Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cae Du Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Cae Du Campsite
Beddgelert
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01766 890345

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 170 Reviews
              9/10 from 170 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  170 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claireat1 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic location and panoramic views. The campsite has friendly owners and really informative about the surrounding area, our children loved getting daily updates from Tony! There is plenty of space allowing for choice as to where you pitch up. Be aware that in most non electrical hook up pitches you cant park your car next to your tent as the fields or areas are fenced off. It makes the camp look nice but not always practical as you do need your vehicle next to your tent ideally. However there are a few places that allow this. You can pitch right next to the lovely little river that runs through the site but be aware of the midges. Take repellent with you but don't let this put you off this lovely little place. The shop stocks most essential non perishable goods. There is a pizza hut that opens on a fri and sat night throughout July and August and the pizzas are gorgeous and reasonably priced. The toilets, showers and washing up facilities are really good, well maintained and clean. The children enjoyed the freedom and space being able to ride their bikes around and use the 2 swings hanging from the tree! It feels safe as there is a one way system in and out and barriers to enter and exit. Beddgelert is a short walk along the river and really pleasant. We will definitely return but with jungle formula repellent packed!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chri5B 5 reviews from this member

A very well run site. Not crammed full at all, even on a warm weekend during the summer school holidays. In fact, it's probably the most space we've had on any campsite for a long time.

Toilets & showers were always clean for us. Quiet time from 10pm was well respected by all (not that it was noisy during the day though).

There is a very nice circular walk of about 6 miles straight from the campsite - follow the back lane to Llyn Dinas (past the coppermine). Once you reach the lake, turn right and follow the well marked path that climbs up the hill. Keep following the path and you reach a junction with a fingerpost sign. Take the left option, descending down to the car park at Aberglaslyn and then follow the path up the valley. Beddgellert makes an excellent stop for tea, cake, ice cream or beers. That leaves an easy 10 minute stroll back to the campsite.

Don't forget the insect repellant, citronella candles or anything else that might help keep the midges away. We pitched near (but not right next to) the river and the midges were out in force when there wasn't much of a breeze to keep the little blighters away.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ThePatFamily 3 reviews from this member

Great site, perfectly located just 10/15mins pleasant walk intom Beddgelert. So convenient for bars, restaurants, craft shops and provisions. Even the Welsh Highland Steam Railway is easily reached by walking. Of course the site is very handy for walking, too - Snowdonia and more. Parked up car when arrived and then didn't move it for 4 days!

Fabulous views from site, although it could be better if trees/bushes were planted around the new toilet block. Hopefully that is in plan for future.

Check in straight forward and friendly and staff pleasant throughout stay. Onsite shop with basics (no beer or wine, though). Amenity blocks were clean and pleasant. Showers seemed busy in mornings til around lunchtime but quiet in evening. Free warm showers (once you got hang of pressing button every 15 seconds). Washing up area is open but undercover.

There were clouds of midges around but none of us were seriously bitten. I was stung on back of neck by something that got stuck in my hood - very stupid of me but quite painful so make sure you have insect bite/sting cream with you.

Lots of little nooks for pitching tents relatively privately. EHUs are plentiful. Barrier card for access to site requires 10 cash deposit. We didn't move our car from the site during our stay but assume barrier works well and is locked betweeen 10pm and 7am. 10 refunded on departure.

We were well prepared for the 10pm -7pm quiet rule, having gotten ourselves worn out from walking. However, our neighbours ignored the rule, constantly talking from before 6. 45am to after 11. 30pm (when I managed to fall asleep). Really needed a warden to enforce the rule! We would have loved to have listened to the birds, etc and enjoy nature but the constant drone from our neighbours' tent ruined this for us. We were glad of the noise of some rain to drown them out! Perhaps a few posters in the amenity blocks to remind guests of the noise curfew might reinforce this rule(similar to the posters to remind of check out time at 12pm), especially since music isn't allowed to mask noise from neighbouring units.

On the whole a wonderful site, perfect location and great facilities. We look forward to going back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PamnJim 1 review from this member

Such a brilliantly positioned site. Mountains all around, a trickling, tumbling river sauntering by. The site insists on peace and tranquility and it certainly is, 'lights out' at 10pm! & no music in earshot of others, excellent!

Bedddgelert village more than deserves its 'best in the UK' title, so ideallic, pls check their website and see.

Llanberris for the Snowdon Railway is only a 40min drive away. The Welsh Highland Railway station(a MUST do) also in the village and both walkable from the site. A mini-mart in the Post Office for essentials and plenty of eateries. Try and avoid the A498 from the north down this pass if you can, although scenic it's VERY steep, narrow and quite hairy esp. With a caravan. Apart from the midges absolutely feasting on me, it was perfect and just heavenly. Wow effect 10/10 !

