Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Knaresborough Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Knaresborough Caravan Club Site
New Road
Scotton
Knaresborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG5 9HH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01423 860196

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  5m  5m  5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 74
Open: 28/02/2014 To 04/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
              8/10 from 53 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nightcreatur 7 reviews from this member

Quality site, extremely well kept by the very nice wardens, the on site bar/bistro gives a warm and friendly welcome, decent ale and good food at a reasonable price, families welcome, children's menu, high chairs etc.

Site office sells a few food items milk, eggs etc as you need a car to reach any local shops.

Mainly hard standing pitches, some grass and I think this site also accepts tents.

Usual caravan site problem with the some dog owners who cannot tell the difference between a dog walk area which is clearly marked and a children's play area. First visit to the play area with the children and I had to remove two large piles of the proverbial. Consequently the children were unable to use the play area.

There is a local pub down the road but it appears closed at present.

Mother Shiptons Cave rather disappointing and quite expensive at 20 for a family of 4 and car. Not great underfoot in places and plenty of steps, so not good for anyone with walking difficulties or prams. Several benches and tables spread about if you want to take your own picnic.

Plenty of shops in Knaresborough and Supermarkets in nearby Harrogate.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaqugra 28 reviews from this member

Excellent site not far off the A1. Easy to get to but a bit of caution is required as you go out of Knaresborough onto Ripley Road as there is a walled area right next to the road which is also quite narrow - not a problem but worth being aware of it.

Very warm welcome from the wardens who are happy to tell you about the local area and facilities etc. All pitches are reasonably level although the site itself is slightly sloping. The facilities are central and kept very clean.

The Bar / Bistro never appeared very busy despite the site being nearly full, dogs are welcome in the conservatory area. There are plenty of dog friendly pubs in Knaresborough which is about a half an hour walk away. We walked through the woods to get to Knaresborough but this was very muddy so walked in on the road the second time - good paths all the way. There is also the Guy Fawkes Inn a ten minute walk away into the village which is also dog friendly but the pub itself is a bit tired.

Would recommend the site and will be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Normann6 1 review from this member

A first class site, with first class wardens! Beautifully maintained by wardens and volunteers, the site has a welcoming feeling to it. Toilet block facilities are immaculate.

The pitches for caravans are mainly hardstanding, with some grass areas for those who prefer them, plus a field catering for both vans and tents, with most pitches having electric hook-ups. The wardens and their volunteers are friendly and helpful and for those not wanting to cook their evening meal there is even a restaurant on site, complete with bar.

The site is at Scotton, just outside Knaresborough, easily accessible from the A1, and handily placed for trips to Harrogate, York and the Yorkshire Dales. There is a children's play area located away from site traffic and a dedicated dog walk.

Knaresborough is an interesting old town, overlooking a river. It has an abundance of eating places which will not break the bank and plenty of parking spaces at a low cost. I am going back in October!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loll1 12 reviews from this member

Can see why this site is busy it is a lovely site showers and toilets usual cc standards. We spent 3 nights here managed to get a late availability.

If you are a walker the walks in the area are not very scenic, we did the knaresbourgh round which is a 20 mile circuit, don't waste your time doing it, the foot paths are very overgrown and muddy.

It is a 30 min walk into town with plenty of pubs, restaurants and take aways. Blind jacks and the worlds end both allow dogs inside. The guy fawkes pub is 5 mins walk from site, it has new owners but do not eat in here food awful, shop bought pies and powdered mash. Food in the on site bistro far better.

We will visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sylvieb 19 reviews from this member

This was our first trip to Yorkshire and we really enjoyed a couple of nights at this site. The whole site was immaculate and the wardens were very helpful. The Bistro served really good food at a reasonable price. Knaresborough is a lovely little town, with a lot of history. We met up with friends who now live in the area and had a grand tour of the town and the castle. There was plenty to see, the oldest chemist shop in England was very quaint. The castle dominates the town and there were even ravens there. All in all a lovely place to visit. Will certainly go back.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and lena 50 reviews from this member

This was our first time on the clubs Knaresborough

Site and I see why its always booked up well in advance, we managed to get a pitch at short notice although I was not expecting there to be any spaces and just called the site on the off chance.

The site wardens were extremely helpful and friendly on our arrival and directed us to a suitable pitch close to the toilet block which suited our needs.

Another added bonus is the on site bar and restaurant which serves good but basic pub grub and we ate there on two occasions during our stay which was welcome break from cooking an evening meal in the van.

The site facilities were up to the usual C. C standards and the toilet block was always nice and warm which you appreciate in the Winter months.

There is a bus stop outside the site entrance and there is a fairly regular service into Knaresborough which we took advantage of as parking in town can be a problem and the bus drops you of outside Sainsburys which is handy if you going food shopping.

Knaresborough has a weekly market in the town center which is worth a visit and there is good selection of small independent shops plus a small Tesco's and as previously mentioned Sainsbury's.

We really liked this site and have already re-booked for summer 2012

Previous     53 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2654 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0391