Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Steamer Quay Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Steamer Quay Caravan Club Site
Steamer Quay Rd
Totnes
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ9 5AL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 862738

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  10m  10m  5m  5m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: 04/04/2014 To 06/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
              8/10 from 13 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Out in Roma 1 review from this member

Our first outing in our Romahome and first visit to a caravan site so don't have anything to compare. Booked by telephone with a really helpful (and very patient) lady. Lovely welcome from reception staff. Chose to be away from road so pitched against wall - perfect for us apart from being next to a couple with a blaring tv - but that's hardly the fault of the site. The loos were old fashioned but spotless. We ran out of camping gaz overnight but there wasn't any to buy (apparently they only keep one bottle and it had gone) - bit of a disaster for our planned breakfast as with no hook up we couldn't even have a cuppa. Went to The Green Cafe at the top of town for a superb breakfast in their gorgeous courtyard garden.

2 suggestions - the loos are closed at 11. 00 for 30mins for cleaning - very annoying if (like I did) you arrive at 11. 01- would be helpful if the site made either the disabled or the other gender loo available to all for the duration of the clean. We found the method of reserving your pitch a bit odd - you have to leave something non valuable to show its taken. As Newbies we didn't have much so had to leave one of the children (joke!) Not sure why you aren't just given a reserved sign to put up - but maybe this is the norm?

Totnes is fabulous and we are delighted to have found such a convenient site - will be back again very soon. Thanks so much to the super friendly staff who made us feel very welcome.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elsiekay 43 reviews from this member

Another lovely stay at Steamer Quay. The location of this site takes some beating. Quiet, leafy but virtually in the centre of Totnes and right next to the river cruise departure point and riverside walks. The site is well kept and the loo block clean and functional, if a bit old. The site was full when we were there but the shower block didn't seem to struggle. No electric hookup does restrict the appeal for some, I guess, but we find it quite liberating! Also it means we can get a pitch in July!

This time we took the Round Robin bus/train/boat trip, a great day out to lovely Dartmouth. Lots to do in the area, Paignton Zoo, Brixham, South Hams coast which is stunning.

Well recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Davek0974 8 reviews from this member

Stopped off here for a week on the return journey from Cornwall, although listed as a caravan site we have a folding camper and were made welcome even as non-members.

This is a small site of some 40 pitches, no EHU available, some of the reviews mention noise and this was very noticeable to us as we have a canvas roof! The pitches along the far end have houses on the ther side of the fence and we chose not to pitch there as there was a lot of children noise when we arrived.

We parked along the fence adjacent to the road and suffered here due to the fact that there are speed-bumps in the road and every lorry or bus that passes makes a hell of a noise and shakes the camper! This is in no way a peaceful site area, BUT don't forget we have a canvas roof, in an insulated caravan it might not be so bad.

The site is extremely well maintained and site staff very helpful and friendly, facilities although spotless were slightly dated now, but totally adequate and plentiful.

This is an excellent area for visiting Dartmouth, brixham, babbacombe, paignton and many other towns. The round-robin ticket from the office near the site gives you a trip by bus to Paignton then steam train to kingswear then ferry to dartmouth where you can spend the day before getting the 90 minute cruise back to Totnes, a great day out.

No child play areas which didn't bother us, but mainly caused by the sites small size.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Frankval 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site. Position of site, great, close to town etc. Very friendly wardens. Very clean, quiet, small but good. Only bad thing, no electric. In all, my wife and myself will be going back and back to this site until they close {being a council site, and we all know what councils are like}

The toilets on site are clean and old but good,

Close by there a good selection of places to eat and drink,

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The helper 2 reviews from this member

Just stayed for 3 nights at Steamer Quay, Totnes. Easy to walk into the town. Also walked up the Main Line train station (about 15mins) and caught train to Exeter for the day.

There is plenty to do in and around Totnes including boat trips to Dartmouth from the quay just outside the site. There are only grass pitches and no electric hookup.

The ground is however hard and had no trouble leaving even after a night of heavy rain.

The toilets are tired and in need of updating. However the wardens do a splendid job of making the best of them and keeping them clean.

Also the wardens were extremely helpful and friendly.

Would we stay again, ? of course we would.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: V1a3w 20 reviews from this member

In spite of being in the centre of a bustling town (shops just a bridge away)I found it very quiet & only peopled by retired campers.

With it's easy access to both river & bus networks a very good site. The toilets & showers were very clean & although only two ladies showers this was more than adequate for the size of the site.

It was refreshing to be able to choose my own pitch with the option of moving if another one became vacant during my stay.

The round robin trip via boat?steam train & open top bus is very good value.

The only downside for me as a lone camper (not a CC member) was the price.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0430