Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Plymouth Sound Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Plymouth Sound Caravan Club Site
Bovisand Lane, Down Thomas
Plymouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL9 0AE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01752 862325

Facilities:  (Key)
   

Nearby:
1m  1m   5m  5m  5m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 57
Open: 04/04/2014 To 06/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
              8/10 from 6 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Djar1150 1 review from this member

We visited the site on 4th and 5th April 2014.

We arrived around 8pm and were met by the two wardens; we found both to be friendly and helpful.

The site isnít signposted overly well and the entrance to road is very tight. We have a 7 meter long Motorhome which coped with the roads, but I would suggest a large caravan would have difficulties navigating the roads leading to the site.

This is a very basic site as clearly stated and has little to no facilities, toilets or a shower block.

We were asked to park at the rear of the site, I think stand 22.

We have a rear sitting room and therefore once the silver screen was over the windscreen we could have been parked anywhere which was disappointing as the main reason for visiting was to see the views.

My partner did ask the warden if we could drive our van in, this wasnít permitted for some reason.

There are no hard standing pitches, this turned out to be a pain as the grass had been cut, but hadnít been collected. We have two dogs and the mess was terrible as it was raining the whole time we were there!

Overall I would only recommend this site for a couple of nights at the most, for those with a Motorhome the only place to park is at the rear of the site as most of the other pitches are slopping. If you have the same layout as us you wonít see a thing!

Hope that helps!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnygunny 9 reviews from this member

A small site in a lovely location with spectacular views (and sunsets) over Plymouth Sound. The final road approach is a little narrow in places but didn't present us with any problems.

Caravans use the forward more sloping pitches with motor homes allocated to the rear. Despite not being at the front, our pitch (51) still had a really lovely view. It's worth having your binoculars to hand to keep an eye on passing sea traffic.

The wardens are very friendly and eager to pass on information to help you get full enjoyment from your stay. We were more than happy to take advantage of a 10% off voucher for the nearby Mussel Inn which serves great food.

We had calm sunny weather but I can imagine it's a bit turbulent on the open site with a brisk westerly blowing.

The village has a limited bus service with just 3 scheduled stops per day. A rover ticket for 2 was £6 and we left around 9. 50am to go into Plymouth (35 min journey) and caught to final service back at 2. 15pm which gave us 3 hours browsing time. Alternatively you could get a taxi back which costs approx £9.

There are numerous footpaths in the vicinity. We had a lovely afternoon tea at the coastal cafť a 15 minute walk from the site.

There is no toilet block at this site but we were aware of this before booking. Despite our visit being at the height of school holidays there were few children on site and I guess part of the reason for this relates to the lack of facilities.

The motor home grey waste point was on the flat and easily accessible.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sylvieb 19 reviews from this member

Wow, what a beautiful site. The view across Plymouth Sound is amazing. We spent 2 nights here and could easily have stayed longer. Loved it. The lack of facilities wasn't a problem, had fresh water and an emptying point. The weather was fantastic, so no need to go anywhere. Would we return, most definitely. Only one other site we visited came anywhere near this one. 10/10. Fantastic. Can't wait to go there again.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Electric spark 10 reviews from this member

A clean and pleasant site. As usual, the wardens are very friendly and helpful.

There are quite limited facilities but all the basics are present. A local shop is a few minutes walk away. A nice dog walk is in the fenced-off field adjacent to the site.

We had absolutely fabulous views across Plymouth Sound. A stroll down the lane takes you to the small beach (But hard work coming back as the hill is quite steep!).

A good site to walk a section of the coast path from.

I wish the buses were a little bit more local as getting into Plymouth is a bit difficult if you donít want to drive and park a 25í motorhome in the city.

Definitely worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M+M Tours 32 reviews from this member

Strange only one review as this is a lovely site.

If you are lucky enough to get a pitch near the front you will have a stunning view over the Sound. All grass pitches & part sloping, but if you get the weather, this site is a little gem!

A tight entrance just before site, warden very helpful. Rear pitches more level, but don't get the view. Very quiet at night. As mentioned lovely coast walks from Bovisand bay to Plymouth, & the other way to Wembury beach (3m). Visited The Garden House,Buckland Abbey ( with lovely walks)

Lydford Gorge (43m) but best of all gorgeous Dartmoor. A fantastic area to drive & walk. Even though we had a couple of 'iffy' days with the weather, 7 nights flew by. If you can do without a toilet & shower block you will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woolbrook 4 reviews from this member

If a toilet block is not needed then this site is a beauty. Well kept, usual friendly, helpful staff, and if you have a caravan, views to die for. The site is flat at the back so the back two rows are for Motorhomes. Because the rest is sloping then the pitches are for caravans who in the main get a view from 100 metres above sea level right across Plymouth Sound. Pretty little beach at the bottom of the hill. (Take your heart tablets with you.)Lovely dog walk in field next door. Local Spar and a pub 200 metres. If you want to walk a section of the coast path then this is the site to do it from. Plymouth,with its many attractions,not far away if you want to drive. Buses not much of an option.

One thought though. If you have the view, here, you would get the weather. 300 foot up facing South West in a gale could be interesting.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1843 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0527