can't wait to return. We feel their website really does not do them justice.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rileybobs 1 review from this member

We have stayed at this site a number of times and found the overall experience to be superb on each occasion. The sites location is excellent and the toilets and showers are spotless. The site offers various areas for both tents and caravans with electrical hook ups available, which is extremely handy to have with a three year old child in tow !

There are some fantastic walks and the village is a stones throw away. The scenery and views are perfect. The on site staff are a pleasure to speak to and they will do their best should any problems arise during the stay.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Veedub camper 3 reviews from this member

A lovely peaceful site set in the foothills of Snowdonia. The hills tower above you and give you lots to look at. The site is strict on noise which is good and isnt overdeveloped. The showers are good and if I remember correctly free. Beddgelert is a lovely little town with 3 good pubs, although they are all robinsons pubs so beer choice is very similar in each. I think its the watkins path up snowdon which starts on the road just outside the campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S-and-G 2 reviews from this member

2 adults / small tent / no kid / no dog / 5 days

We stayed here last summer, a bit longer than predicted as we encountered a severe issue with our car. The people in charge are super friendly ! They let us use their phone and took messages for us from the garage (our cellphones had no signal). There is a small useful shop (the most important article being 'Smidge that midge' !)

I can't remember the price, but it must worth it as the scenery is amazing, the location great with a small river, some sheeps being on the other side. You are in a valley, surrounded by mountains. No pitch delimitation in the tent zones. The showers are wide, very good. The facilities are cleaned several times a day so it's perfect. Beddgelert is a cute town, not far by foot.

You don't need your car to have great walks. For instance you can go to Aberglaslyn Pass (by Beddgelert), then up in the beautiful moutain offering great view on the bay and later another one stunning on Llyn Dinas, then back to the camping by the track close to Sigun Copper Mine.

Best camp site we ever went, definitely recommend it !

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martbailey 1 review from this member

The most beautiful quiet campsite in stunning scenery I have stayed at. All the facilities you require and all very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Unbelievable amount of space to pitch and you should never be overlooked.

A very understated site whose owners wish to keep it low key and have got it just right.

An honest 10 min walk into Beddgelert along a quiet lane and riverside path. Ideally situated to get to Snowdon or Porthmadoc.

If you want somewhere quiet and peaceful in the most stunning location this is the place.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Starsnstripes 1 review from this member

After reading the reviews on here, my partner and I booked 2 nights at this campsite. We thought it sounded perfect for our needs. We wanted somewhere in the right location, which was peaceful and this campsite sounded perfect because there were reviews that the owners were very strict on noise and the rules they had in place. Unfortunately we found this not to be the case on the 2nd night.

On arriving, we found it to be tucked away off the main road which was good because it was out of the way of the traffic. The lady in reception was lovely and very friendly as she explained the layout of the camp to us as it was our 1st visit there. As she was so welcoming we knew we were going to have a great stay. We stayed in july (from friday evening to sunday morning) and although the weather was very warm, only half of the pitches were taken up both days. We had an electric hook up pitch and didn't have any problems whatsoever with it. We had a bit of trouble parking up the van as the ground wasn't very flat but that was soon sorted.

Cae Du is certainly in a very scenic location. Mountains and woods surround the site and it was very peaceful. The other campers that were there before us were quite friendly and we couldn't wait for the weekend to begin. We chose a spot out of the way (which was the other side of the camp so furthest away from reception) and hoped no one else would come near us so we could just enjoy the peacefulness. The only complaint we had the 1st day was that another family there had 3 dogs, of which all were off lead and they kept wandering up to our tent and making our dogs bark. Considering the camp site is supposed to have a strict rule about dogs being kept on leads, we found this strange. But the next day the family were still there and the dogs were on the leads, so I wonder if the warden had had a word with them.

It was lovely waking up to such lovely scenery the next morning. I would definitely recommend this site if you want somewhere with a view. It is only about a 10 minute walk from the centre of the Beddgelert village, which we took a stroll down on the last night and it was a lovely, scenic walk. Be careful with the footpath after the kissing gate though, as it's a bit uneven.

This site is great for taking dogs as there is a small lake area and dog bins around there. We passed many people with dogs, of which many were off lead but we kept ours on lead 24/7 there.

My partner spoke to the warden and he said he was very friendly and polite and the toilets outside were clean but there were many spiders.

You have to pay a 10 deposit (which you get back at the end of your trip) for a key which gives you access inside and outside of the camp (via the barriers which makes the camp more secure. I liked this idea). No vehicles are allowed inside the camp after 10pm to keep the noise down for other campers but this was not the case on the 2nd night.

If it weren't for the families on the 2nd night then we would have had a wonderful time. But they spoilt it and we couldn't complain about them to reception as reception is only open from 7am-10pm. 2 vans had pulled up behind us about 8pm on our last night of which we thought nothing of it and just after 10pm, another van joined them. We thought maybe they had sorted this out in advance with the owners as they had arrived late. But they were very noisy and spoiled the experience for not just us but some other campers next to us. One of the vans next to us was packing up and leaving at 11pm so I think they were either moving to another part of the site or they were leaving the site. These 3 vans sat there talking loudly and laughing with a campfire on the go (which is another thing the campsite says they don't allow) from 10pm - 1am. And at 1am they were constantly banging their van doors so I expect it weren't just us they were keeping awake, but many others.

We would have complained as I expect others would if the reception was open, but it wasn't. So we are wondering how the site is strict on their rules if they don't enforce them. Maybe they knew the owners and they allowed them to do it (but I doubt it).

I hope this was just a one off for us and we were just unlucky to go on a noisy night as the reviews on here all said the site was very quiet and peaceful. We would stay here again as the 1st night was very quiet but it has put us off a bit with the 2nd night. We paid extra to stay here instead of one of those unstrict sites which are cheaper for the peacefulness and we might as well have just stayed at one of those cheaper ones after that!

If you come here, make sure you bring plenty of insect repellent. There were midges everywhere and even though we had mosquito nets on our van, they still managed to get in

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rthomas 3 reviews from this member

We loved this site, easy walk in to town. So you didn't need the car. The town has several excellent pubs with reasonable priced good food. Also a very good camping shop that sold every thing at very reasonable prices. The site had friendly staff. Looks a lot of rules at first but because of these the site is excellent. Good shower blocks. Wash up area good. Beautiful scenery all around, several good walks from the site. We will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Welsh Mel 5 reviews from this member

Fabulous location and very peaceful. We called out of season and plenty of space without prebooking. Within walking distance of Beddgelert where there are cafes and pubs.

Wardens were friendly and helpful. Electric hook ups available, showers clean and warm. No music allowed which is great if you want to sit and admire views. ~Take insect repellent as midges were rife! Would certainly recommend and return.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3476 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0488