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: B20pjg 5 reviews from this member

An excellent site. Open aspect with clean toilets and facilities. Easy walk into Beddgelert and direct access to the fells. Arrived without a booking but were able to have a hardstanding with electric hookup. Plenty of space with a range of units from motorhomes, caravans right through to D of E one man tents.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Topher52 2 reviews from this member

We loved this campsite, it is peaceful, relaxed, clean and secure. You can walk to the centre of Beddgelert in 10-15 minutes to eat out or have a drink in the local pubs. The site is clean, showers are hot on a push button, bathrooms are very clean. Washing up area, spotless as well. You can choose where to pitch your tent, no official tent pitches, we liked this.

We walked to the summit of Snowdon from this campsite via Watkins footpath.

We will be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjules 4 reviews from this member

Returned from a 2 night midweek camping trip and was very impressed with this site. The no noise rule after 10pm worked for us and we just sat outside watching the sun go down with a glass or 2 of wine. Booking in was easy and we were shown a map of the site and told were we could pitch to get the best of the evening sunshine. Shower facilities were always clean as was the pot wash area, our only concern was the outside toilet facility and hand washing area, not really a problem but could understand anyone seeking a bit more privacy.

We took the wifi option available to post our snaps of our accent of Snowdon for family and friends, but found it to be poor reception, cutting off all the time and for 6. 00 for 12 hours a little pricey.

Overall we would recommend this site and will visit again if in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chorleydave 6 reviews from this member

You turn off the A498, cross the river over a metal bridge and are faced with what looks like the Burma-Thailand border crossing, complete with metal fencing, barriers, gatehouse and spotlights. Entering the gatehouse and registering to camp, you are handed a glossy leaflet describing the site and facilities and, also, a separate sheet with prices and a long list of rules and regulations. As you enter the site and pass the amenities block, you are treated to signage repeating the rules of the campsite. Rather than Burma-Thailand, you might find yourself looking out for the EU flag, as with all the rules and regulations you might be forgiven for believing that the site is run by the European Commission.

However, once on the site, you are now left to your own devices. There are various areas in which to pitch, some very open, others more sheltered and you can pitch where you like (within reason). The toilets, dishwashing, laundry facilities and washrooms, complete with free power showers are kept absolutely spotless by the friendly staff, who will always exchange pleasantries when passing. The views from the pitches are to die for.

Without the excessive rule displays, I would give this site 10/10 for every rating. To be fair, the only rule that really affected me was the unreasonably early 10PM curfew. As I have often argued, some people only get away once a year and to expect them to be either in bed or in silence at ten o clock - earlier than they would when they have to be up for work next morning - is asking a bit much. Eleven o clock would be more reasonable. Still, I suppose it keeps some of the idiots away and there are three pubs and a hotel within twenty minutes if you want to stay up a little later.

I'd go again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nestos 2 reviews from this member

A nice quiet site, the staff were polite and helpful. Superb views of the surrounding mountains when the sky is clear. We weren't too keen on the toilets with outside basins and no soap dispensers but, they were kept clean as were the showers. It's not clear whether the water from the washing up sinks and showers blocks is of drinking quality, some signage would help. Apart from those two minor niggles, I would definitely use this site again

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Scotsgirl 5 reviews from this member

This is a large site with a mixture of hard and grassy areas. Many are sloping, so you may need blocks. Tents have separate areas from caravans and motorhomes. It lies outside the village and it is a good 15 minutes brisk walk. Parking in village is difficult and the roads have no pavements in the main. Alternative route to village is from site along river bank on a path. On arrival at site we were told to choose our own pitch. Only one block was open so we went far end of site beside it. Building work around the block was ongoing and when I asked about grey water disposal, was told to empty it in ditch beside our pitch! Needless to say I didn't. Block had three showers in ladies and two sinks. Toilets were in a separate block outside, four of them. This was not enough when site got busy at weekends. There were two handbasins outside but no soap or driers there or in shower block. So much for handwashing after you've been to the toilet! Showers only open seven am to ten pm. Laundry facilities good. Good shops and place to eat in village. Midgies can be bad so take some repellant.

Previous     170 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a BUZZ RACK Buffalo 4 Bike Tilting Carrier Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Benington Chilli Festival, Hertfordshire 29 31st August
Celebrate all things chilli in the hidden gem of a garden at historic Benington Lordship.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7048 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0703