Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trewethett Farm Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Trewethett Farm Caravan Club Site
Trethevy
Tintagel
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL34 0BQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01840 770222

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m  5m  5m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 122
Open: 28/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 64 Reviews
              9/10 from 64 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barb n Barney 12 reviews from this member

This is truly spectacular site with views to die for. We have just spent our second 4 night break here this year. We have a motorhome but chose this time to stay in the camping field with no electric. The site gives you instant access to the coastal path - perfect for walking which we love. Boscastle is our favourite of the two villages both within easy walking distance.

The site is clean, well organised, grass well mown and picked up, toilets clean, showers well looked after but the thing that makes this site for us are the wardens. They really are the most welcoming helpful and pleasant bunch of wardens in this part of the world. I just wish all wardens went to the same training camp as these 6. Caravan Club take note this is how it should be!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: A and A Team 3 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site, we will definitely want to return. (Hope the summer sun will join us again next year too!)

Friendly welcome by the Wardens, Lyn and Alan, who were very professional/friendly, as were all the other Wardens we met during our 12 night stay.

On arrival you have to leave your vehicles at the entrance, walk around the site with a map, marked with the vacant pitches, then return to the reception to advise which pitch you have selected (hence we didn't put up our awning straight away, moving 2 days later when a wonderful grass pitch with uninterrupted views became available which we enjoyed for the next 10 days!)

Reception has a good selection of basic items, milk, eggs, bread, tea/coffee, washing powder, etc, and the most amazing Cream Teas (take away)and supply of freshly baked Cornish Pasties delivered certain mornings, which are great for a picnic/walk on the coast line. Fish and Chip van on site twice a week, long queue. We used this the day we arrived for convenience(Sunday), and the local Fish & Chip shop in Tintagel our last evening, price wasn't any different, but portions and quality we preferred the latter, albeit we had to drive 10mins to get it, unlike the convenience of on site delivery.

Fantastic facilities on site, main shower/toilet block are some of the best we've used, with additional Portacabin facilities provided in high season, the cubicles are a bit small, but better than queuing.

Great recycling facilities provided, and the site itself is kept very tidy, a nice combination of mown grass with natural hedgerows and borders which encourage wildlife.

Views are stunning as were the sunsets, which were enjoyed during the peaceful evenings.

Local walks along the coastal path are quite demanding, but worth taking your time, ensuring you have a small snack/water with you and once we'd purchased a couple of reasonably priced walking poles in Tintagel it was easier (maybe not ideal for the infirm or pushchairs, especially the route to Tintagel via steep rocky climbs). Bossiney Cove is a lovely quiet beach, steep walk down from the car park off the main road. You will also need to be aware of jelly fish, especially if you have small children.

Bus will stop at the site entrance, if you flag it down/ask to be dropped off there!

Tintagel and Boscastle can both be reached by road and Coastal Path, providing lots of places of interest, spectacular views, shops and eating venues/pubs. Boscastle has a PO, with free cash machine facilities as does the King Arthur Pub in Tintagel which also serves lovely food at a reasonable price.

A wonderful site, can't wait to rebook.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cllrclarke 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site 14th to 29th June 2013.

What a brilliant site this is, we had pitch No. 66, it had extra space and marvellous views over the ocean. The sunsets were fantastic.

The facilities on the site were first class, main toilet/shower blocks were always clean and of a high standard. The service areas are scattered all over the site so you won’t be too far one no matter where your pitch is.

Other reviews make comment about the high winds, our 2nd weekend was very scary, I have never stayed in a caravan with such forceful gusting winds. The staff write on the main notice board if high winds are forecast, we ignored it because we had a storm strap, wrong move. After the first night of battering winds we took our full awning down, I’m glad we did because the 2nd night was even worse. We put the awning back up after the storm and never had anymore problems. I would recommend you take the awning down if a storm is forecast (we have now got several small dints in the caravan just under the awning rail from the sewn in awning pads)

Boscastle is about 80mins away on the coastal path, Tintagel about an hour.

The walk down to the stream and back up is quite strenuous, and further on to the beach (at low tide)is well worth the hike. Following the stream back up the valley is also worth it.

The Port William pub at Trebarwith strand is also worth a visit, excellent food and nice views over the beach.

The Boscastle farm shop (Hillsborough)is very good, fresh bread and good quality meats. The café is also really good, well priced and good wholesome food, the staff are really friendly (family run business)

Drive to Rock and catch the ferry to Padstow, this is one of the prettiest places around.

Overall I would highly recommend this campsite, and would definitely be returning here in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Realbusdriver 10 reviews from this member

First time on this site, hopefully won't be the last.

It's a typical cc site, well laid out, nicely maintained, helpful, friendly wardens

Clean, modern toilet/shower block, which. In my own opinion, could be said to be a tad inadequate for such a large site, that, unusually for a caravan club site, also caters for canvas campers.

The views from the site are stunning as are those to be had along the coastal walks into Tintagel and Boscastle. Another local attraction well worth a visit and in easy walking distance is ST Nectans water fall

You can get to Tintagel etc via the local bus service, which in truth isn't that frequent out of school term times but do's stop, in both directions, out-side the site entrance.

In short a good site with stunning views but beware of the wind, it is sited on the cliff tops and as such can get very breezy to say the least

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin.eneale 28 reviews from this member

Amazing view from this site! Set on the top of a cliff, comes as a positive and a negative, as the winds can be very strong.

There is a small play area for the kids, as well as a main shower block that meets the usual CC standards, there is also a second shower block that I hope is only a temporary measure as they are just port-a-cabins. Whilst they were clean and warm, they were also quite small. I used them on the first day, but after that I walked the extra distance to the main block. A fish and chip van visits twice a week but we didn't get chance to sample the goods. The shop sells very basic goods and papers can be ordered in.

Wardens were friendly and efficient and keep the site neat and tidy. The cleaning times for the shower blocks are very clearly signposted.

The site is halfway between Boscastle and Tintagel, there is a regular bus service that stops right outside the camp site to both places. Boscastle is very pretty and a great place to spend a few hours. Tintagel has the castle of course, which is accessed by quite a steep path, there is a Land Rover service for those who don't fancy the walk. The castle is not a place to visit if you are not good on your feet as there are lots of steep, uneven stairs to climb.

We took the cliff top walk down to the beach, again this is not for the infirm or the young as it involves uneven slopes and steps. You can drive to the beach, but will still have to use some steep steps.

Loads of other stuff to do in the area, the site has an information room to give you ideas of what to do.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missy Atko 9 reviews from this member

This site is perfect. Good facilities, lovely shop with all the basics and amazing views.

If you pitch in the field, out of season, then the toilets etc are about a 5 minute walk, however there are closer pitches and they do bring in a portaloo/shower type unit from the end of May which halves the walking time.

We like walking and this site is ideal for walking into Tintagel or Boscastle along the South West Coastal path. We only used the car once whilst here.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Previous     64 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6446 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469