Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cae Du Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Cae Du Campsite
Beddgelert
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01766 890345

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 157 Reviews
              9/10 from 157 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  157 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rileybobs 1 review from this member

We have stayed at this site a number of times and found the overall experience to be superb on each occasion. The sites location is excellent and the toilets and showers are spotless. The site offers various areas for both tents and caravans with electrical hook ups available, which is extremely handy to have with a three year old child in tow !

There are some fantastic walks and the village is a stones throw away. The scenery and views are perfect. The on site staff are a pleasure to speak to and they will do their best should any problems arise during the stay.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Veedub camper 3 reviews from this member

A lovely peaceful site set in the foothills of Snowdonia. The hills tower above you and give you lots to look at. The site is strict on noise which is good and isnt overdeveloped. The showers are good and if I remember correctly free. Beddgelert is a lovely little town with 3 good pubs, although they are all robinsons pubs so beer choice is very similar in each. I think its the watkins path up snowdon which starts on the road just outside the campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martbailey 1 review from this member

The most beautiful quiet campsite in stunning scenery I have stayed at. All the facilities you require and all very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Unbelievable amount of space to pitch and you should never be overlooked.

A very understated site whose owners wish to keep it low key and have got it just right.

An honest 10 min walk into Beddgelert along a quiet lane and riverside path. Ideally situated to get to Snowdon or Porthmadoc.

If you want somewhere quiet and peaceful in the most stunning location this is the place.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Starsnstripes 1 review from this member

After reading the reviews on here, my partner and I booked 2 nights at this campsite. We thought it sounded perfect for our needs. We wanted somewhere in the right location, which was peaceful and this campsite sounded perfect because there were reviews that the owners were very strict on noise and the rules they had in place. Unfortunately we found this not to be the case on the 2nd night.

On arriving, we found it to be tucked away off the main road which was good because it was out of the way of the traffic. The lady in reception was lovely and very friendly as she explained the layout of the camp to us as it was our 1st visit there. As she was so welcoming we knew we were going to have a great stay. We stayed in july (from friday evening to sunday morning) and although the weather was very warm, only half of the pitches were taken up both days. We had an electric hook up pitch and didn't have any problems whatsoever with it. We had a bit of trouble parking up the van as the ground wasn't very flat but that was soon sorted.

Cae Du is certainly in a very scenic location. Mountains and woods surround the site and it was very peaceful. The other campers that were there before us were quite friendly and we couldn't wait for the weekend to begin. We chose a spot out of the way (which was the other side of the camp so furthest away from reception) and hoped no one else would come near us so we could just enjoy the peacefulness. The only complaint we had the 1st day was that another family there had 3 dogs, of which all were off lead and they kept wandering up to our tent and making our dogs bark. Considering the camp site is supposed to have a strict rule about dogs being kept on leads, we found this strange. But the next day the family were still there and the dogs were on the leads, so I wonder if the warden had had a word with them.

It was lovely waking up to such lovely scenery the next morning. I would definitely recommend this site if you want somewhere with a view. It is only about a 10 minute walk from the centre of the Beddgelert village, which we took a stroll down on the last night and it was a lovely, scenic walk. Be careful with the footpath after the kissing gate though, as it's a bit uneven.

This site is great for taking dogs as there is a small lake area and dog bins around there. We passed many people with dogs, of which many were off lead but we kept ours on lead 24/7 there.

My partner spoke to the warden and he said he was very friendly and polite and the toilets outside were clean but there were many spiders.

You have to pay a 10 deposit (which you get back at the end of your trip) for a key which gives you access inside and outside of the camp (via the barriers which makes the camp more secure. I liked this idea). No vehicles are allowed inside the camp after 10pm to keep the noise down for other campers but this was not the case on the 2nd night.

If it weren't for the families on the 2nd night then we would have had a wonderful time. But they spoilt it and we couldn't complain about them to reception as reception is only open from 7am-10pm. 2 vans had pulled up behind us about 8pm on our last night of which we thought nothing of it and just after 10pm, another van joined them. We thought maybe they had sorted this out in advance with the owners as they had arrived late. But they were very noisy and spoiled the experience for not just us but some other campers next to us. One of the vans next to us was packing up and leaving at 11pm so I think they were either moving to another part of the site or they were leaving the site. These 3 vans sat there talking loudly and laughing with a campfire on the go (which is another thing the campsite says they don't allow) from 10pm - 1am. And at 1am they were constantly banging their van doors so I expect it weren't just us they were keeping awake, but many others.

We would have complained as I expect others would if the reception was open, but it wasn't. So we are wondering how the site is strict on their rules if they don't enforce them. Maybe they knew the owners and they allowed them to do it (but I doubt it).

I hope this was just a one off for us and we were just unlucky to go on a noisy night as the reviews on here all said the site was very quiet and peaceful. We would stay here again as the 1st night was very quiet but it has put us off a bit with the 2nd night. We paid extra to stay here instead of one of those unstrict sites which are cheaper for the peacefulness and we might as well have just stayed at one of those cheaper ones after that!

If you come here, make sure you bring plenty of insect repellent. There were midges everywhere and even though we had mosquito nets on our van, they still managed to get in

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rthomas 3 reviews from this member

We loved this site, easy walk in to town. So you didn't need the car. The town has several excellent pubs with reasonable priced good food. Also a very good camping shop that sold every thing at very reasonable prices. The site had friendly staff. Looks a lot of rules at first but because of these the site is excellent. Good shower blocks. Wash up area good. Beautiful scenery all around, several good walks from the site. We will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Welsh Mel 5 reviews from this member

Fabulous location and very peaceful. We called out of season and plenty of space without prebooking. Within walking distance of Beddgelert where there are cafes and pubs.

Wardens were friendly and helpful. Electric hook ups available, showers clean and warm. No music allowed which is great if you want to sit and admire views. ~Take insect repellent as midges were rife! Would certainly recommend and return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rthomas 3 reviews from this member

Loved this site beautiful scenery. Very relaxed where you put your tent. Nice flat areas. Bit rocky for banging pegs in. Site very clean. Showers excellent. Lovely walks from the site. The village of beddgelert only a few minuets walk which has good pubs and restaurants. A shop and ice-cream parlour, there is also a large camping/walking shop there with lots of bargains well worth a visit. We will be back

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TONY B 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic site! Set within a valley on the Snowden range with the most amazing views from every pitch. They have ehu on both grass and hardstanding and also non electric pitches whereby you can pitch right by the river that runs through the site. The facilities are great but as previously mentioned are locked between 10pm and 7am whereby you have to use outside toilets which could be better. The owner is a proper character with a joke for every occasion and the wardens were excellent with loads of knowledge of the surrounding areas and great walks from the campsite. There is a nice 10 min walk to Beddgelert along the riverside where you can find a few pubs and other places to eat (fantastic pizzas and ice creams from the parlour in town). The town itself is one of the nicest you'll find on the Snowdon range and is a real hidden gem. Be warned of the turbo mossies but don't be put off - just go prepared. Can't wait to go back - simple as that!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 46 reviews from this member

We chose to stay at this site for just one night but wish we had stayed for two. The site is in the most beautiful valley surrounded by lovely welsh mountains. Although not perfectly manicured and the hardstandings are a little scruffy, the area is stunning.

The facilities are good. There is a shower block with three showers in each of ladies and gents with wash basins, but the toilets are outside. The shower blocks are locked at night so you need to use the outside loos. Work is in progress to build more outside toilets and improve the facilities generally. Red tape has stopped progress at the moment but it is hoped to finish the build soon.

The walk into Beddgelert is lovely, a lot of money must have been spent to create the footpath along the river into the village. The village itself is pretty and not as commercialised as Betws y Coed. Visit the grave of Gelert and read the story; it is a sad one! The other direction from the site is the Sygun Copper Mine. My husband went to it, walking distance although he went by bike. He said it was worth the entrance fee of 8. 95 as it was very interesting.

Wardens were all very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were allowed to pitch early as well, which gave us a longer day's stay. A little road noise but nothing to bother you. The river runs by the site and there is a small lake. Would we come back? Oh yes. It is lovely, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Big Paul H 5 reviews from this member

Just had a fantastic week here, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The site is awesome stunning views all round and most pitches are quite flat. The facilities are spotless with 2 shower blocks and toilets, the camp shop has just what you need to get you out of an emergency and a small selection of dvds to rent for the kids if the weather goes off. The site entrance is locked at 10pm until 7am for your security and a 10pm all quiet which everyone seems to comply with, which is great after a good day in the fresh air. All in all a great site nice and quiet but still great for the kids. We will definitely be back next year. The village is only 5 mins walk away by the river for pubs and local shops.

Previous     157 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6566 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0703